ARCHIVED - Audit of Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (37 Kb, 7 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Chief Financial Officer

Audit of Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) (08/19)
AEC Approval Date: May 14, 2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. User Awareness:

Observation: There exists a lack of user awareness surrounding appropriate document classification, user responsibilities and support, and the benefits of prioritizing this activity.
Action: AANDC's IMB will embark on a re-invigorated approach to change management and governance to minimize the knowledge gap as it relates to system usage. More effort will be concentrated on persistency of uptake, including endorsement/enforcement by senior management. In the short term, IMB will conduct a series of user forums and surveys to garner input and suggestions from departmental employees on where they see specific areas of improvement being required. (September 2010) Status: Request to Close- completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Based on the outcomes of the on-line survey and feedback received from users via Help Desk and face-to-face interaction, a draft strategy to address internal communications related to all aspects of information management was developed in November 2011.

  1. An article for AANDC Express has been developed specifically on File Numbers providing some insight into their purpose and suggesting ways to facilitate the correct selection of a file number when saving a document. This is expected to be published in the March 29th edition of AANDC Express.

  2. CIDM Training continues on an ongoing basis, where the topic of file classification is covered. Every month, 80 to 90 users are trained in classroom or in one-on-one sessions.

  3. Overall IM Awareness sessions are also provided at the request of program areas that cover the subject of file number selection. Over 25 IM Awareness sessions have been held this year.

  4. The Records Office makes desk visits to all employees as part of initial training and at any time on request to help set the file favourites so that users can work with a short list of file numbers that are appropriate to their work. Over 760 employees in the NCR received this individual service.
These basic services are part of a standard service offering from CIMD and will continue to address the change Management aspects of the audit finding on a continual basis going forward.

It is recommended that this item be marked as ongoing/completed and closed in this audit report.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed as an on-going training and awareness strategy has been developed and implemented.
2. Retention and Disposition

Observation: AANDC's standardized retention and disposition policies are not being consistently followed across the department.
Action: IMB will work with the Regions and program areas to ensure that existing Retention and Disposition Authorities (RDA's) are applied consistently to CIDM document collections. This work will be conducted in parallel with departmental activities currently underway with Library and Archives Canada (LAC) on updating many of the existing RDA's. (December 2010) Status: Request to Close- complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

AANDC is an early adopter of the Library and Archives Canada (LAC) Recordkeeping Methodology, which will lead to compliance with Recordkeeping Directive by 2014.

  1. Work as Early Adopters of the Recordkeeping Methodology (RKM) has resulted in completion of Phase I by March 31/12 and planning for Phase II to begin early in 12/13. This is a multi-year initiative which will result in a full refresh of retention and disposition authorities and their application in the department toward full compliance to the Recordkeeping Directive in 2014. Creation of Record Keeping Agreement (RKA) continues to link analysis of the Recordkeeping Directive to specific business process re-engineering initiatives and application system development projects. Each RKA is designed specifically to speak to the life-cycle management of program information towards effective and timely disposition. The requirement for the Recordkeeping Analysis is built into the Information Management Overlay to the Project Management Framework and is therefore enforced as part of the governance framework for all IM/IT projects.

  2. The NCR Records Office is responsible for the review of file numbers selected by CIDM users to ensure that effective disposition of electronic documents can be done. Incorrect or generic file number choices (e.g. CIDM 9999-9) are corrected by records office staff. In 11/12, over 128,000 electronic documents were reviewed and reclassified by records office staff.
The work on all three elements above will continue over the upcoming years and will address this audit finding going forward.

It is recommended that this item be marked as ongoing/completed and closed in this audit report.

AES: Based on the progress achieved to date and the on-going nature of the planned actions, the recommendation will be closed.
3. Business Value of Information

Observation: CIDM's mandatory save environment is leading to an overabundance of transitory materials being captured and stored.
Action: IMB will develop a strategy which focuses on identification of business versus transitory materials, which will include the identification of an appropriate storage facility for transitory records. Also, IMB will lead in the development of an enterprise search strategy which can comb all departmental repositories in support of ATIP and e-Discovery. (December 2010) Status: Request to close- completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

  1. Work is completed on the business process mapping for the Proof of Concept and development of the Integrated Semantic Information System (ISIS) model is to be completed.

  2. The results of the assessment phase (April 2012) will inform the broader business case on IM toolset Evolution. Once fully implemented, the ISIS tool will facilitate the tagging of transitory information toward early disposition.

  3. Education of employees on transitory information versus information of "business value" continues as part of CIDM training, IM Awareness and Email Management training.

  4. The IM Tool Set Evolution Business case will include options for enterprise search
The work on all three elements above will continue over the upcoming years and will address this audit finding going forward.

It is recommended that this item be marked as Ongoing/Completed and closed in this audit report.

AES: Substantial implementation. The recommendation will be closed upon completion and approval of the IM Tool Set Evolution Business case.
4. Document Security

Observation: Confusion exists within the department around appropriate document security protocols, profiling and business rules.
Action: Since the conclusion of the audit,IMB and the Security and Occupational Health and Safety Division (SOHSD) have partnered together in an effort to better educate, measure and monitor the handling of electronic documentation. To that end, steps have been taken to include more frequent messaging around appropriate document security levels. In particular, changes have been made within the CIDM training curriculum to aid users in better identifying appropriate document security designations.

Over the long term, IMB will continue to partner with SOHSD to further improve education, measurement and monitoring of the handling of electronic documentation.
Immediate and ongoing Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Changes have been made within the CIDM training curriculum to aid users in better identifying appropriate document security designations (including direct integration of core messaging by SOHSD).

Additionally, a new tri-fold "Understanding Security Levels, Access Controls and CIDM" was developed in concert with SOHSD and distributed electronically to IM Regional counterparts and is now included in all NCR New Employee Orientation packages.

Over the long term, IMB will continue to partner with SOHSD to further improve education, measurement and monitoring of the handling of electronic documentation.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented
5. Naming Conventions and Profiling

Observation: There exists inconsistent application of naming conventions and access controls.
Action: In the short term, IMB will educate and clearly disseminate to the Regions AANDC's best practices and standards as they relate to naming conventions, while at the same time promoting more openness within the document access controls. This will be measured through IMB's Regional and Sectoral Scorecarding exercise on an ongoing basis. (September 2010 and ongoing) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

This is a Q3 initiative, which will include validation and feedback with Regions at the Annual National IM/IT Workshop.

AES: Close
6. Performance

Observation: Improvements should be made in the measurement, monitoring and remediation of CIDM performance and response times.
Action: IMB will establish and coordinate a national review process in collaboration with Regional service partners to identify factors affecting system performance. Once this process has been established, IMB will lead in the ongoing measurement, monitoring and remediation of performance and response times across all Regions. (September 2010 and ongoing) Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

This is a Q3 initiative, which will include validation and feedback with Regions at the Annual National IM/IT Workshop.

AES: Close
7. Licensing

Observation: There were at the time of the audit, more active users than actual licenses.
Action: Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB has remitted to PWGSC the required dollars to cover the identified gap. (December 2010 and ongoing) Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Since the conclusion of the audit, IMB has remitted to PWGSC the required dollars to cover the identified gap.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (44 Ko, 9 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2012

Dirigeant principal des finances

Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) (08/19)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 14 mai 2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Connaissances des utilisateurs :

Observation : Les utilisateurs connaissent mal la classification des documents, leurs responsabilités en la matière, l'aide disponible, ainsi que les avantages d'accorder la priorité à cette activité.
Action : La DGGI d'AADNC appliquera une approche renouvelée de la gestion du changement afin de minimiser les manques de connaissances liées au fonctionnement du système. Des efforts accrus seront concentrés sur la généralisation de l'utilisation du système, y compris l'approbation et la mise en application par la haute direction. Dans le court terme, la DGGI formera des groupes d'utilisateurs et effectuera des enquêtes pour recueillir les observations et les suggestions des employés du Ministère relatives aux améliorations à apporter. (Septembre 2010) État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

En novembre 2011, on a créé une stratégie provisoire, fondée sur les résultats du sondage en ligne et les commentaires que les utilisateurs ont formulés au centre de dépannage et en personne, afin d'examiner les communications internes touchant tous les aspects liés à la gestion de l'information.

  1. Un article portant précisément sur la numérotation des documents a été rédigé et devrait paraître dans l'édition de L'Express d'AADNC du 29 mars. L'article donne un aperçu des buts des numéros de dossiers et donne des conseils pour faire des choix éclairés lors de l'enregistrement d'un document.

  2. On continue de donner des formations sur le SGGID, lesquelles traitent de la classification des dossiers. Chaque mois, de 80 à 90 utilisateurs suivent des séances en classe ou individuelles.

  3. Des séances générales de sensibilisation à la GI, dans lesquelles on aborde le sujet de la sélection des numéros de dossiers, sont également données à la demande des secteurs de programme. Plus de 25 séances de sensibilisation à la GI ont été tenues cette année.

  4. Des agents du Bureau des documents passent au bureau de tous les employés dans le cadre de leur formation initiale et à n'importe quel moment sur demande pour dresser une liste des dossiers préférés afin que les utilisateurs puissent travailler à partir d'une brève liste de numéros adaptés à leur travail. Dans la région de la capitale nationale, plus de 760 employés ont bénéficié de ce service personnalisé.
Ces services de base font partie des services couramment offerts par le SGGID et ils donneront suite de façon continue aux aspects liés à la gestion du changement qui découleront des conclusions de la vérification.

Il est recommandé d'indiquer que ce point est en cours ou terminé et classé dans le présent rapport de vérification.

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation sera classée étant donné qu'une stratégie de formation et de sensibilisation a été conçue et mise en œuvre.
2. Conservation et élimination de documents

Observation : Les politiques normalisées d'AADNC en matière de conservation et d'élimination de documents ne sont pas appliquées de manière cohérente dans l'ensemble du Ministère.
Action : La DGGI collaborera avec les régions et les secteurs de programmes pour faire en sorte que les autorisations de disposer de documents (ADD) soient appliquées de manière cohérente aux collections de documents du SGGID. Ces travaux seront effectués parallèlement aux activités ministérielles qui sont en cours avec Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) en vue de mettre à jour un grand nombre d'autorisations existantes. (Décembre 2010) État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

AADNC fait partie des premiers utilisateurs de la méthodologie de tenue de documents de BAC, qui accroîtra la conformité à la Directive sur la tenue de documents d'ici 2014.
  1. Les travaux des premiers utilisateurs de la méthodologie ont mené à l'achèvement de la phase I au 31 mars 2012, et la planification de la phase II commencera au début de 2012‑2013. Il s'agit d'une initiative pluriannuelle qui entraînera une importante mise à jour des autorisations liées à la tenue et à la disposition des documents et de leur application au Ministère en vue de respecter pleinement la Directive sur la tenue de documents en 2014. La création d'ententes sur la tenue de documents continue de lier l'analyse de la Directive aux initiatives de restructuration des processus opérationnels et aux projets d'élaboration de systèmes d'applications. Chaque entente sur la tenue de documents est expressément conçue pour montrer que la gestion du cycle de vie des renseignements sur le programme contribue à une disposition efficace et rapide. L'exigence concernant l'analyse de la tenue des dossiers fait partie intégrante de la gestion de l'information qui s'ajoute au cadre de gestion du projet et est donc appliquée selon le cadre de gouvernance pour tous les projets de GI/TI.

  2. Il incombe au Bureau des documents de la région de la capitale nationale d'examiner les numéros de dossiers choisis par les utilisateurs du SGGID afin de veiller à la disposition efficace des documents électroniques. Les numéros incorrects ou génériques (p. ex., SGGID 9999-9) sont corrigés par les employés du Bureau des documents. En 2011‑2012, ils ont examiné et reclassifié plus de 128 000 documents électroniques.
Les travaux relatifs aux trois éléments indiqués ci-dessus se poursuivront au cours des prochaines années et donneront suite à la présente constatation de vérification.

Il est recommandé d'indiquer que ce point est en cours ou terminé et classé dans le présent rapport de vérification.

Commentaire du SVE : Compte tenu des progrès réalisés jusqu'à maintenant et de la nature permanente des mesures prévues, la recommandation sera classée.
3. Valeur opérationnelle de l'information

Observation : La fonction de sauvegarde obligatoire du SGGID est en train de produire une surabondance de données transitoires stockées.
Action : La DGGI élaborera une stratégie axée sur l'identification des renseignements opérationnels par rapport aux renseignements éphémères. Cela comportera l'identification d'une installation de stockage appropriée pour les documents éphémères. De plus, la DGGI prendra l'initiative de l'élaboration d'une stratégie de recherche qui permettra de fouiller dans tous les dépôts de documents du Ministère pour des investigations informatiques ou pour des demandes d'AIPRP. (Décembre 2010) État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

  1. On a achevé les travaux liés à l'élaboration des processus opérationnels pour la validation de principe, et l'élaboration du modèle de l'Integrated Semantic Information System (ISIS) est en cours d'achèvement.

  2. Les résultats de la phase d'évaluation (avril 2012) préciseront l'analyse de rentabilité de l'évolution de la boîte à outils en matière de gestion de l'information. Une fois qu'il sera pleinement mis en œuvre, l'outil ISIS facilitera l'étiquetage des renseignements éphémères aux fins de disposition rapide.

  3. La formation des employés à l'égard des renseignements éphémères par rapport aux renseignements opérationnels se poursuit dans le cadre de la formation sur le SGGID et la gestion des courriels ainsi que de la sensibilisation à l'égard de la gestion de l'information.

  4. L'analyse de rentabilité de l'évolution de la boîte à outils en matière de gestion de l'information comprendra des options pour la recherche d'entreprise.

Les travaux relatifs aux trois éléments indiqués ci‑dessus se poursuivront au cours des prochaines années et donneront suite à la présente constatation de vérification.

Il est recommandé d'indiquer que ce point est en cours ou terminé et classé dans le présent rapport de vérification.

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre avancée. La recommandation sera classée une fois que l'analyse de rentabilité de l'évolution de la boîte à outils en matière de gestion de l'information sera terminée et approuvée.
4. Sécurité des documents

Observation : Une confusion entoure les protocoles sur la sécurité des documents, l'établissement de profils et les règles administratives au sein du Ministère.
Action : Depuis la fin de la vérification, la DGGI et la Division de la sûreté et de la santé et sécurité au travail (SSST) se sont associées pour essayer de mieux informer le personnel du Ministère sur la manipulation des documents électroniques et pour évaluer et contrôler ce qui se fait. À cette fin, des mesures ont été prises pour augmenter le nombre de messages ayant pour objet les cotes de sécurité adéquates pour les documents. En particulier, des changements ont été apportés au programme de formation du SGGID afin d'aider les utilisateurs à attribuer la bonne cote de sécurité aux documents.

À long terme, la DGGI poursuivra sa collaboration avec SSST afin d'améliorer la connaissance, l'évaluation et le contrôle de la manipulation des documents électroniques.
Immédiatement, activité régulière État : Terminé

Mise en œuvre/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Des changements ont été apportés au programme de formation sur le SGGID afin d'aider les utilisateurs à mieux cibler les désignations de sécurité des documents (y compris l'intégration directe d'un message par la Division de la sûreté et de la santé au travail (DSST)).

De plus, un nouveau document en trois volets (comprendre les niveaux de sécurité, les contrôles d'accès et le SGGID) a été élaboré de concert avec la DSST et distribué électroniquement à tous les collègues de la GI des régions. Il est à présent intégré aux trousses d'orientation destinées aux nouveaux employés dans la RCN.

À long terme, la DGGI continuera de travailler en collaboration avec la DSST pour améliorer la sensibilisation, la mesure et la surveillance associées au traitement des documents électroniques.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.
5. Règles d'affectation des noms et établissement de profils

Observation : Les règles d'affectation des noms et les contrôles d'accès ne sont pas appliqués rigoureusement.
Action : À court terme, la DGGI renseignera en détail les régions sur les pratiques exemplaires et les normes d'AADNC concernant l'affectation des noms, tout en favorisant une plus grande ouverture dans le contrôle de l'accès aux documents. La situation sera évaluée de façon permanente au moyen de l'exercice de pointage régional et sectoriel de la DGGI. (Septembre 2010, activité régulière) État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Il s'agit d'une initiative pour le 3e trimestre, qui comprend la validation et la rétroaction des régions au cours de l'atelier national annuel sur la GI/TI.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé.
6. Performance

Observation : La mesure, le contrôle et la correction de la performance et du temps de réponse du SGGID devraient être améliorés.
Action : La DGGI, en collaboration avec ses partenaires de service régionaux, instituera un processus national d'examen visant à déterminer les facteurs qui influencent la performance du système. Une fois qu'il aura été mis en place, la DGGI prendra l'initiative d'assurer la mesure, la surveillance et la correction permanentes de la performance et du temps de réponse du SGGID dans toutes les régions. (Septembre 2010, activité régulière) État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Il s'agit d'une initiative pour le 3e trimestre, qui comprend la validation et la rétroaction des régions au cours de l'atelier national annuel sur la GI/TI.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé.
7. Obtention de licences

Observation : Au moment de la vérification, le nombre d'utilisateurs actifs dépassait le nombre de licences délivrées.
Action : Depuis la fin de la vérification, DGGI a versé à TPSGC les sommes nécessaires pour obtenir les licences manquantes. (Décembre 2010, activité régulière) État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Au 30 septembre 2010 :

Depuis la fin de la vérification, la DGGI a versé à TPSGC les sommes nécessaires pour couvrir le manque qui a été ciblé.

Commentaires du SVE : Terminé. Entièrement mis en œuvre.
 
 
Date de modification :