Artist Description of 'Giniigaaniimenaaning'

PDF Version   (362 Kb, 6 pages)

 



Table of Contents




Giniigaaniimenaaning (Looking Ahead)

Stained Glass image
By Christi Belcourt
Description of the Design




Giniigaaniimenaaning (Looking Ahead)
Summary

By Christi Belcourt

Stained Glass image

"The story begins in the bottom left corner of the glass, with your eye moving upwards in the left panel to the top window, and flowing down the right window to the bottom right corner. The glass design tells a story. It is a story of Aboriginal people, with our ceremonies, languages, and cultural knowledge intact; through the darkness of the residential school era; to an awakening sounded by a drum; an apology that spoke to the heart; hope for reconciliation; transformation and healing through dance, ceremony, language; and resilience into the present day.

The title of the piece is "Giniigaaniimenaaning" translated into English means, "Looking Ahead". The title is in Anishinaabemowin (Ojibway) and includes, within the deeper meaning of the word, the idea that everyone is included and we are all looking ahead for the ones "unborn".





Left Glass Panel

Left Glass Panel

Top

In 1990, Phil Fontaine, then Grand Chief of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs, and later National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, became one of the first Aboriginal leaders to speak publicly about the abuses he suffered as a child at residential school. The shattered glass represents the breaking of the silence in the 1980s as survivors from all over Canada began to speak openly about what happened to them at the schools. The broken glass also represents the shattered lives, shattered families and shattered communities that resulted from the government policy of forced assimilation. The drum dancer sounds the beginning of the healing. The circles moving up and out from behind the drum represent the transformation that governments and churches made, from taking initial positions of denial, to acceptance, and finally to acknowledgement and admission, paving the way for an apology. The snow falls and the moon glows from a northern sky. The dove with the olive branch brings an offering of hope for the beginning of reconciliation and the renewal of the relationship between Aboriginal peoples and the rest of Canada.

Middle

This section of the window represents the "sad chapter" of the residential schools era, where more than 150,000 children were forcibly removed from their homes and often subjected to unimaginable and horrific abuses. As Prime Minister Stephen Harper stated in the Statement of Apology on June 11, 2008, the objective of the residential schools was to "remove and isolate children from the influence of their homes, families, traditions and cultures." The children shown here are taken from historical photographs, with artist renditions of other children. The building, rendered from a photograph of the Shubenacadie Indian Residential School, is included because often these buildings represented the institutionalized system of abuse and assimilation. Children were not permitted to leave and, therefore, the buildings became their prisons. The lines that cross over the children represent the silencing of the children who were unable to speak about the abuses they were enduring.

Bottom

The ancestor smokes in the sacred lodge. From the west (represented by the button blanket motif) to the east (represented by the sky dome motif), our ceremonies, languages, and traditional knowledge were intact. This section represents the time before residential schools existed. Important ceremonies marking the transition from childhood to adulthood, such as the strawberry fast, were taught and practiced. Harvesting blueberries, learning about medicines and knowledge of plants and animals were passed from one generation to the next. Beadwork and beautiful artwork, reflecting our pride, adorned our clothing and sacred items. The roots represent connection to the earth and to our ancestors. It is expected that, when rendered in glasswork, the colours and white/clear glass circles, or crystals, will give the bottom section an ethereal feel as they will glow from the darkness.





Top Glass Panel

Top Glass Panel

This section commemorates the official Statement of Apology to former students of Indian Residential Schools on June 11, 2008, by Prime Minister Stephen Harper.

On that day from coast to coast to coast, Aboriginal people gathered in community centres and homes to watch the Prime Minister give the statement, and to watch as their own leaders made their historic responses on the floor of the House of Commons.

Reaction to the Apology ranged from skepticism to gratefulness, marked by tears of relief, that finally the hurt that individuals carried was being acknowledged and an apology was being made. Regardless of how individuals reacted to the Apology, mostly everyone was moved emotionally, as Prime Minister Harper spoke the words, "The Government of Canada sincerely apologizes and asks the forgiveness of the Aboriginal peoples of this country for failing them so profoundly."

In this panel, symbols representing Inuit, First Nations and the Métis Nation are featured alongside the iconic maple leaf. Canada, as represented by the maple leaf, is shown among the Aboriginal icons as a way to symbolize the hope expressed on that day by the Aboriginal leaders in their official response on the floor of the House of Commons. On behalf of all Aboriginal people, Indigenous leaders graciously accepted the apology from the Prime Minister.




Right Glass Panel

Right Glass Panel

Top

As in the left panel, circles emerge and transform into a fully visible sun. The sun rises and represents not only transformation, but more importantly, as Mary Simon, then President of the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK); said in her official reaction on the floor of the House of Commons, "I am filled with optimism… a new day has dawned, a new day heralded by a commitment to reconciliation and building a new relationship with Inuit, Métis and First Nations."

The lines flowing from the sun are meant to convey the concept of moving from the present into the future. The colours embody the colours used within different medicine wheels, sundance and Midewin lodges and the Métis sash (yellow, black, red, white, green, and blue). Together with the left panel, sun and moon represent the cycle of life, seasons, and change.

The jingle dress is a sacred healing dress that is now common throughout North America. In this panel, the jingle dress dancer is an Elder who is a survivor of the residential school. She is dancing for the healing of all the people and for future generations.

Middle

In this section, the colours and lines move us soundly into the present day and thinking about the future. The young mother embraces her baby in a traditional moss bag. The child is back with her mother, as she should be, representing children being raised by their parents and the breaking of the cycle of abuse. Her grandfather sings a traditional song signifying the restoration of songs, dance, ceremonies, and languages.

Within this panel are the following words: Kisakihitin ("I love you" in Cree), Gizhawenamin Niichaanis ("I love you my child" in Anishnaabemowin), Nagligiivagit ("I love you" in Inuktitut), Kesalul ("I love you" in Mi'kmaq). Many victims of residential schools were unable to tell their own children they loved them, and many children never heard those words from their parents. Embedding these words within the glass solidifies the existence and use of Aboriginal languages.

Bottom

The circle is complete. Presently, traditional ceremonies take place throughout the year. The grandmother sits in the lodge smoking her pipe for her grandchildren. Potlach ceremonies take place and Salmon and Sturgeon ceremonies are on-going. The sundance lodges are erected and the Midewin lodges are no longer whispered about but are now out in the open. Puberty ceremonies are being practiced. Traditional knowledge about medicines is being taught. From east to west, the foundations of our cultures are being brought back and made whole. There is hope; there is a new respect for Aboriginal cultures within the rest of Canada as we are witness to our own strength and resilience.





Design within the Design

Design within the Design
Artist's website: www.christibelcourt.com  

 

Mother Earth

The land is integral to our being. We consider the land sacred. Although it is not obvious, Mother Earth is the foundation of the stained glass design represented by the shape of a woman.

So many of our traditions, culture and ceremonies, and indeed our very way of life, is based on connection with the land and interconnection with the spirit of the Earth, that it would be remiss to design something concerning our people, without including the earth in some form."

Description du travail de l'artiste « Giniigaaniimenaaning »

Format PDF (2,177 Ko, 6 pages)

Table des matières

Giniigaaniimenaaning (Regard vers l'avenir)

Résumé

par Christi Belcourt

« La trame narrative commence au coin inférieur gauche du vitrail, le regard monte ensuite dans le panneau de gauche vers le haut de la fenêtre, pour se diriger par la suite sur le panneau de droite, jusqu'au coin inférieur droit. Le vitrail raconte une histoire. C'est l'histoire des peuples autochtones, de nos cérémonies, de nos langues et des connaissances culturelles toujours intactes. Il raconte la noirceur de l'épisode des pensionnats indiens, du son du tambour qui nous réveille et des excuses qui nous touchent profondément. Il illustre l'espoir de la réconciliation, de la transformation et de la guérison grâce à la danse, aux cérémonies, à la langue. On voit la résilience de nos peuples jusqu'à aujourd'hui.

Le titre de l'oeuvre est « Giniigaaniimenaaning », ce qui, traduit en français, veut dire « regard vers l'avenir ». Le titre est en langue anishinaabemowin (ojibway) et comprend, dans la signification plus profonde du mot, l'idée que tout le monde est inclus et que nous nous tournons tous vers l'avenir pour « ceux qui ne sont pas encore nés ».

Panneau de gauche du vitrail

Panneau de gauche du vitrail

Haut

En 1990, Phil Fontaine, qui était alors grand chef de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba et qui a été par la suite chef national de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, est devenu un des premiers leaders autochtones à parler publiquement des sévices dont il avait été victime enfant dans un pensionnat indien. Le verre brisé représente le bris du silence dans les années 1980 alors que les anciens élèves de partout au Canada ont commencé à parler ouvertement de ce qui leur était arrivé dans les pensionnats. Le verre brisé représente aussi les vies, les familles et les collectivités détruites à cause de la politique gouvernementale d'assimilation forcée. Le danseur au tambour annonce le début de la guérison. Les cercles qui s'élèvent et sortent de derrière le tambour représentent la transformation survenue chez les gouvernements et les Églises, de leur position originale de déni, en passant par l'acceptation, pour finalement reconnaître les faits et admettre les torts, ce qui a pavé la voie vers des excuses. La neige tombe et la lune brille dans le ciel du Nord. La colombe à la branche d'olive apporte un don d'espoir pour le début de la réconciliation et le renouvellement de la relation entre les Autochtones et les autres Canadiens.

Milieu

Cette section du vitrail représente « le chapitre triste » de l'époque des pensionnats indiens, lorsque plus de 150 000 enfants ont été retirés de force de leur foyer et ont souvent été victimes de sévices horribles et inimaginables. Comme l'a dit le premier ministre Stephen Harper dans ses excuses présentées le 11 juin 2008, l'objectif des pensionnats indiens était « d'isoler les enfants et les soustraire à l'influence de leurs foyers, de leurs familles, de leurs traditions et de leur culture ». Les enfants représentés ici sont tirés de photos d'époque, et d'autres enfants sont des créations artistiques. Le bâtiment, reproduit d'après une photographie du pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie, est inclus, car souvent le bâtiment même représentait le régime institutionnalisé des sévices et de l'assimilation. Les enfants n'avaient pas le droit de partir, les bâtiments devenaient donc leurs prisons. Les lignes qui marquent les enfants représentent le fait qu'ils étaient réduits au silence et qu'ils étaient incapables de parler des sévices dont ils étaient victimes.

Bas

L'ancêtre fume dans la hutte sacrée. De l'ouest (représenté par un motif de couverture à boutons) à l'est (représenté par le motif de coupole), nos cérémonies, nos langues et connaissances traditionnelles étaient intactes. Cette section représente l'époque avant l'existence des pensionnats indiens. Des cérémonies importantes soulignant le passage de l'enfance à l'âge adulte, comme le jeûne des fraises, étaient enseignées et pratiquées. La récolte des bleuets, l'apprentissage des plantes et des animaux, des propriétés médicinales, étaient transmis d'une génération à une autre. Des travaux de perles et de belles oeuvres d'art, reflétant notre fierté, ornaient nos vêtements et nos objets sacrés. Les racines représentent le lien avec la terre et nos ancêtres. On prévoit que, une fois l'oeuvre réalisée en vitrail, les cercles de couleurs et ceux en blanc ou transparent, ou les cristaux, donneront un aspect éthéré à la section du bas, comme s'ils brillaient dans l'obscurité.

Panneau du haut du vitrail

Panneau du haut du vitrail

Cette section commémore les excuses officielles présentées aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens par le premier ministre Stephen Harper, le 11 juin 2008.

Cette journée-là, d'un océan à l'autre, les Autochtones réunis dans des centres communautaires et des maisons ont regardé le premier ministre présenter des excuses. Ils ont aussi vu leurs propres dirigeants présenter leur réponse historique à la Chambre des communes.

Les réactions aux excuses ont été diverses, du scepticisme à la gratitude, en passant par les pleurs de soulagement de voir que finalement la douleur que les anciens élèves portaient en eux soit reconnue et que des excuses soient présentées. Peu importe la réaction des gens à la suite des excuses, presque tout le monde a été ému lorsque le premier ministre Harper a dit ceci : « Le gouvernement du Canada présente ses excuses les plus sincères aux peuples autochtones du Canada pour avoir si profondément manqué à son devoir envers eux, et leur demande pardon. »

Dans ce panneau, on trouve aux côtés de l'iconique feuille d'érable des symboles représentant les Inuit, les Premières Nations et la Nation métisse. Le Canada, représenté par la feuille d'érable, est présenté parmi les symboles des Autochtones afin de symboliser l'espoir exprimé ce jour-là par les leaders autochtones lors de leur réponse officielle à la Chambre des communes. Au nom de tous les Autochtones, les leaders ont humblement accepté les excuses du premier ministre.

Panneau de droite du vitrail

Panneau de droite du vitrail

Haut

Comme dans le panneau de gauche, des cercles sortent et se transforment en un soleil complètement visible. Le soleil se lève et représente non seulement la transformation, mais aussi le plus important, comme l'a dit Mary Simon, ancienne présidente de l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami lors de sa réponse officielle à la Chambre des communes : « Je suis remplie d'optimisme… un nouveau jour s'est levé, un jour nouveau marqué d'une volonté de réconciliation et d'édification d'un nouveau rapport avec les Inuit, les Métis et les Premières Nations. »

Les lignes qui se dégagent du soleil visent à illustrer le concept d'évoluer du présent au futur. Les couleurs sont celles utilisées dans les différentes roues médicinales, dans la danse du soleil, dans les huttes de Midewin et l'écharpe métisse (jaune, noir, rouge, blanc, vert et bleu). Pris en commun avec le panneau de gauche, le soleil et la lune représentent le cycle de la vie et des saisons, et le changement.

La robe à franges est une robe sacrée pour la guérison qui est maintenant commune partout en Amérique du Nord. Dans ce panneau, la danseuse à la robe à franges est une aînée qui a fréquenté un pensionnat indien. Elle danse pour la guérison de tous et pour celle des prochaines générations.

Centre

Dans cette section, les couleurs et les lignes nous transportent doucement vers le présent et nous font réfléchir à l'avenir. La jeune mère presse sur son coeur son poupon protégé dans un porte-bébé traditionnel. L'enfant est de retour avec sa mère, comme il se doit, ce qui représente que les enfants sont élevés par leurs parents et qu'on brise le cycle des mauvais traitements. Son grand-père chante une chanson traditionnelle représentant le retour en force des chansons, des danses, des cérémonies et des langues.

Les mots suivants sont gravés dans le panneau : Kisakihitin (« Je t'aime » en cri), Gizhawenamin Niichaanis (« Je t'aime mon enfant » en anishnaabemowin), Nagligiivagit (« Je t'aime » en inuktitut) et Kesalul (« Je t'aime » en mi'kmaq). De nombreuses victimes des pensionnats indiens étaient incapables de dire à leurs propres enfants qu'ils les aimaient, et de nombreux enfants n'ont jamais entendu ces paroles de la bouche de leurs parents. Graver ces mots dans le verre consolide l'existence et l'utilisation des langues autochtones.

Bas

Le cercle est complet. De nos jours, des cérémonies traditionnelles sont célébrées tout au long de l'année. La grand-mère s'assoit dans la hutte et fume la pipe pour ses petits-enfants. Des cérémonies du potlatch ont lieu, de même que celles du saumon et de l'esturgeon. Les huttes de la danse du soleil sont érigées et les huttes de Midewin ne sont plus l'objet de tabou, elles sont à la vue de tous. On observe les rites de puberté. On transmet les enseignements traditionnels sur la médecine. De l'est à l'ouest, on retrouve les bases de nos cultures et leur redonne leur intégrité. Il y a de l'espoir : il y a un nouveau respect envers les cultures autochtones au sein du reste du Canada alors que nous constatons notre propre force et notre résilience.

Un concept dans le concept

Un concept dans le concept
Le site Web de l'artiste : www.christibelcourt.com
(site Web non disponible en français)

Terre mère

« La terre est essentielle à notre être. Nous considérons que la terre est sacrée. Même si cela n'est pas évident, la Terre mère est à la base même du concept du vitrail représenté par la forme d'une femme. »

« Un très grand nombre de nos traditions, cultures et cérémonies, en fait notre style de vie propre, sont fondées sur notre lien avec la terre et les liens avec les esprits de la Terre, qu'il ne serait pas envisageable de concevoir une oeuvre représentant nos peuples sans y inclure d'une certaine manière la terre. »

Date de modification :