ARCHIVED - Summative Evaluation of INAC's Emergency Management - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (41 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Regional Operations Sector, Operations and Planning Support Branch, Emergency and Issues Management Directorate

Summative Evaluation of INAC's Emergency Management (2008046)
Approval Date: 24/02/2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Roles and responsibilities:

It is recommended that AANDC clarify the roles and responsibilities of the Department as they relate to emergency management. This process should consider the current environment of emergency management, specifically the implications of the 2007 Emergency Management Act. To do so, the Department must define relationships with all external stakeholders and put in place the appropriate governance structures and agreements to ensure fulfillment of responsibilities related to emergency management. All aspects of emergency management should be considered in this process, with particular emphasis on the following areas:
AANDC recognizes its primary role in fulfilling the federal government's responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Northerners as they relate to emergency management. As a first step, the Department has developed the AANDC National Emergency Management Plan, approved in May 2009 by the Deputy Minister. The plan provides AANDC with a national framework for its roles and responsibilities on emergency management which includes mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery activities in First Nations communities across Canada.   Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

AANDC has an emergency management plan that describes the roles and responsibilities for emergency management. The plan is an evergreen document that was last updated in and evaluated by Public Safety Canada in 2011.

EIMD also requested and received a legal opinion that provided some clarification with regards to the noted areas of emphasis with the exclusion of the North.
a. The precise role of the Department in an all-hazards approach to emergency management in the three northern territories.

b. The precise role of the Department with respect to emergencies that fall within the responsibility of another department or jurisdiction (such as health issues and civil unrest).

c. The program delivery mechanisms and structure relating to the four pillars of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery activities.

d. Horizontal engagement of other relevant AANDC programs that have a potential to contribute to an all-hazards approach to emergency management, such as capital infrastructure in mitigation projects or land claims in civil unrest issues.

e. The precise role of First Nations communities in emergency management.
A - In addition to the AANDC National Emergency Management Plan and to address recommendation 1 as described, AANDC will be working with the Senior Officials Responsible for Emergency Management (SOREM) First Nations, Inuit and Northerners Working Group to establish a national approach to emergency management Service Agreements with the provinces/territories. As part of this, the SOREM Working Group made up of intergovernmental representatives will support the development of a clear national AANDC framework on emergency management, including mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery for:
  • roles and responsibilities of all stakeholders;

  • identifying services to be delivered;

  • capacity building in communities;

  • establishing a funding formula for emergency management services rendered;

  • eligible and non-eligible expenses;

  • the declaration of an emergency on reserve; and

  • accountability (including a reporting mechanism).
Implementation work has already been initiated with a planned completion date of October 2011 tied to EMAP authority renewal Final approval of National Service Agreement Guidelines could not be reached with Provincial and Territorial stakeholders. AANDC national guidelines are being developed to engage bilateral discussions at the regional level to have funding agreement in place to provide emergency management services. The Department continues to co-chair the SOREM Aboriginal Working Group with the Province of Alberta.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EIMD will continue to engage with Northern Affairs Organization for the purpose of completing the Annex to AANDC's National EM Plan describing AANDC's roles and responsibilities for emergency management in the territories.
B - As part of this process and for preparedness, AANDC will explore approaches to ensure the development of meaningful emergency management plans in First Nations communities through a capacity building approach.

AANDC's EIMD and Northern Affairs Organization (NAO) are currently collaborating on developing an annex to AANDC's National EMPlan to clarify AANDC's emergency roles and responsibilities in the North.

AANDC's precise role with respect to emergencies that fall within the responsibility of another department or jurisdiction (such as health issues and civil unrest) is known and must simply be better communicated to stakeholders. For example, AANDC worked closely with Health Canada's First Nation and Inuit Health Branch to develop a joint action plan, based on the Department's role as set out in Annex B of The Canadian Influenza Pandemic Plan for the Health Sector. The joint action plan clearly described AANDC's precise role during the H1N1 emergency. AANDCalso participates in Public Safety's Interdepartmental Working Group on the All Hazards Risk Assessment Framework for increased collaboration at the federal level.

Although better communication and coordination has been achieved since the creation of the Emergency and Issue Management Directorate in September 2008, work is ongoing to develop stronger links to other relevant AANDC programs to reinforce the all-hazards approach to emergency management in the Department.
June 2010 A Memorandum of Understanding will be developed between AANDC and FNIHB that will focus on improving collaboration at both the national and regional levels and facilitate the integration of Communicable Disease Emergencies' Plans into the All-Hazards Emergency Management Plans, at the community-level

 

 

 

 

EIMD has now been integrated to the Community infrastructure Branch which will reinforce stronger links to the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program and other relevant AANDC programs as well as external stakeholders such as Public Safety Canada to reinforce the all-hazards approach to emergency management in the Department.

AES: Close. A Review of the Emergency Management Assistance Program during the 2011-12 Manitoba Flood has just been completed. Progress regarding these action items will be considered in future status updates related to this Review.
2. Program funding structure:

It is recommended that AANDC consider a revised funding structure, to alleviate the impact on regions, other program areas, and communities and provide a secure funding base for the Department's emergency response and recovery activities. To facilitate this transition, AANDC should document existing AANDC funding for emergency management programming and develop forecasts for future expenses relating to an all hazards approach to emergency management.

AANDC should also identify appropriate resources in alignment with the Department's roles and responsibilities as determined in the response to Recommendation 1 above. Specifically, ensuring that the department has the ability to provide preparedness and mitigation services in accordance with Departmental obligations under the EMA.
AANDC will use the present evaluation and authority renewal process to further investigate and determine the most appropriate funding structure to meet all of the Department's legal and contractual obligations regarding emergency management in its area of responsibility while alleviating unintended impacts on regions, other program areas and affected communities.

To support this exercise, the Department has started to track and document all emergency management related expenses for better forecasting purposes.

Also as part of this, AANDC will develop options to secure appropriate resources in alignment with the Department's roles and responsibilities for emergency management assistance as well as obligations under the EMA.
As part of the EMAP authority renewal scheduled for completion by October 2011, a funding structure to reflect the Department's legal and contractual obligations will be developed for approval. Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Provided the fiscal climate is supportive of the approach, AANDC would like to continue the development of a policy document with input from internal and external stakeholders to develop a more sustainable and effective funding structure, for response and recovery activities in particular.

AANDC is part of Public Safety Canada's working group tasked to develop a National Disaster Mitigation Program to fund both non-structural and structural mitigation activities aimed at reducing the risk for disaster.

AES: Close. A Review of the Emergency Management Assistance Program during the 2011-12 Manitoba Flood has just been completed. Progress regarding these action items will be considered in future status updates related to this Review.
3. Performance measurement:

It is recommended that AANDC develop a Performance Measurement Strategy for emergency management programming in consultation with the Evaluation Performance Measurement and Review Branch and in accordance with the principles of the new Treasury Board Policy and Directive on Evaluation.
The Department is in agreement with this recommendation. The Performance Measurement Strategy and the EMAP authority renewal process will be completed simultaneously. 31/09/2011 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

EIMD is currently developing a Performance Measurement Strategy. Although work was delayed due to the unprecedented 2011 flood and fire seasons, EIMD now has a finalized logic model in place and continues to move forward with the other elements of the strategy.

AES: Close. A Performance Measurement Strategy for the Emergency Management Assistance Program is scheduled to be presented at the September 2012 Evaluation Performance Measurement and Review Committee meeting.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation sommative de la gestion des urgences d'AINC - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (46 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

Secteur des opérations régionales, direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification, direction de la gestion des urgences et des dossiers

Évaluation sommative de la gestion des urgences d'AINC (2008046)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 24/02/2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Rôles et responsabilités :

Il est recommandé que AADNC précise les rôles et responsabilités du Ministère en matière de gestion des urgences. Ce processus doit tenir compte de l'environnement actuel de la gestion des urgences, plus particulièrement des répercussions de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences de 2007. Pour ce faire, le Ministère doit définir les relations avec tous les intervenants externes et mettre en place des structures de gouvernance et des accords appropriés pour s'assurer de l'exercice des responsabilités liées à la gestion des urgences. Tous les aspects de la gestion des urgences doivent être pris en considération dans ce processus et l'accent doit être mis sur les points suivants :
AADNC reconnaît son rôle de premier plan pour ce qui est de remplir les obligations du gouvernement fédéral envers les Premières nations, les Inuits et les résidants du Nord en matière de gestion des urgences. Dans un premier temps, le Ministère a élaboré un Plan national de gestion des urgences, approuvé en mai 2009 par le sous-ministre. Le Plan contient un cadre national qui définit les rôles et responsabilités d'AADNC relativement à la gestion des urgences, incluant des activités d'atténuation des répercussions et de préparation aux urgences, des interventions et des opérations de rétablissement dans les collectivités des Premières nations du Canada.   État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

AADNC possède un plan de gestion des urgences qui décrit les rôles et les responsabilités en la matière. Il s'agit d'un document évolutif qui a été mis à jour et évalué pour la dernière fois par Sécurité publique Canada en 2011.

La DGUE a obtenu un avis juridique fournissant certaines précisions concernant les secteurs prioritaires cernés, à l'exception du Nord.
a. le rôle précis du Ministère dans une approche tous risques en regard de la gestion des urgences dans trois territoires du Nord.

b. Le rôle précis du Ministère en ce qui a trait aux urgences dont la responsabilité incombe à un autre ministère ou à une autre administration (comme les questions liées à la santé et les troubles civils).

c. Les mécanismes et la structure de prestation du programme en lien avec les quatre piliers de la gestion des urgences : atténuation, préparation, intervention et rétablissement.

d. L'engagement horizontal des autres programmes pertinents d'AADNC qui pourraient contribuer à une approche tous risques de la gestion des urgences, comme les grandes infrastructures dans les projets d'atténuation ou les revendications territoriales dans les questions liées aux troubles civils.

e. Le rôle précis des collectivités des Premières nations dans la gestion des urgences.
A – En plus du Plan national de gestion des urgences et afin de donner suite à la recommandation 1, AADNC collaborera avec le groupe de travail des cadres supérieurs responsables de la gestion des urgences (CSRGU) qui concernent les Premières nations, les Inuits et les résidants du Nord, en vue de mettre au point une approche nationale pour l'établissement d'ententes de services avec les provinces et territoires relativement à la gestion des urgences. Le groupe de travail des CSRGU, composé de représentants interministériels, appuiera la création d'un cadre national clair de gestion des urgences pour AADNC traitant d'activités d'atténuation des répercussions et de préparation aux urgences, d'interventions et d'opérations de rétablissement, ainsi que des éléments suivants :
  • Rôles et responsabilités de tous les intervenants;

  • Services à fournir;

  • Renforcement des capacités dans les collectivités;

  • Établissement d'une formule de financement pour les services de gestion des urgences fournis;

  • Dépenses admissibles et non admissibles;

  • Déclaration de l'état d'urgence dans une réserve;

  • Reddition de comptes (incluant un mécanisme de rapport).
On a entrepris la mise en œuvre et on prévoit la terminer en octobre 2010, au même moment que le renouvellement des autorisations relatives au Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences On n'est pas arrivé à obtenir une approbation définitive des lignes directrices nationales concernant les ententes de services auprès des intervenants provinciaux et territoriaux. AADNC conçoit actuellement les lignes directrices nationales pour entreprendre des discussions bilatérales au niveau régional dans l'optique de mettre en place une entente de financement afin de fournir des services de gestion des urgences. Le Ministère continue de coprésider le Groupe de travail autochtone des CSEGU avec la province de l'Alberta.

 

 

 

 

 

La DGUE continuera de nouer le dialogue avec l'Organisation des affaires du Nord dans l'intention d'achever l'annexe au plan national de gestion des urgences d'AADNC, qui décrit les rôles et les responsabilités du Ministère en ce qui concerne la gestion des urgences dans les territoires.

 

 

AADNC et la Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits élaboreront un protocole d'entente qui mettra l'accent sur l'amélioration de la collaboration à l'échelle régionale et nationale et facilitera l'intégration des plans de mesures d'urgence liées aux maladies transmissibles aux plans de gestion des urgences tous risques, à l'échelle communautaire.
B – Dans le cadre de ce processus et pour se préparer aux urgences, AADNC examinera des méthodes pour assurer l'élaboration de plans de gestion des urgences efficaces dans les collectivités des Premières nations en renforçant les compétences.

La Direction de la gestion des urgences et des dossiers (DGUD) d'AADNC et l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (OAN) collaborent actuellement à la création d'une annexe au Plan national de gestion des urgences d'AADNC afin de clarifier les rôles et responsabilités d'AADNC en matière de gestion des urgences dans le Nord.

Le rôle précis d'AADNC pour ce qui est des urgences relevant de la responsabilité d'un autre ministère/administration (p. ex. les questions relatives à la santé et les troubles civils) est connu et on doit simplement mieux le communiquer aux intervenants. Par exemple, AADNC a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits de Santé Canada à la rédaction d'un plan d'action commun, fondé sur le rôle du Ministère décrit dans l'annexe B du Plan canadien de lutte contre la pandémie d'influenza dans le secteur de la santé. Le plan d'action commun décrit clairement le rôle précis d'AADNC durant la pandémie de grippe H1N1. AADNC participe également au groupe de travail interministériel chargé du cadre d'évaluation tous risques de Sécurité publique pour accroître la collaboration à l'échelon fédéral.

Même si l'on a amélioré la communication et la coordination depuis la création de la Direction de la gestion des urgences et des dossiers (DGUD), en septembre 2008, on poursuit l'établissement de meilleurs liens avec d'autres programmes pertinents d'AADNC pour renforcer l'approche tous risques en matière de gestion des urgences au Ministère.
Juin 2010 La DGUE a été intégrée à la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires. Il en découlera un renforcement des liens avec le Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien, d'autres programmes pertinents d'AADNC ainsi que des intervenants externes, comme Sécurité publique Canada, en vue de consolider l'approche de gestion des urgences tous risques au Ministère.

 

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier.  L'examen du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences lors des inondations de 2011‑2012 au Manitoba vient de se terminer. Les progrès réalisés à cet égard seront examinés dans des rapports d'étape futurs concernant l'examen.
2. Structure de financement du programme :


Il est recommandé que AADNC envisage une structure de financement révisée afin d'atténuer les impacts sur les régions, les autres domaines du programme et les collectivités, et de fournir un financement de base assuré pour les activités d'urgence du Ministère. Pour faciliter cette transition, AADNC doit documenter son financement existant pour les programmes de gestion des urgences et établir des prévisions pour les dépenses futures liées à une approche tous risques de gestion des urgences.

AADNC doit aussi cibler les ressources appropriées en fonction de ses rôles et responsabilités, tel que décrit dans la réponse à la recommandation 1 ci‑dessus. Plus précisément, il doit s'assurer d'être en mesure de fournir la prestation de services de préparation et d'atténuation conformément aux obligations ministérielles en vertu du PAGU.
AADNC utilisera le processus actuel d'évaluation et de renouvellement des autorisations pour examiner plus en profondeur et choisir la structure de financement la plus appropriée pour s'acquitter de toutes les obligations juridiques et contractuelles du Ministère relatives à la gestion des urgences dans son domaine de responsabilité, tout en atténuant les répercussions non voulues pour les régions, les autres secteurs de programme et les collectivités concernées.

À l'appui de cet exercice, le Ministère a commencé à surveiller et à consigner toutes les dépenses liées à la gestion des urgences pour mieux les prévoir.

Toujours dans le cadre de cet exercice, AADNC élaborera des options pour obtenir les ressources appropriées en fonction des rôles et responsabilités du Ministère en matière de gestion des urgences, ainsi que des obligations aux termes du PAGU.
Dans le cadre du renouvellement des autorisations relatives au PAGU, qu'on prévoit achever d'ici octobre 2011, on mettra au point une structure de financement reflétant les obligations juridiques et contractuelles du Ministère qu'on fera approuver. État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

Étant donné que la situation financière est favorable à l'approche, AADNC aimerait continuer d'élaborer un document stratégique en tenant compte des commentaires des intervenants internes et externes afin de concevoir une structure de financement durable et efficace, en particulier pour les activités d'intervention et de rétablissement.

AADNC fait partie du groupe de travail de Sécurité publique Canada chargé d'élaborer un programme national d'atténuation des catastrophes visant à financer les activités d'atténuation, qu'elles soient structurelles ou non, destinées à réduire le risque de catastrophes.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier.  L'examen du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences lors des inondations de 2011‑2012 au Manitoba vient de se terminer. Les progrès réalisés à cet égard seront examinés dans des rapports d'étape futurs concernant l'examen.
3. Mesure du rendement :

Il est recommandé que AADNC mette en place une stratégie de mesure du rendement pour les programmes de gestion des urgences en collaboration avec la Direction générale de l'évaluation de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen et conformément aux principes des nouvelles politiques et directives du Conseil du Trésor sur l'évaluation.
Le Ministère est en accord avec cette recommandation. La stratégie de mesure du rendement et le processus de renouvellement des autorisations relatives au PAGU seront achevés en même temps. 31 septembre 2011 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

La DGUE élabore actuellement une stratégie de mesure du rendement. Bien que les travaux aient été retardés en raison des inondations et des incendies sans précédent de 2011, la DGUE est dotée d'un modèle logique en forme finale et continue de réaliser des progrès en ce qui concerne d'autres éléments de la stratégie.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier. Une stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences devrait être présentée lors de la réunion du Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen qui aura lieu en septembre 2012.
 
 
Date de modification :