Map Selection of Mineral Claims in Nunavut

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is modernizing the way that mineral claims are acquired in Nunavut. This change will allow licence holders to acquire mineral rights using a web-based system which includes an interactive map, a pre-defined grid and an on-line shopping cart to pay fees. INAC is working on the new online system and will announce the expected launch date in the near future.

Stakeholder Input

In order to implement this new system, regulatory amendments to the Nunavut Mining Regulations are required. As with any proposed regulatory changes, discussion with stakeholders is an important step before any changes are made. The feedback and suggestions received from stakeholders will help ensure Map Selection, and the required regulatory amendments, are implemented efficiently and result in a system that is user friendly.

At the end of August 2012 five hundred information packages were mailed to prospector's licence holders, mineral claim owners, mining lease owners, prospecting permit owners and other stakeholder groups. INAC presented an update at the 2012 Yellowknife Geoscience Forum and completed a face to face review of the regulatory proposal during the 2013 Mineral Exploration Roundup in Vancouver, BC. More recently, stakeholders were informed of the policy changes as well as the details of processes that are proposed through INAC's participation to the following conventions: Exploration Roundup, in January 2016, Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada in March 2016 and Nunavut Mining Symposium in April 2016. The draft regulatory amendments will be published in Canada Gazette I, which will provide stakeholders an opportunity to provide comments.

How can you provide input?

If you have any questions or comments, please call Dominique Quirion at (819) 360-4070 or they can be posted to the following address:

Petroleum and Mineral Resources Development Directorate
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
25 Eddy Street
10th Floor
Gatineau, QC, K1A 0H4

Next Steps

INAC has begun the work to draft proposed regulatory changes based on the inputs we have received. Stakeholders will have an opportunity to provide comments again at the Canada Gazette I stage of the regulatory amendment process, the date of which is to be determined.

What information is available?

Date modified:

Sélection de claims miniers sur carte électronique au Nunavut

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) travaille présentement à moderniser le régime d'acquisition des claims miniers au Nunavut, de sorte que les détenteurs de licences puissent acquérir des droits miniers à l'aide d'un système Web qui inclut une carte interactive, une grille prédéfinie et un panier d'achats virtuel pour acquitter les frais. Le nouveau système électronique est en développement et la date de lancement prévue sera annoncée dans un proche avenir.

Commentaires des intervenants

À la fin d'août 2012, cinq cents trousses d'information ont été envoyées aux détenteurs de licences de prospection, de claims miniers, de baux miniers et de permis de prospection, ainsi qu'à d'autres intervenants. AANC a présenté une mise au point lors du Forum sur les géosciences de Yellowknife de 2012 et a rencontré les intervenants en personne pour discuter de la proposition réglementaire pendant l'exposition « Mineral exploration Roundup » de 2013 à Vancouver (C.-B.). Dernièrement, les intervenants ont été informés des changements de politique, ainsi que des détails des processus qui sont proposés par la participation d'AANC aux conventions suivantes : « Mineral Exploration Roundup » en Janvier 2016, l'association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs en Mars 2016 et le symposium minier du Nunavut en Avril 2016. L'ébauche des modifications des règlements sera publiée dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, donnant ainsi aux intervenants l'occasion de faire part de leurs commentaires.

Comment contribuer?

Pour toutes questions et commentaires , téléphonez à Dominique Quirion au 819-360-4070 ou vous pouvez les envoyer par la poste à l'adresse suivante :

Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et minérales
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
25, rue Eddy, 10e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4

Prochaines étapes

AANC a commencé l'ébauche des changements proposés à la réglementation en fonction des commentaires reçus. De plus, les intervenants auront de nouveau l'occasion de faire des commentaires à l'étape de la publication dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada du processus de modification de la réglementation, dont la date reste à fixer.

Quels renseignements sont disponibles?

Date de modification :