Engagement Sessions on Bill S-8, Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act

Overview and Rationale

Access to safe drinking water, the effective treatment of wastewater and the protection of sources of drinking water on First Nation lands is a priority for the Government of Canada. First Nation men, women and children should expect, as do all Canadians, access to safe, clean and reliable drinking water. The Government is moving forward with this legislation in order to ensure that drinking water and wastewater standards on First Nation lands are comparable to the standards enjoyed by all Canadians.

The development of legally enforceable federal regulations will fill an important regulatory gap and help protect the health and safety of residents on First Nation lands. The development of federal regulations responds to numerous recommendations related to drinking water on First Nation lands in recent years, including reports by:

  • the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (Office of the Auditor General) (2005);
  • the Expert Panel on Safe Drinking Water for First Nations (2006);
  • the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples (2007);
  • the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems (2011); and,
  • the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (2012).

Consultation and Engagement

Throughout the last six years, the legislative framework for drinking water and wastewater has been discussed both informally and formally with First Nations, regional First Nation Chiefs, First Nation organizations, provincial and territorial government officials, and other stakeholders.

Parliamentary Consideration

Information on Parliamentary study of Bill S-8 can be found here.

Status

This legislation received Royal Assent on June 19, 2013.

Séances de discussion sur le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Aperçu et justification

L'accès à une eau potable salubre, le traitement efficace des eaux usées et la protection des sources d'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations sont des priorités pour le gouvernement du Canada. Comme tous les autres Canadiens, les hommes, les femmes et les enfants des Premières Nations doivent avoir accès à une source fiable d'eau potable propre et salubre. Le gouvernement a déposé ce projet de loi afin de s'assurer que les normes en matière d'eau potable et d'eaux usées sur les terres des Premières Nations sont comparables aux normes dont profitent tous les Canadiens.

La création de règlements fédéraux exécutoires sur le plan juridique permettra de combler des lacunes réglementaires importantes et contribuera à protéger la santé et la sécurité des personnes résidant sur les terres des Premières Nations. Ces règlements fédéraux donnent suite à de nombreuses recommandations liées à l'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations formulées ces dernières années, notamment dans les rapports présentés par :

  • le commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable (Bureau du vérificateur général) (2005);
  • le groupe d'experts sur la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations (2006);
  • le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones (2007);
  • l'Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout des Premières Nations (2011);
  • le Comité permanent des comptes publics (2012).

Consultations et discussions

Au cours des six dernières années, le cadre législatif de l'eau potable et des eaux usées a fait l'objet de discussions officieuses et officielles avec les Premières Nations, les chefs régionaux des Premières Nations, les organisations des Premières Nations, les représentants des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et d'autres intervenants.

Examen par le Parlement

Vous trouverez de l'information sur l'étude parlementaire du projet de loi S-8 ici.

État d'avancement

Ce projet de loi reçu la sanction royale le 19 juin 2013.