ARCHIVED - Alberta First Nations Regional Board for Family Violence Prevention

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

At the direction of the Alberta First Nation Chiefs, the Three Eagle Wellness Society was formed in 1991. The Board of Directors consists of representatives from the three Treaty areas in Alberta. The objective of the Society is to manage the prevention projects funded through AANDC's FVPP. This aggregated funding aims to maximize the reach in benefit for all First Nation communities in Alberta. The Society has an administrator who works with the Alberta First Nations in preparing project proposals, provides training to First Nation Coordinators; collect the required reports from the First Nations who received project funding and works with the auditors on the annual audit submission to AANDC.

In addition to funding individual First Nation projects, the Society has hosted a series of Youth Gatherings where the objectives of the gathering are to engage First Nation youth in discussions about drugs, alcohol and to provide prevention training that they can deliver in their home communities. In 2009-2010, the Government of Alberta provided $75K to Three Eagle Wellness Society in support of the Annual Youth Gathering.

The Society also forms partnerships with other organizations. For example, in 2008-2009, the Society formed a partnership with First Nations and Inuit Health branch of Health Canada regarding the Blood Borne Pathogens initiative. This initiative was included in workshops with the First Nation Coordinators and at the Annual Youth Gathering. The partnership continued into fiscal year 2011-2012.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Conseil régional des Premières Nations de l'Alberta pour la prévention de la violence familiale

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

En 1991, la Three Eagle Wellness Society a été mise sur pied à la demande des Chefs des Premières Nations de l'Alberta. Le Conseil d'administration est formé de représentants des trois régions visées par le traité en Alberta. La Société a pour but de gérer les projets de prévention financés par le biais du PPVF d'AADNC. Ce financement agrégé vise à maximiser la portée au profit de toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations en Alberta. Au sein de la Société, un administrateur travaille auprès des Premières Nations de l'Alberta dans la préparation des propositions de projets, offre une formation aux coordonnateurs des Premières Nations, recueille les rapports établis par les Premières Nations qui ont reçu des fonds pour un projet et travaille avec les vérificateurs sur la vérification annuelle de la présentation à AADNC.

En plus du financement de projets individuels des Premières Nations, la Société a animé une série de Rassemblements de jeunes ou le but est rassembler les jeunes des Premières Nations afin de discuter des drogues, de l'alcool et à fournir une formation sur la prévention qu'ils peuvent, par la suite, offrir dans leur collectivité. En 2009-2010, le gouvernement de l'Alberta a fourni 75 000 $ à la Three Eagle Wellness Society en appui au Rassemblement annuel des jeunes.

En outre, la Société établit des partenariats avec d'autres organisations. Par exemple, en 2008-2009, la Société a établi un partenariat avec la Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits de Santé Canada en ce qui concerne l'Initiative sur les pathogènes à diffusion hématogène. Cette initiative a été incluse aux ateliers pour les coordinateurs des Premières Nations et lors du Rassemblement annuel des jeunes. Le partenariat s'est prolongé à l'exercice financier 2011-2012.

Date de modification :