ARCHIVED - Impact Evaluation of the Treaty Commissions - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (25 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Impact Evaluation of the Treaty Commissions (2008040)
Approval Date: 24/02/2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. It is recommended that INAC pursue implementation of the historic treaty relationship and the development of a policy framework that will contribute to reconciliation and a revitalization of treaty relationships. INAC will pursue policy options and the development of a policy framework for implementing the historic treaty relationship. Examination started in January 2010

TAG will provide an update on the progress of the policy analysis by January 2011
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) has held two historic treaty roundtables to obtain Treaty First Nation input on the implementation of the historic treaty relationship. The latest AANDC/AFN technical working group meeting was held on October 24, 2011.

Internal AANDC developmental initiatives, consistent with the June 9, 2011 Canada-First Nations Joint Action Plan reference to historic treaties, are underway.

Continuing to work with partners (AFN)

AES: Progress continues. Recommend to close.
2. It is recommended that INAC follow up on its commitment to the Office of the Treaty Commissioner (OTC) for Saskatchewan, and table a response to the 2007 OTC report entitled, Treaty Implementation: Fulfilling the Covenant. INAC will provide a response to the OTC regarding their report Treaty Implementation: Fulfilling the Covenant. The response was released in March 2010 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

Response was released in March 2010.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented
3. It is recommended that INAC work in partnership with the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) to examine the governance structure of the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba (TRCM) with a view to establishing a neutral body to provide the commission with policy direction. Over the past fiscal year, discussions were held with representatives of INAC, the AMC, and TRCM as to how best to improve the governance structure relating to the functioning of TRCM. It was decided to reinstitute the Operational Management Committee (OMC) as a means to provide ongoing advice to TRCM regarding priorities, planning and budgeting. The OMC is constituted with representatives of INAC, AMC, and TRCM. OMC was reinstituted in January 2010 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

OMC was reinstituted in January 2010





AES: Closed – Fully Implemented
4. It is recommended that INAC improve program management and efficiencies by:

1) ensuring timely processing of contribution payments to the Treaty Commissions; and
1) In 2009-10, the Treaty Relations Directorate placed increased focus on improving the timely processing of contribution payments to Treaty Commissions and provincial/territorial First Nation organizations. Action taken included a two-day workshop with representatives of Treaty Commissions, Treaty Tables, and INAC. The workshop resulted in a mutually agreed upon approach for working together to ensure more timely processing of contribution payments to Treaty Commissions. 1) April 2010 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

4.1) A funding workshop held with the Treaty Commissions, Tables and PTOs in October 2009, resulting in alleviation of cash-flow problems.

2) exploring the possibility of allowing the Treaty Commissions to have access to funding from other federal government departments. 2a) The Treaty Relations Directorate will work to ascertain whether or not the Treaty Commissions, in their current form, are eligible to receive any form of funding from federal government departments or agencies other than INAC. 2a) May 2010 4.2a) It has been confirmed that current stacking provisions do not prevent access to funding from other federal departments and agencies.
2b) If it is confirmed that the commissions cannot access non-INAC federal government funding, then Treaty Relations Directorate will explore the feasibility of changing the status of the commissions in such a way that they would be eligible for additional funding. 2b) March 2011 4.2b) The fact the Commissions are accountable in part to the Minister of INAC in key operational areas relating to work plans and financial requirements and that the Commissioners are also jointly responsible to the Minister of INAC and the Grand Chief of the AMC and the Chief of FSIN means that they enjoy the degree of autonomy from government sufficient for it to be an independent third party and eligible for receipt of transfer payments such as grants and contributions from other government departments as per the Policy on Transfer Payments.

AES: Closed – Fully Implemented
5. It is recommended that INAC continue exploratory discussions respecting the feasibility of establishing treaty commissions in other parts of Canada, taking the findings and conclusions of this evaluation into account. INAC currently has the authority to pursue exploratory discussions with First Nations on the possible establishment of Treaty Commissions. Subject to outcomes of these discussions, and upon agreement with First Nations, to jointly recommend the establishment of a treaty commission, INAC would seek a mandate to negotiate the establishment of Treaty Commissions in other regions of Canada. Ongoing

Exploratory discussions are well underway in Alberta and Ontario. Other exploratory discussions will be considered in the future, subject to a request from First Nations and the availability of resources.
Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011:

As per the recommendation exploratory discussions are continuing in Ontario and Alberta.





AES: Closed – Fully Implemented
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de l'incidence des commissions des traités - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF   (28 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Traités et gouvernement autochtone (TGA)

Évaluation de l'incidence des commissions des traités (2008040)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 24 février 2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Il est recommandé que AINC poursuive l'instauration des relations découlant des traités historiques et l'élaboration d'un cadre stratégique qui favorisera la réconciliation et la revitalisation des relations découlant des traités. AINC mettra en œuvre les possibilités d'action et établira un cadre stratégique pour instaurer les relations découlant des traités historiques. L'examen a été commencé en janvier 2010

TGA fournira une mise à jour sur le progrès de l'analyse stratégique d'ici janvier 2011.
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification 
En date du 30 septembre 2011

L'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN) a tenu deux tables rondes en vue d'obtenir l'avis des Premières Nations signataires de traités sur l'instauration des relations découlant des traités historiques. La dernière réunion du groupe de travail technique AADNC/APN a eu lieu le 24 octobre 2011.

Les initiatives de développement interne d'AADNC, qui sont conformes à la référence aux traités historiques inclue dans le plan d'action conjoint Canada-Premières Nations établi le 9 juin 2011, sont en cours.

Continuer de travailler avec les partenaires (APN)

Commentaire du SVE : Les progrès se poursuivent. Recommandation de fermer le dossier.
2. Il est recommandé que AINC respecte l'engagement qu'il a pris envers le Bureau du commissaire aux traités (BCT) de la Saskatchewan et présente sa réponse au rapport du BCT de 2007, intitulé Treaty Implementation: Fulfilling the Covenant. AINC formulera une réponse au BCT concernant le rapport Treaty Implementation: Fulfilling the Covenant. La réponse a été présentée en mars 2010 État : Terminé

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :

La réponse a été diffusée en mars 2010.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée
3. Il est recommandé que AINC travaille en partenariat avec l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba (ACM) pour étudier la structure de gouvernance de la Commission des relations découlant des traités au Manitoba (CRTM) en vue de mettre sur pied un organe neutre qui fournira à la Commission une orientation stratégique. Au cours du dernier exercice financier, des discussions ont eu lieu avec des représentants d'AINC, de l' et de la CRTM en vue de déterminer la meilleure manière d'améliorer la structure de gouvernance liée au fonctionnement de la CRTM. Il a été décidé de rétablir le comité de gestion des opérations (CGO), qui a pour but de continuellement fournir des conseils à la CRTM en ce qui concerne la planification des priorités et l'établissement du budget afférent. Le CGO se compose de représentants d'AINC, de l' et de la CRTM. Le CGO a été rétabli en janvier 2010 État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 

Le CGO a été rétabli en janvier 2010

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée
4. Il est recommandé que AINC améliore la gestion et l'efficience de ses programmes en :

1)  assurant la rapidité du traitement des paiements de contribution versés aux commissions des traités;
1) En 2009-2010, la Direction des relations découlant des traités a mis davantage l'accent sur l'accélération du traitement des paiements de contribution aux commissions des traités et aux organisations provinciales et territoriales. Des mesures ont été prises, dont la tenue d'un atelier de deux jours réunissant des représentants des commissions des traités, des tables de négociation des traités et d'AINC. L'atelier s'est soldé par une approche convenue sur la collaboration en vue d'assurer le traitement en temps opportun des paiements de contribution aux commissions des traités. 1) Avril 2010 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (complété)

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

4.1) Un atelier sur le financement réunissant les commissions des traités, les tables de discussion et les organisations autochtones provinciales et territoriales a eu lieu en octobre 2009 et a permis d'atténuer les problèmes de flux de trésorerie.
2)  étudiant la possibilité d'accorder aux commissions l'accès au financement d'autres ministères fédéraux. 2a) La Direction des relations découlant des traités travaillera à vérifier si les commissions des traités, tel qu'elles existent actuellement, sont admissibles à recevoir des fonds de la part de ministères ou d'organismes fédéraux, autres que AINC. 2a) May 2010 4.2a) On a confirmé que les dispositions actuelles en matière de cumul d'aide n'interdisent pas l'accès à un financement d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux.
2b) S'il est confirmé que les commissions ne sont pas admissibles à recevoir un financement d'une source fédérale autre que AINC, la Direction des relations découlant des traités devra alors étudier la possibilité de changer le statut des commissions de manière à les rendre admissibles à un financement supplémentaire. 2b) March 2011 4.2b) Étant donné que les commissions se rapportent en partie au ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien dans les secteurs opérationnels clés relatifs aux plans de travail et aux exigences financières, et que les commissaires sont également conjointement responsables auprès du ministre et du grand chef de l'ACM et du chef de la FNIS, on juge que le degré d'autonomie accordé par le gouvernement est suffisant pour que les commissions soient considérées comme un tiers indépendant et admissibles aux paiements de transfert, comme les subventions et les contributions versées par d'autres ministères, conformément à la Politique sur les paiements de transfert.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée
5. Il est recommandé que AINC continue à mener des discussions préliminaires au sujet de la faisabilité de la création de commissions des traités dans d'autres régions du Canada, en tenant compte des constatations et conclusions de la présente évaluation. À l'heure actuelle, AINC a l'autorisation d'entamer des discussions préliminaires avec les Premières nations au sujet de l'établissement possible des commissions des traités. Sous réserve des résultats de ces discussions et d'un accord avec les Premières nations concernant une recommandation conjointe pour l'établissement d'une commission des traités, AINC demanderait le mandat de négocier l'établissement de commissions des traités dans d'autres régions du Canada. En cours

Les discussions préliminaires sont en cours en Alberta et en Ontario. D'autres discussions préliminaires seront envisagées à l'avenir, sur demande des Premières nations et selon la disponibilité des ressources.
État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (complété)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2011 :

Conformément aux recommandations, des discussions préliminaires continuent en Ontario et en Alberta.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermer le dossier – Mise en œuvre complétée
 
 
Date de modification :