Arctic Council

The Arctic Council   is a high-level inter-governmental and consensus-based forum which provides a mechanism to address common challenges and opportunities faced by Arctic governments and the people of the Arctic. First established in 1996, it includes all eight Arctic states:

  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Russian Federation
  • Sweden
  • United States of America. 

The Arctic Council also includes six Permanent Participant organizations:

There are also a number of non-Arctic states, inter-governmental and inter-parliamentary organizations, as well as non-governmental organizations that participate as observers.

There are six Working Groups under the Arctic Council which cover a spectrum of Arctic issues:

Canada held the first chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 1996 and pushed for the human dimension of Arctic issues, primarily through the work of the Sustainable Development Working Group, and will assume the chairmanship again in 2013.

While the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT)   leads and provides the federal focus for the Arctic Council, AANDC, working closely with territorial governments and Aboriginal peoples to advance on mutual interests, provides policy and organizational support to Canada's Senior Arctic Official (SAO); co-ordination of Canada's official positions on political and substantive issues before the Arctic Council; and development of Canadian initiatives and project proposals to be tabled at the Arctic Council for approval and action.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada also coordinates Canada's activities and contributions to the Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG). AANDC implements Canadian initiatives under the Council's Sustainable Development Program, including promoting a more strategic approach to Arctic sustainable development and integrating capacity building into the activities of the Arctic Council, and maintains fiscal responsibility for the Canada-hosted SDWG secretariat.

Conseil de l'Arctique

Le Conseil de l'Arctique   (site Web non disponible en français) est un forum intergouvernemental de haut niveau, fondé sur le consensus. Il fournit aux gouvernements et aux peuples de l'Arctique un mécanisme permettant de profiter des occasions et de relever les défis communs aux gouvernements des pays de l'Arctique et aux résidants de ces régions. Constitué en 1996, le Conseil réunit les huit États arctiques :

  • Canada
  • Danemark
  • Finlande
  • Islande
  • Norvège
  • Fédération de la Russie
  • Suède
  • États-Unis

Le Conseil de l'Arctique comprend aussi six organisations participantes permanentes :

Il regroupe aussi certains états non arctiques, des organisations intergouvernementales et interparlementaires. D'autres organisations non gouvernementales participent aussi à ses activités en tant qu'observateurs.

Le Conseil de l'Arctique comporte six groupes de travail qui s'occupent d'un éventail de questions arctiques :

Le Canada a été le premier pays à présider le Conseil de l'Arctique en 1996, promouvant à l'époque la dimension humaine des questions arctiques, principalement par l'intermédiaire du Groupe de travail sur le développement durable; il présidera de nouveau le Conseil en 2013.

Même si le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI)   dirige et focalise la démarche du gouvernement fédéral pour le Conseil de l'Arctique, AADNC fournit un soutien stratégique et organisationnel au haut représentant du Canada pour l'Arctique, étant donné la collaboration étroite qu'il entretient déjà avec les gouvernements et les peuples autochtones des territoires concernés.  AANDC coordonne ainsi les positions officielles du Canada sur des enjeux politiques et de fond devant le Conseil de l'Arctique en plus d'élaborer des initiatives et propositions canadiennes destinées à être déposées devant le Conseil de l'Arctique pour approbation et suivi.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada coordonne également les activités et contributions du Canada au Groupe de travail sur le développement durable (GRDD)  . AADNC met en œuvre les initiatives du Canada dans le cadre du programme de développement durable du Conseil, faisant entre autres la promotion d'une méthode plus stratégique de développement durable dans l'Arctique.  AANDC intègre aussi à ce chapitre le renforcement des capacités dans les activités du Conseil de l'Arctique.  Il assume en outre la responsabilité fiscale pour le secrétariat du GTDD, situé au Canada.