Brochure: Stained Glass Window in Parliament Commemorating the Legacy of Indian Residential Schools

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Author: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Date: 2012
ISBN: 978-1-100-21555-6
QS-: QS-1012-000-EE-A1

Table of contents

Remembering the Past: Window to the Future

Above the west door to the Centre Block of Canada's Parliament Buildings in Ottawa is a commemorative stained glass window.

Designed by Métis artist Christi Belcourt and translated into glass by Vision Art Stained Glass Studio, the window commemorates the legacy of Indian Residential Schools and the Prime Minister of Canada's historic Apology to former students of those schools and their families.

The artist's design for the window was chosen unanimously by a selection committee comprised of leading Aboriginal art experts and former Indian Residential School students.

In November 2012, the window was presented to the Honourable Andrew Scheer, Speaker of the House of Commons, by the Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

While the stained glass window is a visible reminder of truth and healing, it is also a window to a future founded on reconciliation and respect.

Indian Residential Schools

Over the course of a century, more than 150,000 Aboriginal children were separated from their families and communities as part of a government policy to assimilate them into the dominant culture.

While most Indian Residential Schools ceased to operate by the mid-1970s, the last federally run school closed in the late 1990s.

The Government of Canada operated nearly every school jointly with a number of religious organizations including the Roman Catholic, Anglican, Presbyterian and United churches.

"Many generations of Inuit, Métis and First Nation children spent the greater part of their childhood in residential schools. The abuse and neglect they suffered while there left its mark on their adult lives, as well as the lives of their descendants…"

"Where are the Children?" exhibit
Legacy of Hope Foundation

In 2006, an historic Settlement Agreement was reached between former students, the Churches, Aboriginal organizations and the Government of Canada to address the legacy of Indian Residential Schools.

Canada's Apology

"The Government of Canada sincerely apologizes and asks the forgiveness of the Aboriginal peoples of this country for failing them so profoundly.
Nous le regrettons
We are sorry
Nimitataynan
Niminchinowesamin
Mamiattugut"

The Right Hon. Stephen Harper,
Prime Minister of Canada

On June 11, 2008, on behalf of the Government of Canada and all Canadians, Prime Minister Stephen Harper stood in the House of Commons to offer an Apology that acknowledged the intergenerational damage caused by this policy to former students of Indian Residential Schools, their families and communities.

On that day, Aboriginal people gathered in their homes and community centres across the country to watch the Apology. They watched as their own leaders, who for the first time in history were seated on the floor of the House of Commons, responded directly to Parliamentarians and, indeed, all Canadians.

The Apology underlined Canadians' resolve to learn from these tragic events to ensure they will never be repeated.

Healing, Reconciliation and Renewal

Today, across the country, First Nations, Inuit and Métis, alongside other Canadians, are participating in truth telling, healing and reconciliation activities.

Cultural practices and languages are being revitalized, and a sense of optimism and hope for the future is building.

"I am filled with optimism…a new day has dawned, a new day heralded by a commitment to reconciliation and building a new relationship with Inuit, Métis, and First Nations."

Mary Simon, former President,
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, June 11, 2008

All Canadians have a role to play in reconciliation and renewal. Knowledge of our shared past, mutual respect and the desire to move forward together will contribute to a stronger Canada for all of us.

"The reconciliation process is not an Aboriginal process, I would argue, but rather time for reconciliation for all Canadians and a step forward toward improved relationships and increased opportunities between Aboriginals and non-Aboriginals."

The Hon. Senator Vernon White,
National Aboriginal Day, June 21, 2012

Giniigaaniimenaaning (Looking Ahead) by Christi Belcourt

The window tells a story. It begins in the bottom left corner of the glass, moving upwards to the top panel and flowing down through the right panel. The title, "Giniigaaniimenaaning," includes the idea that we are all looking ahead for the ones unborn.

Left Glass Panel

The bottom section represents the time before residential schools existed. An ancestor smokes in the sacred lodge. From the west (represented by the button blanket motif) to the east (represented by the sky dome motif), Aboriginal ceremonies, languages and traditional knowledge were intact. Important ceremonies marking the transition from childhood to adulthood, such as the strawberry fast, were taught and practiced. Harvesting blueberries, learning about medicines and knowledge of plants and animals were passed from one generation to the next.

The middle section of the window depicting the children represents the "sad chapter" of the residential school era, where more than 150,000 children were forcibly removed from their homes and often subjected to physical and sexual abuses.

The shattered glass represents the breaking of the silence in the 1980s, as survivors from all over Canada began to speak openly about what happened to them at the schools. The broken glass also represents the shattered lives, families and communities that resulted from the government policy of forced assimilation. The Inuit drum dancer sounds the beginning of healing. The dove with the olive branch brings an offering of hope for the beginning of reconciliation and the renewal of the relationship between Aboriginal people and other Canadians.

Top Glass Panel

This section commemorates the June 11, 2008, Apology offered by Prime Minister Stephen Harper, in the House of Commons, on behalf of the Government of Canada and all Canadians.

In this panel, symbols representing Inuit (the ulu), First Nations (the eagle feathers) and the Métis Nation (the infinity symbol) are featured alongside the iconic maple leaf.

Right Glass Panel

The story continues in the top panel. In this panel, the jingle dress dancer is an Elder who is a former student of an Indian Residential School. She is dancing for the healing of all the people and for future generations.

In the middle panel, which represents present day, the young mother embraces her baby in a traditional moss bag. The child is back with her mother, representing children being raised by their parents and the breaking of the cycle of abuse. Within this panel are the words "I love you" and "I love you my child" written in Cree, Inuktitut, Anishnaabemowin and Mi'kmaq. The child's grandfather sings a traditional song signifying the restoration of songs, dance, ceremonies and languages.

Returning to the bottom, the circle is complete. The grandmother sits in the lodge smoking her pipe for her grandchildren. Ceremonies are being practiced and traditional knowledge about medicines is being taught. There is hope and a new respect for Aboriginal cultures within Canada as Aboriginal people are witness to their own strength and resilience.

Design within the Design – Mother Earth

Mother Earth is the foundation of the stained glass design, represented by the shape of a woman. Many Aboriginal traditions, culture, ceremonies and even way of life are based on connection with the land and interconnection with the spirit of the Earth.

About the Artist

Christi Belcourt (b. 1966) is a Métis visual artist with a deep respect for the traditions and knowledge of her people. Like generations of Aboriginal artists before her, she celebrates the beauty of the natural world while exploring nature's symbolic properties. Following the tradition of Métis floral beadwork, Belcourt paints in dots and uses the subject matter as metaphors for human existence to relay a variety of meanings that include concerns for the environment, biodiversity, spirituality and awareness of Indigenous cultures. For more information on the artist, please visit Christi Belcourt's website.

Date modified:

Brochure : Vitrail au Parlement commémorant les séquelles des pensionnats indiens

Auteur : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Date : 2012
ISBN : 978-0-662-71206-0
QS- : QS-1012-000-FF-A1

Table of contents

Se souvenir du passé : fenêtre sur l'avenir

Un vitrail commémoratif surplombe l'entrée ouest de l'édifice du Centre du Parlement du Canada, à Ottawa.

Conçu par l'artiste métisse Christi Belcourt et reproduit sur verre par le Vision Art Stained Glass Studio, le vitrail commémore les séquelles des pensionnats indiens et les excuses historiques du premier ministre du Canada aux anciens élèves et à leurs familles.

Le comité de sélection, composé d'éminents experts en art autochtone et d'anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, a retenu à l'unanimité la proposition de l'artiste pour le concept du vitrail.

En novembre 2012, l'honorable John Duncan, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, a présenté le vitrail à l'honorable Andrew Scheer, président de la Chambre des communes.

Bien que le vitrail rapelle l'importance de la vérité et de la guérison, il laisse entrevoir un avenir basé sur la réconciliation et le respect.

Pensionnats indiens

Pendant un siècle, plus de 150 000 enfants autochtones ont été séparés de leurs familles et de leurs collectivités dans le cadre d'une politique du gouvernement qui visait à les assimiler à la culture dominante.

La plupart des pensionnats indiens ont fermé leurs portes au cours des années 1970, le dernier pensionnat administré par le gouvernement fédéral ayant fermé à la fin des années 1990.

De concert avec diverses organisations religieuses, dont les églises catholique romaine, anglicane, presbytérienne et unie, le gouvernement du Canada administrait presque tous les pensionnats indiens.

« Bien des générations d'enfants inuits, métis et des Premières Nations ont passé la plus grande partie de leur vie dans des pensionnats indiens. Les abus et la négligence à leur endroit ont laissé des marques jusque dans leur vie d'adulte, et ont eu des conséquences sur la vie de leurs descendants […] »

Exposition Que sont les enfants devenus?
Fondation autochtone de l'espoir

En 2006, les anciens élèves, les églises, les organisations autochtones et le gouvernement du Canada concluent une convention de règlement historique pour proposer une solution aux séquelles laissées par les pensionnats indiens.

Excuses du Canada

« Le gouvernement du Canada présente ses excuses les plus sincères aux peuples autochtones du Canada pour avoir si profondément manqué à son devoir envers eux, et leur demande pardon.
Nous le regrettons
We are sorry
Nimitataynan
Niminchinowesamin
Mamiattugut »

Le très honorable Stephen Harper
Premier ministre du Canada

Le 11 juin 2008, au nom du gouvernement du Canada et de tous les Canadiens, le premier ministre Stephen Harper s'est adressé à la Chambre des communes pour offrir des excuses et reconnaître les torts et dommages intergénérationnels que cette politique a causés aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, à leurs familles et à leurs collectivités.

Le même jour, dans l'ensemble du pays, les Autochtones se sont réunis pour regarder la présentation des excuses. Pour la première fois, ils voyaient leurs propres dirigeants, assis à la Chambre des communes, s'adresser directement aux parlementaires et, en fait, à tous les Canadiens.

Ces excuses soulignaient la détermination des Canadiens à tirer des leçons de ces événements tragiques afin qu'ils ne se reproduisent jamais.

Guérison, réconciliation et renouveau

Aujourd'hui, à l'échelle du pays, des membres des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis participent à des activités valorisant la vérité, la guérison et la réconciliation aux côtés d'autres Canadiens.

Il y a une revitalisation des pratiques culturelles et des langues, ainsi qu'un regain d'optimisme et d'espoir en l'avenir.

« Je suis également remplie d'optimisme […]. Un nouveau jour s'est levé pourtant, un jour nouveau marqué d'une volonté de réconciliation et d'édification d'un nouveau rapport avec les Inuit, les Métis et les Premières Nations. »

Mary Simon, ancienne présidente
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, le 11 juin 2008

Tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans la réconciliation et le renouveau. La connaissance de notre passé commun, notre respect mutuel et notre désir de travailler en partenariat nous aideront à bâtir un meilleur Canada pour tous.

« Le processus de réconciliation n'est pas un processus autochtone; c'est plutôt le temps pour tous les Canadiens de se réconcilier et d'aller de l'avant pour améliorer leurs relations et accroître les occasions de collaboration entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones. »

L'honorable sénateur Vernon White
Journée nationale des Autochtones, le 21 juin 2012

Giniigaaniimenaaning (Regard vers l'avenir), par Christi Belcour

L'histoire que raconte le vitrail commence au bas du panneau de gauche, se poursuit en montant vers le panneau du haut, puis descend le long du panneau de droite. Le titre, « Giniigaaniimenaaning », décrit la notion d'un regard vers l'avenir, vers ceux qui naîtront.

Panneau de gauche

La section du bas représente l'époque précédant les pensionnats indiens. Un ancêtre fume dans la hutte sacrée. De l'ouest (le motif de couverture à boutons) à l'est (le motif de coupole), les cérémonies, les langues et les connaissances traditionnelles des Autochtones étaient intactes. Des cérémonies importantes soulignant le passage de l'enfance à l'âge adulte, comme le jeûne des fraises, étaient pratiquées et enseignées. La récolte des bleuets et les connaissances relatives aux plantes, aux animaux et aux propriétés médicinales étaient transmises d'une génération à l'autre.

La section du milieu, où on voit des enfants, évoque « le chapitre triste » de l'épisode des pensionnats indiens. Plus de 150 000 enfants ont été retirés de force de leur foyer et, souvent, ont été victimes de sévices physiques et sexuels.

Le verre brisé exprime la fin du silence, dans les années 1980, alors que des survivants à l'échelle du Canada ont commencé à parler ouvertement de leur expérience dans les pensionnats indiens. Le verre brisé représente aussi les vies, les familles et les collectivités qui ont été détruites par la politique d'assimilation forcée du gouvernement. Le danseur inuit au tambour annonce le début de la guérison. La colombe, tenant une branche d'olivier, signifie l'espoir d'une réconciliation et d'une relation renouvelée entre les Autochtones et les autres Canadiens.

Panneau du haut

Ce panneau commémore les excuses présentées par le premier ministre Stephen Harper au nom du gouvernement du Canada et de tous les Canadiens devant la Chambre des communes le 11 juin 2008.

Aux côtés de l'iconique feuille d'érable se trouvent des symboles représentant les Inuit (un ulu), les Premières Nations (des plumes d'aigle) et la Nation métisse (le symbole de l'infini).

Panneau de droite

L'histoire se poursuit dans la section du haut. La danseuse à la robe à franges est une aînée ayant fréquenté un pensionnat indien. Elle danse pour la guérison de tous et pour celle des prochaines générations.

Dans la section du milieu, symbolisant le présent, une jeune mère étreint son poupon dans un porte-bébé traditionnel. L'enfant est de retour avec sa mère, ce qui représente la fin du cycle des sévices, car les enfants sont de nouveau élevés par leurs parents. Les phrases « Je t'aime » et « Je t'aime mon enfant » sont gravées dans le panneau en cri, en inuktitut, en anishnaabemowin et en mi'kmaq. Le grand-père de l'enfant chante une chanson traditionnelle, indiquant le retour des chansons, des danses, des cérémonies et des langues.

Dans la section du bas, le cercle est complet. Une grand-mère, assise dans la hutte, fume la pipe pour ses petits-enfants. Des cérémonies ont lieu, et les enseignements traditionnels sur la médecine sont transmis. L'espoir renaît. Il y a un nouveau respect envers les cultures autochtones au Canada; les Autochtones réalisent leur propre force et leur résilience.

Un concept en soi : la Terre mère

La Terre mère est à la base du concept du vitrail. Elle est représentée par la forme d'une femme. Chez les Autochtones, un grand nombre de traditions, de cultures et de cérémonies, de même que leur mode de vie, sont fondées sur le lien étroit qu'ils entretiennent avec le territoire et l'esprit de la Terre.

À propos de l'artiste

Christi Belcourt (née en 1966) est une artiste métisse en arts visuels qui a un profond respect des traditions et des connaissances de son peuple. Comme les générations d'artistes autochtones qui l'ont précédée, elle célèbre la beauté de la nature tout en explorant ses propriétés symboliques. S'inspirant de la tradition de perlage en motifs floraux des Métis, Mme Belcourt peint en forme de points. Elle fait ressortir de ses sujets des métaphores de l'existence humaine pour transmettre différents messages, notamment les préoccupations environnementales, la biodiversité, la spiritualité et la sensibilisation aux cultures indigènes. Pour en connaître davantage au sujet de cette artiste, visitez le site Web de Christi Belcourt (site Web non disponible en français).

Date de modification :