ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Urban Aboriginal Strategy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (23 Kb, 2 Pages)



Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

OFFICE OF THE FEDERAL INTERLOCUTOR

Evaluation of the Urban Aboriginal Strategy
Approval Date: 06/20/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Develop clear objectives to guide the Strategy's work, particularly with respect to capacity building and the achievement of outcomes in priority areas. UAS has clear objectives with respect to the overall strategy and will work to develop measurable objectives and outcomes with respect to capacity building and the priority areas in parallel with the development of the performance measurement strategy. March 31, 2012 The UAS has recently expanded its programming to include elements transferred to AANDC from PCH (AFC, CCAY and YCWUAY).

As a result of this transfer of programming, work on developing clear objectives has been delayed and will be included in the work on a new Performance Measurement Strategy. Planning has begun to engage stakeholders on forward policy directions and a new PMS that takes into consideration the transferred programming elements. It is anticipated that this work will be completed Fall of 2013.

The development of a PMS will address the recommended action of clarifying objectives and outcomes.

AES: Close - The program has undergone major changes and will revise its objectives based on new consultations and performance measurement work.
2. Revise the UAS performance measurement strategy in line with current departmental guidelines and requirements in order to:

a. Improve the measurement of results, particularly at the community and sector (or priority) levels;

b. Strengthen the UAS' monitoring and assessment of efficiency and economy across all activity areas; and to

c. Allow for the conduct of periodic reviews of the UAS' priority areas with Aboriginal stakeholders and other key partners to ensure they account key priorities at both the regional and federal departmental levels.

UAS will revise the draft of performance measurement strategy in line with current departmental guidelines and requirements. The revised PMS will include clear measurement results, monitoring and reviews.

As noted in the Evaluation "the execution of robust evaluations [of social funds] faces significant technical challenges. The methodologies for assessing the impacts of social funds are particularly complex"

To address these challenges UAS will work with the EPMRB to develop a comprehensive approach for measurement of results.
March 31, 2012 include elements transferred to AANDC from PCH (AFC, CCAY and YCWUAY).

As a result of this transfer of programming, work that had been initiated on the PMS has been put on hold and planning has begun to engage stakeholders on forward policy directions and a new PMS that takes into consideration the transferred programming elements. It is anticipated that this work will be completed Fall of 2013.

AES: Close - The program has undergone major changes and will revise its Performance Measurement Strategy and engage stakeholders.
3. Consider diversifying the UAS' delivery models and partners so as to maximize the Strategy's reach and impacts. UAS in collaboration with stakeholders will examine possible delivery models for future use with the Strategy March 31, 2012 The UAS has recently expanded its programming to include elements transferred to AANDC from PCH (AFC, CCAY and YCWUAY).

As a result of this transfer of programming, planning has begun to engage stakeholders on forward policy directions. It is anticipated that this work will be completed Fall of 2013.

The examination of future delivery models is one of the anticipated synergies between the current UAS and the transferred programming that supports Friendship Centres.

AES: Close - The program is engaging stakeholders on a number of areas including how to diversify its delivery models and maximize the strategy's reach and impacts since changes have been announced to expand the program.
4. Work closely with federal partners to facilitate efforts to streamline administrative and reporting requirements in horizontal initiatives. UAS, through the Horizontal Terms and Conditions and joint funding agreements, streamlines administrative and reporting requirements. Increased efforts will be undertaken to eliminate barriers to more effective implementation of the Terms and Conditions. UAS, in collaboration with our signatory departments and the central agencies, will continue to strive to reduce administrative and reporting requirements. March 31, 2012 Work on improving the efficiency of horizontal initiatives will be accomplished as we engage our federal partners on forward policy directions and the development of a new PMS that takes into consideration the transferred programming elements. It is anticipated that this work will be completed Fall of 2013.

AES: Close - The UAS continues to work on streamlining Terms and Conditions with other Federal Departments as well as realizing the benefits of new components transferred to the program recently.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (26 Ko, 3 pages)




Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

BUREAU DE L'INTERLOCUTEUR FÉDÉRAL

Évaluation de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain
 Date d'approbation : 20 juin 2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Établir des objectifs clairs afin d'orienter les travaux de la SAMU, surtout en ce qui a trait au renforcement des capacités et à l'atteinte des résultats dans les domaines de priorité. La SAMU s'est dotée d'objectifs clairs à l'égard de la stratégie globale et élaborera des objectifs et des résultats mesurables en ce qui concerne le renforcement des capacités et l'atteinte des résultats dans les domaines de priorité en même temps qu'elle élaborera sa stratégie de mesure du rendement. 31 mars 2012 La SAMU vient d'élargir ses programmes pour inclure des éléments transférés de PCH à AADNC (Centres d'amitié autochtones, Connexions culturelles pour la jeunesse autochtone et Jeunesse Canada au travail pour les jeunes Autochtones en milieu urbain).

Par suite de ce transfert de programmes, l'élaboration d'objectifs clairs a été retardée et s'inscrira dans le cadre d'une nouvelle stratégie de mesure du rendement. On a commencé à planifier des discussions avec les intervenants sur les futures orientations des politiques et sur une nouvelle SMR qui tiendra compte du transfert de ces programmes. On prévoit terminer ce travail d'ici l'automne 2013.

L'élaboration d'une SMR permettra de procéder à la clarification des objectifs et des résultats qui a été recommandée.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier. Le programme a subi de profondes modifications. Ses objectifs seront révisés à la lumière des nouvelles consultations et des activités de mesure du rendement.
2. Revoir la stratégie de mesure du rendement de la SAMU en fonction des lignes directrices et exigences ministérielles actuelles pour :

a. améliorer la mesure des résultats, particulièrement sur les plans de la collectivité et du domaine (de priorité);

b. renforcer le suivi et l'évaluation que fait la SAMU de son efficacité et de ses économies quant à tous ses domaines d'activité;

c. permettre la tenue d'examens périodiques des domaines de priorité de la SAMU avec les intervenants autochtones et d'autres partenaires clés afin de veiller à ce qu'on tienne compte des priorités aux échelons régional et fédéral.

La SAMU doit revoir l'ébauche de sa stratégie de mesure du rendement afin qu'elle corresponde aux lignes directrices et aux exigences ministérielles. La stratégie de mesure du rendement révisée comprendra des résultats, des suivis et des examens concrets.

Tel que mentionné dans l'évaluation [traduction] « l'exécution d'évaluations sévères [des fonds sociaux] fait l'objet d'importants problèmes techniques. Les méthodes d'évaluation des répercussions des fonds sociaux sont particulièrement complexes.

Pour contrer ces problèmes, la SAMU collaborera avec la DGEMRE à l'élaboration d'une méthode globale de mesure des résultats.
31 mars 2012 La SAMU vient d'élargir ses programmes pour inclure des éléments transférés de PCH à AADNC (Centres d'amitié autochtones, Connexions culturelles pour la jeunesse autochtone et Jeunesse Canada au travail pour les jeunes Autochtones en milieu urbain).

Par suite de ce transfert de programmes, les activités amorcées dans le cadre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement (SMR) de la SAMU ont été suspendues, et on a commencé la planification en vue de faire participer les intervenants à des orientations politiques novatrices et à une nouvelle SMR qui tient compte des éléments de programme transférés. On prévoit que ce travail sera terminé à l'automne 2013.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier. Le programme a subi de profondes modifications. On révisera sa stratégie de mesure du rendement et sollicitera l'apport des intervenants.
3. Envisager la diversification des modèles de prestation et des partenaires de la SAMU afin de maximiser sa portée et ses résultats. La SAMU, en collaboration avec les intervenants, doit examiner les modèles de prestation qui pourraient être utilisés à l'avenir. 31 mars 2012 La SAMU vient d'élargir ses programmes pour inclure des programmes transférés de PCH à AADNC (Centres d'amitié autochtones, Connexions culturelles pour la jeunesse autochtone et Jeunesse Canada au travail pour les jeunes Autochtones en milieu urbain).

Par suite de ce transfert de programmes, on a commencé à planifier des discussions avec les intervenants sur les futures orientations des politiques. On prévoit terminer ce travail d'ici l'automne 2013.

L'examen des futurs modèles de prestation est l'une des synergies escomptées entre la SAMU actuelle et les programmes transférés qui appuient les centres d'amitié.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier. Le programme prévoit la tenue de discussions avec les intervenants dans plusieurs domaines, dont la diversification de ses modèles de prestation et l'optimisation de la portée et des retombées de la stratégie, puisque les changements annoncés visent à élargir le programme.
4. Travailler de près avec les partenaires fédéraux pour faciliter les efforts de rationalisation des exigences administratives et de reddition de compte dans le cadre d'initiatives horizontales. La SAMU, au moyen de modalités horizontales et d'ententes conjointes de financement, doit rationaliser ses exigences administratives et de reddition de compte. Des efforts supplémentaires seront déployés afin d'éliminer les embûches à une mise en œuvre efficace des modalités. La SAMU, en collaboration avec les ministères et organismes centraux signataires, continuera de travailler à réduire les exigences administratives et relatives à la reddition de compte. 31 mars 2012 Nous améliorerons l'efficacité des initiatives horizontales en faisant participer nos partenaires fédéraux aux orientations des politiques à venir et à l'élaboration d'une SMR qui tiendra compte des programmes transférés. On prévoit terminer ce travail d'ici l'automne 2013.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La SAMU poursuit son travail de rationalisation des conditions avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, tout en analysant les avantages des nouvelles composantes qui viennent de lui être transférées.

 

Date de modification :