Working with International Organizations

At the United Nations, Canada has strongly supported the inclusion of indigenous issues in the work of various UN bodies. Canada played a key role in the creation of UN mechanisms dealing with indigenous issues, including the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, the Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. In 2010, Canada joined a global consensus and endorsed the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

In recent years, the UN human rights system has paid a great deal of attention to Aboriginal issues in Canada. For more information on UN Human Rights Treaty Bodies and Canada's reports to them, please consult the Human Rights section of the Canadian Heritage web site.

At the Organization of American States, Canada led efforts to ensure the inclusion and recognition of the perspectives of Indigenous peoples as part of the Summits of the Americas. Canada's support for the Indigenous Peoples Summit of the Americas process helped to elevate awareness and attention to the rights and living conditions of Aboriginal peoples throughout the Americas.

In 1996, Canada also held the first chairmanship of the Arctic Council and promoted a more strategic approach to Arctic sustainable development. Canada will assume the chairmanship again in 2013.

Date modified:

Travailler avec les organisations internationales

Aux Nations Unies , le Canada a fortement appuyé l'inclusion des questions autochtones dans les travaux des diverses entités de l'ONU. Il a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la mise en place de mécanismes onusiens pour les affaires autochtones, qu'il s'agisse de l'Instance permanente sur les questions autochtones, du Mécanisme d'experts sur les droits des peuples autochtones et du Rapporteur spécial sur les droits des populations autochtones . En 2010, le Canada a adhéré à un consensus international et entériné la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Au cours des dernières années, le système des droits humains de l'ONU s'est penché longuement sur les questions autochtones au Canada. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les organismes onusiens de défense des droits de l'homme et les rapports rendus par le Canada à ces organismes, veuillez consulter la section sur les droits de la personne du site Web de Patrimoine Canada.

À l'Organisation des États américains, le Canada a tenté de faire reconnaître le point de vue des peuples autochtones afin de les inclure au Sommet des Amériques. Le soutien accordé par le Canada au Sommet des peuples autochtones des Amériques  (site Web non disponible en français) a contribué à sensibiliser le public aux droits et aux conditions de vie des peuples autochtones des Amériques.

En 1996, le Canada a assuré la première présidence du Conseil de l'Arctique  (site Web non disponible en français) et défendu une approche plus stratégique du développement durable de l'Arctique. Le Canada assumera à nouveau la présidence en 2013.

Date de modification :