ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach in Alberta for the Child and Family Services - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version   (32 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships

Evaluation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach in Alberta for the Child and Family Services (1570-7/09059)
Approval Date: 24/09/10

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Revisit the EPFA funding model within the next year to learn from the past two years of implementation and incorporate resources for things, such as a remoteness factor that may address some of the issues faced by rural and remote communities. As part of this review, INAC should also determine if the calculations that are based on an assumed population of children in care are relevant in achieving desired outcomes. Revisiting the EPFA funding model:

As the department transitions to the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach province-by-province, costs such as remoteness are being incorporated into the funding formula (e.g. Saskatchewan, NS., PEI all have remoteness as a factor, as will all remaining provinces). In the case of Alberta, First Nations and the Province did not flag remoteness during the discussion to develop the formula; therefore, it was not included.

The introduction and implementation of an EPFA to child welfare on-reserve will not necessarily result in an overnight decrease of children in care. In fact, initially, the children in care rate will continue to grow until the full implementation of this model takes effect, which will probably be after a few years. Alberta found that, with implementation of the provincial response model, it was able to better contain costs over a number of years. It is therefore anticipated in FNCFS that there will be fewer children and youth requiring costly out of home placements in institutions and group homes, thereby reducing federal costs of maintaining children out of their parental home, while allowing for better outcomes from FN children, youth and families.

Based on this recommendation, INAC will determine if any modifications to the new model are required.
April 2012 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

AANDC is exploring ways of addressing EPFA model concerns in Alberta, within the current environment of fiscal restraint. This work is underway and is expected to be completed by April 2012.

AANDC has repeatedly reviewed the relevancy of the assumed population of children in care and has determined that the only way to ensure the ongoing viability of FNCFS agencies; as well as eliminate the incentive to take more children into care for the purposes of obtaining more funding, is to base operational funding on a fixed rate.

AES: Agree

Discussions to resolve issues raised in Alberta continue to take place in light of the first 5-year cycle coming to an end in 2012. The program maintains that a fixed rate is most viable option for agencies, particularly for smaller agencies.
2. In partnership with the province and other federal agencies, if applicable, maximize the use of scarce capacity building funds to strategically invest in developing the capacity of FNCFS agencies, bearing in mind that some agencies have higher capacity needs than others. Assessing the use of scarce capacity resources:

INAC will review its distribution of capacity resources region-by-region within the FNCFS program.
March 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011

For those jurisdictions operating under the EPFA, capacity funding is made available and is administered by the regional offices to ensure the agencies' capacity development requirements are met.

AANDC has reviewed the distribution of capacity resources in Alberta. Capacity building funds for 2011/12 are being managed through the IT Service Improvement Initiative, a tripartite project with the Province, AANDC and the Technical Services Advisory Group (TSAG). TSAG will provide the required access and support including quality assurance and compliance monitoring. AANDC is seeking project proposals, until end of October 2011, from the FNCFS agencies to assist them with capacity building, (i.e. training, policy development, upgrading IT systems/connectivity, development work for opening of emergency placement homes and for group homes).

Moreover, an AANDC department wide capacity development initiative is currently being developed that will help identify ways in which the program can enhance capacity within First Nation communities.

AANDC will continue its review of the remaining EPFA regions with a planned completion date of December 2012.

AES: Need to understand review to be completed in December 2012. Progress will depend on both program and department wide factors.

Capacity development is a critical factor for success in FNCFS agencies. Successful implementation will depend on theresults of TSAG's work, project proposals for capacity building, and AANDC's departmental wide capacity development initiative. Further follow-up is required.
3. Ensure that First Nations agencies are sufficiently supported in the development of their business plans including establishing baseline data on common indicators for prevention in the start-up phase; that business plans are updated annually and adjusted based on the feasibility of indicators and targets; in collecting ongoing longitudinal research to report on effectiveness, and in reporting the results through one common format to the province and INAC. Indicator and Business Plan development:

Efforts are currently underway to further strengthen performance measures and collection of data through the development of a comprehensive Performance Measurement Strategy for the FNCFS Program. This Strategy will be informed by the National Child Welfare Outcomes Indicator Matrix (NOM), which is being adopted by provinces. As in the past, this work will continue to be undertaken in collaboration with key program stakeholders. This Strategy will ensure alignment with agency business plans, the policy on Evaluation and the Policy on Transfer Payments and is anticipated to be completed December 2010. INAC will support agencies in updating their business plans each year in collaboration with the province and will review progress in implementing their plans through meetings during the year.
December 2010 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011

An umbrella Performance Measure Strategy with relevant indicators for the Social Policy & Programs Branch was approved on February 22, 2011 by the EPMRC.

Improvements to the collection and use of data will be made with the introduction of a CFS Information Management System (IMS) that is currently in the development stages with full implementation expected by fiscal year 2014/15.

Agencies have been updating business plans each year with the support of AANDC.

AES: Close.

Note: Development of the CFSIMS system is currently underway; it will be critical to assess whether the data collected is relevant, measurable and will assist in establishing baseline data.
4. Improve communication and awareness of the purpose, processes, procedures and inherent flexibility of the EPFA to FNCFS agencies to facilitate implementation and administration of the EPFA moving forward. Improved communication and awareness

INAC is aware that new program requirements need to be clearly articulated to all parties. INAC is currently updating existing material (program manual, reporting guides) and is expected to make these materials publically available by the end of fiscal year 2010-2011; it will be posted on the INAC website.
March 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011

AANDC has been developing and updating tools, manuals, guidelines and templates in order to enhance compliance and reduce reporting burden in the regions and agencies. These documents will also ensure that roles and responsibilities are clear and understood by all parties. These updates are expected to be completed and shared with regions and recipients on an as-built-basis starting in October 2011 with final implementation scheduled by March 31, 2012.

AES:

Tools, manuals, guidelines and templates are being developed and although delayed, appear to be on track for 2012.
5. INAC and the province discuss, clarify and formally agree (i.e. in the Tripartite Accountability Framework) to their respective roles and responsibilities with regard to training and technical support (particularly computer/IT training) for FNCFS agency staff, as well as data collection requirements. Roles and Responsibilities

INAC, as a funder, will continue to work with the provinces to establish roles and responsibilities with the remaining provinces that will transition to EPFA. INAC will continue to build relationships via tripartite tables and will assess the feasibility of entering into more formal arrangements with the provinces as well as identify other mechanisms to ensure that roles and responsibilities are clearly outlined including data collection requirements.

In all future development of Tripartite Frameworks, INAC will ensure that roles and responsibilities are included.
Alberta and other jurisdictions under EPFA: March 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011

In early 2010, the Assembly of Treaty Chiefs and the Province expressed an interest in pursuing a more formal arrangement in Alberta. Meetings have already been held between the First Nations and the Province in order to develop a draft acceptable to both parties, and AANDC has most recently been invited to participate in the process.

This formal arrangement is expected to identify roles and responsibilities particularly around training, supports and data collection. AANDC is currently reviewing the documentation generated by the First Nations and the Province and will begin discussions on the agreement in the fall of 2011. AANDC will be working toward concluding the agreement, with sign off by both Ministers, in early 2012.

AES:

Work was expected to be complete in March 2011 in Alberta. Need to provide dates for other EPFA jurisdictions for year end follow up report (March 31, 2012).
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention (AAAP) en Alberta pour le programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (38 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Programmes et partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention (AAAP) en Alberta pour le programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations (1570-7/09059)
Date d'approbation : 2010-09-24

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. AADNC devrait passer en revue la méthode de financement de l'AAAP au cours de la prochaine année afin de tirer parti des deux dernières années de mise en application et d'intégrer des ressources pour certaines choses, comme un facteur d'éloignement qui permettrait de tenir compte de certains problèmes avec lesquels les collectivités rurales ou isolées sont aux prises. Dans le cadre du présent examen, AADNC doit également décider si les calculs fondés sur le nombre supposé d'enfants bénéficiaires de soins sont pertinents aux fins de l'obtention des résultats souhaités. Passer en revue la méthode de financement de l'AAAP :

À mesure de la mise en application, province par province, de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention, les coûts, comme ceux liés à l'éloignement, sont pris en compte dans la formule de financement (p. ex. la Saskatchewan, la . et Î.-P.-É. ont un facteur d'éloignement, tout comme ce sera le cas de toutes les provinces restantes). Dans le cas de l'Alberta, les Premières nations et la province n'ont pas signalé l'éloignement durant les discussions visant à établir la formule; en conséquence, ce facteur n'est pas inclus.

L'application de l'AAAP aux services à l'enfance dans les réserves ne mènera pas nécessairement à une diminution instantanée des enfants pris en charge. En fait, le taux d'enfants pris en charge continuera à croître jusqu'à ce que le modèle soit pleinement mis en œuvre, ce qui prendra probablement quelques années. L'Alberta a constaté que, grâce à la mise en œuvre d'un modèle d'intervention provincial, elle a été davantage en mesure de contenir les coûts sur un certain nombre d'années. On s'attend donc à ce qu'il y ait moins d'enfants et de jeunes nécessitant des placements coûteux à l'extérieur du domicile, dans des établissements ou des foyers de groupe, ce qui réduira le coût, pour le gouvernement fédéral, du maintien des enfants hors de leur domicile familial, tout en contribuant à offrir de meilleures perspectives d'avenir pour les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières nations.

Sur la base de cette recommandation, AADNC déterminera s'il faut modifier en conséquence le nouveau modèle.
Avril 2012 État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2011

AADNC cherche des façons d'atténuer les préoccupations de l'Alberta concernant l'AAAP, à la lumière des restrictions budgétaires actuelles. Les travaux sont en cours et devraient prendre fin en avril 2012.

AADNC a examiné maintes fois la pertinence de la population présumée d'enfants à charge et a déterminé que la seule façon d'assurer la viabilité des organismes de SEFPN – ainsi que d'empêcher la pratique voulant qu'on accepte plus d'enfants pour avoir plus de financement – est de calculer le financement opérationnel au moyen d'un taux fixe.

SVE : approuvé

On continue de discuter avec l'Alberta concernant ses préoccupations en vue de la fin du premier cycle quinquennal, en 2012. Le programme maintient qu'un taux fixe est l'option la plus viable pour les organismes, notamment les plus petits d'entre eux.
2. En partenariat avec la province et les autres organismes fédéraux s'il y a lieu, AADNC devrait faire le meilleur usage possible du financement restreint alloué au renforcement des capacités afin d'investir judicieusement dans le perfectionnement des capacités des organismes de prestation des SEFPN, en gardant à l'esprit que certains organismes ont plus de besoins que d'autres à ce chapitre. Évaluer l'utilisation du financement restreint alloué au renforcement des capacités :

AADNC examinera la distribution des ressources allouées au renforcement des capacités, région par région, pour le programme des SEFPN.
Mars 2011 État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2011

Concernant les entités appliquant l'AAAP, le financement de capacité est géré et distribué par les bureaux régionaux pour garantir l'atteinte des objectifs des entités en matière de renforcement des capacités.

AADNC a examiné la répartition des ressources en Alberta. Le fonds de renforcement des capacités pour 2011-2012 est géré par l'initiative d'amélioration des services de TI, un projet tripartite entre la province, AADNC et le Groupe consultatif des services techniques. Ce dernier fournira l'accès et le soutien requis, notamment un contrôle de la qualité et une surveillance de la conformité. AADNC sollicite des propositions, jusqu'à la fin octobre 2011, des organismes de SEFPN pour les aider à renforcer leurs capacités (formation, élaboration de politiques, mise à niveau des systèmes de TI/connectivité, travaux préparatoires en vue de l'ouverture de maisons de placement d'urgence et de foyers collectifs).

De plus, un projet panministériel de renforcement des capacités est en cours d'élaboration à AADNC, pour mieux cerner les façons dont le programme peut venir en aide aux communautés des Premières nations.

AADNC poursuivra son examen auprès des autres régions qui appliquent l'AAAP; le tout devrait être complété d'ici décembre 2012.

SVE : L'examen doit être terminé en décembre 2012. Les progrès dépendront de facteurs liés tant au programme qu'au ministère.

Le renforcement des capacités est un facteur clé du succès des organismes de SEFPN. La réussite de la mise en œuvre dépendra les résultats des travaux du TSAG, des projets proposés quant au renforcement des capacités, et du projet panministériel de renforcement des capacités d'AADNC. Un suivi est nécessaire.
3. AADNC devrait faire en sorte que les organismes des Premières nations sont suffisamment bien appuyés aux fins de l'élaboration de leurs plans d'activités, y compris l'établissement des données de base relativement aux indicateurs communs en vue de la prévention à l'étape du démarrage; la mise à jour annuelle des plans d'activités et l'adaptation de ceux-ci en fonction des indicateurs et des objectifs; la conduite de recherches longitudinales visant à rendre compte de l'efficacité du programme et l'adoption, par les provinces et AADNC, du même mode de déclaration des résultats. Élaborer des indicateurs et un plan d'activités :

Des efforts sont actuellement déployés en vue de renforcer la mesure du rendement et la collecte de données par l'élaboration d'une stratégie détaillée de mesure du rendement pour le programme des SEFPN. La stratégie s'inspirera de la matrice d'indicateurs de protection de la jeunesse (MIP), que les provinces sont en train d'adopter. Comme par le passé, ces travaux seront entrepris en collaboration avec des intervenants de programmes clés. La stratégie, qui assurera l'harmonie avec les plans d'activités des organismes, la Politique sur l'évaluation et la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, devrait être prête en décembre 2010. AADNC offrira du soutien aux organismes en vue de la mise à jour des plans d'activités chaque année, en collaboration avec la province, et surveillera les progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre des plans, à l'occasion de réunions tenues au cours de l'année.
Décembre 2010 État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011

Une stratégie globale de mesure du rendement dotée d'indicateurs pertinents pour la Direction générale de la politique sociale et des programmes a été approuvée le 22 février 2011 par le CEMRE.

Des améliorations seront apportées au processus de collecte et d'utilisation des données grâce à la mise en place d'un système de gestion de l'information des services à l'enfant et à la famille (en cours d'élaboration). La mise en œuvre complète est prévue pour 2014-2015.

Chaque année, les organismes ont mis à jour leurs plans d'affaires avec l'aide d'AADNC.

SVE : fermeture.

Note : L'élaboration d'un SGISEF est en cours; il faudra déterminer si les données recueillies sont pertinentes et mesurables, et si elles contribueront à établir des données de base.
4. AADNC devrait veiller à ce que les organismes de prestation des SEFPN soient mieux informés et plus conscients de l'objectif, des processus, des procédures et de la souplesse inhérente de l'AAAP afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre et la gestion de l'AAAP au fil des étapes. Améliorer la communication et la sensibilisation

Le Ministère est conscient que les exigences du nouveau programme doivent être clairement présentées à toutes les parties. AADNC travaille actuellement à mettre à jour la documentation (manuel du programme, guides de présentation des rapports) et devrait la rendre accessible au public d'ici la fin de l'exercice 2010-2011. Les documents seront affichés sur le site Web du Ministère.
Mars 2011 État : en cours

Mise à jour/ justification :
En date du 30/09/2011

AADNC a élaboré et mis à jour des outils, manuels, lignes directrices et modèles pour plus de conformité et un moins lourd fardeau administratif pour les régions et les organismes. Ces documents veilleront également à ce que les rôles et responsabilités soient clairs et connus de tous. Les mises à jour devraient être complétées et communiquées aux régions et aux bénéficiaires au fur et à mesure, dès octobre 2011; le tout devrait être mis en œuvre d'ici le 31 mars 2012.

SVE :

Des outils, manuels, lignes directrices et modèles sont élaborés; bien qu'il y ait du retard, tout devrait être prêt pour 2012.
5. AADNC devrait discuter avec la province de leurs tâches et responsabilités respectives, clarifier celles-ci et en arriver à une entente officielle (p. ex. un cadre redditionnel tripartite) en ce qui a trait à la formation et au soutien technique (en particulier, la formation informatique ou en TI) du personnel des organismes de prestation des SEFPN et aux exigences en matière de collecte de données. Définir les rôles et responsabilités

AADNC, à titre de bailleur de fonds, continuera à travailler avec les provinces à définir les rôles et responsabilités des provinces qui feront la transition vers l'AAAP. AADNC continuera aussi à renforcer les liens par le truchement des tables tripartites et tentera de déterminer s'il est faisable de conclure des ententes officielles avec les provinces et de repérer d'autres mécanismes pour veiller à ce que les rôles et responsabilités soient clairement établis, ce qui comprend les exigences en matière de collecte des données.

AADNC veillera à ce que les rôles et responsabilités figurent dans toutes les ententes tripartites à venir.
Alberta et autres administrations utilisant l'AAAP : mars 2011 État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30/09/2011

Au début 2010, l'ACPNST et la province se sont dites intéressées à conclure une entente plus formelle en Alberta. Des rencontres ont déjà eu lieu entre les Premières nations et la province pour élaborer un plan acceptable pour les deux parties. Récemment, AADNC a été invité à participer à ce processus.

Cette entente formelle permettrait de cerner les rôles et les responsabilités, notamment en matière de formation, de soutien et de collecte des données. AADNC travaille à examiner les documents produits par les Premières nations et la province, et a entrepris des discussions sur l'entente à l'automne 2011. AADNC s'efforcera de conclure l'entente, et de la faire signer par les deux ministres, au début de 2012.

SVE :

Les travaux devraient prendre fin en mars 2011 en Alberta. Des dates doivent être fournies concernant les autres entités appliquant l'AAAP aux fins du rapport de suivi de fin d'année (31 mars 2012).
 
 
Date de modification :