Nunavut Devolution

Northern governance and the devolving of province-like powers to the Northern Territories has been a major part of the Government of Canada’s Northern Strategy. Canada’s Northern Strategy aims at working with Northern partners to advance practical, innovative and efficient governance models, including the devolution of land and resource management, as the key to building the future of the North. Devolution in Nunavut is an essential step to reaching these goals and an important step in the political and economic development of the territory.

Since the 1970s, the federal government has gradually transferred responsibility for health, education, social services, housing, airports and language to the region. Discussions to transfer province-like responsibilities for land and resource management to the Government of Nunavut have taken place at various times since the creation of the territory. These responsibilities are currently held within Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

The Lands and Resources Devolution Negotiation Protocol, which was signed in 2008 by the Government of Canada, the Government of Nunavut and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, was the first major step towards Nunavut devolution. The Protocol will be used to guide the parties through each step of the devolution negotiations process and toward a final devolution agreement in Nunavut.

Formal negotiations on a devolution Agreement-in-Principle began with the appointment of Mr. Brian Dominique as Chief Federal Negotiator in October 2014. The Agreement-in-Principle, once signed by the parties, will serve as a guide for the negotiation of a final devolution agreement.

Devolution is an important step in the political and economic development of Nunavut. The Government of Canada remains committed to working with the Government of Nunavut and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated to advance the devolution of lands and resource management responsibilities in Nunavut.

What other information is available?

You may also be interested in:

Parties to Nunavut Devolution Negotiations

Transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut

La gouvernance et le transfert de responsabilités de type provincial dans le Nord sont des objectifs stratégiques de longue date du gouvernement du Canada. Le transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut est une étape essentielle du développement politique et économique du territoire.

Depuis les années 1970, le gouvernement fédéral transfère progressivement à la région les responsabilités dans les domaines suivants : santé, éducation, services sociaux, logement, aéroports et langues. Plusieurs discussions sur le transfert au gouvernement du Nunavut des responsabilités similaires à celles des provinces en matière de gestion des terres et des ressources ont eu lieu depuis la création du territoire. Ces responsabilités sont actuellement assumées par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

Le Protocole de négociation du transfert des responsabilités en matière de terres et de ressources au Nunavut, qui a été signé en 2008 par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Nunavut et Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI), représente la première étape majeure vers le transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut. Le Protocole guidera les parties dans chaque étape du processus de négociation du transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut vers la conclusion d'un accord définitif.

Les négociations officielles pour une entente de principe sur le transfert des responsabilités ont commencé en octobre 2014. Les négociations se poursuivent, avec M. Fred Caron qui a été nommé négociateur en chef du gouvernement fédéral en juillet 2016.  Lorsqu'elle aura été signée par les parties, cette entente de principe aiguillera les négociations sur l'accord de transfert définitif.

Le transfert de responsabilités est une étape importante dans le développement politique et économique du Nunavut. Le gouvernement du Canada demeure résolu à travailler avec le gouvernement du Nunavut et NTI à faire avancer le processus de transfert des responsabilités en matière de gestion des terres et des ressources au Nunavut.

Renseignements

Autres liens d'intérêt

Parties aux négociations sur le transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut

Date de modification :