Ministerial Loan Guarantee toolkit for lending institutions

The lender should refer to the Ministerial Loan Guarantee Manual for the complete terms and conditions. This toolkit explains a lender's responsibilities.

Choose a topic:

The lender's responsibilities

An approved Ministerial Loan Guarantee (MLG) must be in place for the lender to authorize a project. The applicant is responsible for all costs associated with work undertaken prior to receiving an MLG approval.

Lender responsibilities include:

  1. following prudent lending practices
  2. entering into a Guarantee Agreement with the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs
  3. completing and submitting to Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada the Guaranteed Loans Terms & Conditions Report within 60 days of an MLG approval
  4. completing and submitting the Annual Lender Confirmation of Actuals Report, as requested
  5. monitoring arrears and loan default with due diligence, negotiating alternative arrangements with the borrower where possible to avoid requesting payment under the Guarantee Agreement
  6. negotiating alternative financial arrangements with the borrower in case of default
  7. within 90 days of a loan being in default, informing the borrower, First Nation, and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada of the default via the Notification of Loan Default

How to transfer to another branch or between lenders

If a borrower wishes to transfer the loan to another branch or lender, the Loan Agreement and the Guarantee Agreement must be transferred by the previous branch or lender. The lender has to:

Once the loan has been transferred, the previous branch or lender has to notify Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada of the transfer. The previous lender does not provide a Paid in Full notice.

The new branch or lender has to provide the Guaranteed Loan Terms and Conditions Report to Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada within 60 days of receiving the loan so that the transfer can be registered in the Grants and Contribution Information Management System. The Guaranteed Loan Terms and Conditions Report must include:

Borrower's arrears (debts) and defaulting

Arrears (debts)

If a borrower fails to make loan payments under the Loan Agreement:

  1. The lender has to inform the borrower, the First Nation, and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada of the arrears (debts).
  2. Within 90 days of default, the lender submits a first Notification of Loan Default and every 30 days thereafter while the default continues (up to 120 days from the date on which the lender gave the initial Notification of Loan Default). The lender must send the Notification of Loan Default to the borrower, the First Nation, and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. Failure to provide notification as per this schedule requires the notification process to start over.
  3. The lender shall monitor the situation with due diligence and, if possible, negotiate alternative arrangements with the borrower to avoid requesting payment under the Guarantee Agreement.
  4. The department may make loan payments (including arrears) to the lender as a last resort.

Default

If a borrower has defaulted on their loan, the lender must complete the Notification of Loan Default form.

Where the loan remains in default for 120 days from the date on which the lender gave the initial Notification of Loan Default, the lender must submit to the department the Claim to Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada for Payment for the unpaid balance of principal and accrued interest at the contract rate up to the date the claim is paid. The Claim to Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada for Payment shall be submitted along with supporting documentation, confirming that the loan is in default and the unpaid balance of principal and accrued interest, plus other reasonable costs, are specified and included in the amount set out in the claim and are due under the Guarantee Agreement’s terms. The maximum period of accrued interest being paid shall not exceed 270 days unless agreed to, in advance and in writing, between the lender and the department.

Schedule of Reporting

Guaranteed Loan Term and Condition Report

After an MLG has been approved, the lender has 60 days to submit a completed Guaranteed Loans Terms and Conditions Report to their regional office.

Within 60 days of the loan being refinanced, renewed or assigned, the lender must submit a completed Guaranteed Loans Terms and Conditions Report to the borrower, First Nation, and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.

Within 60 days of the transfer or assignment of an existing loan, the existing lender or branch shall provide the new lender or branch with a copy of the Guarantee Agreement, including the Guarantee Certificate number.

Within 60 days of receipt of the transferred or assigned loan, the new lender or branch forwards a completed Guaranteed Loans Terms and Conditions Report form to Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. The new lender or branch also sends a letter certifying that they assume the obligations of the loan and Guarantee Agreement.

Lender Confirmation of Actuals Report

The Annual Lender Confirmation of Actuals Report is a way for Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada to reconcile the data from the internal Guaranteed Loan Management system to the actual numbers, at the end of each fiscal year (March 31st). The regional officer responsible for MLGs sends out a call letter (Annual Lender Confirmation of Actuals Report) to each lender at the end of the fiscal year. Each lender must complete the Annual Lender Confirmation of Actuals Report summarizing the yearly status of each MLG by March 31st and submit it to the regional officer responsible for MLGs by the set date.

Notification of Loan Default:

  • After 90 days of default, the lender can submit a first Notification of Loan Default and every 30 days thereafter while the default continues (up to 120 days from the date on which the lender gave the initial Notification of Loan Default). Failure to provide notification as per this schedule requires the notification process to start over.
  • Every 30 days thereafter that the loan remains in arrears, the lender sends a Notification of Loan Default to the borrower, the First Nation, and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. The lender shall submit a Claim to the department for payment form after 120 days.

Forms

Date modified:

Boîte à outils des garanties d’emprunt ministérielles pour les établissements de crédit

Le prêteur devrait consulter le Guide des garanties d’emprunt ministérielles pour connaître les modalités. La présente boîte à outils explique quelles sont les responsabilités du prêteur.

Choisir un sujet :

Responsabilités du prêteur

Pour qu’un projet soit autorisé, une entente de garantie d’emprunt ministérielle (GEM) approuvée doit avoir été conclue avec le prêteur. Il incombe au demandeur de défrayer tous les coûts associés aux travaux réalisés avant que la GEM aient été approuvée.

Les responsabilités du prêteur sont les suivantes :

  1. Appliquer des pratiques prudentes d’octroi de prêts.
  2. Conclure un accord de garantie avec le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord.
  3. Remplir et soumettre à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada un rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis dans les 60 jours suivant l’approbation d’une GEM.
  4. Remplir et soumettre sur demande le rapport annuel de confirmation des données réelles du prêteur.
  5. Faire un suivi des arriérés et des défauts de paiement avec diligence et négocier l’adoption d’autres dispositions avec l’emprunteur lorsque c’est possible, afin d’éviter d’exiger des paiements en vertu de l’accord de garantie.
  6. Négocier d’autres ententes financières avec l’emprunteur en cas de défaut.
  7. Dans les 90 jours suivant le défaut de paiement du prêt, en informer l’emprunteur, la Première Nation et Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada au moyen du formulaire Avis de défaut de paiement d’un prêt.

Comment procéder au transfert à une autre succursale ou entre prêteurs

Si un emprunteur désire transférer un prêt à une autre succursale générale ou à un autre prêteur, l’accord de prêt et l’accord de garantie doivent être transférés par la succursale ou le prêteur initial. Le prêteur doit :

Lorsque le prêt a été transféré, la succursale ou le prêteur initial doit en informer Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada. Le prêteur initial ne fournit pas d’avis de paiement complet.

La nouvelle succursale ou le nouveau prêteur doit fournir à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada le rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis dans les 60 jours suivant la réception du prêt, afin que le transfert puisse être enregistré dans le Système de gestion de l’information sur les subventions et contributions. Le rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis doit contenir ce qui suit :

Arriérés (créances) et défaut de paiement

Arriérés (créances)

Si un emprunteur omet de verser un paiement conformément à l’accord de prêt :

  1. Le prêteur doit informer l’emprunteur, la Première Nation et Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada de l’arriéré (créance).
  2. Dans les 90 jours suivant le défaut de paiement, le prêteur soumet un premier avis de défaut de paiement d’un prêt, de même que tous les 30 jours par la suite, tant que la créance n’est pas réglée (jusqu’à 120 jours suivant la date à laquelle le prêteur a soumis un premier avis de défaut de paiement). Le prêteur doit envoyer l’avis de défaut de paiement à l’emprunteur, à la Première Nation et à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada. Si un avis n’est pas fourni conformément à ce calendrier, le processus d’avis de prêt en souffrance doit reprendre du début.
  3. Le prêteur doit faire un suivi de la situation avec toute la diligence requise et, si possible, négocier l’adoption d’autres dispositions avec l’emprunteur afin d’éviter de devoir exiger un paiement en vertu de l’accord de garantie.
  4. En dernier recours, le ministère peut faire des paiements (notamment pour les arriérés) auprès du prêteur.

Défaut de paiement

Si un emprunteur omet de faire un paiement, le prêteur doit remplir l’avis de défaut de paiement.

En cas de défaut de paiement après 120 jours après la date à laquelle il a émis un premier avis de défaut de paiement, soumettre une réclamation à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada pour garantie d’emprunt ministérielle pour le solde impayé du capital et les intérêts courus au taux établi dans le contrat, jusqu’à ce que la créance soit remboursée. Cette réclamation doit être accompagnée des documents pertinents qui confirmeront le défaut de paiement, le solde du capital et les intérêts courus (en plus d’autres coûts raisonnables), et indiquer que le montant établi est dû en vertu de l’accord de garantie. Les intérêts ne peuvent pas avoir été calculés pour une période supérieure à 270 jours à moins que cela n’ait été convenu au préalable par écrit entre le prêteur et le ministère.

Calendrier des rapports

Rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis

Après qu’une GEM a été approuvée, le prêteur a 60 jours pour soumettre un rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis au bureau régional.

Dans les 60 jours suivant le refinancement, le renouvellement ou la cession d’un prêt, le prêteur doit soumettre un rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis à l’emprunteur, à la Première Nation et à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada.

Dans les 60 jours suivant le transfert ou la cession d’un prêt existant, le prêteur initial ou la succursale initiale doit fournir au nouveau prêteur ou à la nouvelle succursale une copie de l’accord de garantie et le numéro du certificat de garantie.

Dans les 60 jours suivant la réception d’un prêt transféré ou cédé, le nouveau prêteur ou la nouvelle succursale soumet à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada un formulaire de rapport sur les modalités de remboursement des prêts garantis dûment rempli. Le nouveau prêteur ou la nouvelle succursale soumet également une lettre attestant qu’il assume les obligations énoncées dans l’accord de prêt et dans l’accord de garantie.

Rapport de confirmation des données réelles du prêteur

Le rapport annuel de confirmation des données réelles du prêteur permet à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada de rapprocher les données contenues dans le Système de gestion des garanties d’emprunt interne et les données réelles à la fin de chaque exercice (le 31 mars). À chaque fin d’exercice, l’agent régional responsable des GEM fait parvenir à chaque prêteur une lettre d’appel (rapport annuel de confirmation des données réelles du prêteur). Chacun des prêteurs doit remplir le rapport de confirmation des données réelles, qui rend compte de la situation concernant chaque GEM au 31 mars, et le soumettre à l’agent régional responsable dans les délais établis.

Avis de défaut de paiement d’un prêt

  • Dans les 90 jours suivant le défaut de paiement, le prêteur soumet un premier avis de défaut de paiement d’un prêt, de même que tous les 30 jours par la suite tant que la créance n’est pas réglée (jusqu’à 120 jours suivant la date à laquelle le prêteur a soumis le premier avis de défaut de paiement d’un prêt). Si un avis n’est pas fourni conformément à ce calendrier, le processus d’avis de prêt en souffrance doit reprendre depuis le début.
  • Par la suite, tous les 30 jours, tant que la créance n’est pas réglée, le prêteur soumet un avis de défaut de paiement à l’emprunteur, à la Première Nation et à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada. Après 120 jours, le prêteur doit soumettre une réclamation de paiement au ministère.

Formulaires

Date de modification :