History: Aboriginal Peoples, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and the Treaty Relationship

History of Aboriginal Peoples

The Canadian Constitution recognizes three groups of Aboriginal people: First Nations, Métis and Inuit. These are three distinct peoples with unique histories, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs. More than one million people in Canada identify themselves as an Aboriginal person, according to the 2006 Census.

During the long colonial rivalry between France and Great Britain, different First Nations groups were important allies to both European powers. France and Great Britain each wanted to secure strong alliances with these First Nations to secure their military control in North America.

After the transfer of New France to Great Britain, a Royal Proclamation was issued to establish the new administrative structure of the British North American colonies. For Aboriginal people in Canada, the 1763 Royal Proclamation is the basis for the recognition of their Aboriginal rights to lands and resources.

As the military role of First Nations people waned in the eyes of British administrators after the War of 1812, new ideas and approaches regarding this relationship began to take hold. While treaties were being negotiated in the West, legislation was introduced in 1876 which would have a deep and long lasting impact on First Nations across Canada. The Indian Act of 1876 was a consolidation of regulations that affected First Nations people living throughout the country. The push to "civilize" First Nations became the focus of legislation, and policies and amendments to the Indian Act became increasingly coercive and controlling of the lives of First Nations people.

As a result of the wording of Section 91 (24) of the British North American Act, which stipulates federal responsibility for "Indians" and no other Aboriginal group, Inuit in the then Northwest Territories fell outside the responsibility of the Department of Indian Affairs. After decades of pressure from the province of Quebec, Inuit officially became a responsibility of the federal government in 1939.

In 1982, the Métis population, who can trace their descendants to mixed First Nations and European heritage, were among the three groups included in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms which recognized "existing Aboriginal and treaty rights".

Treaty Relationship

European colonial powers and the First Nations of North America both had long traditions of diplomacy and treaty relations developed over centuries prior to contact. The diplomatic protocols and undertakings between Europeans and Aboriginal peoples quickly developed into a new treaty-making dynamic that adopted and adapted aspects of each culture.

The impact of treaty-making in Canada has been wide-ranging and long standing. The treaties the Crown has signed with Aboriginal peoples since the 18th century have permitted the evolution of Canada as we know it. In fact, much of Canada's land mass is covered by treaties. It would be fair to say that without the long history of treaty-making, Canada probably would not have the geographic borders it has today.

This treaty-making process, which has evolved over more than 300 years between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in Canada, has its origins in the early diplomatic relationship developed between European settlers and Aboriginal people. Their early agreements were a co-operative and negotiated process, dealing primarily with their protection and well-being. As the two parties made economic and military alliances, Canada began to take form. These diplomatic proceedings were the first steps in a long process that has led to today's comprehensive claims agreements between the Crown and Aboriginal groups.

Currently, there are approximately 70 recognised treaties that form the basis of the relationship between 371 First Nations, representing over 500,000 First Nations people, and the Crown.

History of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

The Department of Indian Affairs administrative body was established in colonial times to manage the Crown–First Nations relationship. As this relationship has evolved and changed, so has the administrative body. As a response to the growing colonial conflict with the French, British officials created the Indian Department in 1755 to manage the military relationship between colonial officials and their Aboriginal allies. After more than 100 years of British administration, management of Indian affairs was transferred from the Home Office in Britain to each individual colony.

The Indian Department has been transformed over time into the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, managing not only Canada's relationship with First Nations, Inuit and Métis, but also all of Canada's North.

On May 18, 2011, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced the Department's name change from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. The Department's new name better reflects the scope of the Minister's responsibilities with respect to First Nations, Inuit and Métis. It is also in keeping with practices of the department as, in recent years, the its responsibilities have expanded to include and better serve First Nations, Métis and Inuit.

Histoire : les Autochtones, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et la relation découlant des traités

Histoire des peuples autochtones

La Constitution canadienne reconnaît trois groupes de peuples autochtones – les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. Ces trois groupes distincts ont leur propre histoire ainsi que leurs propres langues, pratiques culturelles et croyances. Au Canada, plus d'un million de personnes se sont déclarées comme Autochtones lors du Recensement de 2006.

Pendant la rivalité coloniale entre la France et la Grande-Bretagne, divers groupes des Premières Nations s'allient à l'une ou à l'autre des puissances européennes. Les deux pays tentent de conclure des alliances solides avec les Premières Nations dans le but de renforcer leur contrôle militaire en Amérique du Nord.

Après la cession de la Nouvelle-France à la Grande-Bretagne, une proclamation royale est entérinée afin de définir la nouvelle structure administrative des colonies britanniques en Amérique du Nord. Pour les Autochtones du Canada, la Proclamation royale de 1763 est le fondement de la reconnaissance de leurs droits ancestraux sur les terres et les ressources.

Après la guerre de 1812, alors que le rôle militaire des peuples des Premières Nations a décliné aux yeux des administrateurs britanniques, de nouvelles idées et stratégies concernant cette relation ont commencé à se répandre. Tandis que des traités étaient en cours de négociation dans l'Ouest, une loi a été promulguée en 1876. Cette loi aura des répercussions profondes et durables sur les Premières Nations dans tout le Canada. Les lois existantes qui avaient une incidence sur les Autochtones établis dans tout le Canada ont été fusionnées pour former l'Acte des Sauvages de 1876. La nécessité de « civiliser » les Premières Nations est devenue le centre des lois, puis les politiques et les modifications par la suite apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens se sont faites de plus en plus coercitives et contraignantes pour la vie des membres des Premières Nations.

Selon le libellé du paragraphe 91(24) de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, qui précise que la responsabilité du gouvernement fédéral se limite aux « Indiens » et n'inclut aucun autre groupe autochtone, les Inuit des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ne tombent pas sous la responsabilité de ce qui était alors le département des Affaires indiennes. Après plusieurs décennies de pressions de la part du gouvernement du Québec, le gouvernement fédéral prend officiellement la responsabilité des Inuit en 1939.

En 1982, la population métisse, dont les ancêtres sont des membres des Premières Nations et des Européens, figure parmi les trois groupes auxquels la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés confère des droits ancestraux et issus de traités.

Relation découlant des traités

Les puissances coloniales européennes et les Premières Nations d'Amérique du Nord avaient tous une longue tradition de diplomatie et de rapports fondés sur des traités établie au cours des siècles qui ont précédé l'arrivée des Européens. Les protocoles et engagements diplomatiques entre les Européens et les peuples autochtones ont rapidement donné lieu à une nouvelle dynamique de conclusion de traités qui a adopté et adapté des aspects de chaque culture.

Au Canada, l'établissement des traités a eu des répercussions vastes et de longue durée. Les traités que la Couronne a signés avec les peuples autochtones depuis le XVIIIe siècle ont permis de façonner le Canada tel que nous le connaissons. En fait, une grande partie du territoire du Canada est visé par des traités. Il serait légitime de dire que, sans sa longue histoire de conclusion de traités, le Canada n'aurait sans doute pas les frontières géographiques qu'il a aujourd'hui.

Ce processus d'établissement de traités entre Autochtones et non-Autochtones, qui a évolué sur une période de plus de 300 ans, découle des premières relations diplomatiques entre les Européens qui sont arrivés au pays et les Autochtones. Ces premiers accords constituaient un processus de collaboration négocié qui portait principalement sur la protection et le bien-être de ces derniers. À mesure que les deux parties ont forgé des alliances militaires, elles ont commencé à façonner le Canada. Ces rapports diplomatiques ont constitué les premières étapes d'un long processus qui a mené aux ententes de règlement de revendications territoriales globales qui existent actuellement entre l'État et les groupes autochtones.

À l'heure actuelle, on reconnaît environ 70 traités qui constituent le fondement de la relation entre la Couronne et 371 Premières Nations, qui comptent plus de 500 000 membres.

Histoire d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

L'organe administratif qu'est le ministère des Affaires indiennes est créé à l'époque coloniale et a pour mission de gérer la relation entre la Couronne et les Premières Nations. Cet organe administratif a évolué en même temps que la relation entre la Couronne et les Premières Nations. En réaction à l'ampleur du conflit colonial avec les Français, les représentants britanniques créent le ministère des Indiens en 1755, afin de gérer la relation militaire entre les représentants des colonies et leurs alliés autochtones. Après plus de 100 ans d'administration britannique, la gestion des affaires indiennes est transférée du Home Office de la Grande-Bretagne à chacune des colonies.

Au fil du temps, le ministère des Indiens devient le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du  Nord canadien et n'assure plus uniquement la gestion de la relation du Canada avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis, mais également avec les résidants du Nord.

Le 18 mai 2011, le premier ministre Stephen Harper annonce qu'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada devient Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Ce nouveau titre reflète mieux l'étendue des responsabilités du Ministère envers les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. Il correspond également aux pratiques du Ministère dont les responsabilités ont été élargies aux Premières Nations, aux Métis et aux Inuit au cours des dernières années afin de mieux les servir.