ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Inuit Art Foundation - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (29 Kb, 5 Pages)



Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2012

Corporate Secretariat

Evaluation of the Inuit Art Foundation
Approval Date: 04/19/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. In order to provide clarity of direction and to ensure integration with departmental accountability mechanisms, AANDC should re-examine the Inuit Art Foundation's (IAF's) position in the Program Activity Architecture. In addition, AANDC should consider whether to merge the single dedicated authority supporting the IAF into an existing authority. The AANDC Arts Centre (IIAC) will work with the AANDC Chief Financial Officer Sector and Policy and Strategic Direction Sector to evaluate the IAF's position in the PAA as well as its authority. Completion: 2012-13 Status: Request to Close and No Longer Relevant

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Meetings have been held with PSD (December 2011) to discuss PAA positioning and authority. It was clear that a change was needed to accurately place accountability. The decision was made to see out the 2011-2012 fiscal year with the current placement and to effect the change in the 2012-2013 fiscal year for ease of administration reasons.

Subsequently, the AANDC Arts Centre was made aware in February 2012, that the IAF Board of Directors had decided to cease operations as of March 31, 2012. Therefore, this point is now moot.

AES: Closed – The IAF has ceased operations.
2. Clarify the IAF's role and objectives, including its intended results; its stakeholders and the primary recipients of its services. AANDC understands that Inuit artists are the principal recipients of the IAF's services. AANDC will develop a performance measurement strategy in order to clarify the IAF's role and objectives, including its intended results; its stakeholders and the primary recipients of its services. Completion: March 2012 Status: Request to Close and No Longer Relevant
Not completed. This activity would naturally follow the activity above, therefore the Completion date should have been March 2013 and not 2012 in the adjacent column.

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: Discussions were initiated with the Board of Directors and the Executive Director to clarify the role of the IAF going forward into the next fiscal year (2012-2013) There was a recognition that performance indicators were needed both as a reporting tool as well as an instrument to broaden the funding base for the organisation.

Subsequently, the AANDC Arts Centre was made aware in February 2012, that the IAF Board of Directors had decided to cease operations as of March 31, 2012. Therefore, this point is now moot.

AES: Closed – The IAF has ceased operations.
3. Develop an approach to increase awareness of IAF services and to better engage Inuit artists in all regions. The IAF will develop strategies to increase awareness of the foundation's mission and services including a public relations/fundraising supplement to the Inuit Art Quarterly (IAQ) to increase awareness of the IAF's mission and activities. The IAF will host an Open House with the board in June. Complementary CDs, highlighting 25 years of IAF activity, will be provided to donors and other interested parties. Completion: Ongoing annually Status: Request to Close and No Longer Relevant
Partially completed June 2011, ongoing activities curtailed by closure of the IAF

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The IAQ produced a supplement in the summer edition to highlight the work of the Foundation. An Open House was held to coincide with the June Board of Director's meeting and the release of the 25th year anniversary CD. More activities were planned for subsequent editions of the IAQ such as donor card inserts but due to the foundation closing, the Spring edition of the IAQ was not released.

AES: Closed – The IAF has ceased operations.
4. The IAF should continue to develop sustained partnerships with other arts and cultural service organizations to maximize efficiencies, and to make use of existing resources. IAF will enhance existing sustainable partnerships with other arts and cultural service organizations like the Nunavut Arts and Crafts Association. Completion: Ongoing annually Status: Request to Close and No Longer Relevant
Partially completed, subsequent activities curtailed by closure of IAF

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: A partnership was forged with the Nunavut Arts and Crafts Association and there was participation in the Northern Lights 2012; a business and cultural showcase of Nunavut, Nunavik, Labrador and Nunatsiavut. This event was widely attended by the public and private sector at the Ottawa Congress Centre February 1-4, 2012.

AES: Closed – The IAF has ceased operations.
5. The IAF should increase opportunities for fundraising by developing a strategy to attract and leverage additional funds from private and corporate donors. IAF will raise funds from the private sector by specifically targeting its American subscriber list of the IAQ. A professional development agency will be contracted, if resources permit, to produce a planned giving strategy. The Inuit Art Shop will continue to be a valuable source of programming funds. Completion: March 2012 Status: Request to Close and No Longer Relevant
Not completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: As new funding sources were not identified in 2011-2012, there were insufficient funds to contract a professional fund raiser. While plans were made to use the IAQ as a vehicle to target American subscribers, as the Foundation planned to wind up business operations, the Spring IAQ did not go to press. The Inuit Artists Shop has been having a closing sale to clear inventory since February 2012.

AES: Closed – The IAF has ceased operations.
6. Clarify and communicate the roles and responsibilities of the IAF's Board of Directors to stakeholders IAF will include information about the Board of Directors, who are respected practitioners, and their specific role and responsibilities in the annual public relations supplement in IAQ, as well as on IAF's 25th anniversary CD. Completion: Ongoing annually Status: Request to Close and No Longer Relevant
Completed June 2011

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012: The IAF developed interviews with Board members and published those on their web site and in the IAQ.

AES: Closed – The IAF has ceased operations.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la Fondation de l'art inuit - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (30 Ko, 5 pages)




Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 31 mars 2012

Secrétariat du ministère

Évaluation de la Fondation de l'art inuit
Date d'approbation : 19/04/2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Afin d'assurer une orientation claire et une intégration aux mécanismes de responsabilisation du Ministère, AADNCdoit revoir la position de la Fondation de l'art inuit (FAI) dans l'architecture des activités de programmes. En outre, AADNC devrait songer à intégrer l'unique autorisation dédiée à la FAI à une autorisation existante. Le Centre d'art indien et inuit (CAII) travaillera en collaboration avec le Secteur des politiques et orientation stratégique et le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances d'AADNC pour évaluer la position de la FAI dans l'AAP, ainsi que ses pouvoirs. Fin : 2012-2013 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier – n'est plus pertinent

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Des réunions ont été tenues avec POS (décembre 2011) pour parler de la position de la FAI dans l'AAP et de l'autorisation. Un changement était manifestement nécessaire pour définir rigoureusement la responsabilité. On a décidé d'achever l'exercice 2011-2012 sans modifier la position de la FAI dans l'AAP et d'effectuer cette modification au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013 à des fins d'efficacité administrative.

Le Centre d'art d'AADNC a été informé en février 2012 que le conseil d'administration de la FAI avait décidé de cesser l'activité de la Fondation à compter du 31 mars 2012. Ce point n'est donc plus pertinent.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La FAI a cessé ses activités.
2. Préciser le rôle et les objectifs de la FAI, y compris ses résultats attendus, ses intervenants et les principaux bénéficiaires de ses services. AADNC est conscient que les artistes inuits sont les principaux bénéficiaires des services de la FAI. AADNC élaborera une stratégie de mesure du rendement en vue de préciser le rôle et les objectifs de la FAI, y compris ses résultats attendus, ses intervenants et les principaux bénéficiaires de ses services. Fin : mars 2012 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier – n'est plus pertinent
Non terminé. Comme cette activité aurait naturellement suivi l'activité susmentionnée, sa date d'achèvement aurait été mars 2013 et non 2012 dans la colonne adjacente.

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Des discussions ont été entamées par le conseil d'administration et par le directeur général pour clarifier le rôle de la FAI pour le prochain exercice (2012‑2013). Il y a eu une prise de conscience de la nécessité d'utiliser des indicateurs de rendement à la fois en tant qu'outils de reddition de comptes et d'instrument d'élargissement de l'assise financière de l'organisme.

Le Centre d'art d'AADNC a été informé en février 2012 que le conseil d'administration de la FAI avait décidé de cesser l'activité de la Fondation à compter du 31 mars 2012. Ce point n'est donc plus pertinent.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La FAI a cessé ses activités.
3. Élaborer une approche visant à faire mieux connaître les services offerts par la FAI et à accroître la participation des artistes inuits dans toutes les régions. La FAI élaborera des stratégies pour mieux faire connaître la mission et les services de la Fondation, au moyen notamment d'un supplément à la revue trimestrielle Inuit Art Quarterly consacré aux relations publiques et à une campagne de financement. En juin, la FAI organisera une journée portes ouvertes, à laquelle sera présent le conseil d'administration. Des CD gratuits, présentant 25 années d'activité de la FAI, seront offerts aux donateurs et autres intéressés. Fin : chaque année en permanence État : Demande de fermeture du dossier – n'est plus pertinent
Partiellement terminé en juin 2011, les activités en cours ont été interrompues par la cessation des activités de la FAI.

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : La revue Inuit Art Quaterly (IAQ) a publié un supplément à son numéro de l'été pour mettre en valeur le travail de la Fondation. Une activité porte ouverte a été organisée pour coïncider avec la réunion de juin du conseil d'administration et la publication du CD du 25e anniversaire de la Fondation. Plus d'activités ont été planifiées pour les numéros suivants d'IAQ, comme l'insertion de cartes de donateur, mais, à cause de la cessation des activités de la Fondation, le numéro du printemps d'IAQ n'a pas été publié.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La FAI a cessé ses activités.
4. La FAI devrait continuer d'établir des partenariats durables avec d'autres organisations de services artistiques et culturels afin de maximiser l'efficacité et d'utiliser les ressources existantes. La FAI améliorera ses partenariats durables actuels avec d'autres organisations de services artistiques et culturels, comme la Nunavut Arts and Crafts Association. Fin : chaque année en permanence État : Demande de fermeture du dossier – n'est plus pertinent
Terminé en partie. Les activités ultérieures ont été annulées à cause de la cessation des activités de la FAI.

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Un partenariat a été noué avec la Nunavut Arts and Crafts Association et la Fondation a participé à Northern Lights 2012, une vitrine des entreprises et de la culture du Nunavut, du Nunavik, du Labrador et du Nunatsiavut. Cette opération promotionnelle a été très bien suivie par le public et le secteur privé au Centre des congrès d'Ottawa, du 1er au 4 février 2012.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La FAI a cessé ses activités.
5. La FAI devrait accroître les occasions de recueillir des fonds en élaborant une stratégie visant à solliciter et à obtenir des dons additionnels, tant auprès de particuliers que de sociétés. La FAI recueillera des dons du secteur privé en ciblant en particulier les abonnés américains à la revue Inuit Art Quarterly. Si les ressources le permettent, on aura recours à une agence de développement professionnel pour établir une stratégie de planification de dons. La boutique I nuit Art Shop continuera d'être une bonne source de financement des programmes. Fin : mars 2012 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier – n'est plus pertinent
Non terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : Comme de nouvelles sources de financement n'ont pas été trouvées en 2011‑2012, les fonds étaient insuffisants pour conclure un contrat avec un agent de financement professionnel. Bien qu'on ait prévu utiliser la revue IAQ pour cibler les abonnés américains, compte tenu de la cessation prévue, le numéro de printemps d'IAQ n'a pas été mis sous presse. La boutique d'art inuit procède à la vente de liquidation de son inventaire depuis février 2012.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La FAI a cessé ses activités.
6. Préciser et faire connaître aux intervenants les rôles et les responsabilités des membres du conseil d'administration de la FAI. La FAI intégrera dans le supplément de relations publiques de la revue Inuit Art Quarterly de l'information sur le rôle et responsabilités des membres du conseil d'administration, qui sont des praticiens respectés, ainsi que sur le CD soulignant le 25e anniversaire de la FAI. Fin : chaque année en permanence État : Demande de fermeture du dossier – n'est plus pertinent
Terminé en juin 2011

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 : La FAI a réalisé des entrevues des membres du conseil d'administration qu'elle a publiées dans son site Web et dans IAQ.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier – La FAI a cessé ses activités.
 
 
Date de modification :