ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Federal Government's Implementation of Self-Government and Self-Government Agreements - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (24 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Evaluation of the Federal Government's Implementation of Self-Government and Self-Government Agreements (07065)
Approval Date: 02/22/2011

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Continue to work on initiatives that are currently underway to improve processes related to the negotiation and implementation of self-government agreements. Treaties and Aboriginal Government (TAG) will continue work on developing resource documents and tools such as Treaty Obligation and Monitoring System, CLCA.net, Implementation Management Framework, Guidelines, Table Review and FAPP.

Will also continue to implement the new national approach to fiscal harmonization as well as the sustainability of self-government initiative.
Ongoing Status: Underway

Update/Rationale -
As of 30/09/2011:

Implementation Branch

The Guide for Federal Implementers was approved in September, 2010, and is now posted on the AANDC website. Guides on specific subject matter are in development including: Dispute Resolution; Reviews; Annual Reports, and Commemoration. TOMS has gone live internally at AANDC and allows us to track the status of Canada's obligations. The next step is to send the information to OGD's for verification.

CLCA.net is an online system that allows departments to record and track procurement in land claims areas. AANDC posts quarterly and annual reports on its website.

The Implementation Management Framework was approved in late 2009, and is being piloted in 3 regions. It strengthens the management of modern treaty implementation across the federal government by improving coordination and decision making between departments.

Policy Development and Coordination Branch

Under fiscal harmonization, Canada is developing a new approach that will ensure that fiscal arrangements with Aboriginal self-governments are consistent, fair and transparent across the country. TAG conducted engagement meetings with Aboriginal group representatives in the Spring of 2011, and is continuing policy development work leading to completion of a federal discussion paper and a second round of engagement of meetings in early 2012.

AES: In progress as planned
2. Consider putting in place a mechanism to ensure that policies and legislation that affect the negotiation and implementation of self-government agreements support, not work against, one other. Will continue ongoing outreach to sectors as well as with the TAG negotiation teams.

TAG will explore the possibility of including a self-government lens, similar to what is in place for gender analysis and sustainability development, to be applied within the department.

TAG will work with other sectors of INAC to explore approaches in non-self-government initiatives to lessen any disincentives for Aboriginal communities to move into self-government by the application of Canada's policy on Own Source Revenue.
Ongoing Status: Underway

Update/Rationale -
As of 30/09/2011:

Implementation Branch

Implementation Branch is available and does provide support and guidance to TAG negotiators on matters concerning the implementation of modern treaties.

Policy Development and Coordination Branch

TAG continues to participate in on-going discussions to ensure consideration, in departmental proposals, of self-government negotiations and the application of Canada's Own Source Revenue policy. The Fiscal Harmonization initiative provides a further opportunity to engage on these matters with aboriginal government stakeholders.

AES: In progress as planned
3. Consider establishing a framework for dialogue with Aboriginal organizations and Aboriginal communities regarding how a common vision of self-government can be achieved and operationalized under the IRP. TAG will explore opportunities to engage with Aboriginal groups, and where appropriate National Aboriginal Organizations, regarding a dialogue on policy issues and negotiation positions, to seek greater clarity and mutual understanding of the underlying differences in respective approaches to the negotiation and implementation of self-government.

TAG will explore opportunities to engage with other federal departments on developing a common vision and approach to implementing the government-to-government relationship pursuant to Canada's policy on self-government.
Ongoing. Status: Underway

Update/Rationale -
As of 30/09/2011:

Implementation Branch

Implementation Branch has regular and ongoing contact with the Land Claims Agreement Coalition on matters concerning the implementation of modern treaties, challenges and ways to resolve them.

AANDC is the federal government representative on Implementation Committees which are composed of signatory representatives. These committees meet on a regular basis to discuss the implementation of the agreements, and facilitate resolving issues as they arise.

Implementation Branch has regular and ongoing contact with other federal departments and agencies on implementation issues such as through federal and regional caucuses.

Policy Development and Coordination Branch

While there have been discussions with the Assembly of First Nations, these have focussed on historic treaties and comprehensive claims and not self-government. This is consistent with the Canada-First Nations Joint Action Plan of June 9, 2011.

AES: In progress as planned
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation par le gouvernement fédéral de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (26 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2011

Traités et gouvernement autochtone

Évaluation par le gouvernement fédéral de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale (07065)
Date d'approbation : 22/02/2011

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Poursuivre les initiatives en cours qui visent l'amélioration des processus relatifs aux négociations et à la mise en œuvre des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Traités et gouvernement autochtone (TGA) continuera de travailler à l'élaboration d'outils et de documents de référence comme le Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités, CLCA.net, le cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre, les lignes directrices, l'examen des tables et l'outil FAPP.

Nous continuerons également de mettre en œuvre la nouvelle approche nationale en matière d'harmonisation financière ainsi que la viabilité de l'initiative touchant l'autonomie gouvernementale.
En cours État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

Direction générale de la mise en œuvre

Le Guide pour les responsables fédéraux de la mise en œuvre a été approuvé en septembre 2010 et est maintenant affiché sur le site Web d'AADNC. Des guides portant sur certains sujets sont en voie de préparation, notamment : résolution de conflits; examens; rapports annuels et commémoration. Le Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités (SSODT) est utilisé à l'interne par AADNC et nous permet de suivre l'évolution des obligations du Canada. La prochaine étape consiste à faire parvenir les renseignements nécessaires à d'autres ministères aux fins de vérification.

CLCA.net est un système en ligne qui permet aux ministères de consigner et de vérifier l'approvisionnement dans le domaine des vérifications territoriales. AADNC affiche des rapports trimestriels et annuels sur son site Web.

Le cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre a été approuvé à la fin de 2009 et fait l'objet de projets pilotes dans trois régions. Il renforce la gestion de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes au sein du gouvernement fédéral en améliorant la coordination et la prise de décision entre les ministères.

Direction générale de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques

Dans le domaine de l'harmonisation financière, le Canada est en voie d'élaborer une nouvelle approche qui garantira que les arrangements fiscaux avec les gouvernements autochtones sont uniformes, justes et transparents dans tout le pays. TGA a organisé des rencontres avec des représentants de groupes autochtones au printemps de 2011 et poursuit le travail d'élaboration d'une politique qui mènera à la préparation d'un document de travail fédéral et d'une deuxième série de rencontres au début de 2012.

SVE : Progresse comme prévu
2. Examiner la possibilité de mettre en place un mécanisme afin de garantir que les politiques et la législation qui touchent la négociation et la mise en œuvre des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale s'appuient mutuellement plutôt que de s'opposer. Nous poursuivrons nos consultations avec les secteurs ainsi qu'avec les équipes de négociation de TGA.

TGA envisagera la possibilité d'intégrer un volet lié à l'autonomie gouvernementale semblable à ce qui existe déjà pour l'analyse comparative entre les sexes et le développement durable, afin de l'appliquer au sein du Ministère.

TGA travaillera en collaboration avec d'autres secteurs d'AINC à l'examen d'approches visant des initiatives ne touchant pas l'autonomie gouvernementale afin de réduire les désincitations pour les collectivités autochtones à adopter l'autonomie gouvernementale en appliquant la politique du Canada à l'égard des revenus autonomes.
En cours État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

Direction générale de la mise en œuvre

La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre fournit soutien et conseils aux négociateurs de TGA sur les questions touchant la mise en œuvre des traités modernes.

Direction générale de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques

TGA continue de participer à des discussions pour garantir l'examen, dans les propositions du Ministère, des négociations en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale et de l'application de la politique du Canada à l'égard des revenus autonomes. L'initiative d'harmonisation financière permet également de discuter de ces questions avec des intervenants autochtones.

SVE : Progresse comme prévu
3. Envisager la création d'un cadre pour le dialogue avec les organisations et les collectivités autochtones concernant la façon d'en venir à partager une vision commune de l'autonomie gouvernementale et de la rendre opérationnelle en vertu de la PDI. TGA cherchera des occasions de discuter avec des groupes autochtones et, le cas échéant, avec des organismes autochtones nationaux, concernant un dialogue portant sur les enjeux stratégiques et les positions de négociation afin de préciser et de mieux comprendre les différences qui existent entre les approches respectives en matière de négociation et d'autonomie gouvernementale.

TGA examinera la possibilité de discuter avec d'autres ministères fédéraux au sujet de l'établissement d'une vision commune et d'une approche de mise en œuvre des rapports entre gouvernements dans le cadre de la politique du Canada sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.
En cours État : En cours d'exécution

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30/09/2011 :

Direction générale de la mise en œuvre

La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre a régulièrement des contacts avec la Coalition pour les ententes sur les revendications territoriales concernant la mise en œuvre des traités modernes, leurs défis et les moyens de les surmonter.

AADNC représente le gouvernement fédéral au sein des comités de mise en œuvre composés de représentants signataires. Ces comités se réunissent régulièrement pour discuter de la mise en œuvre des accords et faciliter la résolution des problèmes qui surgissent.

La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre a des contacts réguliers avec d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux pour discuter de questions de mise en œuvre, notamment par l'entremise des caucus fédéraux et régionaux.

Direction générale de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques

Même s'il y a eu des discussions avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, ces dernières ont porté sur les traités historiques et les revendications globales, et non sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Cela est conforme au plan d'action conjoint Canada‑Premières Nations du 9 juin 2011.

SVE : Progresse comme prévu
 
 
Date de modification :