Algonquins of Ontario Land Claim Negotiations

On this page

Overview of the Algonquins of Ontario land claim

Canada, Ontario and the Algonquins of Ontario are working together to resolve a land claim through a negotiated Final Agreement that will take the form of a modern-day treaty. All three parties are committed to finding a balanced and shared solution that respects the rights of all Canadians.

As has been done in other parts of Canada, the Algonquins of Ontario submitted a comprehensive land claim based on unresolved Aboriginal rights and title, having never signed a treaty with the Crown. The Algonquin Land Claim is one of the largest and most complex land claims in Ontario currently under negotiation, a territory covering approximately 36,000 square kilometers, and populated by approximately 1.2 million people.

No private property will be taken away from anyone to settle this claim.

This text represents the long description for the map of the Algonquins of Ontario Land Claim

The Algonquin claim includes an area of 8.9 million acres (36,000 km²), within the watersheds of the Ottawa and the Mattawa Rivers in Ontario. The claim area covers most of eastern Ontario, including Parliament Hill and Algonquin Park, as well as CFB Petawawa and the City of Ottawa. More than 1.2 million people live and work within the claim area.

Map for the Algonquins of Ontario Land Claim

Map of the Algonquins of Ontario Land Claim

At a glance: The Algonquin negotiating team

The Algonquins of Ontario are comprised of ten Algonquin communities in the Ottawa River watershed. These communities are: the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation and the communities of Antoine, Bancroft, Bonnechere, Greater Golden Lake, Mattawa/North Bay, Ottawa, Shabot Obaadjiwan, Snimikobi and Whitney and Area.

The Algonquin negotiating team consists of the Chief and Council of Pikwakanagan and one representative from each of the nine other Algonquin communities. These Algonquin Negotiation Representatives are elected by the Algonquin people through a series of transparent and democratic elections for a three-year term.

Status of negotiations

The negotiators for the Algonquins of Ontario, the Government of Canada and the Government of Ontario released a Preliminary Draft Agreement-in-Principle in December 2012 for public review. This draft document was put forward to the public, Algonquin membership and legal interest holders (ie. land use permit holders and others who have tenure on Ontario Crown lands that are proposed for transfer to Algonquin ownership) for review and comment. Seeking the public's input at this stage in negotiations is unprecedented.

Following these extensive consultations which took place in 2013, revisions to this document were negotiated by Canada, Ontario and the Algonquins. These revisions were reflected in the proposed Agreement-in-Principle which was announced and made available to the public in June 2015.

In February and March 2016, the Algonquins of Ontario held a vote on the proposed Agreement-in-Principle and announced their vote results on March 17, 2016. Further information about the Algonquin vote is available on the Algonquins of Ontario website.

Following approval by all three parties, the Algonquins of Ontario, Canada and Ontario signed this non-binding Agreement-in-Principle on October 18, 2016. With the signing of the Agreement-in-Principle, negotiations toward a Final Agreement can begin. This is just one step in a lengthy process before a Final Agreement can be reached.

The Agreement-in-Principle

The Agreement-in-Principle sets out the main elements of a potential settlement, which would include:

Key topics

Lands

  • Land will not be taken or expropriated from private owners.
  • No one will lose existing access to cottages or private property or navigable waterways.
  • No provincial Crown land will be transferred to the Algonquins of Ontario until after a Final Agreement has been reached.
  • No new First Nation reserves will be created.
  • Any lands transferred to the Algonquins will be held in fee simple (ie. privately owned) and will be subject to the same land use planning and development approvals and authorities as other private lands.
  • Land transfers will:
    • restore historically significant sites to the Algonquins
    • contribute to the social and cultural objectives of Algonquin communities
    • provide a foundation for economic development

Harvesting

  • Arrangements will be negotiated for existing recreation or other legal interests to continue on transferred land; Ontario would facilitate these negotiations.
  • Algonquin harvesting rights will be subject to provincial and federal laws necessary for conservation, public health and public safety.

Parks

  • Algonquin Park will continue to be part of the Ontario parks system and preserved for the enjoyment of all.
  • Ontario will continue managing Ontario parks, with the Algonquins having a greater planning role.
  • Two non-operating parks and parts of five non-operating parks are proposed for transfer to the Algonquins of Ontario.
  • A new 30,000 acre provincial park near Crotch Lake is being recommended.

Certainty and economic development

  • Resolution of the Algonquins of Ontario claim will bring benefits and legal certainty to eastern Ontario.
  • By creating greater certainty, a final treaty with the Algonquins of Ontario will help increase investor confidence in eastern Ontario and create potential for economic development, jobs and growth.

Public outreach and consultation

This was the first time that negotiators sought public input on a Preliminary Draft of an Agreement-in-Principle. Other proactive steps included:

There will be many opportunities in the future for stakeholders, other Indigenous groups, and the public to provide their input at key milestones as negotiators move forward with their joint work toward a Final Agreement. This important dialogue will continue during final agreement negotiations in the years ahead.

Moving forward

The non-binding Agreement-in-Principle was shaped by public consultation efforts and is only one step of many in negotiating a Final Agreement. Consultations with those with direct interests will continue throughout the negotiation process.

The goal is to work together in the spirit of reconciliation toward a Final Agreement that is fair to all parties and balances the interests of the Algonquins and their neighbours. It will be many years before a Final Agreement is in place.

The rights of the Algonquins of Ontario that will be set out in a Final Agreement will receive constitutional protection. The Final Agreement will clarify ongoing rights to lands and natural resources in the region and give legal force to a lasting and comprehensive settlement.

A settlement of this land claim will benefit the Algonquin people and their neighbours throughout eastern Ontario by increasing investor confidence, and providing new opportunities for investment and economic development in the region.

To date, Canada and its negotiating partners have signed 26 agreements or treaties to address similar Aboriginal rights and title claims.

Contacts

Ontario

Algonquins of Ontario

Canada

Date modified:

Négociations portant sur la revendication territoriale des Algonquins de l’Ontario

Sur cette page

Aperçu de la revendication territoriale des Algonquins de l'Ontario

Le Canada, l'Ontario et les Algonquins de l'Ontario collaborent en vue de la conclusion d'un accord définitif négocié d'une revendication territoriale, qui prendra la forme d'un traité moderne. Les trois parties sont résolues à trouver ensemble une solution équilibrée qui concilie les intérêts de tous les Canadiens.

Comme cela a eu lieu ailleurs au pays, les Algonquins de l'Ontario ont soumis une revendication territoriale globale sur des questions non résolues concernant les droits ancestraux et le titre autochtone. Les Algonquins n'ont jamais signé de traité avec la Couronne. Leur revendication figure parmi les revendications territoriales les plus vastes et complexes en cours de négociation en Ontario, et ce, puisqu'elle couvre un territoire d'environ 36 000 kilomètres carrés, peuplé de quelque 1,2 million de personnes.

Aucune propriété privée ne sera retirée à quiconque en vue de régler cette revendication territoriale.

Ce texte présente la description textuelle de la carte de la revendication territoriale des Algonquins de l'Ontario

La revendication des Algonquins porte sur une superficie de 8,9 millions d'acres (36 000 kilomètres carrés) comprise dans le bassin versant de la rivière des Outaouais et de la rivière Mattawa, en Ontario. La région visée par la revendication couvre la majeure partie de l'Est ontarien, dont la Colline du Parlement et le parc Algonquin, ainsi que la Base des Forces canadiennes de Petawawa et la ville d'Ottawa. Plus de 1,2 million de personnes vivent et travaillent dans la région revendiquée.

La revendication territoriale des Algonquins de l'Ontario

Carte : Revendication territoriale des Algonquins de l'Ontario

En bref : l'équipe algonquine de négociation

Les Algonquins de l'Ontario (site Web non disponible en français) comprennent 10 collectivités algonquines du bassin de la rivière des Outaouais. Ces collectivités sont : la Première Nation algonquine de Pikwakanagan et les collectivités d'Antoine, de Bancroft, de Bonnechere, de Greater Golden Lake, de Mattawa/North Bay, d'Ottawa, de Sharbot Obaadjiwan, de Snimikobi et de Whitney et ses environs.

L'équipe de négociation des Algonquins est formée du chef et des conseillers de Pikwakanagan et d'un représentant de chacune des neuf autres collectivités algonquines. Ces représentants algonquins aux négociations sont élus par les Algonquins pour un mandat de trois ans à l'issue d'une série d'élections démocratiques et transparentes.

État des négociations

Les négociateurs pour les Algonquins de l'Ontario, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de l'Ontario ont publié une ébauche d'entente de principe en décembre 2012 destinée à l'examen du public. Cette entente préliminaire a été transmise au public, aux Algonquins et à ceux ayant des intérêts juridiques (c.-à-d. titulaires de permis et détenteurs de droits sur les terres de la Couronne ontarienne qu'on propose de transférer aux Algonquins) pour qu'ils l'examinent et formulent des commentaires. Le fait de solliciter l'opinion du public à cette étape des négociations est sans précédent.

À la suite de cette consultation approfondie qui s'est déroulée en 2013, des révisions apportées au document préliminaire ont fait l'objet de négociations par le Canada, l'Ontario et les Algonquins. Ces révisions ont été prises en compte dans la proposition d'entente de principe qui a été annoncée et rendue publique en juin 2015.

En février et en mars 2016, les Algonquins de l'Ontario ont voté sur le projet d'entente de principe et annoncé les résultats du vote le 17 mars 2016. De plus amples informations concernant ce scrutin se trouvent sur le site Web des Algonquins de l'Ontario (site web non disponible en français)

Après avoir approuvé l'entente de principe, les Algonquins de l'Ontario, le Canada et l'Ontario ont signé cette entente non exécutoire le 18 octobre 2016. À partir de cette date, la négociation d'un accord définitif peut commencer. Ce n'est là qu'une étape dans un long processus qui mènera à un accord définitif.

L'entente de principe

L'entente de principe (site web non disponible en français) établit les principaux éléments d'un règlement potentiel qui comprendrait :

Les éléments clés

Terres

  • Aucun propriétaire ne perdra sa terre ou ne se verra exproprié.
  • Personne ne se verra interdire l'accès à des chalets ou à des propriétés privées ni ne perdra l'accès aux voies navigables si les droits nécessaires sont établis.
  • Aucune terre de la Couronne provinciale ne sera transférée aux Algonquins de l'Ontario d'ici à ce qu'un accord définitif soit conclu.
  • Aucune nouvelle réserve de Premières Nations ne sera créée.
  • Toutes les terres transférées aux Algonquins seront détenues en fief simple (c.-à-d. en propriété privée) et seront assujetties aux mêmes approbations et autorités de planification et d'aménagement de l'utilisation des terres que toute autre terre privée.
  • Les transferts fonciers permettront de :
    • restituer aux Algonquins des sites historiques qui leur sont importants
    • contribuer à l'atteinte des objectifs sociaux et culturels des communautés algonquines
    • fournir une base pour le développement économique

Récoltes

  • On négociera des ententes concernant les camps de loisirs ou autres intérêts juridiques existants sur les terres transférées. L'Ontario organisera ces négociations.
  • Les droits de récolte des Algonquins seront assujettis aux lois provinciales et fédérales concernant la conservation, la santé publique et la sécurité publique.

Parcs

  • Le parc Algonquin continuera de faire partie du réseau des parcs de l'Ontario. Il sera préservé pour l'agrément de tous.
  • L'Ontario continuera à gérer les parcs de la province, mais les Algonquins joueront un rôle plus important en matière de planification.
  • On propose de transférer aux Algonquins de l'Ontario deux parcs non exploités et des parties de cinq parcs non exploités.
  • On recommande de créer un nouveau parc provincial de 30 000 acres près de Crotch Lake.

Certitude et développement économique

  • Le règlement de la revendication des Algonquins de l'Ontario favorisera la certitude juridique et aura des retombées favorables dans l'Est de l'Ontario.
  • En augmentant la certitude, le traité définitif conclu avec les Algonquins de l'Ontario contribuera à accroître la confiance des investisseurs dans l'Est de l'Ontario et favorisera l'émergence de possibilités de développement économique, d'emploi et de croissance.

Sensibilisation et consultation du public

C'était la première fois de l'histoire que des négociateurs ont sollicité des commentaires du public sur une ébauche d'entente de principe. D'autres étapes proactives ont comporté notamment :

Les intervenants, d'autres groupes autochtones et le grand public auront de nombreuses occasions de faire part de leurs observations aux étapes clés des travaux conjoints réalisés par les négociateurs en vue de parvenir à un accord définitif. Cet important dialogue se poursuivra donc au cours des prochaines années.

Aller de l'avant

L'entente de principe non exécutoire est le résultat d'un effort de consultation publique et constitue seulement une étape parmi plusieurs devant mener à la négociation d'un accord définitif. Des consultations avec les parties ayant des intérêts directs dans la situation se poursuivront tout au long du processus de négociation.

L'objectif est de collaborer dans un esprit de réconciliation en vue d'un accord définitif qui soit juste pour toutes les parties et fasse l'équilibre entre les intérêts des Algonquins et de ceux de leurs voisins. Il reste plusieurs années de travail à faire avant la conclusion d'un accord définitif.

Les droits qui seront reconnus aux Algonquins de l'Ontario seront détaillés dans un accord définitif seront protégés par la Constitution. L'accord définitif clarifiera les droits concernant les terres et les ressources naturelles de la région et rendra juridiquement contraignant un règlement durable et global.

Le règlement de cette revendication territoriale profitera aux Algonquins et à leurs voisins de tout l'Est de l'Ontario en rehaussant la confiance des investisseurs et en offrant de nouvelles possibilités d'investissement et de développement économique dans la région.

À ce jour, le Canada et ses partenaires négociateurs ont signé 26 ententes ou traités permettant de régler des revendications semblables en matière de droits ancestraux et de titre autochtone.

Personnes-ressources

Ontario

Algonquins de l'Ontario

Canada

Date de modification :