Frequently Asked Questions: AANDC's Environmental Review Process and Projects on Reserve

Q.1 How will changes to the Canadian Environment Assessment Act (CEAA) under the Government's Responsible Resource Development plan affect the environmental management of projects on reserve land?

A1. Changes to the Canadian Environment Assessment Act (CEAA) as part of Responsible Resource Development will focus federal environmental assessment efforts on major projects that have a greater potential to cause adverse environmental effects. These designated projects will continue to undergo environmental assessments under CEAA but with shorter, more concrete, deadlines.

Projects that pose less risk of environmental effects will still be subject to the requirements of all applicable federal and provincial laws, standards and permits. While environmental assessments will not be required for these projects, federal departments will still be required to ensure that they do not cause significant adverse environmental effects.

On-reserve major projects will be subject to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012. However, most projects on reserve land do not fall under this category and would therefore be exempt from federal environmental assessment under the amended CEAA. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) will work with First Nations and other federal authorities to ensure that these projects do not cause significant adverse environmental effects. The Department will report annually to Parliament on these activities.

Q.2 How will Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) continue to ensure environment protection on reserve land?

A2. AANDC has developed an environmental review process to ensure that projects on reserve that are not subject to the federal environmental assessment process continue to be carefully considered prior to the issuance of permits, leases or funding. This new process will ensure that the depth of the environmental review is commensurate with the risk and likelihood of significant adverse environmental effects associated with carrying out the project. Other federal laws will also continue to apply on reserve, such as the Fisheries Act, Species at Risk Act and the Canadian Environmental Protection Act.

The Department will work closely with First Nations to ensure that decisions are made in a timely and environmentally responsible manner. To ensure accountability and transparency, the Department will report annually to Parliament on these activities.

Q.3 What impact will AANDC's approach have for First Nations communities with lower-risk projects?

A3. First Nation communities stand to benefit from the shorter timelines and more predictable processes associated with AANDC's new environmental review process for lower-risk projects on reserve land. These proposed changes will enable projects on reserve land that have no significant adverse environmental effects to proceed in a timely manner, thereby contributing to jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for First Nation communities.

Q.4 Will the changes to CEAA have an impact on how environmental assessment provisions in comprehensive land claims and self-government agreements are implemented?

A4. No. Canada will continue to implement and respect its responsibilities pursuant to environmental assessment provisions in comprehensive land claims and self-government agreements.

Q.5 Will the changes to CEAA have an impact on federal lands in the North?

A5. CEAA 2012 will apply to federal lands in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region as a result of provisions in Western Arctic (Inuvialuit) Claims Settlement Act.

For most other federal lands in the North, CEAA 2012 would not normally apply. Provisions for environmental assessment processes in the territories are set out in settled land claim agreements, and implemented though federal legislation. These agreements create co-management regimes that largely replace the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. Occasionally, for transboundary projects or those deemed to be in the national interest, proposals for development may be referred to the Minister of the Environment for the purposes of a joint review under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Le processus d'examen environnemental d'AADNC et les projets sur des terres de réserve

Q.1 En quoi les changements apportés à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale dans le cadre de l'initiative Développement responsable des ressources lancée par le gouvernement toucheront-ils la gestion environnementale des projets sur les terres de réserve?

R1. Les changements apportés à la Loi dans le cadre du Développement responsable des ressources axeront les activités d'évaluation environnementale fédérales sur les grands projets qui risquent davantage d'avoir des effets dommageables sur l'environnement. Les projets ainsi ciblés continueront à faire l'objet d'évaluations environnementales en vertu de la Loi, mais avec des délais plus serrés et plus précis.

Les projets qui posent un risque moindre demeureront assujettis aux exigences des lois, des normes et des permis fédéraux et provinciaux en vigueur. Bien que ces projets ne nécessiteront pas d'évaluation environnementale, les ministères fédéraux demeureront tenus de veiller à ce qu'ils n'aient aucun effet dommageable sur l'environnement.

Les grands projets dans les réserves seront assujettis à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012). Cependant, la plupart des projets qui touchent des terres de réserve ne figurent pas dans cette catégorie, ce qui les exemptera d'une évaluation environnementale fédérale en vertu de la Loi. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) collaborera avec les Premières Nations ainsi qu'avec d'autres autorités fédérales pour s'assurer que ces projets n'aient pas d'effet dommageable important sur l'environnement. Le Ministère rendra compte de ces activités au Parlement sur une base annuelle.

Q.2 De quelle manière Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada AADNC continuera-t-il à protéger l'environnement des terres de réserve?

R2. AADNC à developpé un processus d'examen environnemental qui garantira que les projets menés dans les réserves seront étudiés attentivement avant l'octroi de permis, de baux ou de financement, et ce, même s'ils ne sont pas assujettis au processus fédéral d'évaluation environnementale. Grâce au nouveau processus, l'ampleur des évaluations environnementales concordera avec les risques posés par le projet ainsi qu'avec la probabilité qu'il ait des effets dommageables sur l'environnement. Les autres lois fédérales continuent de s'appliquer dans les réserves, notamment la Loi sur les pêches, la Loi sur les espèces en péril et la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement.

Le Ministère collaborera étroitement avec les Premières Nations pour veiller à ce qu'on prenne les décisions en temps opportun et d'une manière responsable sur le plan environnemental. À des fins de reddition de comptes et de transparence, le Ministère présentera un rapport annuel au Parlement à ce sujet.

Q.3 Quels effets l'approche d'AADNC aura-t-elle sur les collectivités des Premières Nations engagées dans des projets à faible risque?

R3. Les collectivités des Premières Nations bénéficieront des échéances plus courtes et du caractère plus prévisible des activités découlant du nouveau processus d'examen environnemental d'AADNC pour les projets présentant un faible risque sur des terres de réserve. Grâce aux changements proposés, les projets n'ayant aucun effet dommageable majeur sur l'environnement pourront rapidement être mis de l'avant, contribuant ainsi à la création d'emploi, à la croissance et à la prospérité à long terme dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Q.4 Les changements apportés à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale auront-ils des répercussions sur la manière dont sont mises en œuvre les dispositions sur l'évaluation environnementale incluses dans les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale?

R4. Non. Le Canada continuera de respecter et de mettre en œuvre ses responsabilités, comme prévu dans les dispositions sur l'évaluation environnementale incluses dans les règlements de revendications territoriales globales et dans les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale.

Q.5 Les changements apportés à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale auront-ils des répercussions sur les terres fédérales dans le Nord?

R5. La Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012) s'appliquera aux terres fédérales dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit, comme le prévoit la Loi sur le règlement des revendications des Inuvialuit de la région ouest de l'Arctique.

Normalement, la Loi ne s'appliquera pas à la plupart des autres terres fédérales du Nord. Dans les territoires, les dispositions sur les processus d'évaluation environnementale sont détaillées dans les règlements des revendications territoriales et mises en œuvre au moyen d'une loi fédérale. Ces accords instaurent des régimes de cogestion qui remplacent, en majeure partie, la Loi. À l'occasion, notamment dans le cas de projets transfrontaliers ou d'intérêt national, les propositions de développement peuvent être renvoyées au ministre de l'Environnement afin qu'on mène une évaluation conjointe en vertu de la Loi.