ARCHIVED - Summative Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nation Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (27 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Lands and Economic Development and Resolution and Individual Affairs

Summative Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nation Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act (2009087)
Approval Date: 05/14/2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Based on the evaluation findings, INAC (specifically IOGC) should determine the feasibility of continuing with the implementation of the oil and gas management portion of FNOGMMA. Lands and Economic Development (LED)/IOGC will prepare materials to engage in a Senior Policy discussion on the options and feasibility of continuing with the implementation of the oil and gas management portion of FNOGMMA. Presentation to the Senior Policy Committee June 22, 2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


Presented material and engaged in discussions with Senior Policy Committee on June 22, 2010. Their recommendation was to summarize material and continue the discussion with the Minister which is anticipated in October – November.

AES: Recommend closure but further decisions pending and reflected in the following recommendations.
2. Before further implementation of the oil and gas management portion of FNOGMMA and to inform future implementation of the moneys portion of FNOGMMA, INAC should build on the evaluation findings and address the following targeted issues:

a) The needs of provinces for their participation in the implementation of FNOGMMA (specifically IOGC).

b) mprove its understanding of First Nation priorities and interests with respect to oil and gas management on reserves, the risk and benefits to First Nations opting into the FNOGMMA, and the relationship between FNOGMMA and the modernization of the Indian Oil and Gas Act as well as potential litigation as an alternative to FNOGMMA (specifically IOGC).

c) Take into consideration the lessons learned and best practices (particularly related to readiness, capacity development, and governance) of other optional legislation, including the First Nation Land Management Act, the First Nation Commercial and Industrial Development Act, and the First Nation Fiscal and Statistical Management Act (Individual Affairs Branch (IAB) and IOGC).
a. IOGC will engage the oil and gas producing provinces to confirm procedural or legislative changes required to facilitate the continued implementation of the oil and gas component of FNOGMMA.

b. IOGC will conduct outreach to interested First Nations as well as actively promote the availability of the oil and gas management component to other First Nations that may be interested to gauge interest and potential uptake as well as to identify both benefits and potential issues that First Nations may foresee. Key to this outreach:

  • is the explanation of the new Indian Oil and Gas Act regime under development – that it is more prescriptive than the current regime with much less room to exercise discretion; and

  • are enhancements / legislative changes, which are contemplated.
Confirm with oil and gas provinces by June 15, 2010

Active outreach and promoting to oil and gas First Nations that may be interested over summer of 2010.
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

2a-IOGC currently engages with provincial officials on various oil and gas related issues. Further engagement with the Province of Alberta is required following further implementation analysis in Winter 2011-2012. This includes developing technical amendments and policy improvements to create a more sustainable regime.

2b- Following the Winter 2011-2012 implementation analysis, outreach to oil and gas producing First Nations will be conducted to determine the readiness of interested First Nations. At present, two unsolicited BCR's from Onion Lake First Nation and Beaver Lake Cree Nation have been received requesting entrance into the oil and gas component of FNOGMMA.

2c-
LED- Some informal discussions have been held regarding lessons learned and possible legislative amendments. Further analysis to be conducted during Winter 2011-2012.

RIA- A 2-day workshop was held in Fall 2011 to explore options for effective implementation of the moneys component of FNOGMMA. Further research into this area is ongoing.

AES: In progress but delayed.
c. IOGC and Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities (IMETA) will conduct an analysis of the other optional legislative programs to learn and understand if there are related ‘lessons learned' or ‘best practices', which can be used and transferred to the delivery of the moneys management and or the oil and gas management portions of FNOGMMA. March 31, 2011
3. INAC (IAB and IOGC, if applicable) should develop a process for assessing the specific capacity needs of individual First Nations as well as risk factors that could affect their completion of the FNOGMMA process. This process should also include a method to develop mitigation strategies related to the identified capacity needs and potential success factors of individual First Nations. IOGC has developed a document entitled ‘Governance and Operational Guideline for Developing a Business Plan' as part of the Oil and Gas Implementation Policy. Additionally, IMETA (IAB) developed a document entitled "FNOGMMA Moneys Management Implementation Policy" which contains a process and criteria for assessing financial management capacity of a First Nation.

IOGC and IMETA will review and update their respective Implementation Policies as needed to include the specific capacity needs of First Nations and address the risk and success factors that could affect individual First Nation completion of the FNOGMMA process; and a method to develop viable mitigation strategies.
Preliminary Review for input into a Memorandum to Cabinet completed by June 30, 2010

Detailed Review completed by
October 2010
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

LED- Following the Winter 2011-2012 analysis of the effectiveness of implementation of FNOGMMA, policy proposals will be completed.

RIA- Following the Winter 2011-2012 analysis of effective implementation of FNOGMMA, IOGC and IMETA will update their respective implementation policies as required.

AES: Delayed.
4. INAC (Individual Affairs Branch and IOGC if applicable) should incorporate FNOGMMA's long-term outcomes (particularly related to the broader economic, governance and capacity outcomes) and more details on program activities and outputs into a performance measurement strategy, which should then be implemented to track the performance of the program. Only if the objectives of the moneys and the oil and gas portions of FNOGMMA are dramatically different, should INAC consider separate authorities for the two components. IOGC and IMETA will develop a Performance Measurement Framework for FNOGMMA. This will include a logic model and performance measurement indicators for the desired outcomes and outputs, taking into account any program changes resulting from the previous recommendations. Completed and integrated into TBS document January 31, 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

LED- Following the Winter 2011-2012 analysis of effective implementation of FNOGMMA, a Performance Measurement Framework for FNOGMMA will be completed.

RIA- Following the Winter 2011-2012 analysis of effective implementation of FNOGMMA, a Performance Measurement Framework for FNOGMMA will be completed.

AES: Delayed. Need new date.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation sommative de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (29 Ko, 3 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Terres et développement économique et Résolution et affaires individuelles

Évaluation sommative de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations (2009087)
Date d'approbation : 05-14-2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. À partir des conclusions de l'évaluation, AINC (plus précisément Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC)) doit déterminer la faisabilité de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations (LGPGFPN). Terres et développement économique (TDE) et PGIC prépareront des documents qui serviront à entreprendre une discussion stratégique au niveau supérieur en ce qui concerne les possibilités et la faisabilité de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN. Présentation au Comité supérieur des politiques, le 22 juin 2010 État : Terminé

État/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2010

On a présenté la documentation au Comité supérieur des politiques et discuté avec ce dernier le 22 juin 2010. Le Comité a recommandé de résumer les documents et de poursuivre les discussions avec le ministre (prévues pour octobre ou novembre).

Commentaires du SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée, mais d'autres décisions, indiquées dans les recommandations suivantes, sont en suspens.
2. Avant de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN et de guider la mise en œuvre future du volet de gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN, AINC doit s'appuyer sur les conclusions de l'évaluation pour régler les questions ciblées suivantes

a) Déterminer les besoins des provinces aux fins de leur participation à la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN (plus précisément PGIC).

b) Améliorer la compréhension des priorités et des intérêts des Premières nations en ce qui concerne la gestion du pétrole et du gaz dans les réserves, les risques et les avantages pour les Premières nations d'adhérer à la LGPGFPN et le lien entre la LGPGFPN et la modernisation de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, ainsi que les litiges éventuels comme solution de rechange à la LGPGFPN (plus précisément PGIC).

c) Tenir compte des leçons retenues et des pratiques exemplaires (en particulier, celles qui sont liées à l'état de préparation, au développement des capacités et à la gouvernance) relatives à d'autres lois optionnelles, notamment, la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations, la Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des premières nations et la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des premières nations (Direction générale des affaires individuelles et PGIC).
a. PGIC s'assurera que les provinces productrices de pétrole et de gaz confirment les changements apportés à la procédure et à la législation qui sont nécessaires afin de faciliter la poursuite de la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN.

b. PGIC communiquera avec les Premières nations intéressées et fera la promotion active du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz auprès des autres Premières nations qui pourraient être intéressées afin d'évaluer l'intérêt et l'adhésion possible, et de déterminer les avantages et les problèmes éventuels que les Premières nations pourraient anticiper. Les clés de cette diffusion sont :

  • l'explication du nouveau régime de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes en cours de conception, qui est plus normatif que le présent régime et ne permet pas une aussi grande discrétion.

  • les améliorations ou les changements législatifs envisagés.
À confirmer auprès des provinces concernées par le volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz d'ici le 15 juin 2010

Diffusion et promotion actives auprès des Premières nations concernées par le volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz qui peuvent être intéressées au cours de l'été 2010
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2011

2a – Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) mène actuellement des discussions avec des représentants provinciaux sur diverses questions liées au pétrole et au gaz. Des discussions plus poussées avec l'Alberta sont rendues nécessaires à la suite de l'analyse détaillée de la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN réalisée à l'hiver 2011-2012. Il faudra notamment apporter des modifications techniques et des améliorations stratégiques en vue de créer un régime plus durable.

2b – À la suite de l'analyse portant sur la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN réalisée à l'hiver 2011‑2012, des contacts seront établis avec les Premières Nations productrices de pétrole et de gaz pour déterminer l'état de préparation de celles qui sont intéressées. Pour le moment, nous avons reçu deux résolutions de conseil de bande spontanées de la Première Nation d'Onion Lake et de la Première Nation crie de Beaver Lake qui demandent à participer au volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN.

2c-TDE Des discussions informelles ont été menées sur des leçons retenues et de possibles modifications législatives. D'autres analyses seront réalisées au cours de l'hiver 2011-2012.

RAI Un atelier de deux jours a été organisé à l'automne 2011 en vue d'examiner les options qui mèneraient à la mise en œuvre efficace du volet de gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN. D'autres recherches sont en cours à ce sujet.

Commentaire du SVE : En cours, mais retardé.
c. PGIC et Fonds des Indiens, successions et annuités découlant des traités (FISAT) réaliseront une analyse relative aux autres programmes législatifs optionnels afin de connaître et de comprendre les « leçons retenues » ou les « pratiques exemplaires » connexes qui pourraient être transférées à l'exécution des volets de gestion des fonds ou de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN. 31 mars 2011
3. AINC (DGAI et PGIC, s'il y a lieu) doit établir un processus d'évaluation des besoins en capacité de chaque Première nation ainsi que des facteurs de risque susceptibles de nuire à la réalisation du processus de la LGPGFPN. Ce processus doit aussi comprendre une méthode d'élaboration de stratégies d'atténuation liées aux besoins en capacités relevés et aux facteurs de réussite potentiels de chaque Première nation. PGIC a conçu un document intitulé « Governance and Operational Guideline for Developing a Business Plan » [gouvernance et directives opérationnelles pour la création d'un plan d'activités] dans le cadre de la politique de mise en œuvre du pétrole et du gaz. De plus, FISAT (DGAI) a rédigé un document intitulé « LGPGFPN Moneys Management Implementation Policy » [politique de gestion de la mise en œuvre des fonds de la LGPGFPN], qui comprend un processus ainsi que les critères permettant d'évaluer la capacité de gestion financière d'une Première nation.

PGIC et FISAT examineront leurs politiques de mise en œuvre respectives et les mettront à jour, au besoin, pour ajouter les besoins précis en capacité de chaque Première nation et aborder les facteurs de risque et de réussite qui pourraient influencer la réalisation du processus de la LGPGFPN, ainsi qu'une méthode visant à définir des stratégies d'atténuation durables.
Examen préliminaire en vue de la contribution au mémoire au Cabinet terminé d'ici le 30 juin 2010

Examen approfondi terminé d'ici
octobre 2010
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2011

TDE À la suite de l'analyse portant sur l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN, réalisée à l'hiver 2011-2012, des propositions stratégiques seront établies.

RAI À la suite de l'analyse portant sur l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN, réalisée à l'hiver 2011-2012, PGIC et la DFISAT mettront à jour leurs politiques de mise en œuvre respectives, s'il y a lieu.

Commentaire du SVE : Retardé.
4. AINC (DGAI et PGIC s'il y a lieu) doit intégrer les résultats à long terme de la LGPGFPN (en particulier, ceux qui sont liés aux résultats élargis de l'économie, de la gouvernance et de la capacité) et davantage de détails sur les activités de programme et les résultats dans une stratégie de mesure du rendement, qui doit ensuite être mise en application en vue de suivre le rendement du programme. AINC ne doit envisager de séparer les pouvoirs pour les deux volets de la LGPGFPN, qui sont d'une part, les fonds et d'autre part, le pétrole et le gaz, que si les objectifs liés à ces volets sont considérablement différents. PGIC et FISAT créeront un cadre de mesure du rendement de la LGPGFPN. Le cadre comprendra un modèle logique ainsi que des indicateurs de mesure du rendement pour les extrants et les résultats escomptés, en tenant compte de tout changement de programme découlant des recommandations antérieures. Terminé et intégré à la présentation au Conseil du Trésor d'ici le 31 janvier 2011 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2011

TDE À la suite de l'analyse portant sur l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN, réalisée à l'hiver 2011-2012, un cadre de mesure du rendement de la loi en question sera créé.

RAI À la suite de l'analyse portant sur l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN, réalisée à l'hiver 2011-2012, un cadre de mesure du rendement de la loi en question sera créé.

Commentaire du SVE : Retardé. Nouvelle date nécessaire.
 
 
Date de modification :