ARCHIVED - List of Consultations on Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board Act

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The consultation process for the Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board Act was conducted in four phases, beginning with initial contact and discussions regarding the intent to develop the legislation and its policy framework through the review of draft legislative proposals and culminating with the final draft of the bill.  Each phase is outlined below:

Phase I: Introduction to Surface Rights (July to October 2010)

Initial communication with participants began in the summer of 2010, with the distribution of information packages outlining and summarizing the intent to develop surface rights legislation for the Northwest Territories. This was followed by information sessions conducted in person in Inuvik and Yellowknife and via teleconference in October of 2010.

Phase II: First Draft and Consultation (October 2010 to June 2011)

Consultation participants were provided with a first draft of a legislative proposal in October/November of 2010 in Yellowknife and Inuvik.  This was followed by consultation sessions that were held in November/December of 2010 and January 2011 to examine the proposal and gain an understanding of its scope.  Participants were given time to review the legislative proposal and prepare and submit comments and concerns regarding the first draft.  This input was then analyzed by AANDC and incorporated where appropriate into the second draft.

Phase III: Second Draft and Consultation (June 2011 to March 2012)

A second draft of the legislative proposal was distributed to participants in June of 2011, who were requested to review and provide comments on the second draft.  This was followed by consultation sessions in November of 2011 in Yellowknife and Inuvik. Once again, AANDC sought comments and feedback from participants which were incorporated, where appropriate, into the final draft of the legislative proposal.

Phase IV: Final Draft and Consultation (March to April 2012)

Participants were invited to a final consultation session in April 2012 in Yellowknife to review the third and final draft of the legislative proposal before introduction of the bill in the House of Commons.  This gave participants a chance to review the proposal and provide any final thoughts or comments before the bill was made public. 

Participants

Funding Assistance

Aboriginal organizations received funding for fiscal years 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 (and will receive funding for 2012-2013) to assist them in participating in each of the phases of the consultation process.

While the consultation and engagement summary outlines the main consultative steps taken in the development of this bill, it should be noted that AANDC encouraged and maintained close contact with all participants throughout the process.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Liste des séances de consultation sur la Loi sur l'Office des droits de surface des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le processus de consultation sur la Loi sur l'Office des droits de surface des Territoires du Nord Ouest a été effectué en quatre étapes. Le processus a commencé par un contact initial et des discussions sur l'intention de produire la proposition législative et son cadre stratégique au moyen d'un examen des ébauches législatives proposées, et il s'est terminé par l'ébauche définitive du projet de loi. Voici un aperçu de chaque étape :

Étape I : Introduction aux droits de surface (de juillet à octobre 2010)

Les communications avec les participants ont commencé en 2010 avec la distribution de trousses d'information décrivant et résumant l'intention de créer une loi sur les droits de surface pour les Territoire du Nord Ouest. On a ensuite mené, en octobre 2010, des séances d'information en personne à Inuvik et à Yellowknife, de même que des séances par téléconférence.

Étape II : Première ébauche et consultation (d'octobre 2010 à juin 2011)

On a remis aux participants à la consultation une première ébauche de proposition législative en octobre et en novembre 2010, à Yellowknife et à Inuvik. On a ensuite tenu des séances de consultation, en novembre et en décembre 2010, de même qu'en janvier 2011, pour examiner la proposition et mieux comprendre sa portée. On a donné aux participants le temps d'examiner la proposition législative et de soumettre leurs commentaires et leurs préoccupations concernant la première ébauche. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a ensuite analysé cette rétroaction et a apporté des modifications aux endroits indiqués en vue de la deuxième ébauche.

Étape III : Deuxième ébauche et consultation (de juin 2011 à mars 2012)

En juin 2011, on a distribué aux participants une deuxième ébauche, qu'on leur a demandé d'examiner et de commenter. On a ensuite tenu des séances de consultation à Yellowknife et à Inuvik, en novembre 2011. Encore une fois, AADNC a demandé aux participants de formuler leurs commentaires et leurs préoccupations, dont on a tenu compte pour l'élaboration de l'ébauche définitive de la proposition législative.

Étape IV : Dernière ébauche et consultation (de mars à avril 2012)

On a invité les participants à une séance de consultation finale, tenue en avril 2012 à Yellowknife, afin d'examiner la troisième et dernière ébauche de la proposition législative, avant le dépôt du projet de loi à la Chambre des communes. Les participants ont ainsi eu l'occasion d'examiner la proposition et de faire part de leurs réflexions et de leurs commentaires avant la diffusion publique du projet de loi.

Participants

Aide financière

Les organisations autochtones ont reçu du financement en 2010-2011 et en 2011-2012 (et elles en recevront aussi en 2012-2013) pour les aider à participer à chacune des étapes du processus de consultation.

Le résumé des consultations et des discussions donne un aperçu des principales étapes du processus de consultation suivi pour l'élaboration de ce projet de loi, mais il convient de préciser qu'AADNC a maintenu des contacts étroits avec tous les participants tout au long du processus.

Date de modification :