ARCHIVED - Investigation of Allegations at the Bonaparte First Nation

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Date: 2011

PDF Version (296 Kb, 7 Pages)

Background

In 2009, the Assessment and Investigation Services Branch (AISB) of the Department began an investigation based on allegations of misuse of funds at the Bonaparte First Nation.

Allegations included: improper use of government funds to pay the First Nation's outstanding debt to the local school district; improper management of the social assistance funds; improper use of education funding and; unjustified increases in honoraria and travel.

KPMG Forensic Inc. was commissioned to investigate these allegations and in particular to consider if AANDC funds were compromised. The investigation focused on three funding areas: Social Assistance; Education; and Band Administration (honoraria and travel expenses).

Findings

Social Assistance

AANDC's regional office in British Columbia conducted a compliance review of the Social Assistance program for this First Nation independent of this investigation.

No recoveries were deemed necessary.

Education

Between 2004 and 2007, AANDC funded approximately $1.5M towards the full cost of tuition of the Band's agreement with the School District No. 74. At the end of 2007, approximately $800,000 of the dedicated funds had not been paid to the School District. This allegation was confirmed.

By February 2010, the balance owing to the School District No. 74 had been paid by the Band.

School Districts are now paid directly by AANDC.

We observe education funds being paid to a student who was not registered with an educational institution for a period of time where support payments were made.

From 2008 to 2010, $119,303 was charged to AANDC-funded programs for expenses that do not qualify under AANDC funding agreement (education and extra-curricular activities, such as gym memberships, hockey tickets, sporting equipment, sports sponsorship, travel to sporting events, clothing, jewelry). The recipients (a total of 125) include individuals and organizations.

In addition, approximately $164,000 was charged to other programs not funded by AANDC for similar expenses.

Band Administration

From 2009 to 2010, honoraria and travel expenses increased significantly. No Council minutes could be located to support the approval of this increase.

Honoraria

  • 2008: $41,000
  • 2009: $56,200
  • 2010: $112,500

No travel policy could be found for the First Nation.

Recommendations

It is recommended that appropriate accounting and reporting process be put in place in order to meet AANDC contribution agreement requirement: "The Council shall maintain accounting documentation regarding all funding provided by DIAND and other Federal Departments in a manner that will allow for an audit."

At a minimum, the following policies and procedures should be developed and enacted:

It is recommended that AANDC recovers the funds ($119,000) that were misused for education and extra-curricular activities.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Enquête sur les allégations visant la Première Nation de Bonaparte

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date : 2011

Format PDF (327 Ko, 7 pages)

Contexte

En 2009, la Direction générale des services d'examen et d'enquête (DGSEE) d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a entrepris une enquête fondée sur des allégations de mauvaise utilisation des fonds à la Première Nation de Bonaparte.

Les allégations reçues visaient notamment : l'utilisation inappropriée de fonds du gouvernement pour rembourser les dettes de la Première Nation envers le district scolaire local; la gestion inadéquate des fonds d'aide sociale; l'utilisation inappropriée des fonds destinés à l'éducation; l'augmentation injustifiée des honoraires et des frais de déplacement.

On a retenu les services de la firme KPMG Forensic Inc. pour enquêter sur ces allégations et, plus particulièrement, pour vérifier si les fonds d'AADNC ont été utilisés à mauvais escient. L'enquête portait sur trois secteurs de financement, soit l'aide sociale, l'éducation et l'administration de la bande (honoraires et frais de déplacement).

Constatations

Aide sociale

Le bureau régional d'AADNC en Colombie-Britannique a examiné la conformité du programme d'aide sociale de la Première Nation. Cet examen ne faisait pas partie de l'enquête.

Aucun recouvrement n'a été jugé nécessaire.

Éducation

Entre 2004 et 2007, AADNC a versé environ 1,5 M$ pour financer le coût total des frais de scolarité prévus dans l'accord conclu entre la bande et le district scolaire no 74. À la fin de 2007, une portion d'environ 800 000 $ des fonds dédiés n'aurait pas été payée au district scolaire. Cette allégation a été confirmée.

En février 2010, la bande a payé en totalité le solde dû au district scolaire no 74.

Depuis, AADNC verse les fonds directement aux districts scolaires.

Nous avons noté que des fonds dédiés à l'éducation ont été versés à un élève qui n'était pas inscrit auprès d'un établissement d'enseignement pendant une période où des paiements de soutien ont été effectués.

De 2008 à 2010, un montant totalisant 119 303 $ a été imputé à des programmes financés par AADNC. Il s'agissait de dépenses non conformes à l'entente de financement d'AADNC (activités éducatives et parascolaires, telles que des abonnements à un centre de conditionnement physique, des billets pour assister à des parties de hockey, de l'équipement sportif, des commandites sportives, des déplacements pour assister à des événements sportifs, des vêtements et des bijoux). Les bénéficiaires (125 au total) sont des particuliers et des organisations.

De plus, des dépenses similaires totalisant environ 164 000 $ ont été imputées à d'autres programmes non financés par AADNC.

Administration de la bande

De 2009 à 2010, les honoraires et les frais de déplacement ont connu une hausse significative. Aucun procès-verbal n'a permis de prouver l'approbation de cette augmentation.

Honoraires

  • 2008 : 41 000 $
  • 2009 : 56 200 $
  • 2010 : 112 500 $

On n'a trouvé aucune politique sur les déplacements visant la Première Nation.

Recommandations

Il est recommandé de mettre en place des processus appropriés de comptabilité et de reddition de comptes, conformément aux accords de contribution d'AADNC, selon lesquels « le Conseil doit tenir des documents comptables sur tout financement octroyé par AADNC et d'autres ministères fédéraux d'une manière pouvant en permettre la vérification. »

À tout le moins, les politiques et procédures suivantes devraient être élaborées et adoptées :

Il est recommandé que AADNC recouvre les fonds (119 000 $) utilisés à mauvais escient pour des activités d'éducation et des activités parascolaires.

 
 
Date de modification :