ARCHIVED - Gilles Gauthier

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Gilles Gauthier shares the findings of a project looking at the effect of climate change on tundra wildlife and how researchers from seven circumpolar nations took a closer look at the Arctic food web.

 

Listen to this podcast (8:44')


 

Download this podcast (mp3, 8.3 Mb)

To download the podcast for use on a portable device, (e.g. iPod, BlackBerry), right click on the link above and select "Save Target As".

 

Podcast Transcript: Gilles Gauthier

FRENCH VOICEOVER: Ce podcast a été enregistré à l'Année polaire internationale 2012.

ENGLISH VOICEOVER: This podcast was recorded at the International Polar Year 2012 Conference.

FRENCH VOICEOVER: IPY 2012.

ENGLISH VOICEOVER: IPY 2012.

ENGLISH VOICEOVER: From knowledge to action.

FRENCH VOICEOVER: De la connaissance à l'action.

HOST: For many years polar researchers assumed that what kept the Arctic food web in balance was at the bottom of the food pyramid – what most of us would call plants and rodents. But then, as part of a project looking at the effect of climate change on tundra wildlife, researchers from seven circumpolar nations took a closer look at the Arctic food web. They discovered that predators have a much more important role to play in keeping the Arctic ecosystem in balance than was previously thought. Dr Gilles Gauthier from the University of Laval was one of the researchers on the project, which was called Arctic WOLVES. He's here to tell me all about it.

00:57

HOST: So first of all, what does a food web look like when it's not in balance?

GUEST: Well when food webs are not in balance you can have some species that will become extremely abundant. For instance, if predators don't keep herbivores in check, they may explode and overgraze the system and cause damage, at least locally, to the vegetation.

HOST: What was the surprising discovery from Arctic WOLVES?

GUEST: One of the most surprising results was to find that predators seem to play a much more important role in controlling the food web – the tundra food web – than previously thought. For a long time the dominant view was that the plants' abundance was determining the abundance of herbivores, and that even though predators were present in the system, they were thought to be at low density and have little impact on the herbivores. On the contrary, we found through our project that predators were quite important and in fact were probably controlling several of the species – in particular the lemmings, the small rodents – in many locations, especially in northern Canada. And this was – even though there has been a suggestion before, I think our project was the first to provide really strong evidence that this indeed was the case.

02:28

HOST: And as you analysed your data, what was the reaction of your colleagues when you discovered that it wasn't quite as you had assumed?

GUEST: Well actually we're quite happy because this idea that predators could be more important than previously thought had been around for a few years. There was an increasing debate about, indeed, whether plants, as commonly assumed, were basically determining all the layers on top of them, or whether predators could actually play a role. And there was some piece of evidence before we started that started to suggest that predators could be important. So when we expanded at many sites and replicated the protocol to monitor the impact of these predators we were thrilled when we saw indeed that in many cases we were finding the same patterns in different locations.

03:26

HOST: Wow. And so were there other unexpected discoveries that you made as you were tracking these predators?

GUEST: Well the question came as how these predators can maintain themselves throughout the year because some of these predators, they have to live of course in the Arctic year-round. We're talking here species like the arctic fox, for instance, among mammals, or the snowy owl among predatory birds. We know in the summer the tundra is very productive. There's lots of animals – especially migratory birds for instance – that come up there. There is lots of food for these predators. But the winter is a different story of course because many of these animals, the insectivorous birds or some of the herbivorous birds like the geese, they leave the area. The lemmings are still there, but of course there is the snow in the winter that makes them harder to catch. So it's a very difficult period for the predators. But one of the things that we find is that many of these predators that stay in the Arctic – the fox, the owl – they actually leave the tundra and go on the sea ice for extended periods of time. That had been suspected, and actually there was anecdotal evidence for the fox, and we strengthened this evidence with new data. But for the owls that was a complete surprise. Nobody had thought that these magnificent birds would leave the tundra and go on the sea ice. But that's what we find, that in eastern North America – in Nunavut – many birds spend up to three, four months over the sea ice feeding on sea birds that winter in polynyas in the sea ice at high latitudes. So that was a very unexpected and very interesting result that we found.

05:23

HOST: What about traditional knowledge? How did that factor into the work you were doing? You talked about anecdotal evidence and –

GUEST: Well that's one of the examples with the fox, for instance. The arctic foxes are very important animals for northerners. I mean it's been trapped for a very long time. And there was some work done by one of my colleagues on the fox and the traditional knowledge, and people mentioned that that has been known, of course, by Inuit for a long time that fox were traveling on sea ice in the winter, were using, for instance, carcasses left by polar bears to feed. And even these people thought of two kinds, so to speak, of foxes: some that stay on the land all winter, some that went on the sea ice all winter. And in fact some of the radio tracking that my colleague did, they found pretty much what the people had told them, that some tended to stay on the land all the winter – so they tend to be land specialists – but others in fact will move for an extended period of time on the sea ice. So this kind of specialization among individuals was completely unknown to scientists.

06:39

HOST: How do you expect climate change to affect the food web in Canada now that you've seen these animals go on the sea ice? Do you anticipate any changes?

GUEST: These findings certainly have major implications for the impact of climate change on the tundra food web and the tundra wildlife because we know that some animals will expand northward. For instance, we're talking of the foxes. We know there's another species of fox – the red fox – that inhabits rather the boreal forests in southern Canada, but this species is expanding northward and invading the tundra as we speak. And the appearance of new predators could create – have a major impact on the food web since we've shown indeed that these predators are quite important. For instance, if functional – if there were very few functional predators, predators that were unimportant, that would mean that even if we add new animals, this would have little effect on the food webs, new species. But instead our results suggest that these new predators could have a major impact on some of the prey, and perhaps, for instance, shorebirds we know is a group of birds that are declining nowadays. We think that predations during the summer could be a factor. So if new predators appear or increase in abundance, that could mean a more difficult time ahead for these poor species.

HOST: It's fascinating work. Thank you for talking to me.

GUEST: Thank you.

08:19

HOST: That was Dr Gilles Gauthier. He was one of the researchers working on a project studying the effects of climate change on tundra food webs. The international research project was partially funded by the Government of Canada. You can hear more podcasts or watch video from the International Polar Year Conference at aandc.gc.ca. Or you can find this podcast at iTunes. Thanks for listening.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Gilles Gauthier

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gilles Gauthier fait part des conclusions d'un projet visant à étudier les effets des changements climatiques sur la faune de la toundra et sur la manière dont les chercheurs de sept nations circumpolaires s'attardent sur la chaîne alimentaire dans l'Arctique.

 

Écouter ce balado (9:00')



Télécharger ce balado (mp3, 8,5 Mo)

Pour écouter l'entrevue téléphonique sur un dispositif portatif (p. ex. iPod, BlackBerry), cliquez à droite sur l'icône et sélectionnez « Enregistrer la cible sous ».

Transcription du balado : Gilles Gauthier

NARRATION EN FRANÇAIS : Ce podcast a été enregistré à l'Année polaire internationale 2012.

NARRATION EN ANGLAIS : This podcast was recorded at the International Polar Year 2012 Conference.

NARRATION EN FRANÇAIS : IPY 2012.

NARRATION EN ANGLAIS : IPY 2012.

NARRATION EN ANGLAIS : From knowledge to action.

NARRATION EN FRANÇAIS : De la connaissance à l'action.

ANIMATEUR : Pendant de nombreuses années, les chercheurs polaires ont tenu pour acquis que ce qui conservait l'équilibre dans la chaîne alimentaire de l'Arctique était le bas de la pyramide alimentaire, ce que la plupart d'entre nous désignerait comme les plantes et les rongeurs. Mais encore, dans le cadre d'un projet qui observait les effets des changements climatiques sur la faune dans la toundra, des chercheurs de sept pays circumpolaires ont observé plus attentivement la chaîne alimentaire de l'Arctique. Ils ont découvert que les prédateurs jouent un rôle beaucoup plus important pour le maintien de l'équilibre de l'écosystème de l'Arctique que ce que l'on croyait auparavant. Gilles Gauthier, professeur à l'Université Laval, était un des chercheurs participant au projet nommé Arctic WOLVES. Il est ici avec moi pour en parler.

00:57

ANIMATEUR : Premièrement, à quoi ressemble une chaîne alimentaire qui n'est pas équilibrée?

INVITÉ : Lorsque les chaînes alimentaires ne sont pas équilibrées, certaines espèces peuvent devenir extrêmement abondantes. Par exemple, si les prédateurs ne contrôlent pas la population d'herbivores, ces derniers pourraient devenir extrêmement nombreux et brouter excessivement les pâturages et causer des dommages, au moins localement, à la végétation.

ANIMATEUR : Quelles ont été les découvertes surprenantes tirées du projet Arctic WOLVES?

INVITÉ : Un des résultats les plus surprenants a été de découvrir que les prédateurs semblent jouer un rôle beaucoup plus important pour contrôler la chaîne alimentaire, la chaîne alimentaire de la toundra, qu'on le croyait auparavant. Pendant longtemps, le point de vue dominant était que l'abondance des plantes était déterminée par l'abondance des herbivores et que même si des prédateurs étaient présents dans l'écosystème, on croyait qu'il n'y en avait qu'une faible densité et qu'ils avaient peu d'effets sur les herbivores. Au contraire, nous avons découvert pendant notre projet que les prédateurs sont très importants et qu'en fait, ils contrôlent probablement plusieurs espèces – notamment les lemmings, les petits rongeurs – dans de nombreuses régions, particulièrement dans le Nord du Canada. Même si on avait fait des suggestions en ce sens auparavant, je crois que notre projet était le premier à fournir une preuve solide que ceci se produit vraiment.
02:28

ANIMATEUR : Lorsque vous avez analysé les données recueillies, quelle a été la réaction de vos collègues en découvrant que la situation n'était pas exactement telle qu'on la croyait?

INVITÉ : Eh bien, nous étions en fait très heureux, car l'idée que les prédateurs soient plus importants qu'on le croyait auparavant était proposée depuis quelques années. Le débat à ce sujet s'intensifiait. En effet, on se demandait si les plantes, comme on a toujours pensé, déterminaient vraiment toutes les strates au-dessus d'elles ou si les prédateurs pouvaient aussi jouer un rôle. Il existait des preuves avant que nous commencions notre recherche qui suggéraient que les prédateurs pouvaient être importants. Alors, lorsque nous avons étendu notre recherche à de nombreux sites et que nous avons copié le protocole pour surveiller l'effet de ces prédateurs, nous avons été très heureux de voir que dans de nombreux cas, nous trouvions les mêmes tendances dans différents lieux.

03:26

ANIMATEUR : Wow! Quelles autres découvertes non attendues avez-vous faites quand vous suiviez ces prédateurs?

INVITÉ : Nous nous sommes posé la question à savoir comment ces prédateurs peuvent subvenir à leurs besoins pendant toute l'année, parce que certains de ces prédateurs doivent vivre dans l'Arctique toute l'année. Notamment des espèces comme le renard arctique, parmi les mammifères, ou le harfang des neiges, parmi les oiseaux prédateurs. Nous savons que les étés dans la toundra sont très productifs. Il y a beaucoup d'animaux, notamment les oiseaux migrateurs, qui s'y rendent l'été. Il y a beaucoup de nourriture pour ces prédateurs. Mais c'est une tout autre histoire en hiver, car bon nombre de ces animaux, les oiseaux insectivores ou certains oiseaux herbivores, comme l'oie, quittent la région. Les lemmings sont toujours là, mais bien sûr lorsqu'il y a de la neige l'hiver, il est plus difficile de les attraper. Il s'agit donc d'une période très difficile pour les prédateurs. Une des choses que nous avons découvertes, c'est qu'un bon nombre de ces prédateurs restent en Arctique – le renard, le harfang. En fait, ils quittent la toundra et passent beaucoup de temps sur la glace marine. On soupçonnait ce comportement, en fait, il y avait des preuves anecdotiques pour le renard, et nous avons pu renforcer les preuves avec nos nouvelles données. Mais pour le harfang, c'était une surprise totale. Personne n'avait cru que ces magnifiques oiseaux quitteraient la toundra pour se rendre sur la glace marine. Ce que nous avons observé, c'est que dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, au Nunavut, de nombreux oiseaux passent jusqu'à trois ou quatre mois sur la glace marine à se nourrir d'oiseaux marins qui passent l'hiver dans les polynies dans la glace marine très au nord. Ces résultats étaient vraiment inattendus et nous étions très contents de les obtenir.

05:23

ANIMATEUR : Qu'en est-il des connaissances traditionnelles? Comment sont-elles entrées en jeu dans vos travaux? Vous avez parlé de preuve anecdotique et …

INVITÉ : Eh bien, c'est un des exemples pour le renard, en fait. Les renards arctiques sont des animaux très importants pour les résidants du Nord. Ils sont trappés depuis très longtemps. Un de mes collègues a fait des travaux sur le renard et les connaissances traditionnelles. Des gens ont mentionné que bien évidemment, les Inuit savaient depuis longtemps que le renard se rendait sur la glace marine pendant l'hiver. Les Inuit savaient que, par exemple, les renards se nourrissaient des carcasses laissées par les ours polaires. Ces gens faisaient la distinction entre deux types de renards : ceux qui restaient sur terre pendant tout l'hiver et ceux qui passaient cette période sur la glace marine. En fait, certains pistages radioélectriques réalisés par mon collègue ont permis d'observer ce que les Inuit disaient. En effet, certains renards avaient tendance à rester sur la terre tout l'hiver, ils étaient donc plus des spécialistes de la terre, mais d'autres passaient de longues périodes sur la glace marine. Les scientifiques ne connaissaient pas du tout ce type de spécialisation parmi les individus d'une espèce.

06:39

ANIMATEUR : Comment croyez-vous que les changements climatiques toucheront la chaîne alimentaire au Canada maintenant que vous savez que ces animaux se rendent sur la glace marine? Prévoyez-vous des changements?

INVITÉ : Ces découvertes ont certainement des conséquences importantes sur les effets des changements climatiques sur la chaîne alimentaire dans la toundra et sur la faune de la toundra, car nous savons que certains animaux se rendront plus au nord. Par exemple, nous parlons des renards. Nous savons qu'une autre espèce de renard, le renard roux, habite plutôt dans les forêts boréales du Sud du Canada. Eh bien, cette espèce se dirige vers le nord et commence déjà à envahir la toundra. L'apparition de nouveaux prédateurs pourrait avoir un effet majeur sur la chaîne alimentaire, puisque nous avons démontré qu'effectivement, ces prédateurs sont importants. Par exemple, s'il y avait très peu de prédateurs fonctionnels, si les prédateurs n'étaient pas importants, cela signifierait que même si on ajoutait de nouveaux animaux dans l'écosystème, ces derniers auraient très peu d'effets sur les chaînes alimentaires. Mais plutôt, nos résultats suggèrent que ces nouveaux prédateurs pourraient avoir un effet majeur sur certaines proies, peut-être notamment sur les oiseaux de rivage, dont la population est actuellement en déclin. Nous pensons que la prédation pendant l'été pourrait être un facteur de la baisse de population. Donc, si de nouveaux prédateurs apparaissent ou que leur nombre augmente beaucoup, ces espèces peu nombreuses pourraient avoir un avenir difficile.

ANIMATEUR : Ce sont des travaux vraiment fascinants. Merci d'avoir discuté avec moi.

INVITÉ : C'est moi qui vous remercie.

08:19

ANIMATEUR : Vous avez entendu Gilles Gauthier. Il est parmi les chercheurs ayant travaillé à un projet sur l'étude des effets des changements climatiques sur la chaîne alimentaire dans la toundra. Ce projet de recherche international a été financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada. Pour écouter d'autres balados ou visionner des vidéos de la Conférence de l'Année polaire internationale 2012, rendez-vous à l'adresse www.aadnc.gc.ca. Ce balado se trouve également sur iTunes. Merci de votre attention.

 

Date de modification :