Waste Sites Clean-up

The Waste Management Program

Since 1991, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's (AANDC) Waste Management Program has assessed, inventoried and/or cleaned up 878 waste sites in Yukon.

In 2015, the program achieved a major milestone by completing all field work, which involved cleaning up waste sites across the territory. AANDC is committed to the ongoing monitoring of waste sites and working with the Government of Yukon to establish responsibility for newly discovered sites.

Clean-up costs ranged from a few thousand dollars to a few million, depending on the size and complexity of a waste site. Prior to clean up, the sites contained unwanted or hazardous materials such as fuel barrels or contamination and in some cases, abandoned buildings.

Waste sites in Yukon

Federal and territorial laws have evolved over time and now regulate waste from being left behind on Yukon land. The territory has a long history of development, including pipelines, mining and military activity which have left waste and environmental contamination that AANDC's Waste Management Program has aimed to address. Program sites are located from as far north as the coast of the Beaufort Sea and down to the Yukon-British Columbia border.

Who is responsible for waste sites in Yukon?

Where the Government of Yukon is responsible for Yukon waste sites created after devolution (2003), the federal government is responsible for waste sites created before devolution.

Learn more:

Contact Us

Date modified:

Nettoyage des sites de stockage de déchets

Programme de gestion des déchets

Depuis 1991, le Programme de gestion des déchets d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a évalué, répertorié ou nettoyé 878 sites de stockage de déchets au Yukon.

En 2015, le programme a franchi une étape importante lorsque tout le travail sur le terrain a été complété; ceci comprend le nettoyage des sites de stockage de déchets dans l'ensemble du territoire. AADNC est déterminé à assurer la surveillance continue des sites et à collaborer avec le gouvernement du Yukon pour déterminer la responsabilité pour les sites nouvellement découverts.

Les frais de nettoyage vont de quelques milliers à quelques millions de dollars, tout dépendant de la taille et de la complexité du site. Avant le nettoyage, les sites comprenaient des matériaux non désirés ou dangereux tels que des barils de carburant ou des contaminants ou, dans certains cas, des bâtiments abandonnés.

Les sites de stockage de déchets au Yukon

Les lois fédérales et territoriales ont évolué au fil du temps et interdisent maintenant que des déchets soient abandonnés sur des terres du Yukon. Le territoire a une longue histoire de projets de développement, notamment des projets miniers et pipeliniers et des activités militaires, qui ont généré des déchets et entraîné de la contamination environnementale dont la gestion est prévue par le Programme de gestion des déchets d'AADNC. Les sites visés par le programme sont situés jusqu'à la mer de Beaufort dans le nord et jusqu'à la limite entre le Yukon et la Colombie-Britannique dans le sud.

Qui est responsable des sites de stockage de déchets au Yukon?

Le gouvernement du Yukon est responsable des sites de stockage de déchets créés après le transfert des responsabilités (2003), tandis que le gouvernement fédéral est responsable des sites de stockage de déchets créés avant ce transfert.

Pour obtenir de plus amples détails:

Contactez-nous

Date de modification :