ARCHIVED - Getting a Clear Picture on the Effects of Climate Change

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

A recent photo monitoring project shows how northern monitoring is most effective when community is at the core.


Emmanuel Adam and Cole Felix photograph retrogressive thaw slumping on a participatory photo-mapping outing west of Tuktoyaktuk, NT. (Photo by: T.D. Bennett, 2010)

In September 1999, a powerful storm in Canada's western Arctic created a wall of sea water that swept over low-lying land in the Mackenzie Delta. The gale was one of the most intense on record, and resulted in the highest measured water levels at the delta front. When the water receded, a "dead zone" of at least 110 km2 in the Mackenzie Delta developed where vegetation died because of the salt left behind.

Storms like this are becoming more and more frequent, as Arctic Ocean ice disappears and waves build over ever-larger stretches of open water, driving storm surges onto the land and into freshwater river deltas.

Striking changes in vegetation and wildlife were first noticed by local Inuvialuit several years before the significance was recognized by scientists and regulators: "Elders from across the Delta knew about the dead zone … they knew it happened about eight years before … the ground froze and so the salts didn't wash away. A salty storm surge killing plants and willows over large areas is not normal. Land users noticed that there have been less geese in these areas because of the loss of vegetation," said Doug Esagok, from the Inuvik Hunters and Trappers Committee.


Arctic coastal communities are vulnerable to storm surges and coastal erosion. (Photo by: Tuktoyaktuk, NWT, NRCan, 2000)

By 2009, there had been minimal ecological recovery. However, Inuvialuit convinced scientists that the surge was having lasting effects on the Mackenzie Delta ecosystem. The scientists realized that studies of the area would be vital to regional ecosystem planning, and to the assessment and monitoring of the cumulative impacts of development and climate change.

Funding from the NWT Cumulative Impacts Monitoring Program (CIMP) enabled researchers from the University of Victoria (Bennett and Lantz) and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) (Marchildon) to work with the Hunters and Trappers Committees of Inuvik, Aklavik, and Tuktoyaktuk on several community-based monitoring initiatives.

Participatory Photo Monitoring

In the summer of 2010, Trevor Bennett, a Masters student at the University of Victoria, accompanied Inuvialuit elders and youth out on the land. Armed with digital cameras and hand-held GPS units, they participated in a monitoring exercise to record their observations of environmental conditions.

Participants documented environmental changes, including; shifts in wildlife and vegetation (range and distribution), drained lakes, thaw slumping, landslides, river bank erosion, increased run-off, increased overflows, changes in permafrost, as well as increasingly hazardous travel conditions. They also observed damage to infrastructure (roads, cabins, camps, buildings), important historical sites (traditionally used camps, travel routes, grave sites), and areas important for food harvesting.

The resulting photographs and videos were used as a basis for interviews about the observations. The detailed narratives recorded in these interviews, along with geo-referenced photos and video were organized into a web-based map. Developing the monitoring protocol and testing the utility of the method with a variety of stakeholders formed the basis of Bennett's Master's thesis.

Building a shared "language"


Outer Mackenzie Delta after 1999 – storm surge dead zone shows up in brown.

The rapidly changing environment will impact northern communities in ways that are difficult to predict. The researchers concluded in their report that this pilot project shows that community-based monitoring can make a significant contribution to local planning that will increase community resilience in the face of changes brought about by climate change and other cumulative impacts of development: "In some areas, changes in land cover are occurring so rapidly that maintaining an accurate inventory is problematic. In this context of environmental change and uncertainty, there is critical need to draw on local knowledge and observations to inform decision-making. In the MDR, Inuvialuit hunters and trappers are in a unique position to assess ongoing changes in the regional environment and to inventory cumulative impacts. " (Bennett, T.D., Lantz, T.C., and Esagok, D. in "Community-based Environmental Monitoring in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region")

But it is the way in which the project was conducted that made it successful. By incorporating photography (the visual medium), photo-interviews (story-telling), time on the land traveling and observing, and the pairing of local youth and local experts, the project created a shared "language" between science and traditional knowledge. This, in turn, created a joint understanding of climate change processes that can be directly applied to strategies for community adaptation.

Research suggests these types of community-based monitoring efforts will significantly improve the capacity to quickly detect environmental changes that impact northern communities. Communities have a tool to share knowledge among themselves, across northern networks, and in meetings with researchers, regulators and decision-makers.

Although IPY funding for similar research initiatives ended in 2010, Canada recognizes the importance of community-based monitoring initiatives in the North, and is committed to funding monitoring projects that involve communities and address questions relevant to northerners and decision makers through the Cumulative Impacts Monitoring Program (CIMP).

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Obtenir un portrait clair des effets des changements climatiques

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Un récent projet de surveillance photo démontre comment l'efficacité de la surveillance dans le Nord est optimale lorsque la collectivité y participe activement


Lors d'une sortie participative de photo-cartographie à l'ouest de Tuktoyaktuk, Emmanuel Adam et Cole Felix photographient un glissement de terrain régressif (Territoires du Nord-Ouest). (Photo par : T. D. Bennett, 2010).

En septembre 1999, une intense tempête dans l'ouest de l'Arctique canadien a créé un mur d'eau de mer qui a déferlé sur les terres basses du delta du Mackenzie. Le coup de vent produit a été un des plus forts jamais enregistrés et a causé un des plus hauts niveaux d'eau jamais mesurés au front du delta. Lorsque l'eau s'est retirée, une « zone morte » d'au moins 110 km2 a été créée dans le delta du Mackenzie. En effet, la végétation y est morte en raison du sel laissé par la mer.

Des tempêtes comme celle-ci deviennent de plus en plus fréquentes. À mesure que la glace de l'océan Arctique disparaît, les vagues profitent de plus grandes étendues d'eau pour prendre de l'amplitude, ce qui amène les ondes de tempête sur la terre et dans les deltas des rivières d'eau douce.

Des changements marquants dans la faune et la flore ont d'abord été remarqués par les Inuvialuit de la région plusieurs années avant que leur importance soit reconnue par les scientifiques et les chargés de réglementation. « Des aînés de la région du delta avaient eu connaissance de la zone morte, ils savaient qu'elle était apparue environ huit ans auparavant, a dit Doug Esagok, du Comité des chasseurs et des trappeurs d'Inuvik. Le sol a gelé, c'est pourquoi le sel n'a pas été emporté. Il n'est pas normal qu'une houle salée causée par la tempête tue des plantes et des saules sur de grands territoires. Les utilisateurs des terres ont remarqué qu'il y avait moins d'oies dans ces régions en raison de la diminution de végétation. »


Les collectivités côtières de l'Arctique sont vulnérables aux ondes de tempête et à l'érosion des côtes. (Photo par : Tuktoyaktuk, T.N.-O. NRCan, 2000.).

En 2009, l'environnement s'est un peu rétabli. Cependant, les Inuvialuit ont convaincu les scientifiques que la houle avait des répercussions durables sur l'écosystème du delta du Mackenzie. Les scientifiques ont compris qu'il était essentiel de réaliser des études dans la région pour la planification de l'écosystème régional, ainsi que pour évaluer et surveiller les effets cumulatifs du développement et des changements climatiques.

Un financement tiré du Programme de surveillance des effets cumulatifs dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest a permis aux chercheurs de l'Université de Victoria (Bennett et Lantz) et d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (Marchildon) de collaborer avec les comités de chasseurs et de trappeurs d'Inuvik, d'Aklavik et de Tuktoyaktuk à plusieurs initiatives communautaires de surveillance.

Projet participatif de surveillance photo

Pendant l'été 2010, Trevor Bennett, un étudiant à la maîtrise à l'Université de Victoria, a accompagné des aînés et des jeunes Inuvialuit dans des expéditions sur les terres. Équipés d'appareils photo numériques et d'appareils GPS portatifs, ils ont participé à un exercice de surveillance afin d'enregistrer leurs observations sur les conditions environnementales.

Les participants ont consigné les changements environnementaux, y compris l'évolution dans la faune et la flore (étendue et distribution), les lacs drainés, les glissements dus au dégel, les glissements de terrain, l'érosion des berges d'une rivière, l'augmentation de l'eau de ruissellement, l'augmentation des trop-pleins, le changement dans le pergélisol, ainsi qu'une augmentation des conditions dangereuses de déplacement. Ils ont aussi noté des dommages causés aux infrastructures (routes, cabanes, camps, édifices), à d'importants sites historiques (camps utilisés traditionnellement, routes de déplacement, sites funéraires) et à des zones importantes pour la cueillette de nourriture.

Les photos et les vidéos captées ont été utilisées lors d'entrevues au sujet des observations. Les histoires détaillées recueillies lors de ces entrevues, ainsi que les photos de géoréférencement et les vidéos, ont été organisées pour en faire une carte en ligne. À la base du mémoire de maîtrise de M. Bennett sont l'élaboration du protocole de surveillance et le test de l'utilité de la méthode auprès de divers intervenants.

Créer une « langue » partagée


Les abords du delta du Mackenzie après 1999 – la zone morte causée par l'onde de tempête apparaît en brun.

L'environnement qui change rapidement aura des répercussions difficilement prévisibles sur les collectivités du Nord. Les chercheurs ont conclu dans leur rapport que ce projet pilote démontre comment la surveillance communautaire peut contribuer de façon significative à la planification locale. En retour, cette planification augmentera la résilience des collectivités face aux transformations apportées par les changements climatiques et aux autres effets cumulatifs liés au développement. « Dans certaines zones, les changements sur la couverture terrestre surviennent si rapidement qu'il est difficile de maintenir un inventaire juste. En raison des changements environnementaux et de l'incertitude, il est essentiel de tirer profit des connaissances et des observations des résidants locaux afin d'éclairer la prise de décisions. Dans la région du delta du Mackenzie, les chasseurs et les trappeurs Inuvialuit sont dans une position unique pour évaluer les changements continus dans l'environnement régional et de faire l'inventaire des effets cumulatifs. » (Bennett, T.D., Lantz, T.C. et Esagok, D. dans Community-based Environmental Monitoring in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region)

En fait, le succès du projet découle de la façon dont il a été mené. En incluant la photographie (le support visuel), les entrevues-photos (les histoires), le temps passé sur le terrain à voyager et à observer, et le jumelage des jeunes de la région avec des experts du coin, le projet a créé une « langue » partagée entre la science et les connaissances traditionnelles. Ainsi, on a dégagé une compréhension commune des processus des changements climatiques dont on peut directement tirer profit pour les stratégies visant l'adaptation des collectivités.

La recherche suggère que ce type d'efforts de surveillance communautaire améliorera considérablement la capacité de détecter rapidement les changements environnementaux qui ont des répercussions sur les collectivités du Nord. Les collectivités ont un outil pour partager les connaissances entre elles, dans les réseaux du Nord et lors de réunions avec des chercheurs, des chargés de la réglementation et des décideurs.

Même si le financement versé dans le cadre de l'Année polaire internationale pour des initiatives similaires de recherche a pris fin en 2010, le Canada reconnaît l'importance des initiatives de surveillance communautaire dans le Nord et il s'engage à financer, par le truchement du Programme de surveillance des effets cumulatifs, des projets de surveillance qui font participer les collectivités et répondent à des questions pertinentes pour les résidants du Nord et les décideurs.

 

Date de modification :