ARCHIVED - Audit of IM/IT Expenditures and Management Control Framework - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (31 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2012

CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (CFO)

Audit of IM/IT Expenditures and Management Control Framework (09-063)
Approval Date: 24/09/10

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The CFO, in collaboration with the CIO, should develop and implement a directive that clearly defines IM/IT expenditures, specifying the respective line objects to be used for financial reporting. The CIO will work with the DG, Planning and Resource Management and the DG, Corporate Accounting and Materiel Management to specify and define how the Departmental chart of accounts is to be used to track IM/IT expenditures effectively. The application of elements of the CoA will be clearly defined as a national standard. These requirements will be communicated in the form of a directive. January 2011 Status: Request to Close- Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

CIO: The Directive on IM/IT Procurement Authorization was approved by the DGIOC in early March 2011. The Directive outlines the necessary roles and requirements of impacted stakeholders when acquiring IM/IT good and services. Furthermore, the Directive includes a prescriptive mapping of mandatory financial coding for IM/IT goods and services once appropriately approved for acquisition.

CAMM: Full advice on using project codes given to IM/IT.

PRM: Actively participating in the IM/IT expenditures tracking initiative. The FMAs are making sure that IM/IT expenditures are coded appropriately for reporting purpose and especially for expenditures that we incurred on behalf of Shared Services Canada that the Department has to report on every month.

The Working Group takes into consideration the COA restriction, the gating process for IM/IT projects to meet the different reporting requirements. Instructions as to how IM/IT expenditures should be coded will be communicated soon to Sectors and Regions so it is consistent across the department.

AES: Fully implemented. The recommendation will be closed.
2. The CFO, in collaboration with the CIO and Assistant Deputy Ministers (ADM) responsible for regional operations and staff, should implement a national system to track all IM/IT assets. This system should track device life-cycle, warranty, user and location information and should provide functionality to ensure that all devices and licenses assigned to employees and consultants are reacquired and/or removed upon departure. Once a national tracking system has been implemented, the CIO should conduct a Department-wide inventory of IM/IT assets. The CIO has a software tool (viaTIL Remedy) that is capable of tracking assets and verifying inventory. The CIO will adjust existing processes to ensure that entry and exit procedures include the assignment and re-acquisition of hardware and software assets, and the effective management of system access rights and permissions. Once these measures are in place, the CIO will initiate a national baseline inventory and introduce inventory management processes.

The CIO will issue a directive specifying the process to be followed and making mandatory the use of the Remedy tool as a national standard.
January 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Server Configuration Centre Manager (SSCM) is being used as the tool for managing inventory configuration items. For the NCR, all Desktop and Laptop items have been loaded in SSCM. The forms and templates for data collection and loading are available and are shared with the regions.

There are bi-weekly ITSM meetings outlining the tool availability and functionality. Regions have been provided access to all forms and templates within SSCM. Currently Quebec, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan have loaded and are using the tool.

Enterprise Network and Computer Operations equipment are tracked via spreadsheets maintained by the Network Operations team and the Computer Operations Team. These items have not been loaded to the AANDC tracking tool as we are waiting on how Shared Services Canada wishes to proceed with tracking this type of equipment.

Regions have been engaged within the ITSM group bi-weekly meeting with various regions. Processes have been documented and distributed for review and comments to the team members. The ITSM team will continue to provide support and guidance to regions that have not entered their IT Assets in ITSP/Remedy and finalize the processes and procedures.

Processes will be finalized and draft IT Asset Management directive will be presented to ITSG in Q1 2012/2013.

AES: Recommendation closed with new IT Asset Management Directive.
3. The CFO, in collaboration with the CIO, should establish a consistent, documented and communicated procurement process for acquiring IM/IT assets that enforces appropriate segregation of duties across all regions and headquarters. The CIO will issue a directive under the policy on the governance of IM/IT that will specify the processes and authorities for the procurement of IM/IT professional services and hardware and software. The CIO will work with the DG, Corporate Accounting and Materiel Management to ensure that the necessary controls and reporting capabilities exist to support these processes. These measures will include dedicated procurement capacity, monitoring, tools and templates, etc.

The CIO will also encourage greater use of the centralized procurement of IT assets which may address such issues as the segregation of duties with respect to procurement and receipt as was observed during the audit.
March 2011 Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

The Directive on IM/IT Procurement Authorization was approved by the DGIOC in early March 2012. Communication forthcoming.

AES: substantially implemented. Recommendation to close.
4. The CFO should establish and maintain a complete inventory of IM/IT contracts, SLAs and MOUs. The CFO, in collaboration with the CIO, should also formalize a process to perform appropriate cost-benefit analyses for IM/IT service agreements based on strategic significance. The CIO will specify the parameters for defining and measuring performance of acquired services, service agreements, and Memoranda of Understanding that pertain to IM/IT. This will include the requirement for an explicit statement of the expected benefits associated with the 3rd party arrangement, and the means and periodicity of reviewing and reporting. The CIO will endeavour to define a standard approach for the determination of benefits realized from such arrangements. This requirement will be communicated in the form of a Directive under the policy on governance of IM/IT. The CIO will develop an inventory of these agreements which will be reviewed by the Information and Technology Stewardship Group, and monitored on an annual basis. December 2010 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

The consolidated inventory of agreements will be presented to ITSG in Q1 2012/2013.

AES: Implementation is ongoing. Recommendation to close once an approach to cost-benefit analysis is finalized and communicated across the department, and once the consolidated inventory is presented and approved, and the requirement to register all future IM/IT contracts with the inventory is communicated across the department.
5. The CFO, in collaboration with the CIO and ADMs responsible for regional operations and staff, should finalize a Departmental IM/IT strategy to which local strategies and processes align across all regions and headquarters. Root causes of inconsistent practices should be addressed to establish a consistent approach to managing IM/IT initiatives across the Department. The CIO will complete and obtain approval of the draft IM/IT Strategy. This strategy will provide the context for the policy on the governance of IM/IT and will form the basis for plans and activities across the Department's sectors and regions. January 2011 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

The IM/IT Strategy was approved by the Departments Operations Committee in February, 2012. Communications forthcoming.

AES: substantially implemented. Recommendation to close.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification des dépenses relatives à la GI-TI et cadre de contrôle de gestion - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (35 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2012

DIRIGEANT PRINCIPAL DES FINANCES (DPF)

Vérification des dépenses relatives à la GI-TI et cadre de contrôle de gestion (09-063)
Date d'approbation : 24/09/10

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Le DPF, de concert avec le DPI, devrait élaborer et mettre en œuvre une directive qui définisse clairement les dépenses relatives à la GI-TI, et qui précise les articles d'exécution à utiliser respectivement aux fins de production de rapports financiers. Le DPF collaborera avec le DG, Planification et gestion des ressources et le DG, Comptabilité ministérielle et gestion du matériel en vue de préciser et de définir la manière d'utiliser le plan comptable ministériel afin d'assurer un suivi efficace des dépenses en matière de GI-TI. L'application des éléments du plan comptable sera clairement définie en tant que norme nationale. Ces exigences seront communiquées sous forme de directive. Janvier 2011 État :
Demande de fermeture de dossier terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

DPI : La directive sur les autorisations d'approvisionnement de GI-TI a été approuvée par le DGIOC au début de mars 2011. La directive souligne les rôles et les exigences des intervenants touchés lors de l'acquisition de biens et de services en matière de GI-TI. De plus, la directive comprend une carte normative des codes financiers obligatoires pour les biens et les services de GI-TI lorsque l'approvisionnement est approuvé.

CMGM : Des conseils complets sur l'utilisation des codes de projets ont été fournis à l'équipe de GI-TI.

PGR : Participe activement à l'initiative de suivi des dépenses relatives à la GI-TI. Les conseillers en gestion financière s'assurent que les dépenses relatives à la GI-TI reçoivent le bon code aux fins de rapport, et ce, particulièrement pour les dépenses qui sont faites au nom de Services partagés Canada (et dont le Ministère doit faire état tous les mois).

Le groupe de travail prend en considération les restrictions du plan comptable, le processus de jalonnement des projets de GI-TI afin de répondre aux différentes exigences en matière d'établissement de rapports. Des instructions sur la manière d'assigner un code aux dépenses en matière de GI-TI seront bientôt fournies aux secteurs et aux régions afin que les procédures soient les mêmes dans tout le Ministère.

SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation sera fermée.
2. Le DPF, de concert avec le DPI et les sous-ministres adjoints (SMA) chargés des activités et du personnel des régions, devrait mettre en œuvre un système national permettant de suivre toutes les ressources de GI-TI. Ce système devrait permettre de suivre l'information ayant trait à la durée de vie, à la garantie, aux utilisateurs et à l'emplacement d'un appareil, et offrir des fonctionnalités qui garantissent que tous les appareils et toutes les licences attribués aux employés et aux consultants sont récupérés et (ou) supprimés au départ de la personne. Dès qu'un système de suivi national aura été mis en œuvre, le DPI devrait effectuer l'inventaire des ressources de GI-TI à l'échelle du Ministère. Le DPI dispose (par l'entremise de TIL Remedy) d'un logiciel capable de suivre les ressources et de vérifier l'inventaire. Le DPI ajustera les processus existants afin de s'assurer que les procédures d'entrée et de sortie incluent l'attribution et la récupération des ressources matérielles et logicielles, ainsi que la gestion efficace des droits et des permissions d'accès au système. Dès que ces mesures seront en place, le DPI lancera un inventaire de référence à l'échelle nationale, et introduira des processus de gestion de l'inventaire.

Le DPI émettra une directive qui précisera la marche à suivre et qui rendra obligatoire l'utilisation de l'outil Remedy en tant que norme nationale.
Janvier 2011 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) est utilisé en tant qu'outil pour gérer l'inventaire des points de configuration. Pour la RCN, tous les éléments des ordinateurs de bureau et des ordinateurs portatifs ont été chargés dans le SCCM. Les formulaires et les modèles pour la collecte de données et le chargement sont accessibles, et ils ont été envoyés aux régions.

Des réunions de la GSTI sont organisées toutes les deux semaines pour présenter l'accessibilité et les fonctions de cet outil. Les régions ont accès à tous les formulaires et les modèles au sein du SCCM. Pour le moment, le Québec, la Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan ont chargé des données et utilisent l'outil.

L'équipement pour le réseau d'entreprise et les opérations informatiques est suivi à l'aide de tableurs tenus à jour par l'équipe d'activité du réseau et de l'équipe des opérations informatiques. Ces données n'ont pas été chargées dans l'outil de suivi d'AADNC, car nous attendons de savoir comment Services partagés Canada souhaite fonctionner pour assurer le suivi de ce type d'équipement.

Les régions ont participé aux réunions aux deux semaines que le groupe GSTI tient avec les diverses régions. On a pris note des processus et envoyé ces résultats pour que les membres de l'équipe les examinent et émettent des commentaires. L'équipe de GSTI continuera d'offrir un appui et des conseils aux régions qui n'ont pas encore entré leurs biens de TI dans l'outil ITSP/Remedy et qui doivent finaliser les processus et les procédures.

Les processus seront finalisés et l'ébauche de la directive sur la gestion des actifs de TI sera présentée à GSTI dans le premier trimestre de 2012-2013.

SVE : Recommandation de fermer le dossier après la présentation de la nouvelle directive sur la gestion des actifs de TI.
3. Le DPF, de concert avec le DPI, devrait mettre sur pied, documenter et communiquer un processus d'approvisionnement cohérent en ce qui a trait à l'achat de ressources de GI-TI qui établisse plus clairement une séparation appropriée des tâches dans les régions et à l'administration centrale. Le DPI émettra, dans le cadre de la politique relative à la gouvernance de la GI-TI, une directive qui précisera les processus à respecter et les instances à consulter en matière d'achat de services professionnels de GI-TI et de matériel et logiciels. Le DPI collaborera avec le DG, Comptabilité ministérielle et gestion du matériel en vue de s'assurer qu'on dispose des capacités de contrôle et de production de rapports nécessaires pour soutenir ces processus. Ces mesures comprendront une ressource en matière d'achat, des mécanismes de surveillance, des outils et des modèles, etc.

Le DPI encouragera également un recours accru à l'achat centralisé de ressources de TI, ce qui pourrait résoudre des problèmes tels que la séparation des tâches, notamment en matière d'achat ou de réception comme cela été observé au cours de la vérification.
Mars 2011 État :
Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

La directive sur les autorisations d'approvisionnement de GI-TI a été approuvée par le DGIOC au début de mars 2011. Communications à venir.

SVE : Grandement mis en œuvre. Recommandation de fermer le dossier.
4. Le DPF devrait établir et maintenir un inventaire complet des contrats de GI-TI, des CNS et des protocoles d'entente. Le DPF, de concert avec le DPI, devrait établir un processus officiel permettant d'effectuer des analyses coûts-avantages appropriées des ententes de service de GI-TI fondées sur leur importance stratégique. Le DPI précisera les paramètres servant à définir et à mesurer le rendement des services achetés, des ententes de service et des protocoles d'entente en matière de GI-TI. Il faudra, notamment, définir explicitement une exigence quant aux avantages attendus de l'entente conclue avec la tierce partie, ainsi que la périodicité à laquelle ceux-ci doivent être examinés et faire l'objet d'un rapport. Le DPI s'efforcera de définir une démarche normalisée visant à définir les avantages tirés de telles ententes. Cette exigence sera communiquée sous forme de directive dans le cadre de la politique de gouvernance de la GI-TI. Le DPI procèdera à l'inventaire de ces attentes, lesquelles seront examinées par le comité de gérance de l'information et de la technologie, et surveillé annuellement. Décembre 2010 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

L'inventaire consolidé des ententes sera présenté au GSTI pendant le premier trimestre de 2012-2013.

SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit. On recommande de fermer le dossier lorsqu'une approche pour l'analyse coût-avantages sera terminée et qu'on en fera part dans tout le Ministère. Il faudra aussi présenter et faire approuver l'inventaire consolidé. De plus, il faudra communiquer dans tout le Ministère les exigences d'inscrire tous les prochains contrats en GI-TI dans l'inventaire.
5. Le DPF, de concert avec le DPI et les SMA responsables des activités et du personnel des régions, devrait déterminer une stratégie ministérielle en matière de GI-TI à laquelle les stratégies et processus des régions et de l'administration centrale devraient se conformer. Il conviendrait de s'attaquer aux raisons profondes qui donnent lieu à des pratiques incohérentes afin d'établir une démarche uniforme permettant de gérer les initiatives en matière de GI-TI au sein du Ministère. Le DPI élaborera une ébauche de stratégie en ce qui a trait à la GI-TI et la fera approuver. Cette dernière fournira un cadre à la politique de gouvernance de la GI-TI et servira de fondement aux plans et aux activités des secteurs et des régions du Ministère. Janvier 2011 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

La stratégie de GI-TI a été approuvée par le Comité des opérations ministérielles en février 2012. Les communications suivront.

SVE : Grandement mis en œuvre. On recommande de fermer le dossier.
 
 
Date de modification :