Nishnawbe Aski Nation Memorandum of Understanding

PDF Version (154 Kb, 4 Pages)

 
Among:

The Participating First Nations of Nishnawbe Aski Nation as represented by the Grand Chief ("NAN")

And:

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario, as represented by the Minister of Education ("Ontario")

And:

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development ("Canada") (collectively "the Parties")

 

Whereas the Treaty and Aboriginal Rights of First Nations people are recognized and affirmed in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, and the Treaties are a fundamental part of the relationship between the First Nations of NAN, Canada and Ontario;

Whereas the Parties recognize the authority and autonomy of individual First Nations of NAN;

Whereas the First Nations of NAN believe the right to education is an inherent right granted by the Creator, reflects the original spirit and intent of the Treaties, and therefore supports the vision of "Indian Control of Indian Education" (1972);

Whereas the Parties recognize the value of access by NAN First Nation students to culturally supportive elementary and secondary education programs and services which will enable them to pursue further education or training and to become healthy productive members of their communities and Canadian society;

Whereas education is a life-long learning process that requires recognizing both the value of practical educational initiatives as well as the unique circumstances of the First Nations of NAN, which include but are not limited to language and culture;

Whereas the Parties have agreed to initially pursue their joint activities under the Education Partnerships Program as established by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada;

Whereas the Parties have agreed to work collaboratively, collegially and as expeditiously as possible to support NAN students attending provincially funded and First Nations operated schools in reaching their full learning potential and in attaining achievement levels comparable to the general student population in Ontario.

Therefore the Parties agree that:

1. This Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) is intended to establish a forum for the Parties to work collaboratively to help prepare NAN students with the self-confidence and educational opportunities required to be successful in reaching their educational goals.

2. The Parties will work together to address the following agreed upon priority areas to improve educational outcomes for NAN students in both NAN First Nations operated schools and provincial schools.

  1. Student Support Services. Development and implementation of student safety and well-being measures, student transition and orientation programs, parent engagement initiatives, support mechanisms for students living away from home, student retention strategies, involvement in extra-curricular activities, and the development of a First Nation student anti-drug education program, and other student support services as may be agreed among the Parties.
  2. Curriculum. Enhance the inclusion and integration of First Nation history, culture, perspectives and language within the provincial curriculum as appropriate, and support learning staff in meeting the holistic learning needs of First Nation students.
  3. Governance & Administration. Review appropriate involvement of First Nations in provincial board governance and advisory bodies. Development of a sample Tuition Agreement. Explore organizational options for provision of second level services in First Nation operated schools. Development of mechanisms to improve communication between provincially funded schools and First Nation feeder schools.
  4. Human Resources. Development of cross-cultural training and professional development modules for educators in the provincial education system. Explore options to increase the number of First Nation staff, including the participation of elders, in provincial schools. Explore mechanisms for joint professional development and exchange between personnel in the First Nation and Provincial education systems. Joint support for teacher training activities for teachers in the First Nation and provincial systems.
  5. Parental Participation. Strategies to facilitate improved First Nation parental communication with, and involvement in, the provincially funded schools their children attend. Improve communication access for parents with students who attend school away from their home communities.

3. The above list of priorities is not intended to be exhaustive and additional areas may be added or adjusted in the future with the mutual agreement of the Parties.

Implementation

4. The Parties will develop, and update annually, an implementation plan based on the agreed upon priority areas as set out in this MOU, to guide the activities of the Parties. It is recognized that the implementation plan may include the participation of other appropriate participants in the education system including district school boards, provincially funded schools, Tribal Councils and First Nations operated schools.

The Tripartite Forum

5. The Parties agree to establish this tripartite forum that will:

  1. oversee the implementation of the commitments set out in this MOU including the prioritization of commitments and the updating of action plan(s), timelines, resource requirements and their source;
  2. monitor, evaluate and report outcomes annually; and,
  3. any other responsibilities as determined by the Parties.

6. The tripartite forum will meet quarterly, and on an as needed basis.

7. Membership on the tripartite forum shall be comprised of the following:

  1. NAN;
  2. Ontario Ministry of Education; and,
  3. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

8. At the request of one or more of the Parties, participation at the table may be expanded or modified as agreed upon by the Parties to include, when and as appropriate, representation from communities, education experts, district schools boards or others as may be deemed appropriate by the Parties to advance the work of the MOU.

9. The Parties representatives will meet quarterly to review progress and to report jointly to their respective leadership on progress and challenges in addressing the priority areas.

Monitoring:

10. The Parties agree that all results collected from studies undertaken to address any of the above priority areas within the context of this agreement will be shared amongst the Parties.

11. NAN will have the primary responsibility for monitoring, evaluating, and working with First Nations to meet requirements as set out in the joint implementation plan.

12. The Parties agree to consult further as required to develop a joint implementation plan which will identify specific actions to address to the extent reasonably possible, the areas set out in Section 2 above.

13. NAN will produce a draft annual progress report pursuant to the joint implementation plan, and the tripartite forum will review the draft and approve a final report that will be provided to the Parties.

14. This MOU is a statement of intent by the Parties and is not legally binding. It is not intended to define, create, recognize, deny or amend any of the rights of the Parties nor to require NAN, Ontario or Canada to act in a manner inconsistent with any applicable laws and regulations. This MOU is not intended to alter or amend any existing jurisdictional responsibilities with respect to First Nation education nor to impact in any way existing agreements that may be in place with respect to First Nation education.

 

Signed at Mattagami First Nation, Province of Ontario, as of the 9th day of April, 2013.

Signed on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

______________________________
The Honourable Bernard Valcourt
Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

 

Signed on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario, as represented by the Minister of Education

______________________________
The Honourable Liz Sandals
Minister of Education

 

Signed on behalf of the Participating First Nations of Nishnawbe Aski Nation

______________________________
Grand Chief Harvey Yesno
Nishnawbe Aski Nation

Date modified:

Protocole d'entente pour l'éducation avec Nation nishnawbe-aski

Version PDF (153 Ko, 4 Pages)

 
Entre:

Les Premières Nations participantes de la Nation nishnawbe-aski, représentées par le grand chef (la NNA)

Et:

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l'Ontario, représentée par la ministre de l'Éducation (l'Ontario)

Et:

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien (le Canada) (collectivement appelées les « Parties »)

 

Attendu que les droits ancestraux et issus de traités des Premières Nations sont reconnus et confirmés à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et que les traités constituent un élément fondamental de la relation entre les Premières Nations de la NNA, le Canada et l'Ontario;

Attendu que les parties reconnaissent les pouvoirs et l'autonomie de chacune des Premières Nations de la NNA;

Attendu que les Premières Nations de la NNA croient que le droit à l'éducation est un droit inhérent accordé par le Créateur, qu'il traduit l'esprit et l'intention visés au départ par les traités et qu'il appuie donc la vision de « la maîtrise indienne de l'éducation indienne » (1972);

Attendu que les parties reconnaissent qu'en offrant aux élèves des Premières Nations de la NNA des programmes et des services d'éducation primaire et secondaire adaptés à leur culture, on leur permet de parfaire leur éducation ou leur formation et de devenir des membres productifs et en santé au sein de leurs collectivités et de la société canadienne;

Attendu que l'éducation est un processus d'apprentissage qui s'étale sur toute une vie et qui nécessite la reconnaissance tant des initiatives pratiques en matière d'éducation que des circonstances uniques des Premières Nations de la NNA, y compris la situation linguistique et culturelle;

Attendu que les parties ont convenu au départ de mener leurs activités conjointes en vertu du Programme des partenariats en éducation établi par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada;

Attendu que les parties ont convenu de travailler de concert, en toute collégialité et aussi rapidement que possible afin d'aider les élèves de la NNA qui fréquentent des écoles financées par la province ou administrées par des Premières Nations à réaliser leur plein potentiel d'apprentissage et à atteindre des taux de réussite comparables à ceux des autres élèves de l'Ontario.

Par Conséquent, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

1. Le présent protocole d'entente vise à établir un forum pour que les parties unissent leurs efforts en vue d'aider les élèves de la NNA à renforcer leur confiance et à tirer parti de possibilités d'apprentissage pour qu'ils puissent atteindre leurs objectifs scolaires.

2. Les parties collaboreront afin d'examiner les secteurs prioritaires convenus ci dessous en vue d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des élèves de la NNA tant dans les écoles administrées par des Premières Nations que dans les écoles provinciales.

  1. Services d'appui aux élèves. Élaborer et mettre en œuvre des mesures visant à accroître le bien être et la sécurité des élèves, des programmes d'orientation et de transition des élèves, des initiatives axées sur la participation des parents, des mécanismes de soutien pour les élèves qui ne vivent pas dans le foyer familial, des stratégies de persévérance scolaire et des activités parascolaires, et créer un programme de sensibilisation antidrogue destiné aux élèves des Premières Nations, de même que d'autres services d'appui aux élèves convenus entre les parties.
  2. Programme d'études. S'il y a lieu, accroître l'intégration de l'histoire, de la culture, des points de vue et des langues des Premières Nations dans le programme d'études provincial, et aider le personnel de l'apprentissage à répondre aux besoins de formation holistique des élèves des Premières Nations.
  3. Gouvernance et administration. Examiner si la participation des Premières Nations à la gouvernance de conseils et au sein d'organismes consultatifs provinciaux est adéquate. Concevoir un modèle d'accord sur les frais de scolarité. Explorer des options organisationnelles pour la prestation de services de deuxième niveau dans les écoles administrées par des Premières Nations. Créer des mécanismes visant à améliorer la communication entre les écoles financées par la province et celles administrées par des Premières Nations.
  4. Ressources humaines. Créer des formations interculturelles et des modules de perfectionnement professionnel pour les éducateurs du système d'éducation provincial. Examiner des options en vue d'accroître le nombre d'employés des Premières Nations, y compris d'aînés, dans les écoles provinciales. Explorer des mécanismes de perfectionnement professionnel collectif et d'échange entre le personnel des systèmes d'éducation de la province et des Premières Nations. Offrir du soutien collectif pour les activités de formation des enseignants dans les systèmes provinciaux et des Premières Nations.
  5. Participation des parents. Mettre sur pied des stratégies visant à améliorer la participation des parents des élèves des Premières Nations et à favoriser la communication entre eux et les écoles provinciales que fréquentent leurs enfants. Fournir aux parents dont les enfants fréquentent une école éloignée de leur collectivité un accès accru aux communications.

3. La liste de priorités ci dessus n'est pas exhaustive, et il sera possible d'y apporter des modifications ou d'ajouter des secteurs avec l'accord mutuel des parties.

Mise en œuvre :

4. Les parties créeront un plan de mise en œuvre fondé sur les secteurs prioritaires convenus ci dessus et le mettront à jour chaque année afin d'orienter les activités des parties. On reconnaît que la participation d'autres intervenants du système d'éducation est possible, notamment de conseils scolaires de district, d'écoles financées par la province, de conseils tribaux et d'écoles administrées par des Premières Nations.

Forum Tripartite :

5. Les parties conviennent d'établir un forum tripartite qui permettra de :

  1. surveiller la mise en œuvre des engagements énoncés dans le présent protocole d'entente, y compris l'établissement des priorités connexes et la mise à jour des plans d'action, des échéances, des exigences liées aux ressources et de la provenance de celles-ci;
  2. surveiller, évaluer et présenter les résultats chaque année;
  3. s'acquitter de toute autre responsabilité déterminée par les parties.

6. Les membres du forum tripartite se réuniront chaque trimestre et selon les besoins.

7. Le forum tripartite se composera des membres suivants :

  1. La NNA;
  2. Le ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario;
  3. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

8. À la demande d'une ou plusieurs parties, il sera possible de modifier le nombre de participants à la table afin que des représentants des collectivités, des experts en éducation, des représentants de conseils scolaires de district ou d'autres intervenants y prennent part si les parties en conviennent et jugent que leur participation favorise l'avancement des travaux relatifs au protocole d'entente.

9. Les représentants des parties se réuniront chaque trimestre afin d'examiner les progrès et de présenter des rapports communs à leurs dirigeants respectifs concernant les progrès et les défis liés aux secteurs prioritaires.

Surveillance :

10. Les parties conviennent que tous les résultats recueillis dans le cadre des études menées pour examiner l'un ou l'autre des secteurs prioritaires ci dessus dans le contexte de l'entente seront mis en commun entre les parties.

11. La NNA est la principale responsable de la surveillance, de l'évaluation et de la collaboration avec les Premières Nations afin de respecter les exigences établies dans le plan de mise en œuvre conjoint.

12. Les parties conviennent d'effectuer une consultation approfondie, au besoin, pour concevoir un plan de mise en œuvre conjoint qui présentera des mesures précises afin de donner suite, dans la mesure du possible, aux secteurs dont il est question à la section 2.

13. Chaque année, la NNA rédigera un rapport d'étape conformément au plan de mise en œuvre conjoint. Le forum tripartite examinera la version provisoire de celui-ci et approuvera le rapport définitif qui sera distribué aux parties.

14. Le présent protocole d'entente est une déclaration d'intention des parties qui n'a pas force obligatoire. Il n'a pas pour objet de définir, créer, reconnaître, nier ou modifier les droits des parties et n'oblige ni la NNA, ni l'Ontario, ni le Canada à agir contrairement aux lois et aux règlements applicables. Il ne vise pas non plus à modifier les responsabilités existantes des différents gouvernements en ce qui a trait à l'éducation des Premières Nations ni à nuire d'une manière ou d'une autre aux ententes en place.

 

Signé à Première Nation de Mattagami, province de l'Ontario, le 9ième jour d'avril, 2013.

Signé au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien

______________________________
L'Honorable Bernard Valcourt
Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien

 

Signé au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l'Ontario, représentée par la ministre de l'Éducation

______________________________
L'Honorable Liz Sandals
Ministre de l'Éducation

 

Signé au nom des Premières Nations participantes de la Nation nishnawbe-aski

______________________________
Grand chef Harvey Yesno
Nation nishnawbe-aski

Date de modification :