War of 1812 Postcards

Tecumseh

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: 6276-000-BB-A1

PDF Version (993 Kb, 2 Pages)

Techumseh, Shawnee Warrior, courtesy of Canadian Heritage

Tecumseh, Shawnee War Chief (1768-1813)

Tecumseh was a Shawnee chief and leader of a large tribal confederacy that opposed American territorial expansion. Following an American attack on his supporters at Tippecanoe in 1811, Tecumseh joined the British against the Americans in the War of 1812. Tecumseh and the 2000 warriors under his command fought throughout the Western campaign of the war. His support of Major-General Sir Isaac Brock at the capture of Detroit secured this British victory. It is said that Tecumseh rode into Detroit beside Brock and that Brock gave the Shawnee chief his own sash as a mark of respect. Tecumseh was killed in October 1813 at the Battle of the Thames (Moraviantown).

To order the Tecumseh postcard, go to the Publication Catalogue.

John Brant (Dekarihokenh, Ahyouwaeghs, Tekarihogen)

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: QS-6277-000-BB-A1

PDF Version (666 Kb, 2 Pages)

Ahyouwaeghs, Six Nations Chief, Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1970-189-19. Coverdale Collection of Canadiana

John Brant, Mohawk War Chief (1794-1832)

John Brant, son of Mohawk leader Joseph Brant, was a leading figure of the Six Nations of the Grand River. Throughout the War of 1812, Brant played an active role as war chief and warrior. Alongside Six Nations War Chief John Norton, Brant worked to recruit Six Nations warriors to fight alongside Major-General Sir Isaac Brock. Before his 20th birthday, Brant had led warriors during the Battles of Queenston Heights, Fort George, and Beaver Dams. Following the war, Brant was commissioned as a lieutenant in the Indian Department and appointed Indian superintendent to the Six Nations.

To order the John Brant postcard, go to the Publication Catalogue.

Métis Fighters in the War of 1812

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: QS-6278-000-BB-A1

PDF Version (1.02 Mb, 2 Pages)

Canadian Corps of Voyageurs, John Robertson, 1974

Métis Fighters in the War of 1812

Throughout the War of 1812, Metis fighters played an active and vital role in the defence of Upper Canada. Metis fighters, along with French-Canadian voyageurs employed by the North-West Company, volunteered to take up arms against the American invaders. The Metis initially served as members of the Corps of Canadian Voyageurs and later the Commissariat Voyageurs, a corps created to arm Metis and French-Canadian voyageurs. The Metis participated in several key battles such as the Battle of Fort Mackinac and raids in American territories, while maintaining trade and transporting supplies throughout British territory.

To order the Metis Fighters in the War of 1812 postcard, go to the Publication Catalogue.

John Norton (Teyoninhokarawen or "the Snipe")

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: QS-6281-000-BB-A1

PDF Version (875 Kb, 2 Pages)

Major John Norton, Teyoninhokarawen, the Mohawk Chief. Library and Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 2836984

John Norton (Teyoninhokarawen or "the Snipe"), Six Nations War Chief (ca. 1765-1831)

John Norton, son of a Cherokee father and Scottish mother, joined the British Army as a young man and served in British North America. After deserting the army, he was adopted by the Mohawk Nation and rose to become a diplomat and war chief. During the War of 1812, Norton recruited Six Nations and Delaware warriors to assist Major-General Sir Isaac Brock on the Niagara frontier, where they played a key role in the defeat of the Americans at Queenston Heights. Along with Six Nations War Chief John Brant, Norton commanded warriors at the battles of Fort George, Stoney Creek and Beaver Dams.

To order the John Norton postcard, go to the Publication Catalogue.

Chief Oshawana (John Naudee)

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: QS-6282-000-BB-A1

PDF Version (760 Kb, 2 Pages)

Chief Oshawana (John Naudee), Tecumseh’s chief warrior at the battle of the River Thames. Library and Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 3358509.

Chief Oshawana (John Naudee), Walpole Island

From Walpole Island on Lake St. Claire, Oshawana, also known as John Naudee, had close links throughout both British and American territories. A long-time supporter of Tecumseh's efforts to create a strong confederacy against the Americans, Oshawana participated in several battles on the Western Frontier such as Frenchtown, Fort Detroit and Fort Meigs alongside numerous warriors from Walpole Island. He was often described as Tecumseh's chief warrior. After the death of Tecumseh at the Battle of the Thames, Oshawana became the principal First Nation warrior of southwestern Upper Canada and continued to support the British until the very end of the war.

To order the Chief Oshawana postcard, go to the Publication Catalogue.

Wabasha (Waa-Pa-Shaw IV)

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012 
QS-: QS-6283-000-BB-A1

PDF Version (616 Kb, 2 Pages)

Waa-pa-shaw, a Sioux Chief. Library and Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 2946953

Wabasha (Waa-Pa-Shaw IV), Dakota, Captain and War Chief (ca. 1765/77-1836)

Wabasha, also known as Waa-Pa-Shaw IV, was chief of a Kiowa tribe of the Mdewakanton and was highly respected by the Dakota. Called to support the British against American aggressions, Wabasha led a strong contingent of Dakota warriors to Fort St. Joseph near Sault Ste. Marie. Alongside other First Nation warriors, Wabasha participated in key battles during the War of 1812, including the Battle of Fort Mackinac and Fort Meigs, as well as others throughout the western frontier. After the Treaty of Ghent, Wabasha continued to be an important spokesperson for the Dakota and his people's rights against growing American expansionism.

To order the Wabasha postcard, go to the Publication Catalogue.

Date modified:

Cartes postales de la guerre de 1812

Tecumseh

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012
QS- : QS-6276-000-BB-A1

Version PDF (993 Ko, 2 Pages)

Techumseh, chef de guerre shawnee, avec la permission de Patrimoine canadien

Tecumseh, chef de guerre shawnee (1768-1813)

Chef de guerre shawnee, Tecumseh dirigeait une grande confédération tribale qui s'opposait à l'expansion territoriale américaine. Après l'attaque américaine contre ses alliés à Tippecanoe en 1811, il se joint aux Britanniques pendant la guerre de 1812. Tecumseh et ses 2 000 guerriers combattent pendant toute la campagne de l'Ouest. Son appui au major-général Sir Isaac Brock assure la victoire aux Britanniques lors de la prise de Détroit. On raconte que Tecumseh a fait son entrée à Détroit aux côtés du major-général Brock : ce dernier lui  aurait remis sa ceinture en signe de respect. Tecumseh est tué en octobre 1813, lors de  la bataille de Thames (Moraviantown).

Pour commander la carte postale de Tecumseh, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

John Brant (aussi appelé Dekarihokenh, Ahyouwaeghs, Tekarihogen)

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012
QS- : QS-6277-000-BB-A1

Version PDF (666 Ko, 2 Pages)

Ahyouwaeghs, chef des Six Nations, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, no. d’acc. 1970 189 19, Collection W.H. Coverdale de Canadiana.

John Brant, chef de guerre mohawk (1794-1832)

Fils du chef mohawk Joseph Brant, John Brant fut une figure dominante des Six Nations de la rivière Grand. Tout au long de la guerre de 1812, John Brant est actif en tant que chef de guerre et guerrier. Avec le chef de guerre des Six Nations, John Norton, il recrute des guerriers de Six Nations pour combattre aux côtés du major-général Sir Isaac Brock. Avant même de célébrer son 20e anniversaire, John Brant a commandé des guerriers aux batailles de Queenston Heights, de Fort George et de Beaver Dams. À la fin de la guerre, il est nommé lieutenant au Département des Indiens, puis surintendant des Indiens pour les Six Nations.

Pour commander la carte postale de John Brant, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

Les guerriers métis pendant la guerre de 1812

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012
QS- : QS-6278-000-BB-A1

Version PDF (1,02 Mo, 2 Pages)

Corps des Voyageurs canadiens, John Robertson, 1974

Les guerriers métis pendant la guerre de 1812

Actifs tout au long de la guerre de 1812, les combattants métis jouent un rôle primordial dans la défense du Haut-Canada. Les Métis, ainsi que les Canadiens-français du Corps des voyageurs embauchés par la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, se portent volontaires pour combattre les envahisseurs américains. Les Métis servent d'abord dans le Corps des Voyageurs (qui deviendra Corps des Voyageurs du Commissariat), créé spécialement pour armer les voyageurs métis et canadiens-français. Les Métis participent à plusieurs grandes batailles, notamment celle de Fort Mackinac, ainsi qu'à des raids en territoire américain tout en faisant du commerce et en transportant des provisions dans l'ensemble du territoire britannique.

Pour commander la carte postale des guerriers metis pendant la guerre de 1812, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

John Norton (Teyoninhokarawen dit « The Snipe »)

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012 
QS- : QS-6281-000-BB-A1

Version PDF (875 Ko, 2 Pages)

Le major John Norton, Teyoninhokarawen, le chef mohawk. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 2836984.

John Norton (Teyoninhokarawen dit « The Snipe »), chef de guerre des Six Nations (v. 1765-1831)

Né d'un père cherokee et d'une mère écossaise, John Norton s'engage dans l'armée pendant sa jeunesse et sert l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Il déserte l'armée et est adopté par la Nation des Mohawks, et devient diplomate et chef de guerre. Pendant la guerre de 1812, John Norton recrute des guerriers des Six Nations et des Delaware pour aider le major-général Sir Isaac Brock sur la frontière du Niagara. Ces guerriers jouent un rôle crucial dans la défaite américaine à Queenston Heights. Avec le chef de guerre des Six Nations, John Brant, John Norton commande des guerriers aux batailles de Fort George, de Stoney Creek et de Beaver Dams.

Pour commander la carte postale de John Norton, consultez le Catalogue des publications.


Le chef Oshawana (John Naudee)

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012 
QS- : QS-6282-000-BB-A1

Version PDF (760 Ko, 2 Pages)

Le chef Oshawana (John Naudee), principal guerrier de Tecumseh, lors de la bataille de la Thames. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 3358509.

Le chef Oshawana (John Naudee), Walpole Island

Originaire de Walpole Island sur le lac Sainte-Claire, Oshawana, aussi connu sous le nom de John Naudee, entretenait des liens étroits avec des gens partout sur le territoire des Britanniques et des Américains. Oshawana, qui appuyait depuis longtemps les efforts de Tecumseh visant à créer une confédération solide pour résister aux Américains, a participé à plusieurs batailles sur la frontière occidentale, notamment à Frenchtown, à Fort Detroit et à Fort Meigs où il s'est battu aux côtés de nombreux guerriers de Walpole Island. Il a souvent été décrit comme le principal guerrier de Tecumseh. Après la mort de ce dernier à la bataille de la Thames, Oshawana est devenu le plus important guerrier autochtone du sud-ouest du Haut-Canada et il a continué d'appuyer les troupes britanniques jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.

Pour commander la carte postale de chef Oshawana, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

Wabasha (Waa-Pa-Shaw IV)

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012 
QS- : QS-6283-000-BB-A1

Version PDF (616 Ko, 2 Pages)

Waa-pa-shaw, chef sioux. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 2946953

Wabasha (Waa-Pa-Shaw IV), Dakota, capitaine et chef de guerre (v. 1765/77-1836)

Wabasha, aussi connu sous le nom de Waa-Pa-Shaw IV, était le chef d'une tribu Kiowa des Mdewakanton et était très respecté par les Dakota. Appelé en renfort par les Britanniques pour contrer les agressions américaines, Wabasha a mené un puissant contingent de guerriers dakota jusqu'à Fort St. Joseph, situé près de Sault Ste. Marie. Wabasha, aux côtés d'autres guerriers des Premières Nations, a participé à des batailles clés de la guerre de 1812, y compris à la bataille de Fort Mackinac et à celle de Fort Meigs, ainsi qu'à d'autres batailles le long de la frontière occidentale. Après la signature du Traité de Gand, Wabasha a continué d'être un important porte-parole des Dakota et a défendu les droits de son peuple contre l'expansionnisme croissant des Américains.

Pour commander la carte postale de Wabasha, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

Date de modification :