Registered Indian Population, Household and Family Projections, 2009-2034

Author: Statistics and Measurement Directorate, AANDC
Catalogue: R5-5/2012E-PDF
ISBN: 978-1-100-20410-9
QS: QS-7086-010-EE-A1

PDF Version   (912 Kb, 1 Page)

 


Table of Contents




Introduction

Demographic projections are an important tool used by government and other organizations in planning for a wide range of services such as health care needs, education services, family services, infrastructure requirements, and a variety of other community services. Based on recent data and research, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) has updated the projections for the Registered Indian population, households and families to span the 25-year period from 2009 to 2034.




Projection Model and Components

The population projection model is based on the traditional cohort-component method. 'Registered Indian' refers to persons registered under the Indian Act. The baseline population is according to the Indian Registry System as at December 31, 2009, adjusted for late- and under-reporting of births and deaths. The model includes the traditional growth components of fertility, mortality and migration. It also includes non-traditional factors of growth specific to this population brought about through the 1985 and 2010 amendments to the Indian Act. [Note 1] These include reinstatement of status and newly entitled registrations as well as male fertility and exogamous parenting (i.e. parenting between a Registered Indian and non-registered individual) as they relate to the Indian Act status inheritance provisions and children's entitlement to registration. The projections also account for the creation of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation in Newfoundland in 2011.

Three projections scenarios were developed and reflect slow, medium and rapid growth possibilities of future demographic trends. The majority of the results highlighted in this analysis are according to the medium growth scenario, which is most consistent with recent trends and is based on the following assumptions:

  • Moderate decline in female and male fertility rates;
  • Moderate improvement in life expectancy at birth;
  • Moderate decline in the volume of net migration to reserves;
  • Declining rate of status reinstatements and number of newly entitled registrations under the 1985 and 2010 Indian Act amendments; and
  • Constant rate of exogamous parenting.

In addition to the Registered Indian population, projections around growth of the non-registered descendant and non-registered non-descendant populations are also available. This is particularly significant as the composition of the on-reserve population will potentially change over time. [Note 2]

It is important to note that these projections are based on 2009 Indian Register data and the underlying assumptions are based on information available at the time of development. These projections are subject to revision as new information becomes available.






Growth of the Registered Indian Population, 2009-2034

Under the medium growth scenario, the Registered Indian population could increase by 43%, from 840,300 in 2009 to 1,202,000 in 2034. Depending on the projection scenario, the Registered Indian population could be as low as 1,148,000 or as high as 1,229,100 by 2034 (increases of 37% and 46%, respectively).

Higher growth is estimated to occur on reserve than off reserve. The on-reserve Registered Indian population could grow by 45% under the medium growth scenario, from 463,400 in 2009 to 672,900 in 2034 (Figure 1).

Lower Registered Indian population growth off reserve is attributed to lower fertility rates and higher rates of exogamous parenting; however, it is still estimated to be significant. Between 2009 and 2034, the off-reserve population is estimated to grow by 40% under the medium growth scenario, from 377,000 to 529,200.

Figure 1 - Projected Registered Indian Population (in Thousands) by Residency, Canada, 2009-2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)

The highest average annual growth is estimated to occur during the first five years of the projection period and especially off reserve (Table 1). Specifically, average annual growth is estimated at 2.1% on reserve and 4.5% off reserve. These higher rates reflect newly entitled registrations associated with the 2010 Indian Act amendments through the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act and also the creation of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation in Newfoundland in 2011. [Note 3]

Over the remainder of the projection, average annual growth of the Registered Indian population is estimated to decline due to decreasing fertility rates, decreasing status reinstatements and newly entitled registrations, and increasing numbers of non-registered descendants. By 2029-2034, average annual growth of the Registered Indian population is projected to decline to 1.0% on reserve and 0.5% off reserve. However, the on-reserve Registered Indian population could still be growing at a faster rate than the general Canadian population, according to the medium growth scenario.

Table 1: Projected Average Annual Growth Rate of the Registered Indian and Total Canadian Populations, Canada, 2009-2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)
  Registered Indian  
Year On Reserve
(Including Crown Land)
Off Reserve Total Canadian Population *
* Statistics Canada, Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories 2009–2036 (Medium Growth Scenario M1), Catalogue no. 91-520-X.
2009–2014 2.1 4.5 3.2 1.1
2014–2019 1.8 0.8 1.3 1.1
2019–2024 1.5 0.6 1.1 1.0
2024–2029 1.2 0.5 0.9 0.9
2029–2034 1.0 0.5 0.8 0.8

Regional variances in fertility rates, exogamous parenting rates, migration, and new population additions through the 2010 amendments to the Indian Act contribute to regional on- and off-reserve differences in projected Registered Indian population growth. Between 2009 and 2034, Registered Indian population growth is estimated to be positive in all regions, both on and off reserve. The most significant growth is estimated to occur in the Atlantic region with the total Registered Indian population estimated to more than double from 35,100 in 2009 to 94,200 in 2034. Most of this growth occurs among the off-reserve population and is associated with the creation of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation (Figure 2).

Population growth is also estimated to be significant in the Prairie Provinces which are home to almost half of the Registered Indian population. Saskatchewan is projected to have the highest on-reserve Registered Indian population growth (59% increase) while Alberta is projected to have the highest off-reserve Registered Indian population growth (57% increase). By 2034, however, Ontario could continue to have the largest Registered Indian population across all provinces and territories at over 230,000.

Figure 2 - Projected Registered Indian Population by Residency* and Region, 2009 and 2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)






Age Structure of the Registered Indian Population

The Registered Indian population is young, with an estimated median age of 24 years on reserve and 30 years off reserve in 2009. In comparison, median age of the Canadian population is estimated to be 40 years in 2009 (Statistics Canada, Catalogue no. 91-520-X).

The Registered Indian population could age somewhat over the next couple of decades, attributed to declining fertility rates, modest improvements in life expectancy, and increasing numbers of non-registered descendants (Figure 3). By 2034, median age of the Registered Indian population is estimated to rise to 33 years on reserve and 37 years off reserve. However, both the on- and off-reserve Registered Indian populations are still considerably more youthful than the general Canadian population, with median age projected to be 43 years in 2034 (Statistics Canada, Catalogue no. 91-520-X).

Regionally, the Registered Indian population is most youthful in the Prairies during the entire projection period (Table 2).

Figure 3 - Age-Gender Pyramid for the Registered Indian and Total Canadian Populations, Canada, 2009 and 2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)

Table 2: Projected Median Age of the Registered Indian Population, Regions and Canada, 2009 and 2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)
Region 2009 2034
Median Age refers to the age at which one half of the population is older and the other half is younger.
ATL. 28 years 34 years
QUE. 31 years 37 years
ONT. 32 years 41 years
MAN. 23 years 30 years
SASK. 22 years 31 years
ALTA. 23 years 31 years
B.C. 30 years 38 years
YUK. 34 years 42 years
N.W.T. 27 years 37 years
CANADA 27 years 35 years

Working–Age Population

Between 2009 and 2034, it is projected that, on average, almost 18,000 Registered Indians will turn 15 years old each year, coming of age to enter the labour force population (over 10,000 on reserve and 7,000 off reserve). During the overall projection, this amounts to over 450,000 Registered Indians that could enter the labour force.

Figure 4 illustrates that the overall size of the Registered Indian population of working age (i.e. 15-64 years) is estimated to increase from 545,700 in 2009 to 793,500 in 2034 (45% increase) with higher growth on reserve (52%) compared to off reserve (37%).

Figure 4 - Projected Registered Indian Population Aged 15—64 (in Thousands) by Residency, Canada, 2009 to 2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)

Regionally, the Registered Indian working-age population could almost triple in the Atlantic region over the projection period, as a result of the additions to the population in this region associated with the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation (Table 3). Given the observed and projected youthful age structure in the Prairies, it is not surprising that Registered Indian working-age population growth is also projected to be high in these regions with 65% growth in Alberta, 61% growth in Saskatchewan, and 57% growth in Manitoba. However, in terms of the estimated population size, Ontario is projected to continue to have the largest number of Registered Indian working-age individuals (151,600 in 2034).

Table 3: Projected Registered Indian Population aged 15–64 by Residency and Region, 2009–2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)
  On Reserve (including Crown Land)* Off Reserve
Region 2009 2034 2009 2034
* In Yukon and the Northwest Territories, the majority of individuals defined as residing 'on reserve (including crown lands)' reside on crown lands, according to the Indian Registry System
ATL. 14,000 22,000 9,100 37,800
QUE. 33,900 48,900 15,300 16,300
ONT. 58,500 77,600 67,000 74,000
MAN. 51,600 84,600 34,100 50,300
SASK. 40,700 72,300 44,700 65,000
ALTA. 42,400 69,100 26,200 43,800
B.C. 41,400 59,000 48,800 49,600
YUK. 2,800 2,600 3,300 4,000
N.W.T. 8,200 11,300 3,800 5,200






Growth of the Non-Registered Descendant Population, 2009–2034

Increases are projected to occur over time in the number of children born to Registered Indians who will not be entitled to registration. The majority of these individuals reside off reserve, increasing from 122,800 in 2009 to 196,700 in 2034 (by 60%). However, growth is estimated to occur more rapidly on reserve, rising from 7,100 in 2009 to 92,500 by 2034 (13-fold increase), based on the medium growth scenario.

Composition of the On-Reserve Population

The Registered Indian share of the total on-reserve population is estimated to decrease by 11 percentage points between 2009 and 2034, almost all of which is associated with a corresponding increase in the non-registered descendant share (Figure 5).

Figure 5 - Projected Composition of the On-Reserve Population, Canada, 2009 and 2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)

Total Working-Age Population On Reserve

As a result of rapid non-registered population growth on reserve, the potential labour force population living on reserve could include an increasing proportion of non-registered individuals. The total working-age population (i.e. 15-64 years) living on reserve, including Registered Indians, non-registered descendants and non-registered non-descendants, is estimated to number 326,500 in 2009, of which about 10% are non-registered individuals. According to the medium growth scenario, the working-age on-reserve total population could number 544,600 in 2034 (67% increase) and the proportion accounted for by all non-registered individuals could be 18%, almost double the proportion in 2009 (Figure 6).

Figure 6 - Projected On-Reserve Populations Aged 15–64 Years (in Thousands), Canada, 2009–2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)






Registered Indian Household Projections, 2009-2034

The number of Registered Indian households could increase from 315,800 in 2009 to 503,600 in 2034 (59% increase), based on the medium growth scenario. The slow and rapid growth scenarios suggest that the number of Registered Indian households could be as low as 482,800 or as high as 524,400 by 2034.

While the number of Registered Indian households is consistently higher off reserve, higher growth is projected to occur on reserve (Figure 7). Regionally, household growth is projected to occur most rapidly in the Atlantic region, associated with the creation of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation, and in the Prairies, consistent with high population growth in those regions.

Figure 7 - Projected Registered Indian Households (in Thousands) by Residency, Canada, 2009–2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)






Registered Indian Family Projections, 2009-2034

The number of Registered Indian families is estimated to grow from 266,500 in 2009 to 428,500 in 2034 (61% increase), based on medium growth assumptions. Depending on the scenario, the number of families could range from a low of 402,300 to a high of 454,600 by 2034.

If recent trends continue, the number of lone-parent families on reserve could increase by 89%, almost doubling from 45,800 in 2009 to 86,300 in 2034. Off reserve, the number of lone-parent families is projected to increase by 73%, from 40,400 in 2009 to 70,000 in 2034. According to recent data, the majority of lone-parent families are headed by a female (about 74% on reserve and 85% off reserve).

Table 4: Projected Registered Indian Families (in Thousands) by Family Type and Residency, Canada, 2009—2034 (Medium Growth Scenario)
  On Reserve
(including Crown Land)
Off Reserve Total
Year Two Parents Lone Parent Total Families Two Parents Lone Parent Total Families Two Parents Lone Parent Total Families
* Counts are expressed in thousands and rounded to the nearest tenth. However, percentage growth is calculated using unrounded data.
2009 75.9 45.8 121.7 104.4 40.4 144.8 180.4 86.1 266.5
2014 84.6 52.7 137.3 130.3 49.7 179.9 214.9 102.4 317.2
2019 93.3 60.5 153.9 137.7 54.2 191.9 231.1 114.7 345.8
2024 102.2 69.5 171.7 144.9 59.7 204.5 247.1 129.2 376.2
2029 109.4 78.2 187.6 150.8 64.8 215.6 260.2 142.9 403.1
2034 115.4 86.3 201.7 156.8 70.0 226.8 272.2 156.3 428.5
% Growth
2009–2034
52% 89% 66% 50% 73% 57% 51% 81% 61%

For more information on the Registered Indian Population, Household and Family Projections 2009-2034, call AANDC's Public Enquiries Contact Centre at 1-800-567-9604.






Footnotes:

  1. The 1985 Indian Act amendments were brought about through Bill C-31: An Act to Amend the Indian Act. The 2010 Indian Act amendments were brought about through Bill C-3: Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act(return to source paragraph)
  2. 'Non-registered descendant' refers to children born to the Registered Indian population who do not qualify for registration status under the Indian Act status inheritance provisions. 'Non-registered non-descendant' refers to other individuals residing on reserve who are neither registered nor are they children born to Registered Indians. (return to source paragraph)
  3. Most of the new population additions associated with the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act are estimated to be residing off reserve. (return to source paragraph)

Projections de la population, des ménages et des familles d'Indiens inscrits, 2009 à 2034

Auteur: Direction de la statistique et de la mesure, AADNC
Catalogue: R5-5/2012F-PDF
ISBN: 978-1-100-98969-3
QS: QS-7086-010-FF-A1

Version PDF   (912 Ko, 1 page)

 


Table des matières




Introduction

Outil précieux, les projections démographiques permettent aux gouvernements et aux autres organisations de prévoir les besoins à venir en matière de soins de santé, de services d'éducation, de services à la famille, d'infrastructures et de divers autres services communautaires. En se fondant sur les données et les travaux de recherche récents, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) ont mis à jour les projections pour la population, les ménages et les familles d'Indiens inscrits de manière à couvrir la période de 25 ans s'étalant de 2009 à 2034.




Modèle de projection et composantes

Le modèle de projection repose sur la méthode des composantes traditionnelles. L'expression « Indien inscrit » s'entend de toute personne inscrite en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens. La population de base provient du Registre des Indiens en date du 31 décembre 2009 et a été ajustée de manière à tenir compte des délais d'enregistrement et de la sous-déclaration des naissances et des décès. Ce modèle intègre les composantes de base de la croissance, comme la fécondité, la mortalité et la migration ainsi que certaines composantes de croissance non traditionnelles propres à la population indienne inscrite qui découlent des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens [Note 1] en 1985 et 2010, notamment le rétablissement du statut et les inscriptions nouvellement admissibles, la fécondité masculine et les unions mixtes avec enfant (c'est-à-dire les naissances découlant de l'union d'un Indien inscrit et d'une personne non inscrite). Ces composantes ont une incidence sur la transmission du statut conformément à la Loi sur les Indiens et sur le droit des enfants à l'inscription. Les projections tiennent également compte de la création de la Première Nation des Mi'kmaq qalipu à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, en 2011.

Trois scénarios ont été conçus pour illustrer trois vitesses de croissance démographique possibles, soit une croissance faible, modérée et élevée. La majorité des résultats exposés dans la présente analyse correspondent au scénario de croissance modérée, qui traduit le mieux les tendances récentes et s'appuie sur les hypothèses suivantes :

  • diminution modérée des taux de fécondité féminine et masculine;
  • amélioration modérée de l'espérance de vie à la naissance;
  • diminution modérée du volume de migration nette vers les réserves;
  • diminution du taux de recouvrement du statut et du nombre de demandeurs nouvellement admissibles à l'inscription aux termes des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens en 1985 et 2010;
  • taux constant d'union mixte avec enfant.

En plus des projections relatives à la population indienne inscrite, le modèle présente des projections relatives à l'augmentation du nombre de descendants non inscrits et de non-descendants non inscrits, puisque ces personnes influent sur la composition de la population des réserves au fil du temps [Note 2].

Il est important à noter que ces projections sont basées sur le Registre des Indiens en date de 2009 et les hypothèses ont été développées en utilisant l’information disponible au moment de l’élaboration. Les projections sont sujettes à révision lorsque de nouvelles informations deviennent disponibles.






Croissance de la population indienne inscrite de 2009 à 2034

Selon le scénario de croissance modérée, le nombre d'Indiens inscrits pourrait passer de 840 300 en 2009 à 1 202 000 en 2034 (augmentation de 43 %). Selon les autres scénarios, le nombre d'Indiens inscrits pourrait s'établir entre 1 148 000 et 1 229 100 d'ici 2034 (croissance respective de 37 % et de 46 %).

On estime que le taux de croissance sera plus élevé dans les réserves qu'à l'extérieur de celles-ci. Comme l'indique la figure 1, la population indienne inscrite des réserves pourrait augmenter de 45 % selon le scénario de croissance modérée, c'est-à-dire qu'elle passerait de 463 400 membres en 2009 à 672 900 en 2034.

Bien qu'il soit appréciable, le taux plus faible de croissance de la population indienne inscrite hors réserve est attribuable aux taux plus faibles de fécondité et aux taux plus élevés d'unions mixtes avec enfant. Selon le scénario de croissance modérée, entre 2009 et 2034, la population hors réserve devrait croître de 40 %, passant de 377 000 personnes à 529 200.

Figure 1 - Projection de la population indienne inscrite (en milliers) selon le lieu de résidence, Canada, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)

On prévoit enregistrer le plus fort taux de croissance annuel moyen au cours des cinq premières années de la période de projection, tout particulièrement hors réserve (tableau 1). Plus précisément, la croissance annuelle moyenne devrait s'établir à 2,1 % dans les réserves et à 4,5 % hors réserve. Ces taux de croissance tiennent compte, d'une part, du nombre de personnes nouvellement admissibles à l'inscription en raison des modifications apportées en 2010 à la Loi sur les Indiens par l'adoption de la Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens et, d'autre part, de la création de la Première Nation des Mi'kmaq qalipu, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, en 2011 [Note 3].

Pendant le reste de la période de projection, les taux de croissance annuels moyens de la population indienne inscrite devraient diminuer en raison d'une baisse de la fécondité, d'une diminution du taux de recouvrement du statut et du nombre de nouvelles inscriptions, et d'une hausse du nombre de descendants non inscrits. Entre 2009 et 2034, la croissance annuelle moyenne de la population indienne inscrite devrait chuter à 1,0 % dans les réserves et à 0,5 % hors réserve. Malgré cette baisse importante, les hypothèses supportées par le scénario de croissance modérée laissent supposer que la population indienne inscrite dans les réserves pourrait continuer de croître plus rapidement que le reste de la population canadienne en général.

Tableau 1: Projection de la croissance annuelle moyenne de la population indienne inscrite et de la population canadienne totale, Canada, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)
  Population indienne inscrite  
Année Dans les réserves
(y compris les terres de la Couronne)
Hors réserve Total Population canadienne *
* Statistique Canada, Projections démographiques pour le Canada, les provinces et les territoires, de 2009 à 2036 (scénario de croissance moyenne M1), Catalogue 91-520-X.
2009–2014 2,1 4,5 3,2 1,1
2014–2019 1,8 0,8 1,3 1,1
2019–2024 1,5 0,6 1,1 1,0
2024–2029 1,2 0,5 0,9 0,9
2029–2034 1,0 0,5 0,8 0,8

Les écarts régionaux relatifs aux taux de fécondité, d'unions mixtes avec enfant, de migration et d'ajouts découlant des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens en 2010 sont à la base des différences régionales dans la croissance future projetée de la population indienne inscrite à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves. Entre 2009 et 2034, cette croissance devrait s'avérer positive dans toutes les régions, tant dans les réserves qu'à l'extérieur. On s'attend à ce que la croissance la plus marquée ait lieu dans la région de l'Atlantique où le nombre total d'Indiens inscrits devrait passer de 35 100 en 2009 à 94 200 en 2034, soit plus du double. Cette croissance touche principalement la population hors réserve et est engendrée par la création de la Première Nation des Mi'kmaq qalipu (figure 2).

La croissance de la population devrait également s'avérer importante dans les régions des Prairies, qui comptent presque la moitié des Indiens inscrits. C'est la Saskatchewan qui devrait enregistrer la plus grande augmentation du nombre d'Indiens inscrits dans les réserves (59 %), tandis que le nombre d'Indiens inscrits hors réserve devrait s'accroître davantage en Alberta (57 %). Cependant, d'ici 2034, l'Ontario devrait continuer d'afficher le plus grand nombre d'Indiens inscrits parmi les provinces et territoires, comptant plus de 230 000 individus.

Figure 2 - Projection de la population indienne inscrite selon le lieu de résidence* et la région, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)






Structure par âge de la population indienne inscrite

La population indienne inscrite est jeune; l'âge médian étant évalué à 24 ans dans les réserves et à 30 ans à l'extérieur de celles-ci, en 2009. En comparaison, l'âge médian de la population canadienne en général s'établissait à 40 ans, en 2009 (Statistique Canada, Catalogue 91-520-X).

Comme l'indique la figure 3, la population indienne inscrite pourrait vieillir passablement au cours des deux prochaines décennies, en raison de la diminution du taux de fécondité, d'une modeste amélioration de l'espérance de vie et du nombre croissant de descendants non inscrits. D'ici 2034, l'âge médian de la population indienne inscrite devrait atteindre 33 ans dans les réserves et 37 ans à l'extérieur de celles-ci. Malgré cela, la population indienne inscrite dans les réserves et hors réserve demeure beaucoup plus jeune que la population canadienne en général, dont l'âge médian devrait s'établir à 43 ans en 2034 (Statistique Canada, Catalogue 91-520-X).

À l'échelle régionale, ce sont les Prairies qui enregistrent l'âge médian de la population indienne inscrite le plus bas durant toute la période de projection (tableau 2).

Figure 3 - Pyramide des âges pour les indiens inscrits et la population canadienne*, Canada, 2009 et 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)

Tableau 2: Projection de l'âge médian de la population indienne inscrite selon la région et pour le Canada, 2009 et 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée
Région 2009 2034
L'âge médian est l'âge qui divise une population en deux groupes d'effectifs égaux, l'un composé d'individus plus âgés, l'autre d'individus plus jeunes.
ATL. 28 ans 34 ans
QUE. 31 ans 37 ans
ONT. 32 ans 41 ans
MAN. 23 ans 30 ans
SASK. 22 ans 31 ans
ALB. 23 ans 31 ans
C.-B. 30 ans 38 ans
YN. 34 ans 42 ans
T.N.-O. 27 ans 37 ans
CANADA 27 ans 35 ans

Population en âge de travailler

Entre 2009 et 2034, on s'attend à ce qu'en moyenne quelque 18 000 Indiens inscrits atteignent l'âge de 15 ans chaque année et puissent se joindre à la population active (plus de 10 000 dans les réserves et 7 000 hors réserve). Au cours de la période de projection de 25 ans, plus de 450 000 Indiens inscrits pourraient intégrer la population active.

La figure 4 montre que, dans l'ensemble, la taille de la population indienne inscrite en âge de travailler (c.-à-d. de 15 à 64 ans) devrait passer de 545 700 personnes en 2009 à 793 500 en 2034, ce qui représente une augmentation de 45 %. La croissance devrait être plus marquée dans les réserves (52 %) qu'à l'extérieur de celles-ci (37 %).

Figure 4 - Projection de la population indienne inscrite âgée de 15 à 64 ans (en milliers) selon le lieu de résidence, Canada, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)

Sur la scène régionale, la population indienne inscrite en âge de travailler pourrait presque tripler dans la région de l'Atlantique au cours de la période de projection en raison des ajouts engendrés par la création de la bande de la Première Nation des Mi'kmaq qalipu (tableau 3). Compte tenu de la jeune structure par âge observée et projetée dans les Prairies, il n'est pas surprenant d'anticiper aussi une forte croissance de la population indienne inscrite en âge de travailler dans ces régions, c'est-à-dire de l'ordre de 65 % en Alberta, de 61 % en Saskatchewan et de 57 % au Manitoba. Cependant, pour ce qui est de la taille de la population, on prévoit que l'Ontario continuera d'afficher le plus grand nombre d'Indiens inscrits en âge de travailler (151 600 en 2034).

Tableau 3: Projection de la population indienne inscrite âgée de 15 à 64 ans selon le lieu de résidence et région, 2009 et 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)
  Dans les réserves
(y compris les terres de la Couronne)*
Hors réserve
Région 2009 2034 2009 2034
* Selon le Système d'inscription des Indiens, au Yukon et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la plupart des personnes vivant dans les réserves (y compris les terres de la Couronne) résident sur des terres de la Couronne.
ATL. 14 000 22 000 9 100 37 800
QUE. 33 900 48 900 15 300 16 300
ONT. 58 500 77 600 67 000 74 000
MAN. 51 600 84 600 34 100 50 300
SASK. 40 700 72 300 44 700 65 000
ALB. 42 400 69 100 26 200 43 800
C.-B. 41 400 59 000 48 800 49 600
YN. 2 800 2 600 3 300 4 000
T.N.-O. 8 200 11 300 3 800 5 200






Augmentation de la population de descendants non inscrits, de 2009 à 2034

Au fil du temps, on prévoit des hausses du nombre d'enfants nés d'Indiens inscrits qui ne seront pas admissibles à l'inscription. Le nombre de ces descendants, qui habitent pour la plupart hors des réserves, passerait de 122 800 en 2009 à 196 700 en 2034 (augmentation de 60 %). La croissance devrait s'avérer plus rapide dans les réserves, où le nombre de descendants non admissibles sera multiplié par 13 et passerait de 7 100 en 2009 à 92 500 d'ici 2034, selon le scénario de croissance modérée.

Composition de la population des réserves

Selon la figure 5, la proportion d'Indiens inscrits dans la population totale des réserves pourrait diminuer de 11 points de pourcentage entre 2009 et 2034, en grande partie à cause de l'augmentation du nombre de descendants non inscrits.

Figure 5 - Projection de la composition de la population des réserves, Canada, 2009 et 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)

Population totale en âge de travailler dans les réserves

En raison de la croissance rapide de la population non inscrite dans les réserves, la population totale en âge de travailler pourrait compter sur une proportion croissante d'individus non inscrits vivant dans les réserves. La population totale en âge de travailler (c.-à-d. de 15 à 64 ans) dans les réserves, y compris les Indiens inscrits, les descendants non inscrits et les non-descendants non inscrits, s'établissait à 326 500 en 2009; environ 10 % de ces personnes étaient non inscrites. Selon le scénario de croissance modérée, la population totale en âge de travailler dans les réserves pourrait compter 544 600 personnes en 2034 (augmentation de 67 %); l'ensemble des personnes non inscrites formeraient 18 % de ce groupe, soit presque deux fois leur proportion en 2009 (figure 6).

Figure 6 - Projection de la population des réserves âgée de 15 à 64 ans (en milliers), Canada, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)






Projection du nombre de ménages d'indiens inscrits, de 2009 à 2034

Selon le scénario de croissance modérée, le nombre de ménages d'Indiens inscrits pourrait passer de 315 800 en 2009 à 503 600 en 2034 (augmentation de 59 %). D'après les scénarios de croissance faible et élevée, le nombre de ménages d'Indiens inscrits devrait varier entre 482 800 et 524 400 d'ici 2034.

Bien que le nombre de ménages d'Indiens inscrits soit constamment plus élevé à l'extérieur des réserves qu'à l'intérieur de celles-ci, on prévoit une croissance plus marquée dans les réserves (figure 7). À l'échelle régionale, le nombre de ménages d'Indiens inscrits devrait augmenter plus rapidement dans la région de l'Atlantique, en raison de la création de la Première Nation des Mi'kmaq qalipu, et dans les Prairies, vu la forte croissance de population qu'on y constate.

Figure 7 - Projection des ménages d'indiens inscrits (en milliers) selon le lieu de résidence, Canada, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)






Projection du nombre de familles d'indiens inscrits, de 2009 à 2034

D'après le scénario de croissance modérée, le nombre de familles d'Indiens inscrits devrait passer de 266 500 en 2009 à 428 500 en 2034 (augmentation de 61 %). Selon le scénario, le nombre de familles d'Indiens inscrits pourrait varier entre 402 300 et 454 600 d'ici 2034.

Si les tendances récentes se maintiennent, le nombre de familles monoparentales dans les réserves pourrait augmenter de 89 % ferait pratiquement doubler leur nombre, le portant de 45 800 en 2009 à 86 300 en 2034. Hors réserve, le nombre de familles monoparentales pourrait augmenter de 73 %, passant de 40 400 en 2009 à 70 000 en 2034. Selon des données récentes, la majorité des familles monoparentales (environ 74 % dans les réserves et 85 % hors réserve) sont dirigées par une femme.

Tableau 4: Projection des familles d'Indiens inscrits (en milliers) selon le type de famille et lieu de résidence, Canada, de 2009 à 2034 (scénario de croissance modérée)
  Dans les réserves
(y compris les terres de la Couronne)
Hors réserve Total
Année Bi–parentale Mono–parentale Total des
familles
Bi–parentale Mono–parentale Total des
familles
Bi–parentale Mono–parentale Total des
familles
* Les chiffres sont exprimés en milliers et arrondis au dixième près. Toutefois, la croissance en pourcentage est calculée en utilisant les données non arrondies.
2009 75,9 45,8 121,7 104,4 40,4 144,8 180,4 86,1 266,5
2014 84,6 52,7 137,3 130,3 49,7 179,9 214,9 102,4 317,2
2019 93,3 60,5 153,9 137,7 54,2 191,9 231,1 114,7 345,8
2024 102,2 69,5 171,7 144,9 59,7 204,5 247,1 129,2 376,2
2029 109,4 78,2 187,6 150,8 64,8 215,6 260,2 142,9 403,1
2034 115,4 86,3 201,7 156,8 70,0 226,8 272,2 156,3 428,5
Croissance
en % de
2009 à 2034
52 % 89 % 66 % 50 % 73 % 57 % 51 % 81 % 61 %

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les projections de la populat ion, des ménages et des familles d'Indiens inscrits de 2009 à 2034, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de contacts de renseignements au public d'AADNC, au 1-800-567-9604.






Notes en bas de page :

  1. Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens en 1985 découlent du projet de loi C-31, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les Indiens. Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens en 2010 découlent du projet de loi C-3, la Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens(retourner au paragraphe source)
  2. Par « descendants non inscrits », on entend les enfants nés d'Indiens inscrits qui ne sont pas admissibles à l'inscription aux termes des dispositions sur la transmission du statut de la Loi sur les Indiens. Les « non-descendants non inscrits » désignent les personnes qui habitent dans une réserve, mais qui ne sont ni des Indiens inscrits, ni des enfants nés d'Indiens inscrits. (retourner au paragraphe source)
  3. On estime que la majorité des Indiens nouvellement inscrits par suite de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens vivent à l'extérieur des réserves. (retourner au paragraphe source)