ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Federal Government's Implementation of Self-Government and Self-Government Agreements - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (27 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Evaluation of the Federal Government's Implementation of Self-Government and Self-Government Agreements (07065)
Approval Date: 02/22/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Continue to work on initiatives that are currently underway to improve processes related to the negotiation and implementation of self-government agreements. Treaties and Aboriginal Government (TAG) will continue work on developing resource documents and tools such as Treaty Obligation and Monitoring System, CLCA.net, Implementation Management Framework, Guidelines, Table Review and FAPP.

Will also continue to implement the new national approach to fiscal harmonization as well as the sustainability of self-government initiative.
Ongoing Implementation Branch (IB)

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

The Guide for Federal Implementers was approved in September, 2010, and is now posted on the AANDC website. The Guide for the Management of Alternate Dispute Mechanisms in Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government Agreements was approved by caucus in November, 2011 and will be posted on the AANDC website. The Guide for Reviews was also recently approved and will be posted on the website. Other guides on specific subject matter are in development including: Annual Reports and Commemoration. TOMS has gone live internally at AANDC and allows us to track the status of Canada's obligations. Phase 1, or the data integrity phase is complete and we are entering Phase 2 which will be to send the information to OGD's for verification.

CLCA.net is an online system that allows departments to record and track procurement in land claims areas. AANDC posts quarterly and annual reports on its website. Over 1500 employees in 30 departments have been trained.

The Implementation Management Framework was approved in late 2009, and is being piloted in 3 regions. It strengthens the management of modern treaty implementation across the federal government by improving coordination and decision making between departments. Its implementation is progressing well with regional caucuses established in each region. An initial survey has indicated that it is having a positive impact with other government departments.

Policy Development and Coordination Branch (PDC)

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

Under fiscal harmonization, Canada is developing a new approach that will ensure that fiscal arrangements with Aboriginal self-governments are consistent, fair and transparent across the country. TAG developed a federal discussion paper which was presented to Aboriginal group representatives at a second round of engagement meetings in the Spring of 2012, and is continuing policy development work with a view to seeking internal review and approvals on key elements of a new framework later in 2012.

AES: Recommend to Close
2. Consider putting in place a mechanism to ensure that policies and legislation that affect the negotiation and implementation of self-government agreements support, not work against, one other. Will continue ongoing outreach to sectors as well as with the TAG negotiation teams.

TAG will explore the possibility of including a self-government lens, similar to what is in place for gender analysis and sustainability development, to be applied within the department.

TAG will work with other sectors of AANDC to explore approaches in non-self-government initiatives to lessen any disincentives for Aboriginal communities to move into self-government by the application of Canada's policy on Own Source Revenue.
Ongoing Implementation Branch (IB)

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

Implementation Branch is available and does provide support and guidance to TAG negotiators on matters concerning the implementation of modern treaties.

Policy Development and Coordination Branch (PDC)

Status:Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

TAG has participated in discussions relating to ongoing developments in non-self-government initiatives to ensure that the development of initiatives is fully informed on the realities of self-government and the incentives facing communities.

AES: Recommend to Close
3. Consider establishing a framework for dialogue with Aboriginal organizations and Aboriginal communities regarding how a common vision of self-government can be achieved and operationalized under the IRP. TAG will explore opportunities to engage with Aboriginal groups, and where appropriate National Aboriginal Organizations, regarding a dialogue on policy issues and negotiation positions, to seek greater clarity and mutual understanding of the underlying differences in respective approaches to the negotiation and implementation of self-government.

TAG will explore opportunities to engage with other federal departments on developing a common vision and approach to implementing the government-to-government relationship pursuant to Canada's policy on self-government.
Ongoing. Policy Development and Coordination Branch (PDC)

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

While there has been engagement with the Assembly of First Nations, these have focussed on historic treaties and comprehensive claims and not self-government. This work is consistent with the Canada-First Nations Joint Action Plan of June 9, 2011 and the Crown-First Nations Gathering Outcome Statement of January 24, 2012.

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

TAG works with other government departments on the resolution of policy issues related to the negotiations of comprehensive claims and self-government and on the development of operational policies for the federal negotiators.

Implementation Branch

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale -
As of 31/03/2012:

Implementation Branch has met with the Land Claims Agreement Coalition on matters concerning the implementation of modern treaties, challenges and ways to resolve them.

AANDC is the federal government representative on Implementation Committees which are composed of signatory representatives. These committees meet on a regular basis to discuss the implementation of the agreements, and facilitate resolving issues as they arise.

Implementation Branch continues to have regular and ongoing contact with other federal departments and agencies on general implementation issues as well as training on specific issues such as TOMS and CLCA.net.

AES: Recommend to Close

 

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation par le gouvernement fédéral de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (28 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

Traités et gouvernement autochtone

Évaluation par le gouvernement fédéral de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale (07065)
Date d'approbation : 02/22/2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Poursuivre les initiatives en cours qui visent l'amélioration des processus relatifs aux négociations et à la mise en œuvre des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Traités et gouvernement autochtone (TGA) continuera de travailler à l'élaboration d'outils et de documents de référence comme le Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités, CLCA.net, le cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre, les lignes directrices, l'examen des tables et l'outil FAPP.

Nous continuerons également de mettre en œuvre la nouvelle approche nationale en matière d'harmonisation financière ainsi que la viabilité de l'initiative touchant l'autonomie gouvernementale.
En cours Direction générale de la mise en œuvre (DGMO)

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

Le Guide pour les responsables fédéraux de la mise en œuvre a été approuvé en septembre 2010 et est maintenant affiché sur le site Web d'AADNC. Le Guide pour la gestion des modes de règlement extrajudiciaire des conflits dans les ententes sur la revendication territoriale globale et l'autonomie gouvernementale a été approuvé par le groupe de travail en novembre 2011 et sera affiché sur le site Web d'AADNC. Le guide pour les examens vient également d'être approuvé et sera affiché sur le site Web. D'autres guides consacrés à des sujets particuliers sont en cours d'élaboration, notamment sur les rapports annuels et la commémoration. Le SSODT a été mis en service à l'interne à AADNC et nous permet de suivre l'évolution des obligations du Canada. La phase 1, celle de l'intégrité des données, est terminée et nous entrons dans la phase 2 qui sera celle de l'envoi de l'information aux autres ministères pour vérification.

CLCA.net est un système en ligne qui permet aux ministères de consigner et de suivre les approvisionnements dans les régions faisant l'objet d'une revendication territoriale. AADNC affiche des rapports trimestriels et annuels dans son site Web. On a formé plus de 1 500 employés de 30 ministères.

Le cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre a été approuvé à la fin de l'année 2009 et fait l'objet de projets pilotes dans trois régions. Il renforce la gestion de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes à l'échelle du gouvernement en améliorant la coordination et la prise de décision entre les ministères. Sa mise en œuvre progresse de manière satisfaisante dans les groupes de travail créés dans chaque région. Une enquête initiale a indiqué que ses retombées sont positives pour d'autres ministères.

Direction générale de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques (ECP)

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

Dans le cadre de l'harmonisation des politiques budgétaires, le Canada met au point une nouvelle approche qui garantira l'uniformité, la justice et la transparence des arrangements fiscaux avec les gouvernements autonomes des Autochtones. TGA a élaboré un document de travail fédéral qui a été présenté lors des réunions tenues pendant le deuxième cycle des discussions, au printemps 2012. TGA poursuit son travail d'élaboration de politiques dans le but de soumettre ultérieurement en 2012, à l'interne, pour examen et pour approbation, les éléments clés d'un nouveau cadre.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée
2. Examiner la possibilité de mettre en place un mécanisme afin de garantir que les politiques et la législation qui touchent la négociation et la mise en œuvre des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale s'appuient mutuellement plutôt que de s'opposer. Nous poursuivrons nos consultations avec les secteurs ainsi qu'avec les équipes de négociation de TGA.

TGA envisagera la possibilité d'intégrer un volet lié à l'autonomie gouvernementale semblable à ce qui existe déjà pour l'analyse comparative entre les sexes et le développement durable, afin de l'appliquer au sein du Ministère.

TGA travaillera en collaboration avec d'autres secteurs d'AADNC à l'examen d'approches visant des initiatives ne touchant pas l'autonomie gouvernementale afin de réduire les désincitations pour les collectivités autochtones à adopter l'autonomie gouvernementale en appliquant la politique du Canada à l'égard des revenus autonomes.
En cours Direction générale de la mise en œuvre (DGMO)

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre est à l'entière disposition des négociateurs de TGA pour les appuyer et les conseiller sur les questions de mise en œuvre des traités modernes.

Direction générale de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques (ECP)

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :
TGA a participé à des discussions pendant l'élaboration des initiatives n'ayant pas trait l'autonomie gouvernementale afin de s'assurer que ces dernières tiendront totalement compte des réalités de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des incitatifs offerts aux collectivités.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée
3. Envisager la création d'un cadre pour le dialogue avec les organisations et les collectivités autochtones concernant la façon d'en venir à partager une vision commune de l'autonomie gouvernementale et de la rendre opérationnelle en vertu de la PDI. TGA cherchera des occasions de discuter avec des groupes autochtones et, le cas échéant, avec des organismes autochtones nationaux, concernant un dialogue portant sur les enjeux stratégiques et les positions de négociation afin de préciser et de mieux comprendre les différences qui existent entre les approches respectives en matière de négociation et d'autonomie gouvernementale.

TGA examinera la possibilité de discuter avec d'autres ministères fédéraux au sujet de l'établissement d'une vision commune et d'une approche de mise en œuvre des rapports entre gouvernements dans le cadre de la politique du Canada sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.
En cours Direction générale de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques (ECP)

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

Bien que des discussions aient eu lieu avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, elles ont été axées sur les traités historiques et les revendications globales et non sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Ce travail est conforme au Plan d'action conjoint Canada-Premières Nations du 9 juin 2011 et à la déclaration prononcée à l'issue de la Rencontre de la Couronne et des Premières Nations tenue le 24 janvier 2012.

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :
TGA travaille avec d'autres ministères à la résolution des questions de politiques liées aux négociations des revendications globales et de l'autonomie gouvernementale. TGA travaille également à l'élaboration de politiques opérationnelles pour les négociateurs fédéraux.

Direction générale de la mise en œuvre

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification -
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre a rencontré la Coalition pour les ententes sur les revendications territoriales pour discuter de questions concernant la mise en œuvre des traités modernes, leurs défis et les moyens d'y faire face.

AADNC représente le gouvernement fédéral dans les comités de mise en œuvre composés de représentants des signataires. Ces comités se réunissent régulièrement pour parler de la mise en œuvre des accords et pour faciliter la résolution des problèmes qui surgissent.

La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre continue de cultiver des relations avec les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux au sujet des questions générales de mise en œuvre, ainsi qu'au sujet de la formation dans des domaines particuliers, comme le SSODT et CLCA.net.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée
 
 
Date de modification :