FAQs – Yukon Devolution

What have been the key milestones in Yukon’s devolution?

The first major milestone in the devolution of land and resource management in Yukon was The Canada Yukon Oil and Gas Accord, signed in 1993, which allowed for the administration and legislative control over oil and gas resources, including the collection of natural resource revenues derived from oil and gas resources.  The Yukon Northern Affairs Program Devolution Transfer Agreement was signed in 2001. It provided for the transfer of responsibilities for lands, water, forestry and mineral resources from the Government of Canada to the Government of Yukon in 2003.

On April 1, 2003, a new Yukon Act came into effect, giving the Government of Yukon greater control over a greater variety of province-like programs, responsibilities and powers.

What is the status of Yukon devolution?

Land and resource management has been devolved in Yukon since 2003.  The Yukon Northern Affairs Program Devolution Transfer Agreement was signed in 2001. It provided for the transfer of responsibilities for lands, water, forestry and mineral resources from the Government of Canada to the Government of Yukon in 2003.  On April 1, 2003, a new Yukon Act came into effect, reflecting the Government of Yukon's increased control over a wider variety of province-like programs, responsibilities and powers.

Have there been any recent developments to Yukon devolution?

In August 2012, Resource Revenue Sharing Agreements, part of The Yukon Northern Affairs Program Devolution Transfer Agreement were amended to ensure a greater portion of the revenues generated from the mining and resource economy in Yukon are available for use in the territory. The amendments allow Yukoners to benefit from arrangements similar to those agreed to in principle with the Government of the Northwest Territories.

FAQ – Le transfert des responsabilités au Yukon

Quelles ont été les grandes étapes du transfert des responsabilités au Yukon?

La première étape importante du transfert des responsabilités de gestion des terres et des ressources au Yukon a été l’Accord Canada‑Yukon sur le pétrole et le gaz, signé en 1993, qui a autorisé l’administration et le contrôle législatif sur les ressources pétrolières et gazières, de même que la collecte des recettes tirées des ressources en pétrole et en gaz. L’Accord de transfert au Yukon d’attributions relevant du Programme des affaires du Nord a été signé en 2001. Il prescrivait le transfert des responsabilités pour les terres, les eaux, la foresterie et les ressources minérales du gouvernement du Canada au gouvernement du Yukon en 2003.

Le 1er avril 2003, une nouvelle Loi sur le Yukon est entrée en vigueur, augmentant le contrôle du gouvernement du Yukon sur un plus large éventail de programmes, de responsabilités et de pouvoirs similaires à ceux des provinces.

Quel est l’état d’avancement du transfert des responsabilités au Yukon?

Les responsabilités de gestion des terres et des ressources incombent au Yukon depuis 2003. L’Accord de transfert au Yukon d’attributions relevant du Programme des affaires du Nord a été signé en 2001. Il prescrivait le transfert des responsabilités pour les terres, les eaux, la foresterie et les ressources minérales du gouvernement du Canada au gouvernement du Yukon en 2003. Le 1er avril 2003, une nouvelle Loi sur le Yukon est entrée en vigueur, augmentant le contrôle du gouvernement du Yukon sur un plus large éventail de programmes, de responsabilités et de pouvoirs similaires à ceux des provinces.

Le transfert des responsabilités au Yukon a‑t‑il évolué récemment?

En août 2012, les dispositions de l’entente sur le partage des recettes de l’exploitation des ressources de l’Accord de transfert au Yukon d’attributions relevant du Programme des affaires du Nord ont été amendées pour que le Yukon puisse investir une part plus importante des revenus de l’exploitation minière et de l’exploitation des ressources dans son territoire. Grâce à ces amendements, les Yukonnais bénéficient d’arrangements similaires à ceux ayant fait récemment l’objet d’une entente de principe dans le cadre des négociations sur le transfert des responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest.