Aboriginal Contributions to the War of 1812

Banner - War of 1812

Throughout Canada's history, Aboriginal peoples have helped shape this land into the country we know today. Before Canada became a country, Britain's military alliances with First Nations were a key part of the defensive network of British North America. During the War of 1812, First Nations warriors and Métis fighters played important roles in the defence of these British territories against invading American forces. Thousands of First Nations warriors and Métis fighters fought beside British troops and Canadian settler militias during the war. These Aboriginal allies were often accompanied by officials from the Indian Department who spoke Aboriginal languages and who could help First Nations war chiefs and British military commanders speak to each other.

In October 1812, Six Nations and Delaware warriors helped hold off invading American troops, despite the death of General Brock at the Battle of Queenston Heights. Credit: Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1954-153-1.
Battle of Queenston Heights

First Nations and Métis communities sided with the British during the war because they shared a common goal: to resist American expansion. More than 10,000 First Nations warriors from the Great Lakes region and the St. Lawrence Valley participated in nearly every major battle. For British military leaders such as Major-General Sir Isaac Brock, commander of Britain's forces, First Nations warriors strengthened local garrisons and were seen as exceptional fighters.

In Canada, the war was fought on three main fronts: in the Western Great Lakes region, the Niagara region and the St. Lawrence region. In each region First Nations warriors helped repel the invading American forces. First Nations warriors from the Ojibwa and Dakota fought at the Battle of Michilimackinac. The Ojibwa, Odawa, Pottawatomi and Shawnee fought at the capture of Detroit. Six Nations warriors fought during the battles of Queenston Heights and Beaver Dams. The Algonquin, Mohawk, Huron and Abenaki fought at the Battle of Châteauguay. According to several British commanders, these important battles were won in large part because of the participation of their Aboriginal allies.

More Information and Products to Download

You May Also Be Interested In:

Les contributions des Autochtones à la guerre de 1812

Bannière : la guerre de 1812

Les Autochtones ont marqué l'histoire canadienne, contribuant à transformer notre territoire en ce pays que nous chérissons aujourd'hui. Avant que le Canada ne devienne un pays, les alliances militaires conclues entre l'Angleterre et les Premières Nations constituèrent un élément clé du réseau de défense de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Pendant la guerre de 1812, les guerriers métis et des Premières Nations jouent un rôle crucial dans la défense de ces terres contre l'invasion américaine. Des milliers de ces guerriers combattent aux côtés des troupes britanniques et de la milice canadienne. Souvent, des représentants du Département des Indiens qui maîtrisent des langues autochtones accompagnent les alliés autochtones pour faciliter la communication entre les chefs de guerre des Premières Nations et les commandants britanniques.

En octobre 1812, les guerriers des Six Nations et des Delaware aident à repousser l'invasion des troupes américaines malgré le décès du général Brock à la bataille de Queenston Heights. Crédit : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, no d'entrée 1954-153-1.
La bataille de Queenston Heights

Lors de la guerre de 1812, les collectivités métisses et des Premières Nations s'allient aux Britanniques en raison de leur objectif commun : résister à l'expansion américaine. Plus de 10 000 guerriers des Premières Nations de la région des Grands Lacs et de la vallée du Saint-Laurent participent à presque toutes les grandes batailles de la guerre. Aux yeux des dirigeants militaires comme le major-général Sir Isaac Brock, commandant des forces britanniques, les guerriers des Premières Nations sont des combattants exceptionnels et de véritables atouts pour les garnisons locales.

Au Canada, la guerre se déroule sur trois grands fronts : à l'ouest des Grands Lacs, dans la région du Niagara et dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent. Dans chaque région, les guerriers des Premières Nations aident à repousser les troupes américaines. Des guerriers des Premières Nations ojibwe et dakota combattent pendant la bataille de Michilimackinac tandis que les Ojibwe, les Odawa, les Pottawatomi et les Shawnee participent aux combats lors de la prise de Détroit. Les guerriers des Six Nations prennent part aux batailles de Queenston Heights et de Beaver Dams. Les Algonquins, les Mohawks, les Hurons et les Abénakis participent à la bataille de Châteauguay. Selon plusieurs commandants britanniques, ces victoires importantes sont en grande partie attribuables à la contribution des alliés autochtones.  

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements et télécharger des produits

Autres liens d'intérêt :