ARCHIVED - First Nations Land Management Signing Ceremony

Archive: This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

More and more First Nations are beginning to realize the economic development benefits that come from direct management of their reserve lands. On April 13, 2012, 18 First Nations from across Canada signed on to the Framework Agreement on First Nation Land Management, which allows First Nations to move beyond the Indian Act to assume control over their reserve land, resources and environment.

Transcript: First Nations Land Management Signing Ceremony

Voiceover narration:

On April 13, 2012, the Government of Canada and Chiefs of the First Nations Lands Advisory Board and Resource Centre held a special signing ceremony at the Museum of Civilization marking the addition of 18 First Nations from across Canada to the Framework Agreement on First Nation Land Management.

This agreement enables First Nations to assume greater control over their lands, resources and environment leading to greater economic development opportunities for their communities.

The Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development:

On January 23, our Government announced the names of 18 First Nations that were selected to join the FNLM regime allowing them to assume greater control over their reserve lands and resources. More important, it gives them greater control over their future.

Voiceover narration:

The Government of Canada committed to reallocating $20 million over two years to allow more First Nations to opt into the Agreement. First Nations who sign on to the Framework Agreement are opting out of the land management laws of the Indian Act in order to develop their own laws related to land and resource development. The regime has had proven success in spurring economic development on First Nations lands.

Chief Robert Louie, Chair of the First Nations Lands Advisory Board:

The benefits of governmental decision-making, I think, are very, very clear. Economic self-sufficiency. We've shown through studies, the KPMG study for example, that hundreds of millions of dollars have been generated as investment onto First Nations

Chief Anne Louie, Williams Lake Indian Band, BC:

It represents almost freedom, getting into self-governance away from the Indian Act so that we can manage our own lands so that our people can become prosperous and develop economically.

Kevin Littlelight, Nation Administrator, Tsuu T'ina Nation, Alberta:

It is a welcomed opportunity for us to enjoy what the rest of Canada and Canadians enjoy, and that is the jurisdiction and freedom to promote themselves in an economic fashion.

Chief Robert Louie, Chair of the First Nations Lands Advisory Board:

Well, it represents a day in history that we can now give support and give congratulations to 18 First Nations who have been added to the signatory list. They're signatories now to the Framework Agreement. They have an opportunity to proceed with their land code development and I know these communities have been waiting a long time to be involved and so this is history in the making because they now have that opportunity and I'm so proud and so honoured that this is now taking place.

ARCHIVÉE - Cérémonie de signature de l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des Premières Nations

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

De plus en plus de Premières Nations prennent conscience des avantages économiques générés par la gestion directe de leurs terres de réserve. Le 13 avril 2012, 18 Premières Nations de partout au Canada ont signé l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des Premières Nations, leurs permettant ainsi d'aller au-delà de la Loi sur les Indiens et d'assumer le contrôle sur leurs terres de réserve, les ressources et l'environnement.

Transcription : Cérémonie de signature de l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des Premières Nations

Narrateur (voix hors champ) :

Le 13 avril 2012, le gouvernement du Canada et les chefs du Conseil consultatif des terres des Premières nations et du Centre de ressources sur la gestion des terres des Premières nations ont tenu une cérémonie de signature spéciale au Musée canadien des civilisations afin de marquer l'adhésion de 18 Premières Nations de partout au Canada à l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des premières nations.

L'Accord-cadre confère aux Premières Nations un meilleur contrôle sur leurs terres, leurs ressources et leur environnement, ce qui génère de meilleures possibilités de développement économique pour leurs collectivités.

L'honorable John Duncan, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord :

Le 23 janvier, notre gouvernement a annoncé le nom des 18 Premières Nations sélectionnées pour se joindre au Régime de gestion des terres des Premières Nations, ce qui leur permettra d'assurer un plus grand contrôle sur leurs terres de réserve et leurs ressources. Plus important encore, ce régime leur offre un plus grand contrôle sur leur avenir.

Narrateur (voix hors champ) :

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à investir 20 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour permettre à davantage de Premières Nations d'adhérer à l'Accord-cadre. Les Premières Nations signataires se soustraient ainsi à l'application des articles sur la gestion des terres contenus dans la Loi sur les Indiens pour rédiger leurs propres lois en matière de gestion des terres et des ressources. Le régime a fait ses preuves pour ce qui est de stimuler le développement économique sur les terres des Premières Nations.

Chef Robert Louie, Président du Conseil consultatif des terres des Premières nations :

Les avantages des processus décisionnels gouvernementaux sont, je crois, très très évidents. L'autonomie économique. Diverses études, par exemple celle de KPMG, ont montré que des investissements de centaines de millions de dollars avaient été réalisés sur les terres des Premières Nations qui sont autonomes. Ce facteur favorise l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Chef Anne Louie, Bande indienne de Williams Lake :

On parle de quasi-liberté, d'obtention d'une autonomie à l'extérieur de la Loi sur les Indiens de manière à pouvoir gérer nos propres terres afin que nos membres puissent prospérer et se développer sur le plan économique.

Kevin Littlelight, Administrateur, Nation de Tsuu T'ina (Alberta) :

Nous saluons la chance qui nous est offerte de jouir de cette possibilité dont bénéficient le reste des Canadiens, c'est-à-dire la compétence et la liberté de se faire valoir sur le plan économique.

Chef Robert Louie, Président du Conseil consultatif des terres des Premières nations :

Bien, il s'agit d'une journée historique. Nous pouvons maintenant appuyer et féliciter les 18 Premières Nations qui se sont ajoutées à la liste des signataires de l'Accord-cadre. Elles ont maintenant la possibilité d'élaborer leur propre code foncier. Je sais que ces collectivités attendent depuis longtemps l'occasion de participer à ce processus. L'histoire est en train de s'écrire pour elles, et je suis fier et honoré de voir cette possibilité se concrétiser.

Date de modification :