ARCHIVED - Audit of Band Support Funding - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (20 Kb, 2 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Regional Operations - Governance Branch

Audit of Band Support Funding (08/27)
AEC Approval Date: 25/09/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. AANDC, should streamline the current application process to ensure efficiency and the use of the most current programming data. This new application process should become part of BSF Program Policy, and be adopted uniformly across regions. An implementation plan should be created for this new process to address regional communication and training issues. AANDC, in the context of the renewal of the Indian Government Support programs, will seek authority to simplify the funding formula such that funding entitlements will be calculated entirely on the basis of current data already contained in internal AANDC databases, relieving applicants of the burden of submitting data to AANDC. All First Nations communities will have access to the data employed in this calculation. Secure program authority for a new funding formula by April 1, 2010

Implement new automated data collection system by April 1, 2011
Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Program improved within current authority through changes to forms, processes and database. Consolidated reporting was implemented in Q1. The Indian Government Support System was redeveloped in Q4, in a stable platform with linkages to authoritative source systems, significantly reducing the administrative burden and standardizing the application process. Training will be provided in Q1 of the 2012-2013.



AES: Implementation complete. Recommendation to be closed
2. AANDC, Professional and Institutional Development Directorate, should create a model that can be used to accurately calculate the PY data so that it better matches community needs. This model should become part of the BSF Program Policy, and implemented consistently across the regions. AANDC will seek authority for a simpler funding formula which is driven by population, by the volume of other programs managed by the community, and by geographic factors; the new formula will not employ person-year data. Secure program authority for a new funding formula by April 1, 2010 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Will be addressed through a technical level update to program terms and conditions, including a simplified program funding formula.

AES: Recommendation is closed.<
3. AANDC should ensure that consistent and comprehensive guidelines that outline the appropriate uses of BSF expenses are developed and provided to regional staff and recipients. The Department should establish a communication plan to ensure that the regions and BSF funding recipients clearly understand these guidelines. Training should also be provided to regional program staff to ensure that they are giving consistent and accurate guidance to First Nations on the use of BSF funds. AANDC will seek authority to define the purpose of the grant to be to support First Nations in the execution of functions of government. Regional Operations Sector will provide program guidance to all regional offices regarding these functions. Provide training to regional offices on the purpose of a renewed grant program by December 31, 2010 Status: on-going

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Will be addressed through a technical level update to program terms and conditions and related program policy. As mentioned in the last update, the role of BSF is being reviewed within the broader context of capacity development (see Capacity Development Audit Action Plan).

AES: Recommendation is obsolete –closed.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification du programme de financement du soutien des bandes (PFSB) - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (22 Ko, 2 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2012

Opérations régionales - Direction générale de la gouvernance des Premières nations

Vérification du programme de financement du soutien des bandes (PFSB) (08/27)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 25 septembre 2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. AADNC doit rationaliser le processus de demande actuel afin d'assurer son efficacité et l'utilisation des données de programme les plus récentes. Ce nouveau processus de demande doit s'intégrer à la politique du Programme de financement du soutien des bandes (PFSB) et être adopté uniformément par les régions. Il doit également être accompagné d'un plan de mise en œuvre permettant d'aborder les problèmes régionaux en matière de formation et de communication. Dans le cadre du renouvellement des programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens, AADNC demandera l'autorisation de simplifier la formule de financement de sorte que les droits de financement soient calculés entièrement en fonction des données actuelles déjà versées dans les bases de données internes d'AADNC. Ainsi, les demandeurs n'auraient plus à soumettre de données à AADNC. Toutes les collectivités des Premières nations auront accès aux données utilisées pour le calcul Obtenir une autorisation de programme pour élaborer une nouvelle formule de financement d'ici le 1er avril 2010.

Application du nouveau système de collecte automatique des données d'ici le 1er avril 2011.
État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 31 mars 2012

Le programme a été amélioré, dans le cadre de l'autorisation existante, grâce à l'apport de changements aux formulaires, aux processus et à la base de données. Le regroupement des rapports a été mis en œuvre au T1. Le Système de soutien des gouvernements indiens a été modifié au T4. La plate-forme est maintenant stable et reliée à des systèmes sources faisant autorité, ce qui a permis de réduire considérablement le fardeau administratif et de normaliser le processus de demande. De la formation sera offerte au T1 de 2012-2013.

Commentaire du SVE : La mise en œuvre est terminée. La recommandation sera classée
2. La Direction du développement professionnel et institutionnel à AADNC doit créer un modèle lui permettant de calculer avec précision les données relatives aux années-personnes afin qu'elles correspondent davantage aux besoins de la collectivité. Ce modèle devrait être intégré à la politique du PFSB et mis en œuvre de façon uniforme dans l'ensemble des régions AADNC demandera l'autorisation d'appliquer une formule de financement simplifiée reposant sur la population, le volume des autres programmes gérés par la collectivité et les facteurs géographiques. La nouvelle formule ne tiendra pas compte des années-personnes. Obtenir une autorisation de programme pour élaborer une nouvelle formule de financement d'ici le 1er avril 2010. État

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 31 mars 2012

On abordera la question par le truchement d'une mise à jour technique des modalités du programme, ce qui comprendra la simplification de la formule de financement du programme.

Commentaire du SVE : La recommandation est classée.
3. AADNC doit s'assurer de formuler des directives cohérentes et complètes sur l'utilisation appropriée des dépenses du PFSB et de les donner au personnel régional et aux bénéficiaires. Le Ministère doit ensuite élaborer un plan de communication afin de s'assurer que les régions et les bénéficiaires du PFSB comprennent clairement ces directives. Une formation doit aussi être offerte au personnel régional du programme afin qu'il donne des directives cohérentes et précises aux Premières nations sur l'utilisation des fonds provenant du PFSB. AADNC demandera l'autorisation de définir l'objectif de la subvention comme suit : aider les Premières nations à exécuter des fonctions du gouvernement. Le Secteur des opérations régionales donnera à tous les bureaux régionaux des directives sur le programme en ce qui a trait à toutes ces fonctions. Donner aux bureaux régionaux une formation sur l'objectif d'un nouveau programme de subventions d'ici le 31 décembre 2010. État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 31 mars 2012

On abordera la question par le truchement d'une mise à jour technique des modalités du programme et des politiques de programme connexes. Comme il en a été question dans la dernière mise à jour, le rôle du PFSB fait l'objet d'un examen dans le contexte plus vaste du développement des capacités (voir le plan d'action de la vérification du développement des capacités).

Commentaire du SVE : La recommandation est désuète (classée)
 
 
Date de modification :