Aboriginal Contributions to the War of 1812: Theatres of War Map

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: QS-6279-000-EE-A1

PDF Version (10.5 Mb, 1 Page)

Western Operation

Tecumseh
Credit: Benson John Lossings, c. 1868

During the War of 1812, many battles took place in the Western Great Lakes region. There, British and American forces fought to win strategic lands and to control important transportation routes.

In the opening battles of the war, First Nations warriors and Métis fighters were largely responsible for British victories. In July 1812, more than 300 Odawa, Ojibwa and Dakota warriors, along with British troops and Métis fighters from the Voyageurs Corps, captured the American post at Michilimackinac. Britain held this post for the remainder of the war, which allowed First Nations warriors, such as the Dakota, to harass and attack American troops as far west as Fort Dearborn (Chicago).

In August 1812, General Brock and Shawnee War Chief Tecumseh, with 700 regular troops and militiamen and 700 First Nations warriors, captured Fort Detroit and more than 2,500 American troops. First Nations warriors had a reputation as ferocious fighters, which played a large role in the victories over American commanders. Such victories rallied even greater numbers of First Nations warriors to side with the British.

Despite these early victories, by 1813, pressure by the Americans caused the British to retreat towards Niagara. The final battle at Moraviantown (Thames), in October 1813, was a bitter struggle. Under the leadership of Tecumseh, 500 First Nation warriors, including Chief Oshawana (John Naudee) from Walpole Island, put up a long and bitter resistance before being defeated by the vastly superior American forces. The unity of Western First Nations was dealt a tremendous blow when Tecumseh was killed while attempting to protect retreating British troops.

Niagara Operation

Major John Norton, Teyoninhokarawen, the Mohawk Chief
Credit: Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1984-119-1

With numerous forts and strongholds on both sides of the Niagara River, this region was the most contested area of the War of 1812. Nearly a dozen different battles were fought on both American and British territories, from Niagara to York (present day Toronto).

Between 1812 and 1814, First Nations warriors from the Great Lakes region and the St. Lawrence Valley fought side-by-side with British troops and Canadian militiamen to push back the American invaders. During these battles, First Nations leaders such as John Brant and John Norton commanded troops, while First Nations warriors took part in raids against American forces and acted as scouts and guides across the region.

In the early battles of 1812, Britain's military alliances with First Nations allowed its forces to record several important victories over a much larger American army. In October, Six Nations and Delaware warriors helped hold off invading American troops, despite the death of General Brock at the Battle of Queenston Heights. The toll was often high for the First Nations who fought during the war. Many warriors paid with their lives.

In 1813, well-prepared American troops were able to capture Fort George, while another force of 1,700 Americans sailed on to York, capturing this strategic town despite the presence of 800 British troops, militiamen and First Nations warriors. In June 1813, an American force of 500 men was sent to capture a British raiding unit made up of 50 British soldiers and 400 First Nation warriors. However, in the ensuing battle at Beaver Dams, First Nations warriors under the command of Six Nations War Chief John Norton – mostly from Six Nations, Kahnawake, Akwesasne and Kanesatake – captured the American troops in a daring ambush. Along with other British victories in 1813, this battle allowed Britain to regain control over much of Niagara.

As the War of 1812 entered its final and bloodiest year, First Nations warriors saw action throughout the region during the Battles of Fort Chippawa and Lundy's Lane in July 1814 and during the extended siege of Fort Erie in the fall of 1814.

St. Lawrence Operation

As battles raged in the Great Lakes region, American troops pushed northwards to capture Montreal so they could prevent British reinforcements from reaching Niagara. After a series of naval battles on Lake Champlain, two separate American units moved towards Montreal in the fall of 1813.

In late October, Mohawk, Huron and Abenaki warriors and the French-Canadian Voltigeurs, all under the command of Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry, repelled the first invading army of 3,000 American soldiers at Châteauguay. The second unit of American troops was marching down the St. Lawrence at the same time, but was repeatedly harassed and delayed by a group of Mohawk and Algonquin warriors and Voltigeurs. On November 11, 1813, British troops met up with the second American unit at Crysler's Farm. After a bloody battle, the combined forces of British troops, First Nations warriors and militiamen forced the Americans to retreat and abandon their invasion of Montreal.

Major Battles

1812

  • June 18 – Declaration of War
  • July 17 – Fort Mackinac
  • August 15 – Fort Dearborn (Chicago)
  • August 16 – Fort Detroit
  • September 3-6 – Western Raids
  • October 13 – Queenston Heights

1813

  • January 22 – Frenchtown
  • April 27 – York (Toronto)
  • April 28 - May 9 – Fort Meigs
  • May 25-27 – Fort George (Niagara)
  • June 6 – Stoney Creek
  • June 24 – Beaver Dams
  • August 2 – Fort Stephenson (Ohio)
  • October 5 – Thames
  • October 26 – Châteauguay
  • November 11 – Crysler's Farm
  • December 19 – Fort Niagara

1814

  • March 4 – Battle of Longwoods
  • July 3 – Fort Erie
  • July 5 – Chippawa
  • July 17-20 – Prairie du Chien
  • July 25 – Lundy's Lane
  • August 4-5 – Michilimackinac
  • August 15 – Fort Erie
  • November 5 – Niagara Peninsula
  • December 24 – Treaty of Ghent

To order the Aboriginal Contributions to the War of 1812 poster/map, go to the Publication Catalogue.

Additional Information:

Date modified:

Les contributions des Autochtones à la guerre de 1812 : Carte des théâtres de guerre

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012
QS- : QS-6279-010-FF-A1

Version PDF (10,5 Mo, 1 Page)

Campagnes de l'Ouest

Tecumseh
Crédit : Benson John Lossings, 1868

Pendant la guerre de 1812, la région de l'ouest des Grands Lacs est le théâtre de nombreuses batailles. Les Britanniques et les Américains s'y affrontent pour conquérir les terres stratégiques et contrôler les grandes voies de transport.

Lors des premières batailles, les guerriers métis et des Premières Nations contribuent fortement à la victoire des Britanniques. En juillet 1812, plus de 300 guerriers odawa, ojibwe et dakotas réussissent, avec les troupes britanniques et les Métis du Corps des Voyageurs, à prendre le poste américain de Michilimackinac, que les Britanniques conserveront jusqu'à la fin de la guerre. Ce faisant, les guerriers des Premières Nations, dont les Dakotas, sont en mesure de poursuivre et d'attaquer les troupes américaines jusqu'à Fort Dearborn (Chicago), à l'ouest.

En août 1812, le major-général Brock et le chef de guerre shawnee Tecumseh, qui dirigent 700 hommes de la force régulière et de la milice et 700 guerriers des Premières Nations, s'emparent de Fort Detroit en de plus de 2 500 soldats américains. Ils remportent la bataille notamment en raison de la peur que suscitaient les guerriers des Premières Nations, réputés pour être de féroces combattants, chez les commandants américains. De telles victoires rallient davantage de guerriers des Premières Nations à la cause des Britanniques.

Malgré ces victoires précoces, dès 1813, les Britanniques doivent retraiter dans la région du Niagara en raison de la pression exercée par les Américains. Le 13 octobre 1812, l'unité des Premières Nations de l'Ouest est mise à rude épreuve pendant la bataille de Thames (Moraviantown), lorsque le chef Tecumseh est tué en tentant de protéger les troupes britanniques pendant qu'elles battent en retraite.

Campagne du Niagara

Major John Norton,
Teyoninhokarawen, chef Mohawk
Crédit : Bibliothèques et Archives Canada, no d'entrée 1984-119-1

Avec ses nombreux forts et bastions sur les deux rives, la région du Niagara est la plus disputée lors de cette guerre. Près d'une douzaine de batailles se déroulent en territoire américain et britannique, de Niagara à York (Toronto).

Entre 1812 et 1814, les guerriers des Premières Nations de la région des Grands Lacs et de la vallée du Saint-Laurent se battent aux côtés des troupes britanniques et de la milice canadienne pour repousser les Américains. Lors des batailles, les dirigeants des Premières Nations, dont John Brant et John Norton, commandent les troupes britanniques alors que leurs confrères participent aux raids contre les Américains, en plus de jouer les guides et les éclaireurs.

Au début de 1812, les Britanniques concluent des alliances militaires avec les Premières Nations qui leur permettent de remporter plusieurs batailles importantes, malgré des troupes américaines plus imposantes. En octobre, les guerriers des Six Nations et des Delaware aident à contenir les troupes américaines en dépit de la mort du major-général Brock à la bataille de Queenston Heights. Les Premières Nations paient le prix de cette guerre: de nombreux guerriers meurent au front.

En 1813, des troupes américaines bien préparées prennent Fort George, pendant que 1 700 autres soldats s'emparent de York, malgré la présence de 800 soldats britanniques, membres de la milice et guerriers des Premières Nations. En juin 1813, 500 soldats américains sont envoyés pour capturer les 50 soldats britanniques et 400 guerriers des Premières Nations composant l'équipe de raid britannique. Cependant, dans la bataille de Beaver Dams, les guerriers des Premières Nations, provenant majoritairement des Six Nations, de Kahnawake, d'Akwesasne et de Kanesatake, sous le commandement de John Norton, chef de guerre des Six Nations, capturent ces soldats américains lors d'une embuscade audacieuse. Cette victoire britannique, et celles qui ont suivi en 1813, permettent à la Grande-Bretagne de regagner le contrôle d'une grande partie du Niagara.

En 1814, dernière année et la plus sanglante de la guerre, les guerriers des Premières Nations sont actifs dans toute la région, notamment pendant les batailles de Fort Chippawa et de Lundy's Lane en juillet et à l'automne, pendant le long siège de Fort Érié.

Campagne du Saint-Laurent

Pendant que les batailles font rage dans la région des Grands Lacs, les troupes américaines se dirigent vers le nord-ouest pour s'emparer de Montréal et empêcher les renforts britanniques d'atteindre la région du Niagara. Après une série d'affrontements maritimes sur le lac Champlain, deux unités américaines arrivent à Montréal à l'automne 1813.

Fin octobre, les guerriers mohawks, hurons, abénakis et les Voltigeurs des Canadiens-français, tous sous la direction de Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry, repoussent 3 000 soldats américains de la première vague d'invasion à Châteauguay. Une deuxième unité américaine remontant le Saint-Laurent est retardée et attaquée, à plusieurs reprises, par un groupe de guerriers mohawks et algonquins et les Voltigeurs. Le 11 novembre 1813, les troupes britanniques rencontrent les Américains à Crysler's Farm. Après une bataille sanglante, les Britanniques, les Premières Nations et la milice forcent les Américains à retraiter et à abandonner l'idée de s'emparer de Montréal.

Grandes batailles

1812

  • 18 juin – Déclaration de guerre
  • 17 juillet – Fort Mackinac
  • 15 août – Fort Dearborn (Chicago)
  • 16 août – Fort Detroit
  • 3-6 septembre – Sièges dans l'Ouest
  • 13 octobre – Queenston Heights

1813

  • 22 janvier – Frenchtown
  • 27 avril – York (Toronto)
  • 28 avril - 9 mai – Fort Meigs
  • 25-27 mai – Fort George (Niagara)
  • 6 juin – Stoney Creek
  • 24 juin – Beaver Dams
  • 2 août – Fort Stephenson (Ohio)
  • 5 octobre – Thames (Moraviantown)
  • 26 octobre – Châteauguay
  • 11 novembre – Crysler's Farm
  • 19 décembre – Fort Niagara

1814

  • 4 mars – Longwoods
  • 3 juillet – Fort Erie
  • 5 juillet – Chippawa
  • 17-20 juillet – Prairie du Chien
  • 25 juillet – Lundy's Lane
  • 4-5 août – Michilimackinac
  • 15 août – Fort Erie
  • 5 novembre – Niagara Peninsula
  • 24 décembre – Traité de Gand

Pour commander l'affiche/carte des contributions autochtones à la guerre de 1812, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

Informations additionelles :

Date de modification :