Connectivity and Partnerships

The Government of Canada believes as more businesses and government services move online, it is imperative that the majority of Canada's Aboriginal communities have access to reliable high-speed internet. The federal government views broadband as a critical tool for Aboriginal people as broadband infrastructure can improve health and safety, increase social well-being and provide economic development opportunities and growth for Aboriginal communities.

For Aboriginal learners, having access to the world-wide web will help them reach their full academic potential and acquire the knowledge and skills required to compete in today's labour market.

By bridging the digital divide, it will allow Aboriginal communities to fully participate in e-services delivery in the following fields:

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is committed to working closely with various federal departments, including Industry Canada's Broadband Canada, along with provincial and territorial governments, Aboriginal and corporate leaders to ensure that Aboriginal people are included into rural broadband infrastructure networks and obtain equitable and comparable broadband access as compared to those in non-Aboriginal rural communities.

What information is available?

In September 2009, INAC launched the First Nations Infrastructure Fund (FNIF) which included last mile connectivity as an eligible funding investments to ensure that rural broadband infrastructure developments included Aboriginal communities in large-scale development projects. INAC's Community Infrastructure Branch (CIB), working in conjunction with each region, delivers both FNIF and the Capital Facilities & Maintenance Program.

Mapping Initiative Goals

INAC is mapping the progress by visually highlighting to government officials, Aboriginal organizations and private sector representatives the results of current investments so that stakeholders understand 'at a glance' which communities are connected.

Connectivity for Aboriginal and Northern Communities in Canada

INAC has used the Industry Canada standard of connectivity, which is defined as access to 1.5mbps/ household. However, many common applications (such as video-conferencing) require higher levels of bandwidth to be used. Additionally, some technologies such as satellite may satisfy the 1.5mbps/ household standard, but are known to have latency issues in their service delivery, also making the use of some applications difficult. As such, our legend for the data map distinguishes between four categories of connectivity levels. These categories include: Industrial/Institutional (typically fibre), Consumer Terrestrial, Consumer Satellite and Low Speed. You can view our data methodology for further information about INAC's connectivity categories.

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Connectivité et partenariats

Comme de plus en plus d'entreprises et de services gouvernementaux font leur entrée en ligne, le gouvernement du Canada croit qu'il est impératif que la majorité des collectivités autochtones du Canada aient un accès Internet à haute vitesse fiable. Selon lui, la large bande est un outil essentiel qui permet d'améliorer la santé et la sécurité des Autochtones, d'accroître leur bien-être social, de fournir des occasions de développement économique et de favoriser la croissance des collectivités autochtones.

L'accès Internet aidera les apprenants autochtones à réaliser leur plein potentiel scolaire et à acquérir les connaissances ainsi que les compétences requises pour se tailler une place dans le marché du travail actuel.

La réduction du fossé numérique permettra aux collectivités autochtones de participer pleinement à la prestation de services en ligne dans les domaines suivants :

  • Cybersanté
  • Apprentissage en ligne
  • Systèmes de télésurveillance de l'eau en ligne
  • Cybercommerce
  • Services bancaires électroniques, etc.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) s'engage à collaborer étroitement avec divers ministères fédéraux, y compris Large bande Canada d'Industrie Canada, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi que des leaders autochtones et du milieu des affaires, afin de veiller à ce que les Autochtones soient raccordés aux réseaux d'infrastructure à large bande en milieu rural et aient un accès à la large bande équitable et comparable à celui offert dans les collectivités rurales non autochtones. 

Quels sont les renseignements disponibles?

En septembre 2009, AADNC a lancé le Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières Nations (FIPN). La connectivité du dernier kilomètre faisait partie des projets admissibles au financement, pour veiller à ce que les collectivités autochtones puissent participer aux projets d'envergure en matière d'infrastructure à large bande dans les régions rurales. La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires d'AADNC, en collaboration avec chaque région, assure la prestation du FIPN et du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien.

Objectifs de l'initiative de mappage

AADNC procède au mappage des progrès afin de montrer aux fonctionnaires du gouvernement, aux organisations autochtones et aux représentants du secteur privé les résultats des investissements actuels pour que les intervenants puissent avoir une vue d'ensemble des collectivités connectées.

Connectivité pour les communautés autochtones et nordiques au Canada

AADNC s'est fondé sur la norme de connectivité d'Industrie Canada, soit 1,5 Mbps/foyer. Toutefois, nombreuses sont les applications courantes (comme la vidéoconférence) qui requièrent des niveaux de large bande plus élevés. De plus, certaines technologies, comme le satellite, répondent à la norme de 1,5 Mbps/foyer, mais la prestation de service est reconnue pour être lente, ce qui rend l'utilisation de certaines applications difficile. Par conséquent, la légende du mappage des données comporte quatre catégories de connectivité : industrielle/institutionnelle (habituellement de la fibre optique), consommateur-terrestre, consommateur-satellite et accès à faible vitesse. Veuillez consulter la méthodologie concernant les données pour en savoir davantage au sujet des catégories de connectivité d'AADNC.

Autres liens d'intérêt