ARCHIVED - Evaluation of INAC's On-Reserve Housing Support - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (38 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Regional Operations

Evaluation of INAC's On-Reserve Housing Support
Approval Date: 02/22/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
It is recommended that AANDC, working with First Nations and seeking the active involvement of CMHC and other key stakeholders:

1. Develop a policy statement building on the 1996 Policy and other On-Reserve Housing Initiatives. The policy statement should lay out clear objectives and be flexible enough in its application to ensure it meets the different types of needs in First Nation communities.
We concur with this recommendation.

A) Working with First Nations, AANDC will develop policy options related to housing that will clarify the roles and responsibilities of AANDC, CMHC and First Nations.
Q2, 2011-2012 A) Status: on-going
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: At a video conference of the National FN Housing Liaison Committee in January 2012, the AFN agreed to convene a working group to develop a draft Roles and Responsibilities document. Input has been collected from AANDC Regions, and AANDC is awaiting direction from the AFN working group chair.
B) AANDC will assess the housing program for compliance with the new standardized departmental approach to First Nation funding agreements, specifically the new Policy on Transfer Payments, which provides flexibility in funding by taking into account risk and the different capacity development needs of First Nations along the community development continuum. Q2, 2011-2012 B) Status: Closed
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: as per September 30/11 update, this item was recommended to be closed.
C) AANDC is working jointly with CMHC in identifying and implementing practical, incremental steps including developing and implementing a joint Housing Policy and Research Work Plan as initial steps in a change management approach which will lead to improved housing outcomes in First Nations. Q1, 2011 - 2012 C) Status: Closed
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: as per September 30/11 update, this item was recommended to be closed.

AES: Underway – AANDC continues to work on developing policy options related to housing.
2. Support and work with First Nations to clarify and strengthen accountability and governance structures, including roles and responsibilities, performance measurement, financial management, and community housing plans. We concur with this recommendation.

AANDC's new policy recommendations (see Action, Recommendation #1) will address the need to clarify AANDC, CMHC and First Nations' roles, responsibilities and accountabilities.
Q4, 2011-2012 A) Status: On-going
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Input has been collected from AANDC Regions and the AFN is leading a working group to draft a roles and responsibilities chart.
AANDC is developing and refining performance indicators for all areas of funding under the Capital and Facilities Maintenance Program, including housing. Benchmarks and targets are being established for each housing indicator. Q4, 2011-2012 B) Status: On-going
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Performance indicators to be reported on in 2015. Self reported "adequate housing" is completed; housing sub-text of community well-being index is dependent on Statistics Canada Census data; and Valid Housing Plan is awaiting regional input on content in order to develop a finalized definition.
AANDC will work with First Nations to strengthen their management of housing, including governance structures and financial management and the development of community housing plans, through various capacity development initiatives (see Action, Recommendation 3). Q4, 2011-2012 C) Status: Ongoing
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: AANDC has funded several First Nations and First Nation Organization and Association for various Capacity Development initiatives throughout the year. Specific objectives will continue to be pursued through Program Response, Recommendation 3.

AES: Underway – AANDC continues to make progress and has taken significant initial steps to work with First Nations in strengthening accountability and governance.
3. Develop a strategic approach to advance capacity building initiatives in order to:

a. better manage and monitor housing stock (where possible, AANDC should work with other government departments to leverage resources for First Nation capacity development);
We concur with this recommendation.

Working with First Nations, AANDC will pursue strategic capacity development objectives to assist First Nations in increasing their housing capacity, collaborating with CMHC, other government departments and First Nations organizations. These initiatives will include:
Q4, 2012-2013 A) Status: Ongoing
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:
a-1: collaborating with partners involved in capacity development for on-reserve housing (namely CMHC and the First Nations Market Housing Fund) to identify existing capacity support services and gaps and develop a plan for a more coordinated and effective approach; Q4, 2012-2013 (a-1) AANDC worked with CMHC and the FNMHF in the development of a capacity support study and gap analysis. CMHC has compiled and analysed the information and determined that there were no gaps.
a-2:working with the First Nations National Building Officers Association to implement a building permit system in First Nation communities which will support the Band (Chief and Council) to assume operational control of housing outcomes; Q4, 2012-2013 (a-2) Final report will be received on March 31, 2012.
a-3: supporting capacity development in First Nations housing through the Special Initiatives Fund (SIF), which funds small-scale projects designed to improve housing management, promote market housing, and demonstrate innovation in housing/infrastructure; and Q4, 2012-2013 (a-3) All SIF projects have been completed on March 31, 2012. Funding renewal for SIF capacity development projects for 2012/13 will be explored.
a-4: revising the comprehensive community housing guide, entitled "Creating Effective Community Strategies for First Nations Housing," to support effective community planning and housing management, and help advance and promote local operational control of housing in First Nation communities. Q4, 2012-2013 (a-4) As per September 30/11 update, this item was recommended to be closed.
b. advance local operational control; and B: Changes to the Ministerial Loan Guarantee (MLG) manual will add requirements that, as part of the application for an MLG, First Nations confirm that the project will be inspected by qualified inspectors who must confirm that it will meet or exceed the National Building Code (NBC) standards and other relevant standards. First Nations will also be required to confirm that the record of inspection and record of compliance to NBC standards or other relevant standards will be kept on file by the First Nation for the life of the MLG. AANDC will continue to work with CMHC to enhance NBC compliance. AANDC expects to complete the revisions to the MLG Manual and communicate changes in MLG requirements to First Nations in Q1 of 2011-2012. Q1, 2011-2012 B) Status: Closed
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: as per September 30/11 update, this item was recommended to be closed.
c. achieve the minimum standards of the National Building Code (e.g., quality construction, repairs and maintenance) to ensure long-lasting and environmentally sustainable units. C: Community Infrastructure Branch (CIB) will link to the broader Departmental capacity development strategy led by Governance Branch of Regional Operations Sector. Q4, 2012-2013 C) Status: On-going
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Waiting for approval.

AES: Underway – AANDC has made significant efforts in the past year to increase capacity for building standards. Much work is still underway and processes are gradually being implemented that are designed to better manage housing stock, advance local operational control, and achieve minimum building standards.
4. Support and work with First Nations to ensure houses are built to address overcrowding and deterioration and to maximise the use of resources bearing in mind current and future pressures on housing stock. We concur with this recommendation.

AANDC is examining options along the housing spectrum to identify instruments that will support First Nations in transitioning from social housing to other forms of affordable housing, including rent-to-own programs and multi-units to increase housing stock and provide a broader range of housing options.
Q4, 2011-2012 A) Status: Request to close
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The Canadian Housing and Renewal Association paper has been finalized and shared with government partners and AANDC Regions for broader dissemination. In addition, the Introduction to Revolving Loan Funds document has been completed and shared with AANDC Regions and First Nations in attendance at regional capacity development workshops.
Researching existing First Nations housing programs, policy options will be developed that support more effective use of revolving loan funds and other market-based tools, which has demonstrably increased available housing units by reducing reliance on social housing and decreasing pressure on existing housing stock. Q4, 2011-12 B) Status: on-going
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Interviews with subject matter experts have been completed and a technical report on the impact of the Fund is underway. CIB reviewed preliminary findings in February 2012. The Evaluation report is expected to be tabled in June 2012.

AES: Underway – Current research and analysis is expected to provide further direction on addressing overcrowding and housing stock deterioration.
5. Undertake research, in partnership with First Nations and CMHC, to identify:

cost-effective design options for on-reserve housing construction and renovation

the impact of demographic trends on the needs for on-reserve housing

options for effective management of on-reserve housing portfolios

options for effective governance of on-reserve housing
AANDC will collaborate with CMHC to compile existing research and publications related to housing design and construction on reserve. Q4, 2012-2013 A) Status: Request to Close
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Through the Special Initiatives Fund, AANDC funded the development of cost-effective green housing designs for Piikani First Nation, which will be made available to other First Nations communities upon completion. The first phase of the project ended on March 31, 2012, and designs will be shared with other First Nations in 2012/13.
AANDC and CMHC will analyze housing and population data to consider demographic pressures. Q4, 2012-2013 B) Status: Close
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The final report was received on March 31, 2012.
AANDC will compile "best practices" for achieving success in First Nations housing for inclusion in the guide "Creating Effective Community Strategies for First Nations Housing," which will be a tool made available to First Nations. Q4, 2012-2013 C) Status: Closed
Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: as per September 30/11 update, this item was recommended to be closed.
AANDC will collaborate with First Nations organizations that engage in research on the implications of the legal definition of local operational control. Q4, 2012-2013 Status: on-going

D) Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The AFN has created a working group that is working to develop draft roles and responsibilities. AANDC HQ and Regions have provided input to the AFN and is currently awaiting direction from the AFN Working Group Chair.

AES: Underway - AANDC and First Nations are collaborating on efforts to better understand local operational control.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation du Programme de logement dans les réserves d'AINC - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (43 Ko, 7 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

Opérations régionales

Évaluation du Programme de logement dans les réserves d'AINC
Date d'approbation : 22/02/2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
Il est recommandé que, en collaboration avec les Premières Nations et avec la participation active de la SCHL et des autres intervenants clés, AADNC :

1. Prépare un énoncé de politique qui s'appuie sur la Politique de 1996 et sur d'autres initiatives de logement dans les réserves. L'énoncé de politique devrait présenter des objectifs clairs, et être d'application assez souple pour répondre aux différents types de besoins dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.
Nous sommes d'accord avec la recommandation.

A) De concert avec les Premières Nations, AADNC préparera des options de politique pour le logement qui préciseront les rôles et responsabilités d'AADNC, de la SCHL et des Premières Nations.
T2 : 2011-2012 A) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Lors d'une vidéoconférence avec le Comité national de liaison des Premières Nations sur le logement, en janvier 2012, l'APN s'est engagée à former un groupe de travail afin d'ébaucher un document sur les rôles et les responsabilités. On a recueilli les contributions des régions d'AADNC. AADNC attend les directives du président du groupe de travail de l'APN.
B) AADNC évaluera le programme de logement sous l'angle de la conformité à la nouvelle approche ministérielle normalisée des accords de financement avec les Premières Nations, plus exactement la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert qui, en tenant compte du risque et des différents besoins en développement des capacités des Premières Nations dans le continuum du développement communautaire, confère de la flexibilité au financement. T2 : 2011-2012 B) État : Classé
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : conformément à la mise à jour du 30 septembre 2011, la fermeture de ce dossier a été recommandée.
C) AADNC travaille avec la SCHL à fixer et à appliquer des mesures pratiques et graduelles, entre autres la préparation et la mise en application d'une politique du logement et d'un plan de recherche, étapes initiales d'une approche de la gestion du changement qui mènera à une amélioration du logement chez les Premières Nations. T1, 2011-2012 C) État : Classé
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : conformément à la mise à jour du 30 septembre 2011, la fermeture de ce dossier a été recommandée.

SVE : En cours d'exécution – AADNC poursuit l'élaboration d'options de politiques relatives au logement.
2. Soutienne les Premières Nations et travaille avec elles à clarifier et à renforcer les structures de reddition de comptes et de gouvernance, y compris les rôles et responsabilités, la mesure du rendement, la gestion financière et les plans de logement dans les collectivités. Nous sommes d'accord avec la recommandation.

Les nouvelles recommandations de politiques d'AADNC (voir les mesures de la recommandation no 1) combleront le besoin de préciser les rôles, responsabilités et comptes à rendre d'AADNC, de la SCHL et des Premières Nations.
T4, 2011-2012 A) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : on a recueilli les contributions des régions d'AADNC et l'APN dirige un groupe de travail chargé de préparer l'ébauche d'un tableau des rôles et des responsabilités.
AADNC crée et met au point des indicateurs du rendement pour tous les secteurs de financement relevant du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien, y compris le logement. Des références et des cibles seront fixées pour chaque indicateur du logement. T4, 2011-2012 B) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : les indicateurs de rendement feront l'objet de rapports en 2015. Le « logement adéquat » autoévalué est terminé; la description du logement dans l'Indice du bien‑être des collectivités dépend des données du recensement de Statistique Canada; la définition du Plan de logement valide est en attente de l'apport régional pour être finalisée.
AADNC collaborera avec les Premières Nations en vue de renforcer leur gestion du logement, y compris les structures de gouvernance et la gestion financière, et d'élaborer des plans de logement communautaire, au moyen de différents projets de développement des capacités (voir les mesures de la recommandation 3). T4, 2011-2012 C) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : AADNC a financé les initiatives de développement des capacités de plusieurs Premières Nations et de plusieurs organisations et associations des Premières Nations tout au long de l'exercice. On cherche toujours à atteindre les objectifs particuliers, indiqués dans la recommandation 3 de la Réponse du programme.

SVE : En cours d'exécution – AADNC continue de réaliser des progrès et a pris d'importantes premières mesures pour collaborer avec les Premières Nations au renforcement de la responsabilité et de la gouvernance.
3. Élabore une approche stratégique pour promouvoir des initiatives de développement des capacités afin d'assurer :

a. une gestion et un contrôle améliorés du parc de logements (dans la mesure du possible, AADNC devrait travailler avec d'autres ministères en vue de multiplier les ressources pour le développement des capacités des Premières Nations),
Nous sommes d'accord avec la recommandation.

De concert avec les Premières Nations, AADNC poursuivra des objectifs stratégiques de développement des capacités afin d'aider les Premières Nations à augmenter leur capacité en matière de logement, en collaboration avec la SCHL, d'autres ministères et des organisations des Premières Nations. Ces initiatives comprennent :
T4, 2012-2013 A) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :
a-1 : la collaboration avec les partenaires engagés dans le développement des capacités relatives au logement dans la réserve (à savoir la SCHL et le Fonds pour les logements du marché destinés aux Premières Nations) afin de déterminer les services et les lacunes actuels dans le soutien à la capacité, et de dresser un plan qui présente une approche plus coordonnée et efficace; T4, 2012-2013 (a-1) AADNC a travaillé avec la SCHL et le FLMPN à une étude sur l'appui du développement des capacités et à une étude des lacunes. La SCHL a compilé et analysé toute l'information et a conclu à l'absence de lacunes.
a-2 : la collaboration avec l'Association nationale des agents du bâtiment des Premières Nations en vue d'appliquer un système de permis, dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, qui aidera la bande (chef et conseillers) à prendre le contrôle opérationnel du logement; T4, 2012-2013 (a-2) Le rapport final sera soumis le 31 mars 2012.
a-3 : le soutien au développement des capacités de logement des Premières Nations au moyen du Fonds d'innovation de mesures spéciales, qui finance les projets à petite échelle conçus pour améliorer la gestion du logement, la promotion des logements du marché et la démonstration des innovations dans le logement ou l'infrastructure; T4, 2012-2013 (a-3) Tous les projets du Fonds d'innovation de mesures spéciales ont été terminés le 31 mars 2012. Le renouvellement du financement pour les projets de développement des capacités dans le cadre de ce fonds sera mis à l'étude pour 2012‑2013.
a-4 : la révision du guide communautaire général du logement sur la conception de stratégies communautaires efficaces en matière de logement pour les Premières Nations, à l'appui d'une planification communautaire et d'une gestion du logement efficaces et de l'avancement et de la promotion du contrôle de l'exploitation du parc de logements local des Premières Nations. T4, 2012-2013 (a-4) Conformément à la mise à jour en date du 30 septembre 2011, la fermeture de ce dossier a été recommandée.
b. un contrôle accru de l'exploitation des opérations à l'échelle locale, B : Selon les changements qui seront apportés au manuel de procédures des garanties d'emprunt ministérielles (GEM), dans le cadre d'une demande de GEM, les Premières Nations devront attester que le projet fera l'objet d'une inspection par des inspecteurs compétents qui confirmeront que les normes du Code national du bâtiment (CNB), et autres normes pertinentes, seront respectées sinon dépassées. Les Premières Nations devront également attester que, tant que la GEM demeure en vigueur, elles conserveront le dossier des inspections et celui de la conformité aux normes du CNB ou aux autres normes pertinentes. AADNC poursuivra sa collaboration avec la SCHL pour améliorer la conformité au CNB. AADNC prévoit terminer la révision du manuel et communiquer aux Premières Nations les changements relatifs aux exigences des GEM au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012. T1, 2011-2012 B) État : Fermé
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : conformément à la mise à jour du 30 septembre 2011, la fermeture de ce dossier a été recommandée.
c. le respect des exigences minimales du Code national du bâtiment (travaux de construction, de réparation et d'entretien de qualité, par exemple), de sorte que les logements construits soient plus durables et plus respectueux de l'environnement. C : La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) fera un lien avec la stratégie ministérielle générale de développement des capacités, dirigée par la Direction générale de la gouvernance du Secteur des opérations régionales. Q4, 2012-2013 C) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : en attente d'approbation.

SVE : En cours d'exécution – AADNC a fourni d'importants efforts pour augmenter la capacité en vue de répondre aux normes du bâtiment. D'importants travaux sont encore en cours et les processus mis en œuvre progressivement sont conçus pour améliorer la gestion du parc de logements, le contrôle opérationnel local et la mise en conformité avec les exigences minimales du bâtiment.
4. Soutienne les Premières Nations et travaille avec elles à veiller à ce que les maisons soient bâties dans un double souci de prévenir le surpeuplement et la détérioration et à optimiser l'utilisation des ressources compte tenu des pressions qui s'exercent et s'exerceront sur le parc de logement. Nous sommes d'accord avec la recommandation.

AADNC étudie les options dans le continuum du logement, en quête des instruments qui aideront les Premières Nations à faire la transition entre le logement social et les autres types de logement abordable, notamment les programmes de location avec option d'achat et les unités multiples, en vue d'augmenter le parc de logements et d'offrir un plus vaste éventail d'options de logement.
T4, 2011-2012 A) État : Fermeture demandée
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Le rapport de l'Association canadienne d'habitation et de rénovation urbaine a été finalisé et remis aux partenaires gouvernementaux et aux régions d'AADNC pour être diffusé plus largement. De plus, le document de présentation du fonds de crédit renouvelable est terminé et a été communiqué aux régions d'AADNC et aux Premières Nations présentes aux ateliers régionaux sur le développement des capacités.
Les programmes de logement actuels des Premières Nations seront examinés en vue de l'élaboration d'options de politique qui appuieront une utilisation plus efficace des fonds de crédit renouvelables et d'autres outils du marché, méthode qui s'est traduite par une augmentation démontrée des unités de logement disponibles grâce à une dépendance réduite sur le logement social et à une pression moindre sur le parc de logements actuel. T4, 2011-2012 B) État : En cours
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Les entrevues avec les experts en la matière sont terminées et un rapport sur les retombées du fonds est en cours d'élaboration. La DGIC a passé en revue ses conclusions préliminaires en février 2012. La présentation du rapport d'évaluation est attendue en juin 2012.

SVE : En cours d'exécution – On prévoit que la recherche et l'analyse en cours produiront de nouvelles pistes d'action pour résoudre le surpeuplement et la détérioration du parc de logements.
5. Entreprenne des travaux de recherche, en partenariat avec les Premières Nations et la SCHL, pour définir :

des options de conception rentables pour la construction et la rénovation d'habitations dans les réserves,

les répercussions des tendances démographiques sur les besoins de logement dans les réserves,

des options à l'égard de la gestion efficace du portefeuille du logement dans les réserves,

des options à l'égard de la gouvernance efficace du logement dans les réserves.
AADNC collaborera avec la SCHL à la collecte des recherches et publications actuelles traitant de la conception et de la construction du logement dans la réserve. T4, 2012-2013 A) État : Fermeture demandée
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Par l'entremise du Fonds d'innovation de mesures spéciales, AADNC a financé la conception économique de logements verts pour la Première Nation des Piikani, qui sera mise à la disposition des autres Premières Nations quand elle sera terminée. La première phase du projet a pris fin le 31 mars 2012. On fera part des modèles seront aux autres Premières Nations en 2012‑2013.
AADNC et la SCHL analyseront les données sur le logement et la population pour s'informer des pressions démographiques. T4, 2012-2013 B) État : Classé
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Le rapport final a été reçu le 31 mars 2012.
AADNC recueillera des « pratiques exemplaires » pour réussir en matière de logement des Premières Nations, en vue de leur inclusion dans le guide sur la conception de stratégies communautaires efficaces en matière de logement pour les Premières Nations, outil qui sera mis à la disposition des Premières Nations. T4, 2012-2013 C) État : Classé
Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : conformément à la mise à jour du 30 septembre 2011, la fermeture de ce dossier a été recommandée.
AADNC collaborera avec les organisations de Premières Nations engagées dans la recherche sur les incidences de la définition légale de « contrôle opérationnel local ». T4, 2012-2013 État : En cours

D) Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : l'APN a créé un groupe de travail chargé d'élaborer un document provisoire décrivant les rôles et les responsabilités. L'AC et les régions d'AADNC ont communiqué leurs observations à l'APN et attendent les directives du président du groupe de travail de l'APN.

SVE : En cours d'exécution – L'AADNC et les Premières Nations collaborent afin de mieux comprendre le contrôle opérationnel local.
 
 
Date de modification :