ARCHIVED - Summative Evaluation of the Capital Facilities Maintenance Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (34 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Lands and Economic Development - Community Infrastructure

Summative Evaluation of the Capital Facilities Maintenance Program (08/45)
Approval Date: 24/09/10

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The CFM program should be renewed on the basis of demonstrated relevance, accomplishments, ongoing need, and First Nation priorities. a) Community Infrastructure Branch to proceed with steps to renew the CFM Program. 31/03/2010 Status: CLOSED

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2011

a) Completed/Ongoing – The CFM Program was renewed by Treasury Board on April 2, 2010.

b) Ongoing – CIB has completed a series of consultations with First Nations regarding alternative financing and will continue to consult with various stakeholders throughout 2011 on advancing the alternative financing file. CIB is also continuing to work on developing options for program reform to support alternative financing, procurement and operation of community infrastructure.

AES: Closed
b) Community Infrastructure Branch to respond to Budget 2010's commitment to undertake a comprehensive review of the current approach to financing First Nations' infrastructure by developing a new approach to funding infrastructure on reserves and supporting First Nations in improving the life-cycle management of their infrastructure assets. 31/03/2011
2. INAC, in consultation with First Nations and tribal councils, should revisit and modernize the formula underlying O&M funding to ensure it reflects current day realities and cost structures and creates incentives for adequate maintenance of community infrastructure. a) Community Infrastructure Branch to work with Operations and Planning Support Branch and Chief Financial Office Sector to develop options to modernize O&M funding formulas, including measures to improve outcomes with O&M funding. 31/03/2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Community Infrastructure Branch is engaging key stakeholders to finalize an O&M Strategy which outlines options to modernize O&M funding formulae, including measures to improve outcomes with O&M funding.

AES:

While there has been some progress against this recommendation, further follow-up is required.
b) Community Infrastructure Branch to engage key stakeholders in discussing proposed options for modernizing O&M funding. 31/12/2011
c) Operations and Planning Support Branch to work with Community Infrastructure Branch, Chief Financial Office Sector and Regional Offices to implement recommended approach to modernizing O&M funding. 31/03/2012
3. INAC should improve cost and performance measures related to infrastructure (financial and non-financial information). a) Community Infrastructure Branch developed new performance indicators (financial and non-financial, output and outcome). 8/12/2009 A) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Community Infrastructure Branch developed and / or updated new performance indicators. The new targets will be incorporated into the department's 2012-13 Performance Measurement, Resources and Results Structures (MRRS), Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP), and Departmental Progress Report (DPR). The CFMP Performance Measurement Strategy has identified 2015 as the date for the Program to achieve full implementation of these targets.

B) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Community Infrastructure Branch is currently working with Operations and Planning Support Branch and Regional Offices to amend reporting tools and improve inspection regimes so that information for new performance indicators can be properly collected.

A review of the Asset Condition Reporting System (ACRS) inspection process is underway and new tools, such as a paperless inspection tool are being developed and/or tested.

The ACRS manual is being revised and a new version is expected by December 2011.

C) Status: Completed, request to close.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

The National Planning Process associated with the First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan (FNIIP) has been fully implemented. In 2010-2011 FNIIP report was published and the 2011-2012 FNIIP report was approved by AANDC's Operations Committee in June 2011 to be published online. Community Infrastructure Branch will continue to work with regional offices on minor changes to the FNIIP, as required.

AES:

While there has been progress against this recommendation, further follow-up is required.
b) Community Infrastructure Branch to work with Operations and Planning Support Branch and Regional Offices to amend reporting tools and improve inspection regimes so that information for new performance indicators can be properly collected. 31/03/2011
c) Operations and Planning Support Branch to work with Community Infrastructure Branch and Regional Offices to fully implement the National Planning Process associated with the new First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan. 31/03/2011
4. INAC and First Nations should work together, in consultation with tribal councils, to:

a) improve the timeliness of communications at the regional level; and
a) Community Infrastructure Branch to work with Regional Operations and Planning Support Branch and Regional Offices to develop service standards relating to communication protocols with First Nations, including the enhancement of program communication through improvements to the INAC intranet website. 31/03/2011 A) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Work is currently underway to develop service standards relating to communication protocols with First Nations.

B) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

Community Infrastructure Branch is currently working with Operations and Planning Support Branch to integrate / align reporting requirements with performance indicator information requirements. CIB engaged in the Departmental process of reviewing and adjusting the Management, Resources and Results Structure (MRRS) for 2012-2013.

AES: Agree
b) integrate reporting requirements (including performance measures). b) Community Infrastructure Branch to work with Regional Operations and Planning Support Branch to integrate / align reporting requirements with performance indicator information requirements. 31/03/2011
5. INAC and First Nations should pursue those practices identified by the evaluation as demonstrating good management and effective delivery. These include, but are not limited to:

a) Letters of comfort to secure bank financing on the basis of project approval, in order to avoid unnecessary delays in project implementation;
a) Community Infrastructure Branch to undertake a comprehensive review of the current-approach to financing First Nations infrastructure, including the identification of best practices that can support effective financing and delivery of capital projects in a timely manner. 31/03/2011 A) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

AANDC has undertaken targeted discussions with First Nations, Aboriginal Organizations, private sector construction firms and financial institutions with the goal of identifying the challenges First Nations currently face when looking to secure financing for infrastructure development.

Earlier this year, two Minister's Special Representatives were appointed to explore new ways to engage the private sector in the financing of infrastructure on reserve. These Representatives will consult with departmental officials, Aboriginal organizations and private sector entities to develop a number of options and recommendations for proceeding.

AANDC has also been working with PPP Canada Inc to explore the applicability of the Public–Private Partnership (P3) model for infrastructure on reserve. AANDC has supported the development of several Aboriginal applications to PPP Canada's P3 Fund. Working with the early adopters of this model is helping AANDC to develop a forward strategy on the use of P3s.
b) Improved training in project management and technical areas to augment the skill base within First Nation administrations, which will enable those First Nations to reduce their expenditures on outside consultants and speed up their project application processes, and expand the certification elements of the Circuit Rider Program to other capital-related areas; and b) Community Infrastructure Branch will continue to emphasize the use of the capacity development funding stream within the First Nations Infrastructure Fund. Subject to resource availability, Community Infrastructure Branch will look at options to expand existing capacity development programs. 31/03/2011 B) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

During the three Calls for Proposals, all funds from the First Nations Infrastructure Fund were allocated including investments in community planning and/or skills development projects that will support long-term sustainable development of First Nation communities.

Community Infrastructure Branch is continuing to work with stakeholders to build up existing capacity development programs and ensure that CFMP capacity programs align with INAC-wide capacity programming initiatives.
c) Provide funding on a multi-year basis and/or re-profile funding to compensate for construction delays. c) Chief Financial Office to develop multi-year funding arrangement models (flexible contribution) as part of department's implementation of the new Transfer Payment Policy. 31/03/2011 C) Status: Completed, request to close.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

The new Transfer Payment Policy has been implemented. Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program has been assessed for compliance. Risk Assessment of First Nation recipients has been conducted using the General Assessment tool, funding relationships are tailored to the results. CIB is supporting regions in implementing the risk-based governance framework and processes.

AES:

While there has been progress against this recommendation, further follow-up is required.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation sommative du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (37 Ko, 7 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Terres et développement économique – Infrastructures communautaires

Évaluation sommative du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (08/45)
Date d'approbation : 2010-09-24

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Le Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (PIE) devrait être renouvelé en fonction du bien-fondé du renouvellement, des réalisations, des besoins permanents et des priorités des Premières nations. a) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) prendra les mesures nécessaires au renouvellement du PIE. 2010-03-31 État : DEMANDE DE FERMETURE

État/ Justification
En date du 31 mars 2011

a) Achevé/En cours – Le Conseil du Trésor a renouvelé le PIE le 2 avril 2010.

b) En cours – La DGIC a terminé une série de consultations avec les Premières nations sur une nouvelle approche en matière de financement. Elle mènera des consultations auprès de divers intervenants en 2011 afin d'assurer la progression du dossier et elle poursuivra ses efforts en vue d'élaborer, dans le cadre de la réforme du programme, des options qui appuieront la nouvelle approche en matière de financement, l'approvisionnement et l'exploitation des infrastructures communautaires.

Commentaire du SVE : Fermeture recommandée
b) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires respectera l'engagement pris dans le budget de 2010 relativement à la réalisation d'un examen exhaustif de l'approche actuelle de financement des infrastructures des Premières nations. Elle élaborera une nouvelle approche de financement des infrastructures dans les réserves et aidera les Premières nations à améliorer la gestion du cycle de vie de leurs infrastructures. 2011-03-31
2. AADNC, en consultation avec les Premières nations et les conseils tribaux, devrait revoir et moderniser la formule de financement du fonctionnement et de l'entretien de façon à ce qu'elle tienne compte des réalités d'aujourd'hui et des structures de coûts actuelles et qu'elle favorise l'entretien adéquat de l'infrastructure communautaire. a) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires travaillera avec la Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification et le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances à l'élaboration d'options qui moderniseront les formules de financement du fonctionnement et de l'entretien, y compris des mesures qui amélioreront les résultats obtenus par le financement du fonctionnement et de l'entretien. 2011-03-31 État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires travaille avec les intervenants clés pour mettre la dernière main à une stratégie de fonctionnement et d'entretien qui comprend des options pour moderniser la formule de financement du F et E, notamment des mesures qui amélioreront les résultats obtenus par le financement du F et E.

SVE :

Des progrès ont été réalisés, mais un suivi est nécessaire.
b) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires discutera avec les intervenants clés des options proposées pour moderniser le financement du fonctionnement et de l'entretien. 2011-03-31
c) La Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification travaillera avec la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires, le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances et les bureaux régionaux à la mise en œuvre de la méthode recommandée pour assurer la modernisation des formules de financement du fonctionnement et de l'entretien. 2012-03-31
3. AADNC devrait améliorer le système de mesure des coûts et du rendement lié à l'infrastructure (données financières et non financières). a) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires a établi de nouveaux indicateurs de rendement (données financières et non financières, extrants et résultats). 2009-12-08 A) État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011:

La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires a élaboré et/ou mis à jour des indicateurs de rendement. Les nouvelles cibles seront ajoutées dans la Structure de gestion, des ressources et des résultats 2012-2013 (SGRR), le rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR). La Stratégie de mesure du rendement de la Direction générale prévoit qu'en 2015 tous les objectifs du programme auront été atteints.

B) État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

La Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification travaillera avec la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires et les bureaux régionaux pour modifier les outils de reddition de compte et améliorer les régimes d'inspection pour que l'information concernant de nouveaux indicateurs de rendement puisse être adéquatement recueillie.

Un examen du processus d'inspection du Système de rapports sur la condition des biens (SRCB) est en cours, et l'on travaille à mettre au point et à tester de nouveaux outils, notamment un mécanisme d'inspection sans papier.

Le guide du SRCB fait l'objet d'une révision. La nouvelle version devrait être prête d'ici décembre 2011.

C) État : complété; demande de fermeture.

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

Le Processus de planification nationale associé au Plan d'investissement dans l'infrastructure des Premières nations (PNIIP) a été entièrement mis en œuvre. Le rapport du PNIIP a été publié en 2010-2011, et approuvé par le Comité des opérations d'AADNC en juin 2011 pour publication en ligne. La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires continuera de travailler avec les bureaux régionaux concernant des changements mineurs au PNIIP, au besoin.

SVE :

Des progrès ont été réalisés, mais un suivi est nécessaire.
b) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires travaillera en collaboration avec la Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification et les bureaux régionaux afin de modifier les outils de production de rapports et d'améliorer les régimes d'inspection de manière à ce que les données liées aux nouveaux indicateurs de rendement soient recueillies de manière appropriée. 2011-03-31
c) La Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification travaillera avec la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires et les bureaux régionaux pour assurer la mise en œuvre complète du processus national de planification associé au nouveau plan d'investissement dans l'infrastructure des Premières nations. 2011-03-31
4. AINC et les Premières nations devraient collaborer, en consultation avec les conseils tribaux, afin :

a) d'accélérer les communications au niveau régional;
a) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires travaillera avec la Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification et les bureaux régionaux afin d'élaborer des normes de service relatives aux protocoles de communication avec les Premières nations. Les communications relatives au programme seront aussi améliorées, et ce, par l'apport de changements au site intranet d'AADNC. 2011-03-31 A) État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

On travaille à l'élaboration de normes de services liées aux protocoles de communication avec les Premières nations.

B) État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 : La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires travaille avec la Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification afin d'intégrer et d'harmoniser les exigences en matière de rapports avec les exigences des indicateurs de rendement. La DGIC a participé au processus ministériel visant à examiner et à ajuster la SGRR pour 2012-2013.

SVE : approuvé
b) d'intégrer les exigences en matière de rapports (y compris les mesures du rendement). b) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires collaborera avec la Direction générale du soutien aux opérations et à la planification afin d'intégrer et d'harmoniser les exigences en matière de rapports avec les exigences des indicateurs de rendement. 2011-03-31
5. AADNC et les Premières nations devraient adopter les pratiques exemplaires cernées lors de l'évaluation et qui sont associées à une saine gestion et une prestation efficace. Ces pratiques comprennent, entre autres :

a) la présentation de lettres d'intention pour obtenir un financement bancaire sous réserve de l'approbation du projet, afin d'éviter d'en retarder inutilement la mise en œuvre;
a) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires entreprendra un examen exhaustif de l'approche actuelle à l'égard du financement des infrastructures des Premières nations, y compris la définition des pratiques exemplaires favorisant le financement et la prestation efficaces des projets d'immobilisations en temps opportun. 31/03/2011 A) État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

AADNC a entrepris des discussions ciblées avec les Premières nations, les organisations autochtones, les entreprises de construction privées et les institutions financières pour cerner les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les Premières nations au moment de faire financer des projets d'infrastructure.

En début d'année, deux représentants spéciaux du ministre ont été chargés de trouver de nouvelles façons de nouer le dialogue avec le secteur privé en ce qui touche le financement des infrastructures dans les réserves. Ces représentants consulteront des fonctionnaires du ministère, des organisations autochtones et des entreprises privées afin de recenser diverses options et recommandations pour aller de l'avant.

AADNC a également travaillé avec PPP Canada inc. afin d'étudier la possibilité d'appliquer le modèle de partenariat public-privé (P3) aux infrastructures sur les réserves. Le ministre a appuyé l'élaboration de plusieurs applications autochtones pour le Fonds P3 de PPP Canada. Le fait de travailler avec ceux qui ont rapidement mis en œuvre le modèle aide AADNC à formuler une stratégie sur l'utilisation des P3.
b) l'amélioration de la formation dans le domaine de la gestion de projets et les secteurs techniques afin d'accroître la base de compétences des administrations des Premières nations. Cela permettra aux Premières nations de réduire les dépenses associées aux services des conseillers externes, d'accélérer le processus de présentation de projets et d'étendre les éléments d'attestation du Programme de formation itinérante à d'autres secteurs liés aux immobilisations; b) La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires continuera de mettre l'accent sur l'utilisation du volet de financement axé sur le développement des capacités du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations. Sous réserve de la disponibilité des ressources, la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires envisagera des solutions pour élargir la portée des programmes actuels en matière de développement des capacités. 31/03/2011 B) État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

Dans le cadre de ces trois appels de propositions, la totalité du Fonds d'infrastructure des Premières nations a été allouée, notamment dans la planification communautaire et/ou des projets de renforcement des compétences en appui du développement durable des communautés des Premières nations.

La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires continue de travailler avec les intervenants pour améliorer les programmes actuels de renforcement des capacités et voit à ce que les programmes de PIE concernant les capacités reflètent celles d'AADNC.
c) la prestation de fonds sur une base pluriannuelle ou le report de fonds pour compenser les retards de construction. c) Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre par le Ministère de la nouvelle politique sur les paiements de transfert, le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances élaborera de nouveaux modèles d'accords de financement pluriannuels (contribution souple). 31/03/2011 C) État : complété; demande de fermeture.

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011 :

la nouvelle politique sur les paiements de transfert a été mise en œuvre. La conformité du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien a été évaluée. On a procédé à une analyse des risques pour les Premières nations bénéficiaires au moyen de l'outil d'évaluation générale; les relations de financement sont conformes aux résultats. La DGIC soutient les régions dans la mise en œuvre des cadres et processus de gouvernance fondés sur les risques.

SVE :

Des progrès ont été réalisés, mais un suivi est nécessaire.
 
 
Date de modification :