ARCHIVED - Impact Evaluation of Contributions to Indian Bands for Land Management on Reserve - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (49 Kb, 7 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Lands and Economic Development

Impact Evaluation of Contributions to Indian Bands for Land Management on Reserve (1570-07/09068)
Approval Date: 2010-09-24

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1)
a) Continue to work towards:

  • National ATR legislation that incorporates process and approval improvements to streamline the process and increase efficiency.

  • Legislative alternatives to the current designation process, which is cumbersome, unresponsive and sets a standard that has no off-reserve equivalent.

b) Consider legislative change in the following areas:

  • Recognition of some forms of modern land tenure arrangements outside of the Indian Act.

  • Legislative and regulatory base for a modern land registry with possible interim arrangements with provincial land registries.
LED is continuing an engagement process with the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) on Additions to Reserve (ATR) and associated land management issues in accordance with the November 2007 Political Agreement signed by Minister Strahl and the National Chief. The joint agenda includes determining the possibility of proposing national legislation. These discussions will include the possibility of expanding any legislative proposal to deal with the areas raised by the evaluators, and more specifically to provide an optional alternative to some of the Indian Act land management tools. Any new tools would be focussed on supporting First Nations in economic and community development and address the impediments to effective land management that exist in the Indian Act. On-going/dependent on the engagement process Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

a) Achieved agreement in principle for legislative changes related to the ATR process and designation process with AFN members working with LED as part of a Joint Working Group on ATR. Development of a legislative proposal ongoing.





b) Discussion of modern forms of land tenure and modern land registry forthcoming.







AES: Agreed
2) Examine the feasibility of broadening the reach and accessibility of the ATR and RLEMP programs through:

a) Providing for the implementation of a greater number of ATRs from policy categories other than legal obligations.
a) As noted above, LED is continuing an engagement process with the AFN on ATR. The joint agenda includes a renovation of the ATR policy and process, which includes a review of the policy categories and how they are prioritized, and will focus on the efficiency and effectiveness of the process. The parties have noted that the current policy is not supportive of ATRs undertaken for economic development purposes in situations where the ATRs are not also Legal Obligations or Community Additions. On-going A) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

a) Preliminary recommendations on how to reform the ATR policy, including revision of policy categories, have been tabled within the Joint Working Group on ATR with the AFN. Interim policy renovation incorporating a category that accommodates proposals for ATRs stemming from Specific Claim Tribunal awards is completed.

AES: This recommendation remains Open.

Progress to date is generally satisfactory. However, there is no update on the efficiency and effectiveness of the process. Nor on issues related to ATR for economic development.

b) Extending RLEMP access to First Nations of varying land management capacities, taking into consideration INAC's Capacity Development Policy being proposed. b) Additional funds for the land management programs were secured through the Aboriginal Economic Development Action Plan. INAC is presently in the process of renovating the current programs in an effort to identify more efficient mechanisms to meet First Nations' requirements related to land management capacity. On-going B) Status: Ongoing

b) RLEMP continues to provide entry for an additional 20 First Nations per year. Prioritization will be given to First Nations with high volume of complex land management activities and economic development potential. Further changes to increase land and economic development capacity will be implemented as part of broader program renovations expected to be completed in 2012-2013.

AES: Agreed.
3) Increase internal capacity and effectiveness of INAC land management services through the development of clear roles and responsibilities both within LED and among stakeholders and delivery partners, appropriate classification levels, training, tools and incentives to decrease turnover. LED, in consultation with regions and stakeholders, will develop communications strategies and related products. An example of this is that LED partnered with the National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association (NALMA) to produce an ATR Manual for First Nations. The manual, which will be rolled out by NALMA at its October 2010 National Meeting, clarifies the roles and responsibilities of First Nations, the department and other parties in the ATR process. LED has also partnered with the Office of the Surveyor General of Canada, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) to work with five First Nations across the country to address the survey and parcel fabric on-reserve, which is typically of a much lower quality than off-reserve and results in numerous boundary and other disputes. The objective is to develop tools and systems that will be used to assist a wider range of First Nations with survey and boundary issues. Discussions are also underway with NALMA on the possibility of providing land management training to LED staff across the country. Additional opportunities for such joint work will be explored with AFN, NALMA and/or other First Nation partners. The issue of LED classification levels and staff turnover will be discussed with regional offices as part of the reorganization activities that are occurring both in Headquarters and in Regional Operations across the country. The reorganization activities and other efforts noted above are occurring in order to develop a more coherent approach to land management as a response to the Federal Framework on Aboriginal Economic Development. ATR Manual set for delivery to First Nations fall/winter 2010/11

NALMA Training under review, due January 2011
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

NALMA is currently arranging with First Nations from British Columbia to deliver training on the NALMA ATR Toolkit in the Fall 2011. Additionally, NALMA has begun research and consultation on the development of a NALMA Designation Toolkit, a companion to the ATR Toolkit designed to build First Nation capacity on designations. The toolkit and pilot training is anticipated to be completed by March 2012.







AES: Conclude on the value or stats of reorganization activities, committed in the action plan.
4)
a) Encourage joint/multiple collaboration between First Nations with limited capacity including continued support to Aboriginal organizations (e.g. NALMA and Tribal Councils) that support and enable capacity-building among First Nations.
a) The initiatives highlighted in numbers 1, 2 and 3 above are based on collaboration with First Nations and will provide benefits to a full range of First Nations including those with limited land management capacity. These efforts will continue as will the pursuit of additional opportunities to work collaboratively with AFN, NALMA and other First Nations organizations. On-going Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

a) The initiatives under (1) and (2)(a) are ongoing with full collaboration with the AFN and NALMA, including regional consultations led by the AFN and NALMA with First Nation land managers throughout Canada. NALMA has been identified as providing ongoing support by way of curriculum and other resources to roll out the results of policy and legislative proposals.

NALMA has organized a Centre of Excellence (experienced current and retired First Nation Land managers and AANDC employees) to support First Nations in a variety of land management situations. A meeting between Community Opportunities Branch, the National Aboriginal Land Managers Association (NALMA), and the Council for Advancement of Native Development Officers (CANDO) was held September 19, 2011 to discuss synergies between land management and economic development. Further discussions and a working group will continue to research efficiencies in land management and economic development capacity building.
b) Promote greater coordination and integration between economic development and land management functions and other INAC programs such as Capital Infrastructure. b) An independent study has provided evidence that the First Nations Land Management regime enables economic development on reserve. Using the current land management programs' strength, INAC is providing the opportunity to First Nations with land management experience to transition to sectoral self-governance. The Department encourages and provides incentives to communities using a Land Use Plan. In addition, the Department will be exploring the feasibility of incorporating economic development plans within a Land Use Plan. In addition, LED is working collaboratively with the department's capital infrastructure in Regional Operations and Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector, having established a working committee at the Director General level. On-going b) AANDC and NRCan/SGB have been working together through an open consultative approach with the First Nation pilot project communities to develop mutually beneficial working relationships in an effort to meet the project objectives. This means meeting with each community to exchange knowledge and requirements and carrying out land survey and registry work on their reserves. The main tenet of this project approach is to develop community driven processes that can lead to sustainable land management practises.

Meetings have been held with the Surveyor General Branch and 2 First Nations with remaining meetings to be held in Q3 of 2011-2012.

A workshop will be held with all participants in January of 2012.

Alignment of Land management and economic development programming is being developed within program renovation to provide more effective and efficient funding mechanisms and capacity building for First Nation land managers and economic development officers.

AANDC is currently engaging in a Land Use Planning Pilot with up to 8 First Nations. The purpose of the pilot will be to support First Nations in building sound land and economic planning and decision making to manage the development of land for economic development

AES: Progress appears to be sustained.
5) Improve financial data and monitor the implementation of the ATR and RLEMP performance measurement strategies. 5) The Department develops the Performance Measurement Framework based on the Report on Plans and Priorities and the approved Performance Measurement Strategies. The financial component of the programs and the implementation of Performance Measurement Strategies will be monitored with quarterly reports and adjustments made as appropriate. On-going Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

The National ATR Tracking System (NATS) continues to be refined to enhance its ability to improve monitoring and measurability of performance data. Efforts are underway to explore the feasibility of using NATS to provide on demand or regular updates to First Nations on the status of their ATRs.

Work is being finalized to align the land management authority with the program renovation initiative and it is expected that the realigned program suite will be operational during fiscal year 2012-2013.

Performance measurement indicators are being re-examined with the goal of developing more accurate and informative measures. This work is being done in alignment with the LED program renovation. Performance measurement indicators continue to be assessed within the alignment of LED program renovation.

AES: Progress is slower than expected - re: improvement of the financial data reporting system and the development of the performance measurement strategy
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de l'incidence des contributions aux bandes indiennes pour la gestion des terres dans les réserves- Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (54 Ko, 8 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Terres et développement économique

Évaluation de l'incidence des contributions aux bandes indiennes pour la gestion des terres dans les réserves (1570-07/09068)
Date d'approbation : 2010-09-24

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1)
a) Poursuivre le travail relatif aux :

  • lois nationales en matière d'AR qui intégreraient des améliorations au niveau du processus et de l'approbation afin de rationaliser le processus et d'améliorer l'efficience;

  • solutions de rechange législatives aux processus de désignation actuels des terres, qui sont lourds, inefficaces, et établissent une norme ne possédant pas d'équivalent hors réserve.
b) Examiner la possibilité d'apporter des changements législatifs dans les domaines suivants :

  • reconnaissance de certaines formes d'arrangements modernes de tenure foncière à l'extérieur du cadre de la Loi sur les Indiens;

  • fondements législatifs et réglementaires d'un registre moderne des terres avec d'éventuelles ententes provisoires concernant les registres des terres provinciaux.
Le Secteur des terres et du développement économique (STDE) poursuit son processus de mobilisation avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN) sur les ajouts aux réserves et les questions connexes de gestion foncière, conformément à l'entente politique de novembre 2007 signée par le ministre Strahl et le chef national. Le programme conjoint examinera la possibilité de proposer une loi nationale. Ces discussions porteront sur la possibilité d'élargir toute proposition législative pour inclure les domaines mentionnés par les évaluateurs et, plus particulièrement, pour assurer une solution de rechange optionnelle à certains des outils de gestion foncière de la Loi sur les Indiens. Tout nouvel outil visera surtout à offrir du soutien au développement économique et communautaire des Premières nations et à surmonter les obstacles de la Loi sur les Indiens qui entravent la gestion foncière efficace. En cours, dépend du processus de mobilisation État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification
En date du 30/09/2011

a) Une entente de principe a été conclue concernant des changements législatifs liés au processus d'AR et au processus de désignation auprès des membres de l'APN qui travaillent avec STDE dans le cadre du groupe de travail conjoint sur l'AR. On travaille à la définition d'une proposition législative.





b) Des discussions auront bientôt lieu concernant la modernisation de la politique et du processus d'ajout aux réserves.





SVE : approuvé
2) Examiner la possibilité d'étendre la disponibilité et l'accessibilité du Programme d'AR et du PGETR en :

a) permettant la mise en œuvre d'un plus grand nombre d'AR appartenant à des catégories de la politique ne concernant pas les obligations légales;
a) Tel qu'il a été mentionné précédemment, le STDE poursuit son processus de mobilisation avec l'APN sur les ajouts aux réserves. Le programme conjoint comprend la modernisation de la politique et du processus d'ajout aux réserves. Cette modernisation comporte un examen des catégories de la politique et de la façon dont elles sont classées en ordre de priorité, et se concentre sur l'efficience et l'efficacité du processus. Les parties ont remarqué que la politique actuelle ne soutient pas les ajouts aux réserves entrepris à des fins de développement économique dans les cas où les ajouts ne constituent pas des obligations légales ou des ajouts aux collectivités. Continu A) État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification
En date du 30/09/2011

a) Des recommandations préliminaires sur la façon de moderniser la politique sur l'AR, notamment des modifications aux catégories de la politique, ont été soumises au groupe de travail conjoint sur l'AR  avec l'APN. Des modifications provisoires ont été apportées à la politique pour y ajouter une catégorie pour intégrer les propositions d'AR émanant de décisions rendues par le Tribunal des revendications particulières.

SVE : cette recommandation demeure ouverte.

Les progrès jusqu'à maintenant sont généralement satisfaisants. Cependant, on n'a pas fait le point sur l'efficacité et l'efficience du processus, ni sur les questions touchant l'AR qui sont liées au développement économique.
b) étendant l'accès au PGETR aux Premières nations de divers niveaux de capacité de gestion foncière, en tenant compte de la politique sur la capacité de développement proposée par AADNC. Des fonds supplémentaires ont été mis de côté pour les programmes de gestion foncière, dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour les Autochtones. AADNC procède actuellement à la modernisation des programmes actuels afin de cerner des mécanismes plus efficaces pour combler les besoins des Premières nations quant à leur capacité de gestion foncière. Continu B) État : continu

b)  le PGTER continue d'ajouter 20 nouvelles Premières nations par an. La priorité est accordée aux Premières nations ayant un fort volume d'activités complexes de gestion des terres et un grand potentiel de développement économique. D'autres changements visant à renforcer la capacité de développement des terres et de l'économie seront mis en œuvre dans le cadre du grand remaniement du programme qui devrait être complété en 2012-2013.

SVE : approuvé
3) Augmenter la capacité interne et l'efficacité des services de gestion foncière d'AADNC par l'établissement de rôles et de responsabilités clairs, tant au sein du STDE qu'entre les intervenants et les partenaires dans la prestation, ainsi qu'élaborer des niveaux de classification, des activités de formation, des outils et des facteurs incitatifs appropriés afin de réduire le roulement du personnel. Le STDE, en consultation avec les régions et les intervenants, élaborera des stratégies de communication et des produits connexes. Par exemple, le STDE a établi un partenariat avec l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones (NALMA) pour produire un manuel sur l'ajout aux réserves à l'intention des Premières nations. Le manuel, qui sera lancé par la NALMA lors de sa réunion nationale d'octobre 2010, précise les rôles et les responsabilités des Premières nations, du Ministère et des autres parties prenant part au processus d'ajout aux réserves. Le STDE a également établi un partenariat avec le Bureau de l'arpenteur général des terres du Canada, de Ressources naturelles Canada, pour travailler avec cinq Premières nations du pays à traiter de l'arpentage et de la structure parcellaire dans les réserves, dont la qualité est généralement très inférieure à celle relevée hors des réserves et qui entraîne de nombreux litiges frontaliers et autres différends. L'objectif consiste à élaborer des outils et des systèmes qui seront utilisés pour aider un plus grand nombre de Premières nations à régler les problèmes liés à l'arpentage et aux frontières. Des discussions sont également en cours avec la NALMA sur la possibilité d'offrir une formation sur la gestion foncière au personnel du STDE de tout le pays. D'autres possibilités de travail conjoint similaire seront explorées avec l'APN, la NALMA et d'autres partenaires des Premières nations. La question des niveaux de classification du STDE et du roulement du personnel fera l'objet d'une discussion avec les bureaux régionaux dans le cadre des activités de réorganisation en cours à l'administration centrale et au sein du Secteur des opérations régionales dans l'ensemble du pays. Les activités de réorganisation et les autres efforts susmentionnés sont déployés pour élaborer une approche plus cohérente de la gestion foncière en guise de réponse au Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones. Manuel sur l'ajout aux réserves – distribution prévue aux Premières nations au cours de l'automne/ l'hiver 2010-2011

Formation de la NALMA en cours d'examen, prévue pour janvier 2011
État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification
En date du 30/09/2011

La NALMA est à faire des arrangements avec les Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique afin d'offrir de la formation concernant le manuel sur l'AR de la NALMA à l'automne 2011. De plus, la NALMA a entrepris des recherches et des consultations sur l'élaboration d'un outil de désignation qui compléterait le manuel  sur l'AR, afin de renforcer les capacités des Premières nationales en matière de désignation. Le manuel et le projet de formation devraient être prêts d'ici mars 2012.

SVE : Clore concernant la valeur ou les statistiques sur les activités de réorganisation, comme prévu dans le plan d'action. 
4)
a) Favoriser la collaboration simple ou multiple entre les Premières nations dont la capacité est restreinte, y compris fournir un soutien continu aux organisations autochtones (p. ex. NALMA et les conseils tribaux) appuyant et facilitant le renforcement des capacités chez les Premières nations.
a) Les initiatives mentionnées aux points 1, 2 et 3 se fondent sur la collaboration avec les Premières nations et seront avantageuses pour de très nombreuses Premières nations, notamment celles dont la capacité de gestion foncière est limitée. Ces efforts se poursuivront, tout comme l'exploration d'autres occasions permettant de travailler en collaboration avec l'APN, la NALMA et d'autres organismes des Premières nations. Continu État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

a)  Les initiatives mentionnées aux points (1) et (2)(a) menées en collaboration avec l'APN et la NALMA sont continues, y compris les consultations régionales que ces deux entités organisent avec les gestionnaires des terres des Premières nations partout au Canada. La NALMA offre un soutien continu grâce à son programme et à d'autres ressources pour faire connaître les résultats des propositions stratégiques et législatives.

La NALMA a mis sur pied un centre d'excellence (gestionnaires chevronnés des terres des PN (actuels ou retraités) et employés d'AADNC) qui soutient les Premières nations dans diverses situations de gestion des terres. La Direction générale des opportunités pour les communautés, la NALMA et le Conseil pour l'avancement des agents de développement autochtones (CAADA) se sont réunis le 19 septembre 2011 pour discuter des synergies entre la gestion des terres et le développement économique. D'autres discussions et un groupe de travail veilleront à dégager d'autres gains en efficience pour accroître les capacités en matière de gestion des terres et de développement économique.
b) Promouvoir une plus grande coordination et intégration entre les fonctions de développement économique et de gestion foncière, ainsi qu'entre les autres programmes d'AADNC, notamment ceux d'immobilisations. b) Une étude indépendante a révélé que le régime de gestion des terres des Premières nations permet le développement économique dans les réserves. Grâce à la force du programme actuel de gestion foncière, AADNC donne l'occasion aux Premières nations ayant de l'expérience en gestion foncière d'effectuer une transition vers l'autonomie gouvernementale sectorielle. Le Ministère encourage les collectivités à utiliser un plan d'aménagement du territoire et leur offre des incitatifs. De plus, il explorera la faisabilité d'incorporer des plans de développement économique aux plans d'aménagement du territoire. Le STDE travaille également en collaboration avec les responsables des immobilisations du Secteur des opérations régionales et du Secteur des programmes et des partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social. Il a d'ailleurs mis sur pied un comité de travail à l'échelle du directeur général. Continu b) AADNC et RNCan/DAG ont collaboré au moyen d'une approche de consultation ouverte avec les communautés des Premières nations prenant part au projet pilote afin de bâtir une relation mutuellement bénéfique en vue d'atteindre les objectifs du projet. Cela suppose rencontrer chacune des communautés pour mettre en commun les connaissances et les besoins, mener des sondages sur le terrain et tenir un registre concernant leurs réserves. Cette approche vise principalement à favoriser des processus axés sur les communautés pouvant mener à des pratiques durables au chapitre de la gestion des terres.

La Direction de l'arpenteur général et deux Premières nations se sont réunies, et d'autres rencontres auront lieu au cours du 3e trimestre de 2011-2012.

Un atelier sera organisé en janvier 2012 avec tous les participants.

On travaille à harmoniser les programmes de gestion des terres et de développement économique dans le cadre du remaniement pour créer des mécanismes de financement plus efficaces et efficients et renforcer les capacités des gestionnaires des terres des Premières nations ainsi que des responsables du développement économique. 

AADNC participe avec huit Premières nations (maximum) à un projet pilote sur une utilisation planifiée des terres. Ce projet vise à soutenir les Premières nations pour une planification et une prise de décisions judicieuses concernant les terres et les finances pour bien gérer l'exploitation des terres aux fins de développement économique.

SVE : les progrès semblent réguliers.
5) Améliorer les données financières et surveiller la mise en œuvre des stratégies de mesure du rendement du Programme d'AR et du PGETR. 5) Le Ministère élabore le cadre de mesure du rendement en se fondant sur le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et les stratégies de mesure du rendement approuvées. La composante financière des programmes et la mise en œuvre des stratégies de mesure du rendement seront surveillées dans le cadre de rapports trimestriels, et des rajustements seront faits au besoin. Continu État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

On travaille à peaufiner le système national de suivi des ajouts aux réserves (SNSAR) pour assurer un meilleur suivi des données sur le rendement, et une mesure plus juste de celles-ci. On explore la possibilité d'utiliser le SNSAR pour faire des rapports (réguliers ou sur demande) aux Premières nations concernant l'état de leurs AR.

On met la dernière main à l'harmonisation de la responsabilité quant à la gestion des terres avec le projet de remaniement. Le nouveau programme sera opérationnel au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013.

Les indicateurs sur la mesure du rendement sont réexaminés en vue d'élaborer des mesures plus précises et informatives. Ces efforts sont en phase avec le projet de refonte du programme de STDE.

SVE

On progresse moins rapidement que prévu quant à l'amélioration du système de transmission des données financières et à l'élaboration de la stratégie de mesure du rendement.
 
 
Date de modification :