The Updater - January 2016 Edition

The Power of Procurement

Success at Aboriginal Supplier Pilot Forum

In May 2015, Parks Canada Agency and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada hosted an interdepartmental forum to provide Vancouver Island Aboriginal businesses an opportunity to network, build relationships, and to gauge Aboriginal business capacity in the region.

The forum was a success in that it garnered strong interest and support from local Aboriginal communities working directly with Parks Canada Agency and others who have a vested interest in doing business with Parks Canada Agency and other Federal Departments.

By organizing the pilot forum Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, as well as the rest of the federal government, have set a positive precedent for pursuing greater inclusion of Aboriginal peoples in economic development planning. In part, these efforts made the forum a tremendous success.

Aboriginal attendance at the pilot forum also proved to be successful with 17 Aboriginal participants with a wide range of expertise and experience. Parks Canada Agency sees immense value in working collaboratively with Aboriginal Affairs Northern Development Canada, and Public Works and Government Services Canada's Office of Small and Medium Enterprises.

This approach will be especially useful for opportunities related to Infrastructure investments. For Parks Canada Agency, this includes $3 billion investment in infrastructure, which can directly support economic opportunities with Aboriginal partners, communities and businesses.

Overall, it was evident that the forum was rich with information and participation from all stakeholders.

Federal department team members had the opportunity to work together, build connections and brainstorm a path forward for continued collaboration.

Building on the success of the forum, the three departments are planning to expand the pilot to other parks in British Columbia and Alberta, and eventually across Canada.

Aboriginal Women in Canada's Economy

The participation of women in the workforce is a particularly important aspect of Canada's economic growth. In 2009, an Industry Canada analysis came to the conclusion that over 1.5 million Canadians are employed by women-owned businesses, proving the significant role women entrepreneurs play in the economy.

This entrepreneurial spirit is mirrored in the Aboriginal community as well. Of all self-employed Aboriginal people in Canada, women make up 37% and even 51% of Aboriginal small– and medium-sized enterprises are owned in whole or in part by Aboriginal women; an impressive example of Aboriginal women's business capacity in Canada.

Despite these successes, Aboriginal women continue to face significant barriers when trying to start their own businesses. On top of the challenges women generally face in the world of business, Aboriginal women entrepreneurs' challenges are often exacerbated due to living conditions, rural or remote locations, and a generally lower level of socio-economic development.

Recognizing the importance and impact that Aboriginal women entrepreneurs can have on economic development, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada has supported a number of initiatives to alleviate the pressures of starting a business. Over the last five years Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada has funded 31 projects totaling $3.1 million in support of Aboriginal women entrepreneurs. Of these 31 projects, the Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program funded nearly half of the projects, contributing 72% of the $3.1 million.

The contributions made by Aboriginal women in the world of business have been duly noted and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada continues to support initiatives that provide capital, support and assistance to new and developing women-owned Aboriginal businesses here in Canada.

Junior Achievement and Tyendinaga

In June 2015, students from the Tyendinaga Junior Achievement reached out to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada looking to meet with officials to talk about the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business (PSAB) program and government procurement. The students came to get to know the program and the people who would be able to provide them support as young entrepreneurs.

Barry Payne, President of Adirondack HR, has been an advocate for developing young entrepreneurial minds amongst Aboriginal youth. Mr. Payne has recognized the importance of PSAB as more than just a tool but "as an incentive to encourage other First Nations businesses and people to think about growing and expanding their businesses."

The students from Tyendinaga came and visited Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's head office in Gatineau, Quebec and learned what the program has to offer and how it can be an important program to drive economic development from within Aboriginal communities.

Making PSAB Work for You

  • Register in PWGSC's Supplier Registration Inventory System to promote your business.
  • Participate in Supplier Development Activities.
  • Regularly monitor buyandsell.gc.ca/tenders for procurement opportunities.
  • Please share your ideas and suggestions with us by:
  • Register your business in:
  • Additional information is also available online at:
    • Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business (PSAB)
Date modified:

La mise à jour - Édition de janvier 2016

L'approvisionnement : Un éventail de possibilités

Succès du Forum pilote des fournisseurs autochtones

En mai 2015, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada ont tenu un forum interministériel afin d'offrir aux entreprises autochtones de l'île de Vancouver l'occasion d'élargir leur réseau et de nouer des relations ainsi que pour évaluer la capacité des entreprises autochtones de la région.

Le forum a connu un vif succès, suscitant un intérêt et un appui marqués des collectivités autochtones locales qui travaillent directement avec Parcs Canada et de celles qui souhaitent faire des affaires avec cette agence et d'autres ministères fédéraux.

En organisant le forum pilote, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et les autres intervenants fédéraux ont créé un précédent positif en vue d'assurer une meilleure inclusion des Autochtones dans la planification du développement économique. Ces efforts ont contribué au succès éclatant du forum.

Dix-sept participants autochtones possédant une expertise et une expérience variées y ont assisté, ce qui constitue une véritable réussite.

L'Agence Parcs Canada estime qu'il est primordial de collaborer avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.

Cette approche sera particulièrement utile pour mener à bien les possibilités d'investissement dans l'infrastructure. Pour l'Agence, il s'agit notamment d'investissements de trois milliards de dollars qui sont susceptibles d'apporter un soutien direct aux occasions de développement économique avec les entreprises, les collectivités et les partenaires autochtones.

En conclusion, le forum a réuni de nombreux intervenants pertinents et a permis d'échanger une foule d'informations.

Les membres de l'équipe fédérale ont eu l'occasion de travailler ensemble, d'établir des liens et de réfléchir à la voie à suivre afin de poursuivre la collaboration.

Étant donné le succès du forum, les trois ministères comptent étendre le projet pilote à d'autres parcs en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta, puis dans tout le Canada.

Les femmes autochtones dans l'économie canadienne

La participation des femmes au marché du travail représente un aspect particulièrement important de la croissance économique au Canada. En 2009, une analyse réalisée par Industrie Canada a conclu que plus de 1,5 million de Canadiens sont employés par des entreprises appartenant à des femmes, ce qui montre le rôle de premier plan que les entrepreneures jouent dans l'économie.

Cet esprit entrepreneurial est aussi présent chez les Autochtones. En effet, les femmes comptent pour 37 % de tous les travailleurs autonomes autochtones au Canada, et 51 % des petites et moyennes entreprises autochtones appartiennent en tout ou en partie à des femmes. Voilà qui illustre de façon impressionnante les capacités d'affaires des femmes autochtones du Canada.

Malgré leurs réussites, les femmes autochtones qui tentent de se lancer en affaires sont encore aujourd'hui confrontées à des obstacles importants. Outre les défis que les femmes en général doivent surmonter en affaires, les entrepreneures autochtones doivent souvent composer avec des conditions de vie difficiles, des emplacements éloignés ou ruraux et un niveau de développement socioéconomique habituellement moindre.

Reconnaissant l'importance et l'impact que peuvent avoir les entrepreneures autochtones dans le développement économique, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada appuie diverses initiatives visant à faciliter le démarrage d'entreprises. Au cours des cinq dernières années, le Ministère a financé 31 projets afin de soutenir les entrepreneures autochtones, pour un montant total de 3,1 millions de dollars. Le Programme d'entrepreneuriat autochtone a financé à lui seul près de la moitié de ces projets, versant 72 % de l'investissement total du Ministère.

La contribution des femmes autochtones au monde des affaires suscite une attention méritée, et Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada continue d'appuyer les initiatives qui offrent des capitaux, du soutien et de l'aide aux entreprises autochtones, nouvelles et en développement, dont les propriétaires sont des femmes au Canada.

Jeunes entreprises de Tyendinaga

En juin 2015, des étudiants de Jeunes entreprises de Tyendinaga se sont adressés à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada dans le but de rencontrer des fonctionnaires pour discuter de la Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones (SAEA) et des approvisionnements au sein du gouvernement. Les étudiants souhaitaient en savoir plus sur le programme et sur les personnes susceptibles de les aider à titre de jeunes entrepreneurs.

Le président d'Adirondack HR, Barry Payne, est un ardent défenseur du développement de l'entrepreneuriat chez les jeunes autochtones. M. Payne a reconnu l'importance de la Stratégie non seulement comme un outil, mais aussi comme « une incitation à encourager les autres membres et entreprises des Premières Nations à voir grand dans le monde des affaires. »

Les étudiants de Tyendinaga se sont rendus aux bureaux de l'administration centrale du Ministère à Gatineau, au Québec, pour se familiariser avec ce que le programme a à offrir et le rôle de premier plan qu'il peut jouer pour favoriser l'essor économique des collectivités autochtones.

Tirez parti de la SAEA

Date de modification :