The Federal Government's Approach to Sustainable Development

Since its Royal Assent in June 2008, the Federal Sustainable Development Act provides the "legal framework for developing and implementing a Federal Sustainable Development Strategy that will make environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament."

Canada's first Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) was tabled in October 2010. It contains the Government of Canada's priorities for sustainable development, organized under four priority themes:

  1. Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality
  2. Maintaining Water Quality and Availability
  3. Protecting Nature
  4. Shrinking the Environmental Footprint - Beginning with Government

AANDC, like other government departments, is responsible for preparing a Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy (DSDS) that supports and contributes to the FSDS. The DSDS is tabled through the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The Government of Canada is looking for input from Canadians on the draft second cycle of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS), covering the period 2013 to 2016. Canadians are encouraged to submit comments before June 14, 2013 on the advancement of federal sustainable development initiatives by visiting Environnement Canada.

Date modified:

Approche du gouvernement fédéral en matière de développement durable

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable  , qui a reçu la sanction royale en juin 2008, indique : « le cadre juridique pour l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui rend le processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement plus transparent et fait en sorte qu'on soit tenu d'en rendre compte devant le Parlement ».

La première Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD)   a été déposée en octobre 2010. Elle détaille les priorités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement durable et les classe sous quatre thèmes :

  1. Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air
  2. Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau
  3. Protéger la nature
  4. Réduire l'empreinte environnementale - En commençant par le gouvernement

AADNC, comme les autres ministères, doit préparer une Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable (SMDD) pour appuyer et renforcer la SFDD. On rend compte de la  SMDD dans le cadre du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Le gouvernement du Canada désire obtenir la rétroaction de la population canadienne sur le document préliminaire portant sur le deuxième cycle de la Stratégie fédérale de développement couvrant la période allant de 2013 à 2016. Les Canadiens sont invités à soumettre, avant le 14 juin 2013, leurs commentaires sur la promotion des initiatives de développement durable en visitant le site Web d’Environnement Canada  .