ARCHIVED - Audit of the Quality Management Program and the Application of the Intervention Policy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2011

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (39 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2011

Regional Operations, Chief Financial Officer

Audit of the Quality Management Program and the Application of the Intervention Policy (200725)
AEC Approval Date: 26/02/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The IP be reassessed with a view to clarifying policy objectives, revising policy components needed to ensure consistency with the objectives, and providing related tools and guidance to ensure the policy is implemented as intended.

Policy revisions and related guidance to provide, at a minimum, clarity regarding:
  • IP-related roles, responsibilities, accountabilities and expectations regarding IP design, development, implementation, and monitoring across key stakeholder groups including the CFO Sector, Programs and Regional Operations (particularly FSOs).

  • When a recipient's level of intervention should be escalated or de-escalated.

  • Expectations for a risk-based and integrated strategy and approach to evaluate compliance with the IP at a National and Regional level.

  • Minimum standards of documentation related to ongoing monitoring activities, such as trip reports (notes of site-visits), minutes of meetings, decisions, action-items and responsibilities to ensure a consistent approach within and across regions.

  • Practices, including monitoring, related to the timely receipt and review of RMPs as well as the enforcement of IP requirements in cases when RMPs are not received from recipients.

  • An approach for tracking the status of recipients under intervention, tracking and documenting progress against plans at a regional level and for providing regional information to HQ for purposes of assessing overall effectiveness of the IP, and

A sustainable strategy and approach be established to performing regional quality assurance reviews to monitor and validate compliance with the IP.
The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM, Regional Operations and Program ADM's, will undertake a review of the Intervention Policy. This review will involve confirmation of policy objectives and the identification of those policy changes required to address the implementation and clarity issues noted in the Horizontal Audit. The outcome of the review will include a workplan and timetable for recommended changes to the Intervention Policy and/or related guidance. 31 December, 2009 Status: completed, request to close.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO: CFO to provide details of implementation and activities to date, TPCOE confirmed via email with RO OPS.

CFO: A review was carried out in summer 2009 and a full evaluation during the fall of 2009. Subsequently redrafted as the Default Prevention and Management Policy. First Nations were engaged on this draft Policy in summer 2010. The Policy was presented at Departmental Operations Committee and has been approved by the Deputy Minister. Directives to accompany the Policy were presented at Departmental Operations Committee and have been approved by the Chief Financial Officer. User guides and other tools are being finalized and will be promulgated.

AES: The recommendation is closed based on the approval of the Policy and supporting Directives.
2. In the short term, tools and practices (e.g. formal criteria, guidance and training) be developed, based on risk and current best practices, that will support consistent application of judgment to a particular recipient situation and that will clarify the conditions of default as described in the IP. The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM, Regional Operations and Program ADM's, will identify, recommend and develop the tools and practices required to support a more consistent application of the Intervention Policy across regions. Recommendations regarding required tools and practices will be based on risk and current best practices. 30 June, 2009 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO: CFO to provide response. RO has worked in collaboration with CFO over the past two years to develop tools and practices in support of the former Intervention Policy / General Assessment tools such as:

Default Prevention and Management Policy, Third Party Management Framework, User guide, Default Management User Guide, Action Plan and Workbook.

CFO: The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM Regional Operations and Programs established interim tools. The Policy on Default Prevention and Management has been approved. A supporting directive, final guidance and tools relating to the Management Action Plan was finalized in the first quarter of 2011-2012. The Policy was presented at Departmental Operations Committee and has been approved by the Deputy Minister. Directives to accompany the Policy were presented at Departmental Operations Committee and have been approved by the Chief Financial Officer. User guides and other tools are being finalized and will be promulgated.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed once supporting user guides and tools have been finalized and distributed.
3. An integrated and standardized Quality Management Program* be developed and operationalized. The QMP to provide, as a minimum, clarity regarding:

  • Roles and responsibilities of key stakeholders in regions and at HQ.

  • The Departmental approach and policy that defines expectations for implementing, monitoring and sustaining a risk-based approach to compliance reviews (including programs delivered via third party agents.

  • Departmental policy/guidance regarding acceptable model(s) for ensuring timely compliance reviews taking into account the attributes of those individuals assigned with such responsibilities (including their independence from the day-to-day activities)

* Quality Management Program components to be tailored to the unique circumstances of Northern Regions.
The Senior ADM, Regional Operations, in collaboration with the CFO and Program ADM's, will develop and operationalize a Department-wide Quality Management Program for Grants and Contributions. The QMP will be designed to address the specific issues regarding roles and responsibilities of key stakeholders and the promotion of a risk-based approach to compliance reviews. Guidance will be developed regarding acceptable staffing/ organizational models for compliance reviews with a view to promoting consistency and appropriate segregation of duties. The QMP will be developed by December 31, 2009 and implemented by June 30, 2010. 30 June, 2010 Status: ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO:(CFO to provide response. RO has worked in collaboration with CFO over the past two years to develop tools and practices in support of the former Intervention Policy / General Assessment tools such as:

Default Prevention and Management Policy, Third Party Management Framework, User guide, Default Management User Guide, Action Plan and Workbook.

The Quality Management Framework (QMF) was presented to OPS Committee on March 29, 2011 and will return November 1, 2011 with examples of how the QMF and its principles have been applied in the department and the improvements that have resulted.

CFO: An umbrella Quality Management Framework was drafted in Summer 2010. This document is being further refined based on comments at the Departmental Operations Committee. When finalized, this Framework will articulate the Department's vision for quality management. In addition, the Department's Management Control Framework for Grants and Contributions will provide quality management guidance for all grants and contributions programs that is consistent with the Policy on Transfer Payments. PTP guidance documents are expected to be ready for approval early in 2011-2012. Individual program branches responsible for grants and contributions will be responsible for building quality management principles into their guidance documents. All other branches will be responsible for quality management in their areas consistent with the overall framework and with policies and directives relating to their operations (e.g., IMIT)

AES: Implementation.
4. Standard expectations, guidance and tools be established for the implementation of quality control activities at the regional level, including guidance regarding the monitoring, review and documentation of recipient program reports. The Senior ADM, Regional Operations, in collaboration with the CFO and Program ADM's, will develop a common set of expectations, guidance and tools for the implementation of quality control activities at the regional level. June 30, 2009 Status: on-going

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO: See recommendation 1 for details of tools.

CFO: RO Regions have developed compliance plans. These are being updated for 2011-2012. In addition RO Regions and Social Program are working together to develop a comprehensive approach to risk based compliance and program management. RO regions will examine options for enhancing Education and Community Facilities Maintenance Program compliance approaches in 2011-2012. A Recipient Audit policy has been developed that includes information on compliance.

AES: Implementation.
5. Standard requirements be defined for the review of recipient's audited financial statements at a regional level, clarifying expectations related to the formality of the Audit Review Committee (ARC) and representation on the ARC. The CFO, in collaboration with Senior ADM, Regional Operations and the CAE will develop a model for the review of recipient's audited financial statements as well as the expectations for the composition and the role ARCs. June 30, 2009. Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2011:

RO: CFO has lead, RO has provided consultation and support through various forums.

CFO: Baseline data from all regions have been gathered and the identification of a minimum standard is being developed and will be presented at Departmental Operations Committee.

AES: Full implementation requires the definition and documentation of consistent review practices in regions.
6. An audit clause be incorporated in the new CFNFAs outlining the right to conduct timely compliance reviews and program directives include CFNFAs within the requirements for audit, including stipulated frequency of these audits. This recommendation has been addressed. N/A Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

AES: Fully implemented. The recommendation will be closed.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification du programme de gestion de la qualité et de l'application de la politique d'intervention - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (45 Ko, 7 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2011

Opérations régionales, dirigeant principal des finances

Vérification du programme de gestion de la qualité et de l'application de la politique d'intervention (200725)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 26/02/2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Réévaluer la Politique d'intervention (PI) de manière à clarifier ses objectifs; à modifier des éléments pour qu'ils concordent avec les objectifs; à fournir l'orientation et les outils connexes pour que la mise en œuvre de la politique soit conforme à ce qui avait été prévu.

Les révisions et les directives connexes doivent à tout le moins clarifier les éléments suivants :
  • Rôles, responsabilités, obligations de rendre des comptes et attentes liés à la conception, à l'élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance de la PI parmi les principaux groupes d'intervenants, notamment le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances, les programmes et les opérations régionales (en particulier les agents des services de financement).

  • Situations où il convient d'intensifier ou d'atténuer le niveau d'intervention appliqué à un bénéficiaire.

  • Attentes liées à une stratégie/approche (fondée sur le risque et intégrée) d'évaluation de la conformité à la PI à l'échelle nationale et régionale.

  • Normes de documentation minimales des activités de surveillance continues – comptes rendus de voyage (visites sur les lieux), procès-verbaux de réunion, décisions, mesures à prendre et responsabilités – afin d'uniformiser l'approche au sein des régions et entre elles.

  • Pratiques concernant la réception et l'examen dans les délais des plans de redressement (y compris la surveillance) et la mise à exécution des exigences de la PI si les bénéficiaires n'envoient pas ces plans.

  • Méthode permettant de suivre les progrès des bénéficiaires sous intervention, de suivre et de documenter les progrès par rapport aux plans régionaux et de communiquer les informations régionales à l'AC en vue d'évaluer l'efficacité globale de la PI.

Établissement d'une stratégie et d'une approche durables pour effectuer des examens régionaux de l'assurance de la qualité, de manière à surveiller et à valider la conformité à la PI.
 Le dirigeant principal des finances (DPF), en collaboration avec le sous-ministre adjoint (SMA), Opérations régionales, et les SMA des programmes, entreprendra un examen de la Politique d'intervention dans le but de confirmer les objectifs de cette dernière et de déterminer les changements à apporter en réaction aux problèmes liés à la mise en œuvre et à la clarté observés lors de la vérification horizontale. L'examen pourrait donner lieu à la production d'un plan de travail et d'un calendrier pour l'apport des changements recommandés à la PI ainsi qu'aux directives connexes. 31 décembre 2009 État : Terminé; demande de fermeture.



Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2011



OR : Le DPF fournira les détails relativement à la mise en œuvre et aux activités faites jusqu'à ce jour; le CEPT a confirmé par courriel avec le SOP des OR.





DPF : Un examen a été effectué à l'été 2009, et une évaluation complète a été réalisée à l'automne 2009. Le document a été refait et porte le nom de Poilitique de prévention et gestion des manquements. Les Premières nations ont participé à l'ébauche de cette politique à l'été 2010. Elle a été présentée au Comité des opérations du Ministère et a été approuvée par le sous‑ministre. Les directives devant accompagner la Politique ont été présentées au Comité des opérations du Ministère et ont été approuvées par le dirigeant principal des finances. On est à compléter des manuels de l'utilisateur et d'autres outils, lesquels seront publiés.





SVE : La recommandation est classée, compte tenu de l'approbation de la Politique et des Directives à l'appui.
2. À court terme, créer des outils et pratiques (p. ex. critères officiels, directives et formation) fondés sur le risque et les pratiques exemplaires actuelles, qui permettront de faire preuve de jugement dans les situations particulières des bénéficiaires et de préciser les conditions d'un manquement conformément à la PI. Le DPF, en collaboration avec le SMA principal, Opérations régionales, et les SMA des programmes, élaborera les outils et pratiques qu'il aura recommandés pour favoriser l'application uniforme de la Politique d'intervention à l'échelle des régions. Les recommandations formulées à l'égard des outils et pratiques se fonderont sur le risque et les pratiques exemplaires actuelles. 30 juin 2009 État :

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2011

OR : Le DPF fournira une réponse. Les OR ont travaillé en collaboration avec le DPF au cours des deux dernières années pour élaborer des outils et des pratiques à l'appui des anciens outils relatifs à la politique d'intervention/l'évaluation générale, tels que :

Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements, Entente-cadre de gestion par un séquestre‑administrateur, Manuel de l'utilisateur, Guide de l'utilisateur sur la gestion des manquements, Plan d'action et Cahier de travail.

DPF : Le DPF, en collaboration avec le SMA principal, Opérations régionales, et les SMA des programmes, a élaboré des outils provisoires. La Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements a été approuvée. Une directive à l'appui, de même que des lignes directrices et des outils officiels liés au Plan d'action de la direction ont été complétés au cours du premier trimestre de 2011‑2012. La Politique a été présentée au Comité des opérations du Ministère et a été approuvée par le sous‑ministre. Les directives devant accompagner la Politique ont été présentées au Comité des opérations du Ministère et ont été approuvées par le dirigeant principal des finances. On est à compléter des manuels de l'utilisateur et d'autres outils, lesquels seront publiés.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée dès que les manuels de l'utilisateur et les outils à l'appui auront été complétés et distribués.
3. Élaborer et mettre en œuvre un programme de gestion de la qualité intégré et normalisé*. Le programme de gestion de la qualité doit, au minimum, clarifier :
  • les rôles et responsabilités des principaux intervenants dans les régions et à l'AC;

  • l'approche et la politique du Ministère définissant les attentes à l'égard de la mise en œuvre, du suivi et du maintien d'une méthode axée sur les risques pour les examens de la conformité (y compris des programmes offerts par des tiers);

  • la politique et l'orientation du Ministère relativement aux modèles permettant d'assurer la réalisation en temps utile d'examens de la conformité qui tiennent compte des attributs des personnes auxquelles ces responsabilités ont été confiées (y compris leur indépendance dans les activités courantes).

* Les éléments du programme doivent être adaptés aux circonstances uniques des régions du Nord.
Le SMA principal, Opérations régionales, en collaboration avec le DPF et les SMA des programmes, élaborera et mettra en œuvre un programme ministériel de gestion de la qualité pour les subventions et contributions. Le programme de gestion de la qualité sera conçu pour régler les questions particulières liées aux rôles et responsabilités des intervenants clés et à la promotion d'une approche axée sur le risque de l'examen de la conformité. On élaborera des lignes directrices décrivant des modèles de dotation et des modèles organisationnels acceptables en ce qui concerne l'examen de la conformité, en vue de promouvoir l'uniformité et la séparation adéquate des fonctions. Le programme de gestion de la qualité sera élaboré d'ici le 31 décembre 2009 et mis en œuvre avant le 30 juin 2010. 30 juin 2010 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2011

OR : Le DPF fournira une réponse. Les OR ont travaillé en collaboration avec le DPF au cours des deux dernières années pour élaborer des outils et des pratiques à l'appui des anciens outils relatifs à la politique d'intervention/l'évaluation générale, tels que :

Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements, Entente-cadre de gestion par un séquestre‑administrateur, Manuel de l'utilisateur, Guide de l'utilisateur sur la gestion des manquements, Plan d'action et Cahier de travail.

Le Cadre de gestion de la qualité (CGQ) a été présenté au Comité des opérations le 29 mars 2011 et on a demandé à l'équipe de gestion de la qualité de retourner le 1er novembre 2011 au Comité pour présenter des exemples de la façon dont le CGQ et les principes qui le sous-tendent ont été appliqués dans le Ministère et des améliorations qui en ont résulté.

DPF : Un cadre général de gestion de la qualité a été préparé à l'été 2010. Il est actuellement affiné en fonction des commentaires du Comité des opérations ministérielles. Lorsqu'il sera terminé, ce cadre précisera la vision du Ministère à l'égard de la gestion de la qualité. De plus, le Cadre de contrôle de gestion du Ministère concernant les subventions et les contributions offrira des lignes directrices relativement à la gestion de la qualité pour l'ensemble des programmes de subventions et de contributions, en conformité avec la Politique sur les paiements de transfert. On s'attend à ce que les documents d'orientation relatifs à la PPT soient prêts à être approuvés au début de 2011­2012. Chaque direction générale responsable de programmes de subventions et contributions devra intégrer des principes de gestion de la qualité dans ses documents d'orientation. Toutes les autres directions générales devront assurer la gestion de la qualité dans leurs domaines respectifs, conformément au cadre général et aux politiques et directives propres à leurs activités (p. ex., GITI).

SVE : Mise en œuvre.
4. Établir des attentes, des lignes directrices et des outils normalisés pour la mise en œuvre des activités de contrôle de la qualité à l'échelle régionale, y compris des lignes directrices concernant le suivi, l'examen et la documentation des rapports de programme des bénéficiaires. Le SMA principal, Opérations régionales, en collaboration avec le DPF et les SMA des programmes, établira des attentes, des lignes directrices et des outils normalisés pour la mise en œuvre des activités de contrôle de la qualité à l'échelle régionale. 30 juin 2009 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2011

OR : Voir la première recommandation pour les détails concernant les outils.

DPF : Les bureaux régionaux d'OR ont élaboré des plans de vérification de la conformité. Ils sont mis à jour pour 2011-2012. De plus, les OR des bureaux régionaux et les Programmes sociaux collaborent à l'élaboration d'une approche globale en matière de conformité axée sur le risque et de gestion de programmes. Les bureaux régionaux d'OR examineront les possibilités d'amélioration des approches en matière de conformité des programmes d'entretien des établissements scolaires et des installations communautaires en 2011-2012. Une politique sur la vérification des bénéficiaires a été élaborée et elle contient des renseignements sur la conformité.

SVE : Mise en œuvre.
5. Établir des exigences normalisées pour l'examen des états financiers vérifiés des bénéficiaires à l'échelle régionale afin de préciser les attentes relatives au caractère officiel et à la composition du Comité d'examen des vérifications. Le dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec le sous-ministre adjoint, Opérations régionales, et le dirigeant principal de la vérification (DPV), établira un modèle d'examen des états financiers vérifiés des bénéficiaires ainsi que les attentes relatives à la composition et au rôle des comités d'examen des vérifications. 30 juin 2009 État :

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2011

OR : Le DPF a mené des consultations et les OR ont fourni un soutien par l'entremise de divers forums.

DPF : Les données de base provenant de toutes les régions ont été rassemblées et une norme minimale est en train d'être élaborée. Elle sera présentée au Comité des opérations du Ministère.

SVE : La mise en œuvre complète exige que l'on définisse et documente des pratiques d'examen homogènes dans les régions.
6. Inclure une clause sur la vérification dans les nouvelles EFCPN pour établir le droit de mener des examens de la conformité en temps utile et indiquer dans les directives de programme que de telles ententes sont visées par les exigences de vérification (y compris la fréquence des vérifications). Nous avons déjà donné suite à cette recommandation. S.O. État : Mis en œuvre

Mise à jour/ Justification
Au 30 septembre 2011

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation sera classée.
 
 
Date de modification :