ARCHIVED - Gail Fondahl

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Gail Fondahl is the president of the International Arctic Social Sciences Association and discusses the rise of social sciences in Arctic research.

 

Listen to this podcast (7:57')


 

Download this podcast (mp3, 7.5 Mb)

To download the podcast for use on a portable device, (e.g. iPod, BlackBerry), right click on the link above and select "Save Target As".

Podcast Transcript: Gail Fondahl

FRENCH VOICEOVER: Ce podcast a été enregistré à l'Année polaire internationale 2012.

ENGLISH VOICEOVER: This podcast was recorded at the International Polar Year 2012 Conference.

FRENCH VOICEOVER: IPY 2012.

ENGLISH VOICEOVER: IPY 2012.

ENGLISH VOICEOVER: From knowledge to action.

FRENCH VOICEOVER: De la connaissance à l'action.

HOST: In the past, International Polar Year projects have focused primarily on the physical sciences. The most recent IPY though has moved towards much greater inclusion of both social sciences and of engagement with communities. Gail Fondahl is the president of the International Arctic Social Sciences Association, and at the IPY 2012 Conference she agreed to sit down with us to talk about the rise of social sciences in Arctic research.

00:45

HOST: When we're talking about Arctic social sciences, what are we talking about?

GUEST: Well social sciences is the study of both human society and behaviours, and so social sciences include things like anthropology, education, history, human geography, legal studies – the whole panoply. And we also, in terms of the International Arctic Social Sciences Association, we do include humanities even though it's not in our title – so art, religion, fields like that too.

01:15

HOST: Why is it important to have an Arctic social sciences association? How is that work different from social sciences in the southern regions?

GUEST: The reason why we formed is just the interest in interdisciplinarity across the social sciences. So many social scientists will focus on one area of the world, and what the Arctic social scientists enjoy doing is getting together and talking across the disciplinary boundaries of economics and political science. I personally find our congresses very interesting – more interesting, I'll admit, than disciplinary congresses or conferences because we are speaking about the same area, about the same situations, problems, challenges, opportunities, but from a whole bunch of different disciplinary backgrounds. And that, I think, makes a really rich exchange of ideas.

02:06

HOST: And looking back over past International Polar Years, how has the perception of the social sciences and their inclusion changed in the work that gets done during International Polar Year research?

GUEST: Well there wasn't much social sciences in the first Polar Years. It was a very obvious gap. And what we had was the real first introduction of social sciences in this last Polar Year. The social scientists did not play as large a role as the natural scientists and physical scientists, and we feel that was unfortunate, but we were very pleased that there was a much greater presence and much greater opportunities. And there were many IPY projects that either were run by social scientists or had a strong social science component in it. I think what has been really exciting about this conference is how social sciences has become even more front and centre. Peter Harrison's opening remarks talked about social science and its import. There is a real interest in more community based work, and social scientists have led that thrust and are probably the best people in terms of methodologies and ways of engaging with community members in respectful ways. And so I think they bring that to joint projects with natural scientists and help understand some of those – both the challenges and the ways that we might approach these problems together.

03:38

HOST: Do you ever look at past research from Polar Years or think about research projects that went on and think oh, I wish the social sciences had been there?

GUEST: A little. I haven't gone back to too many of those projects. But I do see projects still being developed without social sciences – and of course there will be some – but we often like to pressure both the funding agencies and scientists themselves to consider how the project might be enhanced by social science participation. And having said that, I think there are some very interesting opportunities for social scientists to include natural scientists in their projects too. So working across that, what used to be a great chasm – and the chasm is shrinking – is it goes both ways. I think there are some really neat opportunities and I'm having fun talking with terrestrial colleagues at this conference about future possibilities, and I know my other colleagues are talking with the cryosphere folks and atmospheric folks and just looking at different opportunities. Yeah.

04:37

HOST: So what does it mean for Canada to be hosting the International Arctic Social Sciences Association secretariat? I mean it's based in Prince George. What does it mean for it to be here in Canada and not in some other country?

GUEST: The organisation was founded in the early 1990s, and its first president and the first secretariat was actually here in Montreal. That was Ludger Müller-Wille. And the secretariat came back to Canada in the late 1990s to Laval. And so this is the third time that Canada has hosted it. And so it does move around the circumpolar north. What I find very exciting is that since Canada will be taking over the chairmanship of the Arctic Council during the same period that the secretariat of IASSA will be located in Canada, there are some really neat opportunities for working together there and for – maybe even not so much working together but having a greater emphasis on northern issues in Canada and having a greater profile of different kinds of sciences including social sciences.

05:49

HOST: Now many of the research projects here blend social sciences and natural sciences. What does the inclusion of social science bring to those projects?

GUEST: And I come from this also as a geographer, and I think geographers have to delve into both worlds so it maybe is more natural for us than, say, an anthropologist or a political scientist. More and more science in general is moving towards interdisciplinarity and multidisciplinary. I think you see that with the funding agencies in both North America and Europe demanding that we look at what are very complex, very nuanced problems from all different angles. And so social scientists coming together with physical and natural scientists really can grapple with the multifaceted dimensions of these problems in a way that is harder to do. And while sometimes it's easier to study a little brick of a big wall of problems, that's not getting us to the same places that we need to be now. And so when social scientists work with the natural scientists on these problems, I think we're closer to actually coming up with some of the solutions. This conference is all about "knowledge to action". I think we're closer to coming up with some of the actions there. And it's tough to do. We speak different languages sometimes and we have different agendas. But it's a learning process that I think is going on throughout the world, and I would say the Arctic is a little ahead of other places in doing this. We also are leading in terms of that cross-disciplinary research.

HOST: Thank you so much for talking to us today.

GUEST: Thank you. I really appreciate the opportunity, and it's great to be here in Montreal for the IPY 2012.

07:35

HOST: Gail Fondahl is the president of the International Arctic Social Sciences Association and vice president of research at the University of Northern British Columbia. You can hear more podcasts or watch video from the International Polar Year 2012 Conference at aandc.gc.ca. You can also find this podcast at iTunes. Thanks for listening.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Gail Fondahl

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gail Fondahl, présidente de l'International Arctic Social Sciences Association, discute de l'émergence des sciences sociales dans les recherches portant sur l'Arctique.

 

Écouter ce balado (7:50')



Télécharger ce balado (mp3, 7,4 Mo)

Pour écouter l'entrevue téléphonique sur un dispositif portatif (p. ex. iPod, BlackBerry), cliquez à droite sur l'icône et sélectionnez « Enregistrer la cible sous ».

Transcription du balado : Gail Fondahl

NARRATION EN FRANÇAIS : Ce podcast a été enregistré à l'Année polaire internationale 2012.

NARRATION EN ANGLAIS : This podcast was recorded at the International Polar Year 2012 Conference.

NARRATION EN FRANÇAIS : IPY 2012.

NARRATION EN ANGLAIS : IPY 2012.

NARRATION EN ANGLAIS : From knowledge to action.

NARRATION EN FRANÇAIS : De la connaissance à l'action.

ANIMATEUR : Par le passé, les projets de l'Année polaire internationale ciblaient principalement les sciences physiques. Cependant, les projets de la récente API ont mené à une meilleure inclusion des sciences sociales et de la participation communautaire. Gail Fondahl, présidente de l'Arctic Social Sciences Association, a accepté, lors de la conférence de l'API 2012, de discuter avec nous de la place grandissante des sciences sociales dans les recherches de l'Arctique.
 
00:45

ANIMATEUR : Lorsqu'on parle de sciences sociales dans l'Arctique, de quoi est-il question exactement?

INVITÉE : Bien, les sciences sociales étudient tant la société que les comportements humains, donc, les sciences sociales incluent les domaines comme l'anthropologie, l'éducation, l'histoire, la géographie humaine, les études juridiques, bref, une panoplie de domaines. De plus, même si ce n'est pas dans le titre de notre association, l'Arctic Social Sciences Association englobe aussi les lettres et sciences humaines, c'est-à-dire, l'art, la religion, etc.

01:15

ANIMATEUR : Pourquoi est-il si important d'avoir une association consacrée aux sciences sociales dans l'Arctique? En quoi les travaux diffèrent-ils de ceux des sciences sociales dans les régions du Sud?

INVITÉE : La raison qui nous a mené à nous regrouper est tout simplement notre intérêt pour les aspects multidisciplinaires des sciences sociales. Il y a tellement de chercheurs en sciences sociales qui se concentrent sur un seul aspect du monde, et ce que les chercheurs en sciences sociales dans l'Arctique aiment, c'est de se rassembler pour avoir au-delà des frontières disciplinaires que sont l'économie et les sciences politiques.  Personnellement, je trouve nos congrès très intéressants, même, je l'avoue, plus intéressants que les congrès ou les conférences sur une seule discipline, car on parle des mêmes lieux, de situations, de problèmes, de défis et de possibilités semblables, mais d'un ensemble de points de vue disciplinaires différents. Et je pense que ça donne des échanges d'idées très riches.

02:06

ANIMATEUR : Dans le cadre des dernières années polaires internationales, comment percevait-on les sciences sociales et qu'est-ce que leur inclusion a changé dans les travaux de recherches qu'on mène à cette occasion?

INVITÉE : Bien, les sciences sociales n'étaient pas très présentes lors des premières années polaires. C'était une lacune évidente. La dernière année polaire a vraiment marqué l'inclusion des sciences sociales. Les chercheurs en sciences sociales n'ont pas joué un rôle aussi grand que les chercheurs en sciences naturelles et physiques, et nous croyons que c'est regrettable. Mais nous sommes tout de même contents d'avoir été plus présents et d'avoir pu profiter de plus de possibilités. Puis, beaucoup de projets de l'API étaient dirigés par des chercheurs en sciences sociales ou comptaient une forte composante de sciences sociales. Je crois que c'est vraiment intéressant que les sciences sociales aient davantage été mises de l'avant pendant cette conférence. Les commentaires d'ouverture de Peter Harrison traitaient des sciences sociales et de leur importance. Il y a un véritable intérêt dans les travaux communautaires, et ce sont les chercheurs en sciences sociales qui ont lancé le mouvement. Il s'agit probablement des personnes les mieux placées pour le faire si on tient compte de la méthodologie et des façons de faire participer les gens de manière respectueuse. Et je pense que ces personnes intègrent ces traits dans les projets menés conjointement avec des chercheurs en sciences naturelles et en améliorent la compréhension de ces aspects, c'est‑à‑dire les problèmes et les manières de les résoudre.

03:38

ANIMATEUR : Vous arrive-t-il d'étudier un projet des années polaires précédentes ou de penser à des projets de recherche et vous dire « si seulement on y avait inclus les sciences sociales »?

INVITÉE : Un peu. Je n'ai pas repensé à beaucoup de ces projets. Mais je constate quand même qu'on planifie encore des projets sans y inclure les sciences sociales, et il y en aura toujours, mais nous aimons quand même exercer des pressions sur les agences de financement et sur les scientifiques pour les aider à voir comment l'inclusion des sciences sociales pourrait améliorer leur projet. Cela étant dit, je pense qu'il existe aussi des possibilités très intéressantes pour les chercheurs en sciences sociales d'intégrer les sciences nature à leurs projets. Bref, pour réduire ce qui était auparavant un fossé, fossé qui se rétrécit, il faut travailler des deux côtés. Je pense qu'il existe des possibilités géniales et, lors de la Conférence, j'ai adoré parler avec mes collègues d'ailleurs dans le monde à propos des possibilités futures. Je sais que mes autres collègues discutent d'autres possibilités avec nos amis qui s'occupent de la cryosphère et de l'atmosphère. Ouais.

04:37

ANIMATEUR : Pour le Canada, que représente le fait d'accueillir le secrétariat de l'Arctic Social Sciences Association? C'est-à-dire que ses bureaux se trouvent à Prince George. Que représente le choix du Canada plutôt que d'un autre pays?

INVITÉE : L'organisation a été fondée au début des années 1990 et son premier président et le premier secrétariat se trouvaient ici, à Montréal. Le président était alors Ludger Müller‑Wille. Puis le secrétariat a de nouveau été établi au Canada, à Laval, à la fin des années 1990. C'est donc la troisième fois que le Canada l'accueille. Le secrétariat déménage périodiquement dans différentes régions du Nord circumpolaire. Qu'il soit en ce moment au Canada est fantastique, car, pendant toute cette période, le Canada assumera la présidence du Conseil de l'Arctique. Il y aura donc d'excellentes possibilités de collaboration, et même, sans nécessairement travailler ensemble, de mettre un meilleur accent sur les questions qui touchent le Nord au Canada et de représenter plusieurs sortes de sciences, y compris les sciences sociales.

05:49

ANIMATEUR : Bon nombre de projets de recherche menés ici combinent sciences sociales et sciences naturelles. Qu'est-ce que les sciences sociales apportent aux projets?

INVITÉE : J'analyse aussi ce fait du point de vue de la géographe que je suis. Je crois que les géographes touchent à ces deux mondes alors c'est peut-être plus naturel pour nous que, par exemple, un anthropologue ou un spécialiste des sciences politiques. De plus en plus, la science en général devient interdisciplinaire, multidisciplinaire. Je pense qu'on peut le constater en voyant que les agences de financement, en Amérique du Nord et Europe, demandent que nous abordions des problèmes très complexes, très nuancés sous différents angles. Donc, en se rassemblant, les chercheurs en sciences sociales et les chercheurs en sciences physiques et naturelles peuvent aborder les différentes dimensions des problèmes traités de manière approfondie. Même s'il est parfois plus facile d'étudier une seule brique d'un mur entier, cela ne nous mènera pas là où nous devons être. Donc, je pense que nous sommes plus près d'une solution quand les chercheurs en sciences sociales et les chercheurs en sciences naturelles collaborent. Le thème de la Conférence est « De la connaissance à l'action ». Je crois que nous sommes prêts à mettre en œuvre certains gestes. Et c'est difficile. Nous parlons parfois différentes langues en plus d'avoir des horaires variés. Je pense que c'est un processus d'apprentissage qui est en cours partout dans le monde et je dirais que, dans l'Arctique, nous avons une longueur d'avance sur les autres. Nous sommes aussi parmi les premiers pour ce qui est des recherches interdisciplinaires.

ANIMATEUR : Merci beaucoup pour cette entrevue.

INVITÉE : Merci à vous. J'ai beaucoup aimé avoir la chance de vous parler et je suis contente d'être ici, à Montréal, pour l'API 2012.

07:35

ANIMATEUR : Gail Fondahl est la présidente de l'Arctic Social Sciences Association et vice‑présidente à la recherche à l'Université du Nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour écouter d'autres balados ou visionner des vidéos de la Conférence de l'Année polaire internationale 2012, rendez-vous à l'adresse www.aadnc.gc.ca. Ce balado se trouve également sur iTunes. Merci de votre attention.

 

Date de modification :