ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act (FSMA) - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (32 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Regional Operations, Chief Financial Officer

Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act (FSMA) (10014)
Approval Date: 04/19/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. That the Chief Financial Officer review the potential, and recommend any changes necessary, to rationalize the dedicated FSMA spending authorities (and other related authorities) and to reinforce linkages with other relevant initiatives including, for example, economic development. The potential for rationalizing the spending authorities that support the implementation of the First Nations Fiscal and Statistical Management Act will be undertaken in the larger context of AANDC authority rationalization. This review will also examine the potential to reinforce linkages with other initiatives and include collaboration with other sectors. Completion: December, 2011 CFO Update
Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

CFO Sector will continue to support with expert advice, options and recommendations the RO sector as needed with the consolidation of their authorities.

No longer applicable based on Budget 2012 announcement.

AES: Close. This action item is no longer applicable based on the Budget 2012 announcement regarding the deficit reduction action plan.
2. Given the current operational status of the FSMA institutions that AANDC re-examine the expected results of AANDC's support and the funding required to achieve those expected results. Also work with First Nations Institutions to develop performance measurement strategies and reporting regimes in line with Treasury Board and AANDC standards, particularly with respect to roles and responsibilities, risks, targets, time lines, reporting burden and a strategy for measuring impacts on First Nation communities. Work has begun on a mandated legislative review and the re-examination of expectations for AANDC support and funding requirements will be included in this review before being tabled to each house of Parliament. Completion: March 23, 2012 RO Status: Completed – Request to Close

Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The Legislative Review was completed and is to be tabled before the end of March, 2012.
A Performance Measurement Strategy is being developed for the FSMA with its' institutions. The Strategy will consider reporting burden on recipients and include measuring impacts of the FSMA on First Nations communities. Although it was initially scheduled to be complete in 2011-12, Regional Operations Sector will postpone its completion until 2012-2013 to ensure the inclusion of any regulatory and/or legislative changes resulting from the Legislative Review. March 31, 2013 RO Status: Underway.

Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Work on the Performance Measurement Strategy has been put on hold pending a response on the Report to Parliament on the Legislative Review by Parliamentary Committee. Target completion date of March 31, 2013 remains.
A Risk Assessment was initiated in 2011-2012 and is currently being conducted with the Institutions, with the support and advice of Audit and Evaluation Sector, to assess the risks associated with the FSMA and its Institutions. September 30, 2012 RO Status: Completed – Request to Close

Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: As per the Mid-Year Update the work in support of the Risk Assessment Action Plan item has been completed.
The FSMA Institutions currently report against the requirements of the legislation, Treasury Board authorities and respective funding agreements. Ongoing RO Status: Recommend closing.

Update / Rationale:
The FSMA Institutions continue to report against the requirements of the legislation, Treasury Board authorities and respective funding agreements
Reporting Burdens will be assessed according to the Reducing Reporting Burden exercise being led by the Deputy Minister's Special Representative on Reduced Reporting. March 31, 2012 RO Status: Completed – Request to Close

Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Between 2010/2011 and 2011/2012, the Department reduced the total number of reports it requires from the FSMA institutions for FSMA business from 23 to 12, for a total reduction of 11 reports. All reports requested now are required either under Legislation, or under TB authority. This includes a Corporate Plan and Annual Report from FNFA, FNTC and FMB.

AES: Close. Satisfactory progress has been made on all components except the performance measurement strategy which is scheduled be complete March 2012.
3. As part of the legislative review, that AANDC ensure that an assessment of the mandate of the FNSI is undertaken that considers the results of the environmental scan and the corporate plan vis-à-vis respecting its activities. The review should also include an assessment of progress being made towards the issuance of a bond. As part of the Legislative Review, the Regional Operations Sector and the First Nations Statistical Institute (FNSI) will ensure that an assessment of its mandate is undertaken that takes into account the plans and priorities identified as a result of the 2010 Environmental Scan and its Corporate Plan for the period 2011-2014.

The Terms of Reference for the Legislative Review will include a process for the assessment of progress being made towards the issuance of a bond under the FSMA.
Completion:
March 23, 2012
RO Status: Completed – Request to Close

Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The Legislative Review was completed and is to be tabled before the end of March, 2012. It includes an assessment of the mandate of FNSI. The institutions recommended two minor changes to FNSI's mandate related to clarifying its role in relation to the other institutions, and including housing as a subject on which it could collect and analyze data. The Review also included an assessment of progress being made towards a bond – FNFA anticipates the issuance of an inaugural bond by November 2012.

AES: Close. This action item is no longer applicable based on the Budget 2012 announcement regarding the deficit reduction action plan.
4.That AANDC strengthen coordination with other related AANDC initiatives, including other "opt-in"; initiatives, self-government, economic development and infrastructure programming, to ensure the FSMA regime is being utilized to its maximum potential. The Regional Operations Sector will use existing government structures such as Director General Implementation and Operations Committee and Director General Policy Committee to promote synergies between departmental stakeholders. Completion:
Ongoing
RO Status: Ongoing.

Update / Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:
Governance Branch conducted an intradepartmental meeting on the Legislative Review with Departmental stakeholders on December 19, 2011, presented at the Director General Policy Review Committee on January 11, 2012, and presented at Policy Committee on January 27, 2012. The intradepartmental and DGPRC both included discussions around potential synergies between the FSMA and other opt-in legislation.

Continued work on the Framework for the inclusion of self-governing First Nations in the FSMA is dependant on the results of negotiations with Tsawwassen First Nation. These negotiations are ongoing, and their results will form the basis of any such Framework.

As per the Government's commitment in the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, Governance Branch is working with IMMLED and CIB to "remove legislative and regulatory barriers to economic development…and support commercial infrastructure."; The Governance Branch is working with CIB to develop a pilot project which would see a portion of the Department's infrastructure funds securitized through the FSMA, to maximize their immediate impact. This project is in the initial stages.

The Legislative Review was completed and is to be tabled before the end of March, 2012. It includes a recommendation from the FSMA institutions that the Department examine possibilities for using certification under the FSMA as proxy for requirements under other opt-in legislation such as FNLMA, or even for sections of the General Assessment.

AES: Close. Satisfactory progress has been made with regard to strengthening coordination between FSMA and other initiatives.
The Regional Operations Sector is exploring the possibility of drafting a Framework for the inclusion of self-governing First Nations in the FSMA with the FSMA Institutions. December 31, 2011
The Lands and Economic Development Sector regularly participates in FSMA meetings and information sharing with the Community Infrastructure Branch will further enhance coordination of infrastructure programming. Ongoing
The Regional Operations Sector is currently conducting an analysis of overlapping requirements in opt-in legislation within AANDC September 30, 2011
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (33 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

OPÉRATIONS RÉGIONALES, DIRIGEANT PRINCIPAL DES FINANCES

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières Nations (10014)
Date d'approbation : 19/04/2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Que le dirigeant principal des finances d'AADNC établisse et recommande tout changement qu'il pourrait être nécessaire d'apporter afin de rationaliser les autorisations de dépenses associées à la LGFSPN (et les autres autorisations connexes) et de renforcer les liens avec d'autres initiatives pertinentes, par exemple en matière de développement économique. La possibilité de rationaliser les autorisations de dépenses qui appuient la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des Premières Nations sera envisagée dans le contexte plus vaste de la rationalisation des autorisations d'AADNC. Cet examen portera également sur la possibilité de renforcer les liens avec d'autres initiatives et de collaborer avec d'autres secteurs. Fin : Décembre 2011 Mise à jour du dirigeant principal des finances (DPF)
État : Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

Le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances continuera d'appuyer le Secteur des opérations régionales (SOR) grâce à son expertise, en lui présentant des options et en lui formulant des recommandations pour répondre aux besoins de la rationalisation de ses autorisations.

N'est plus applicable à la suite de l'annonce du budget de 2012.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Cette mesure n'est plus applicable à la suite de l'annonce du budget de 2012 sur le plan d'action visant à réduire le déficit.
2. Étant donné le statut opérationnel actuel des institutions de la LGFSPN, que AADNC réexamine les résultats attendus du soutien qu'il apporte ainsi que le financement requis afin d'obtenir ces résultats. Par ailleurs, collaborer avec les institutions des Premières Nations en vue d'élaborer des stratégies de mesure du rendement et des régimes de rapports qui s'aligneront sur les normes du Conseil du Trésor et d'AADNC, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les rôles et les responsabilités, les risques, les cibles, les délais, le fardeau des rapports et la stratégie pour mesurer les répercussions sur les collectivités des Premières Nations. La revue de la législation qui avait été mandatée a commencé, et le réexamen des attentes quant au soutien d'AADNC et aux besoins de financement sera inclus dans cette revue avant qu'elle ne soit déposée devant chacune des chambres du Parlement. Fin : 23 mars 2012 État du SOR : Terminé –Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : L'examen législatif est terminé et doit être déposé avant la fin de mars 2012.
Une stratégie de mesure du rendement a été rédigée au regard de la LGFSPN et de ses institutions. Elle portera sur le fardeau des rapports des bénéficiaires et comprendra une mesure des répercussions de la LGFSPN sur les collectivités des Premières Nations. La stratégie de mesure du rendement de la LGFSPN devait être achevée en 2011-2012, mais le Secteur des opérations régionales repoussera ce délai à l'exercice 2012-2013, afin de permettre l'intégration de toute modification réglementaire ou législative résultant de la revue. 31 mars 2013 État du SOR : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Le travail sur la stratégie de mesure du rendement a été mis en suspens, dans l'attente du rapport sur l'examen législatif que le comité parlementaire doit soumettre au Parlement. La date d'achèvement prévue demeure fixée au 31 mars 2103.
Une évaluation des risques amorcée en 2011-2012 est en cours présentement auprès des institutions, avec l'appui et les conseils du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation, afin d'évaluer les risques liés à la LGFSPN et à ses institutions 30 septembre 2012 État du SOR : Terminé – Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :
Conformément à la mise à jour semestrielle, le travail d'appui du plan d'action sur l'évaluation du risque est achevé.
Les institutions de la LGFSPN produisent actuellement des rapports sur les exigences de la législation, les autorisations du Conseil du Trésor et les ententes de financement respectives. En cours État du SOR : Fermeture recommandée

Mise à jour/ Justification :
Les institutions de la LGFSPN produisent actuellement des rapports sur les exigences de la législation, les autorisations du Conseil du Trésor et les ententes de financement respectives.
Le fardeau des rapports sera évalué en conformité avec l'exercice visant à alléger le fardeau des rapports que dirige le représentant spécial du sous-ministre pour la réduction des exigences en matière de rapports. 31 mars 2012 État du SOR : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : De 2010-2011 à 2011-2012, le Ministère a réduit de 23 à 12 le nombre total de rapports qu'il requiert des institutions de la LGFSPN sur la mise en œuvre de cette dernière, soit 11 rapports de moins au total. Tous les rapports sont maintenant requis en vertu de la législation ou de l'autorisation du CT. Il s'agit du plan d'activités et des rapports annuels de l'AFPN, de la CFPN et du CGF.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Des progrès satisfaisants ont été réalisés pour tous les volets, sauf pour celui de la stratégie de mesure du rendement dont l'achèvement est prévu en mars 2012.
3. Dans le cadre de la révision de la législation, que AADNC veille à ce que l'on procède à une évaluation du mandat de l'ISPN qui tient compte des résultats de l'analyse de l'environnement et du plan ministériel par rapport à ses activités. La révision devrait aussi comprendre une évaluation de la progression en ce qui concerne l'émission d'une obligation. Dans le cadre de la revue de la législation, le Secteur des opérations régionales et l'ISPN verront à ce qu'une évaluation du mandat soit effectuée, laquelle prendra en compte les plans et les priorités relevés par suite de l'analyse de l'environnement de 2010 et du plan directeur pour la période de 2011 à 2014.

Le mandat de la revue de la législation comprendra un processus pour évaluer les progrès à l'égard de l'émission d'une obligation aux termes de la LGFSPN.
Fin :
23 mars 2012
État du SOR : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : L'examen législatif est terminé et doit être déposé avant la fin de mars 2012. Il comporte une évaluation du mandat de l'ISPN. Les institutions ont recommandé deux modifications mineures de son mandat pour clarifier son rôle envers les autres institutions et pour qu'il collecte et analyse des données sur le logement. L'examen comportait également l'évaluation des progrès accomplis au chapitre de l'émission d'une obligation – l'AFPN prévoit l'émission d'une première obligation d'ici le mois de novembre 2012.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Cette mesure n'est plus applicable à la suite de l'annonce du budget de 2012 sur le plan d'action visant à réduire le déficit.
4. Renforcer la coordination avec les initiatives connexes d'AADNC, dont les autres programmes concernant l'adhésion facultative, l'autonomie gouvernementale, le développement économique et l'infrastructure, de telle sorte que le régime de la LGFSPN soit utilisé à sa pleine mesure. Le Secteur des opérations régionales se servira des structures existantes du gouvernement, telles que le Comité des DG chargé de la mise en œuvre et des opérations et le Comité des DG chargé de l'examen des politiques, pour développer des synergies entre les intervenants ministériels. Fin :
En cours
État du SOR : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :
La Direction générale de la gouvernance a tenu une réunion interministérielle sur l'examen législatif avec les intervenants ministériels le 19 décembre 2011. Son compte rendu a été présenté à la réunion du 11 janvier 2012 du Comité des directeurs régionaux chargé de l'examen des politiques et au Comité des politiques le 27 janvier 2012. Les synergies éventuelles entre la LGFSPN et d'autres lois optionnelles ont été abordées lors de la réunion interministérielle et de celle du Comité des directeurs généraux chargé de l'examen des politiques.

La poursuite du travail sur le cadre visant l'inclusion des Premières Nations autonomes au champ d'application de la LGFSPN dépend des résultats des négociations avec la Première Nation de Tsawwassen. Ces négociations sont en cours et leurs résultats formeront le fondement de tout cadre de ce type.

Conformément à l'engagement pris par le gouvernement dans le cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, la Direction générale de la gouvernance travaille avec TDE et la DGIC pour « supprimer les obstacles législatifs et réglementaires au développement économique… et soutenir l'infrastructure commerciale. » La Direction générale de la gouvernance élabore conjointement avec la DGIC un projet pilote permettant de titriser les fonds d'infrastructure par le cadre de la LGFSPN afin d'optimiser leurs retombées immédiates. Ce projet en est à ses débuts.

L'examen législatif est terminé et doit être déposé avant la fin de mars 2012. Il contient une recommandation des institutions de la LGFSPN qui souhaitent que le Ministère examine par quels moyens la certification en vertu de la LGFSPN permettrait éventuellement de répondre aux exigences d'autres lois optionnelles, comme la LGTPN ou même à celles de sections de l'évaluation générale.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Des progrès satisfaisants ont été réalisés dans le renforcement de la coordination entre la LGFSPN et les autres initiatives.
Le Secteur des opérations régionales se penche actuellement sur la possibilité de rédiger un cadre de travail pour inclure les Premières Nations autonomes dans la LGFSPN avec les institutions de la LGFSPN. 31 décembre 2011
Le Secteur des terres et du développement économique participe régulièrement aux réunions sur la LGFSPN, et l'échange d'information avec la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires améliorera la coordination des programmes d'infrastructure. En cours
Le Secteur des opérations régionales effectue actuellement l'analyse des exigences qui se chevauchent dans la législation sur l'adhésion facultative au sein d'AADNC. 30 septembre 2011
 
 
Date de modification :