ARCHIVED - Investigation of Allegations at the Lower Nicola Indian Band

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Date: 2011

PDF Version (291 Kb, 5 Pages)

Background

In 2008, an Elders' Investigative Committee (EIC) was formed with the mandate to investigate the remuneration of Chief and Council in office at the Lower Nicola Indian Band from October 2004 to October 2007. In 2009, the EIC recommended that three councillors be impeached.

In 2009 the Assessment and Investigations Services Branch (AISB) of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) began an assessment into allegations received concerning this First Nation.

Following its assessment and examination, a forensic investigation was deemed necessary to investigate the allegations raised in the EIC report and a number of other allegations pertaining to the construction of a waterline in the community.

The firm KPMG Forensic Inc. was commissioned to investigate:

Work Undertaken

Interviews were conducted with: the former chief, current and former councillors; legal counsel to the Elders Investigative Committee; current and past administrative staff of the First Nation; representatives from AANDC and Western Economic Diversification, etc.

Reviewed the First Nation's general ledgers for the 2005-06, 2006-07 and 2007-08 fiscal years.

Reviewed supporting documentation to the EIC report.

Findings

The amount paid to each councillor from October 2004 to October 2007 on an annual basis were consistent with expenditures covered under AANDC funding agreements and do not represent an abuse of AANDC funds.

Approximately 40 per cent of the overall cost of the EIC report appeared to have been paid by AANDC funds (i.e. $69,273). Due to co-mingling of funds it is not possible to determine whether those funds were repaid to AANDC programs.

Funding from Western Economic Diversification Canada (WED) was received after the waterline project costs were paid. Based on the source and use of the funds deposited in the First Nation's bank account, it was difficult to determine, after reimbursement of WED funds, if AANDC funds were used to pay for the waterline. It is clear that some AANDC funds, destined to fund specific projects, were used to finance the construction of the waterline between August 2009 and May 2010.

Recommendations

It is recommended that appropriate accounting and reporting process be put in place in order to meet AANDC contribution agreement requirement: "The Council shall maintain accounting documentation regarding all funding provided by DIAND and other Federal Departments in a manner that will allow for an audit."

A number of concerns were brought forward during the course of this investigation regarding the availability of detailed financial information for the members of this community and around transparency of Chief and Council decision related to contracts with suppliers. It is therefore recommended that the First Nation develop a governance model that would ensure transparency on issues of this kind.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Enquête sur les allégations visant la bande indienne de Lower Nicola

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date : 2011

Format PDF (288 Ko, 5 pages)

Contexte

En 2008, un Comité d'enquête des Aînés (CEA) a été formé avec pour mandat d'enquêter sur la rémunération du chef et des conseillers en poste dans la bande indienne de Lower Nicola d'octobre 2004 à octobre 2007. En 2009, le CEA a recommandé la destitution de trois conseillers.

En 2009, la Direction générale des services d'examen et d'enquête (DGSEE) d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a entrepris un examen sur les allégations reçues concernant cette Première Nation.

Après examen, la DGSEE a jugé nécessaire de procéder à une enquête judiciaire sur les allégations soulevées dans le rapport du CEA et d'autres allégations concernant l'aménagement d'une conduite d'eau dans la collectivité.

La DGSEE a retenu les services de la firme KPMG Forensic Inc. pour mener une enquête en vue de déterminer :

Travaux entrepris

Les personnes suivantes ont été interrogées : l'ancien chef, les conseillers actuels et anciens, l'avocat du CEA, les membres du personnel administratif de la Première Nation (actuels et anciens), des représentants d'AADNC et de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest (DEO) et d'autres intervenants.

Les grands livres généraux de la Première Nation couvrant les exercices 2005-­2006, 2006-­2007 et 2007-­2008 ont fait l'objet d'un examen.

Les documents justificatifs à l'appui du rapport du CEA ont été soumis à un examen.

Constatations

Les montants versés annuellement à chaque conseiller pour la période allant d'octobre 2004 à octobre 2007 correspondent aux dépenses prévues dans les ententes de financement conclues avec le ministère et ne représentent pas une utilisation abusive des fonds d'AADNC.

Une proportion d'environ 40 p. cent (69 273 $) du coût total du rapport du CEA semble avoir été payée au moyen des fonds d'AADNC. En raison du regroupement des fonds, il est impossible de déterminer si ces fonds ont été remboursés aux programmes d'AADNC.

Le financement provenant de DEO a été reçu après le paiement des coûts du projet de conduite d'eau. Quant à la source et à l'utilisation des fonds déposés dans le compte bancaire de la Première Nation, il est difficile de déterminer, après remboursement des fonds octroyés par DEO, si les fonds d'AADNC ont servi à payer la conduite d'eau. Toutefois, il est évident que certains fonds d'AADNC destinés à des projets précis ont été utilisés pour financer l'installation de la conduite d'eau entre août 2009 et mai 2010.

Recommandations

Il est recommandé de mettre en place des processus appropriés de comptabilité et de reddition de comptes, conformément aux accords de contribution d'AADNC, selon lesquels « le Conseil doit tenir des documents comptables sur tout financement octroyé par AADNC et d'autres ministères fédéraux d'une manière pouvant en permettre la vérification. »

Au cours de cette enquête, un certains nombre de préoccupations ont été soulevées au sujet de l'accès par les membres de la collectivité à des renseignements financiers détaillés et de la transparence des décisions du chef et des conseillers concernant la passation de marchés avec des fournisseurs. Il est, par conséquent, recommandé d'élaborer un modèle de gouvernance qui assurera la transparence quant aux questions de ce genre.

 
 
Date de modification :