ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Comprehensive Community Based Planning Pilot Project in Saskatchewan - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version   (34 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

REGIONAL OPERATIONS SECTOR

Evaluation of the Comprehensive Community Based Planning Pilot Project in Saskatchewan
 Approval Date: 06/20/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Consider to institutionalize long-term national support for such planning in First Nation communities. To the extent that institutionalization means a concept the Department supports and not a specific program to be established. The objective is to support communities in their use of planning to fully engage community members in charting a path forward. The objective is not to create a program necessarily or promote a defined model or approach. We do, agree that we should use all means possible to promote and support good planning practice in communities. The Community Development Framework (CDF) will elaborate on the Department's role in this regard.

While the Capacity Development Partnerships Program (CDPP) will provide some support for community planning, greater and sustained financial support will be needed to realize significant change across all Aboriginal and northern communities.
Ongoing National Initiatives

The Sustainable Communities Directorate (SCD) developed a paper that reviewed AANDC current planning requirements and addressed how AANDC can develop an integrated approach to better support community planning. SCD also developed a document that scopes the Community Development Framework, and advocates for the consolidation of authorities as a way to reduce program planning requirements. Rather than create a program dedicated to planning, the CDF suggest that planning be addressed in the context of supporting capacity development. The department shares the responsibility for building planning capacity with many external parties who have an interest in Aboriginal community development. Part of our role as a department is to bring those potential partners together around community planning.

Saskatchewan Region

Saskatchewan Region encourages First Nations to engage their community members in establishing long-term visions and plans. Planning capacity initiatives are supported on a project-by-project basis. The Region continues to support the development of national models, including the Community Development Framework and the Capacity Development Partnership Program, by ensuring regional managers and staff are aware of these initiatives and have the opportunity to provide input.

STATUS: On-Going
UPDATE/RATIONALE:
As of 31/03/2012:

Saskatchewan Region

The Region will continue to support and provide advice toward the development of national initiatives which support community-based planning.

AES: Progress satisfactory and moving in the right direction – Recommend to close
2. Review its approach to:

a. better integrate First Nations input on the design and approach used, to develop community-based plans;

b. involve other levels of government; and

c. integrate gender-based analysis.

In keeping with (1) above, the Department will not control the content or form of the planning process. However, we will attempt to support and respond to leadership at the community level. We concur that AANDC has a role to play in bringing other levels of government to the table. We do concur that we can offer tools or expertise to conduct gender-based or any other analysis on a community that has engaged in a community planning process. Ongoing STATUS: On-Going

National Initiatives

The Sustainable Communities Directorate (SCD) is exploring the prospect of holding a multi-stakeholder community planning forum, by reaching out to the private sector, Aboriginal organizations, academia, and other stakeholders. Through interviews with these potential partners we will obtain information regarding common interests and begin planning the event.

Saskatchewan Region

The Saskatchewan Region does not prescribe an approach to Comprehensive Community Based planning. (In the past, however, the Region implemented Dalhousie University, Cities and Environment Unit's model with 11 communities through a multi-year pilot project.)

The Region encourages First Nations to seek support from professionals/consultants who have experience working with First Nations and who are certified members of the Canadian Association of Professional Planners or its affiliated provincial associations.

In the Saskatchewan Region, Health Canada and AANDCs signed a protocol agreement, which commits the departments to sharing information and coordinating efforts with respect to First Nation community capacity development. This work is in the initial stages.

The region has no current involvement in conducting gender-based analysis of First Nation community plans or planning processes.

UPDATE/RATIONALE:
As of 31/03/2012:

Saskatchewan Region

Within existing program authorities and guidelines, the Saskatchewan Region will continue to explore ways of supporting First Nations in designing and implementing their own long-term planning processes.

AES: Progress satisfactory – Recommend to close
3. Consider means to increase capacity (inside and outside the Department) to support community-based planning. The CDPP will provide some support for community planning and may be able to fund initiatives that increase planning capacity in communities, however, greater and sustained financial support will be needed to realize significant change across all Aboriginal and northern communities.

The CDF will elaborate on the role Government needs to play to better support community-based planning and on any capacity or other impediments to that role being played.
Ongoing STATUS: On-Going

National Initiatives

The Department is increasingly orienting its programs to be more responsive to community plans. In 2011-2012, the Professional and Institutional Development program was refocused to fund activities identified in existing community plans, as well as to develop planning capacity in communities. The Department has also created a Community Capacity Plan template that can be used by any community to identify short and long-term capacity development priorities.

Progress continues on the Capacity Development Partnerships Program initiative, which is expected to focus on developing planning capacity for Aboriginal communities.

Through the Community Development Framework (CDF), the department is exploring alternative ways to work with Aboriginal communities. The CDF advocates for a strategic and differentiated approach whereby resources are invested in ways that support the unique plans and priorities identified by communities. Since there will not be enough funding to address all the opportunities for investment, it is critical that the department develop a network of external partners.

Saskatchewan Region

Saskatchewan Region continues to work with the SCD toward the development of the CDF. The Region provides input into the CDF and participates on the national Reform Agenda Task Team which is contributing to the development of the CDF.

Saskatchewan Region supported planning capacity development in 2011-12 through the Professional and Institutional Development (P&ID) Program: 25 communities funded for Strategic Plans, and three Comprehensive Community-Based Planning projects. In partnership with Yorkton Tribal Council, the region also hosted a First Nations Planning and Governance Symposium, bringing together First Nation leaders, planners, academics, consulting firms, and professional associations.

UPDATE/RATIONALE:
As of 31/03/2012:

Saskatchewan Region

Saskatchewan Region continues to support First Nation planning capacity development through projects funded through P&ID. The Region recognizes that community planning is only one of many competing priorities for limited capacity funding, and that, increasingly, these resources will be targeted to First Nations' own capacity development plans and priorities.

AES: Progress satisfactory – Recommend to close
4. Commit to using community-based planning information to inform program and funding priorities. The CDF will recommend that programs look to community-based planning information to inform program and funding priorities. Ongoing STATUS: On-Going

National Initiatives

The emerging Community Development Framework recognizes that existing government program funding, when aligned with a community's own goals and priorities, can result in improved outcomes, better public services and more productive relationships with governments and other partners.

Saskatchewan Region

The Saskatchewan Region encourages communities to demonstrate how their proposed projects help meet the goals identified in their community plans.

For example, proposals submitted under the P&ID program are accorded higher priority if the proponent can demonstrate a link to a community plan or governance capacity development plan.

In the National Child Benefit Reinvestment (NCBR) program, First Nations are encouraged to identify linkages between their proposed community projects and the goals identified in their community plans.

UPDATE/RATIONALE:
As of 31/03/2012:

Saskatchewan Region

The Saskatchewan Region will continue to encourage First Nations to design and implement projects which align with their community plans and other long-term plans (e.g. Strategic Plans, Long-term Capital Plans)

AES: Progress satisfactory – Recommend to close

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation du projet pilote de planification communautaire globale en Saskatchewan - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF   (36 Ko, 7 pages)

 


Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

SECTEUR DES OPÉRATIONS RÉGIONALES

Évaluation du projet pilote de planification communautaire globale en Saskatchewan
 Date d'approbation : 20 juin 2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Envisager des façons d'institutionnaliser, dans les collectivités des Premières nations, le soutien national à long terme pour cette planification. Dans la mesure où l'institutionnalisation est un concept que le Ministère appuie et non un programme précis qui sera mis sur pied. L'objectif consiste à appuyer les collectivités en ce qui a trait à la planification, de manière à ce que leurs membres puissent participer pleinement à l'établissement de la voie à suivre. L'objectif ne consiste pas nécessairement à créer un programme ou à promouvoir un modèle ou une approche en particulier. Nous convenons que nous devons utiliser tous les moyens possibles afin de favoriser et de soutenir une bonne pratique de planification dans les collectivités. Le Cadre de développement communautaire (CDC) précisera le rôle du Ministère à cet égard.

Bien que le Programme de partenariats pour le développement des capacités (PPDC) fournisse un certain appui pour la planification communautaire, un soutien financier accru et constant sera nécessaire pour apporter d'importants changements dans toutes les collectivités autochtones et nordiques.
En cours Initiatives nationales

La Direction des collectivités durables (DCD) a élaboré un document de discussion dans lequel elle examine les exigences actuelles en matière de planification et par quels moyens AADNC pourrait concevoir une approche intégrée permettant de mieux soutenir la planification communautaire. La DCD a également élaboré un document qui définit la portée du Cadre de développement communautaire (CDC) et qui plaide en faveur de la rationalisation des autorisations afin d'alléger les exigences de planification du programme. Plutôt que de créer un programme dédié à la planification, le CDC suggère de traiter la planification dans le contexte du développement des capacités. Le Ministère partage la responsabilité de renforcer la capacité de planification avec de nombreuses parties externes intéressées par le développement communautaire des Autochtones. En tant que ministère, notre rôle consiste notamment à réunir ces partenaires potentiels pour les besoins de la planification communautaire.

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région de la Saskatchewan invite les Premières Nations à faire participer les membres de leurs collectivités à la création de visions et de plans à long terme. Les initiatives en matière de capacité de planification sont soutenues au cas par cas. La région continue d'appuyer l'élaboration de modèles nationaux, dont le Cadre de développement communautaire et le Programme de partenariats pour le développement des capacités, en veillant à informer les gestionnaires et le personnel régionaux de ces initiatives et à leur donner l'occasion d'y contribuer.

État : En cours d'exécution
Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région continuera d'appuyer l'élaboration d'initiatives nationales appuyant la planification communautaire et de donner des conseils à leur sujet.

SVE : Progrès satisfaisants et dossier sur la bonne voie – Fermeture recommandée.
2. Revoir l'approche pour :

a. mieux intégrer les observations des Premières Nations dans la conception et la méthode utilisées pour élaborer des plans communautaires;

b. faire participer d'autres ordres de gouvernement;

c. intégrer l'analyse comparative entre les sexes.

Conformément au point précédent, le Ministère ne contrôlera pas le contenu ni la forme du processus de planification. Toutefois, nous tenterons de fournir un appui et de prendre les mesures nécessaires à l'égard du leadership au niveau communautaire. Nous convenons qu'AADNC a un rôle à jouer pour inciter d'autres ordres de gouvernement à participer. Nous pouvons offrir des outils ou de l'expertise afin de mener des analyses comparatives entre les sexes ou toute autre analyse dans les collectivités qui ont adhéré au processus de planification communautaire. En cours État : En cours d'exécution

Initiatives nationales

La Direction des collectivités durables (DCD) étudie la possibilité de tenir un forum sur la planification communautaire avec de multiples intervenants, en y invitant le secteur privé, les organismes autochtones et les universitaires, entre autres. Des entrevues avec ces partenaires éventuels nous informeront sur nos intérêts communs et nous aideront à planifier le forum.

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région de la Saskatchewan ne recommande pas une méthode de planification communautaire globale. (Dans le passé, cependant, la région a mis en œuvre le modèle de l'Université Dalhousie et de la Cities and Environment Unit avec 11 collectivités dans le cadre d'un projet pilote pluriannuel.)

La région conseille aux Premières Nations de rechercher l'appui de professionnels/experts‑conseils qui ont l'expérience du travail avec les Premières Nations et qui sont membres agréées de la Canadian Association of Professional Planners ou des associations provinciales qui lui sont affiliées.

Dans la région de la Saskatchewan, Santé Canada et AADNC ont signé un protocole d'entente en vertu duquel les ministères s'engagent à échanger de l'information et à coordonner leurs actions en matière de développement de la capacité communautaire des Premières Nations. Ce travail en est à son début.

La région ne participe pas actuellement à l'analyse comparative entre les sexes à l'égard des plans communautaires ou des processus de planification des Premières Nations.

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Région de la Saskatchewan

Conformément aux autorisations et aux lignes directrices de programme en vigueur, la région de la Saskatchewan continue d'examiner des façons de soutenir les Premières Nations dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de leurs propres processus de planification à long terme.

SVE : Progrès satisfaisants – Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
3. Envisager des moyens pour accroître la capacité (à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Ministère) afin d'appuyer la planification communautaire globale. Le PPDC fournira un certain appui pour la planification communautaire et pourrait être en mesure de financer des initiatives qui renforcent la capacité de planification dans des collectivités. Toutefois, un soutien financier accru et constant sera nécessaire pour apporter d'importants changements dans toutes les collectivités autochtones et nordiques.

Le CDC fournira des précisions sur le rôle que le gouvernement doit jouer pour mieux appuyer la planification communautaire, de même que sur tout obstacle en matière de capacité ou autre concernant ce rôle.
En cours État : En cours d'exécution

Initiatives nationales

Le Ministère oriente de plus en plus ses programmes de façon à les rendre plus réceptifs aux plans communautaires. En 2011‑2012, le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel a été recentré pour financer les activités définies dans les plans communautaires actuels, ainsi que pour développer les capacités de planification des collectivités. Le Ministère a également créé un modèle de plan de capacité communautaire que chaque collectivité peut utiliser pour fixer ses priorités à court et à long terme en matière de développement des capacités.

La progression de l'initiative de partenariats pour le développement des capacités se poursuit. On prévoit qu'elle sera axée sur le développement de la capacité de planification pour les collectivités autochtones.

Conformément au Cadre de développement communautaire (CDC), le Ministère examine maintenant d'autres méthodes de travail avec les collectivités autochtones. Le CDC prône une approche stratégique et différenciée selon laquelle les investissements des ressources appuient les plans particuliers et les priorités fixées par les collectivités. Comme le financement sera insuffisant pour procéder à tous les investissements possibles, la création d'un réseau de partenaires externes par le Ministère est d'une importance notable.

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région de la Saskatchewan continue de travailler avec la DCD à l'élaboration du CDC. La région contribue au CDC et participe au groupe de travail national sur la réforme qui contribue à l'élaboration du CDC.

La région de la Saskatchewan a appuyé le développement de la capacité de planification en 2011‑2012 grâce au Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel (PDPI) : 25 collectivités ont été financées pour leur plan stratégique, ainsi que 3 projets de planification communautaire globale. En partenariat avec le Conseil tribal de Yorkton, la région a également été l'hôte d'un symposium sur la gouvernance et la planification des Premières Nations qui a réuni des dirigeants des Premières Nations, des planificateurs, des universitaires, des cabinets d'experts‑conseils et des associations professionnelles.

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région de la Saskatchewan continue de soutenir le développement de la capacité de planification des Premières Nations grâce au financement de projets dans le cadre du PDPI. La région reconnaît que la planification communautaire n'est qu'une des nombreuses priorités en concurrence pour bénéficier d'un financement limité des capacités et que, de plus en plus, ces ressources vont cibler les propres plans et priorités de développement des capacités des Premières Nations.

SVE : Progrès satisfaisants – Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
4. S'engager à utiliser les renseignements sur la planification communautaire globale pour préciser les priorités en matière de programme et de financement. Le CDC recommandera que les programmes se servent des renseignements sur la planification communautaire pour préciser les priorités en matière de programme et de financement. En cours État : En cours d'exécution

Initiatives nationales 

Le nouveau Cadre de développement communautaire tient compte du fait que l'harmonisation du financement gouvernemental actuel des programmes avec les propres buts et priorités d'une collectivité permet d'améliorer les résultats, les services publics et la productivité des relations avec les gouvernements et avec les autres partenaires.

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région de la Saskatchewan encourage les collectivités à démontrer comment les projets qu'elles proposent leur permettront d'atteindre les buts fixés dans leur plan communautaire.

Par exemple, les demandes présentées dans le cadre du PDPI sont acceptées en priorité si le demandeur peut démontrer leur lien avec un plan communautaire ou avec un plan de développement de la capacité de gouvernance.

Dans le cadre du programme de réinvestissement de la prestation nationale pour enfants (PRPNE), on conseille aux Premières Nations de décrire les relations entre les projets communautaires qu'elles proposent et les buts définis dans leur plan communautaire.

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Région de la Saskatchewan

La région de la Saskatchewan continuera d'inciter les Premières Nations à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre des projets dans le cadre de leur plan communautaire et d'autres plans à long terme (p. ex., plans stratégiques, plan d'immobilisations à long terme).

SVE : Progrès satisfaisants – Fermeture du dossier recommandée.

 

Date de modification :