Remembering the Past: A Window to the Future

Choose a topic:

Location of stained glass artwork.
Location of stained glass artwork.

Background

Stained Glass Window in Parliament Commemorating the Legacy of Indian Residential Schools.
Stained Glass Window in Parliament Commemorating the Legacy of Indian Residential Schools.

The stained glass window in Centre Block of Parliament commemorates the legacy of former Indian Residential School students and their families, as well as the Prime Minister's historic Apology in 2008.

A five member selection committee comprised of leading Aboriginal art experts and former Indian Residential School students with First Nations, Métis and Inuit representation was established to oversee the artist selection process. The design of renowned Métis artist Christi Belcourt was unanimously selected by the committee.

The window was installed directly above the west door of Centre Block in October 2012 and presented to the Speaker of the House on November 26, 2012 in a dedication ceremony on Parliament Hill.

This permanent commemoration of the legacy of Indian Residential Schools and of the historic Apology will encourage Parliamentarians, as well as visitors to Parliament for generations to come, to learn about the history of Indian Residential Schools and Canada's reconciliation efforts.

About the Artist - Christi Belcourt

Métis artist Christi Belcourt featured in front of her piece entitled This Painting is a Mirror.
Métis artist Christi Belcourt featured in front of her piece entitled "This Painting is a Mirror."
Photo credit: Alo White.

Christi Belcourt (b. 1966) is a Métis visual artist and author whose ancestry originates from the Métis historic community of Lac Ste. Anne, Alberta. Born in Scarborough, Ontario, Christi is the first of three children born to political Métis rights leader Tony Belcourt and Judith Pierce Martin.

Christi is a visual artist with a deep respect for the traditions and knowledge of her people. Like generations of Aboriginal artists before her, she celebrates the beauty of the natural world while exploring nature's symbolic properties. Following the tradition of Métis floral beadwork, Belcourt paints in dots and uses the subject matter as metaphors for human existence to relay a variety of meanings which include concerns for the environment, biodiversity, spirituality and awareness of Métis culture.

Her work can be found within the public collections of the National Gallery of Canada, the Gabriel Dumont Institute, Indian and Inuit Art Collection, the Canadian Museum of Civilization, the Thunder Bay Art Gallery and the Museum of Nature. She is the past recipient of awards from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, the Chalmers Family Fund, and the Métis Nation of Ontario.

Selection committee members

  • Dr. Stephen Inglis
  • Madeleine Dion Stout
  • Dr. Douglas Cardinal
  • Heather Igloliorte
  • Dr. George MacDonald

Creating the window - A collection of videos and photos

The dedication of the stained glass window - Video collection

Publications

Date modified:

Se souvenir du passé : fenêtre sur l'avenir

Choisissez un sujet :

Emplacement du vitrail.
Emplacement du vitrail.

Contexte

Vitrail au Parlement commémorant les séquelles des pensionnats indiens.
Vitrail au Parlement commémorant les séquelles des pensionnats indiens.

Le vitrail installé dans l'édifice du Centre du Parlement souligne les séquelles que les pensionnats indiens ont laissées sur les anciens élèves et leurs familles ainsi que les excuses historiques présentées par le premier ministre en 2008.

On a créé un comité de sélection formé de cinq éminents experts en art autochtone ainsi que d'anciens élèves des Premières Nations, métis et inuits pour superviser le processus de sélection de l'artiste. Le comité a unanimement sélectionné le concept réalisé par Christi Belcourt, artiste métisse réputée.

L'œuvre a été installée tout juste au dessus de la porte ouest de l'édifice du Centre en octobre 2012, puis présentée au président de la Chambre des communes le 26 novembre 2012 dans le cadre d'une cérémonie d'inauguration sur la Colline du Parlement.

Cette commémoration permanente de l'épisode des pensionnats indiens et ces excuses historiques inciteront les membres du Parlement ainsi que les visiteurs d'aujourd'hui et des générations à venir, à en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire des pensionnats indiens et sur les gestes de réconciliation posés par le gouvernement.

Au sujet de l'artiste – Christi Belcourt

L'artiste métisse Christi Belcourt se tient devant son tableau intitulé « This Painting is a Mirror » [Ce tableau est un miroir].
L'artiste métisse Christi Belcourt se tient devant son tableau intitulé « This Painting is a Mirror » [Ce tableau est un miroir].
Photo : Alo White.

Christi Belcourt (site Web non disponible en français) (née en 1966) est une artiste métisse en arts visuels et une auteure. Ses ancêtres sont originaires de la collectivité métisse historique de Lac Ste. Anne, en Alberta. Née à Scarborough, en Ontario, Christi est l'aînée des trois enfants du leader politique en droits des Métis, Tony Belcourt, et de Judith Pierce Martin.

Mme Belcourt œuvre dans les arts visuels en conservant un grand respect pour les traditions et les connaissances de ses ancêtres. Comme des générations d'artistes autochtones avant elle, Mme Belcourt célèbre la beauté du monde naturel tout en explorant les propriétés symboliques de la nature. S'inspirant de la tradition des travaux de perlage en motif floral des Métis, Mme Belcourt peint de petits points et utilise ses sujets comme métaphores pour l'existence humaine, et ce, afin de présenter différents thèmes, notamment les préoccupations pour l'environnement, la biodiversité, la spiritualité et la sensibilisation à la culture métisse.

Ses travaux sont exposés dans les collections publiques au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, à l'Institut Gabriel Dumont (site Web non disponible en français), dans la Collection nationale d'art indien, au Musée canadien des civilisations, à la Galerie d'art de Thunder Bay et au Musée de la nature. Elle a déjà reçu des prix décernés par le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de l'Ontario, le Chalmers Family Fund et la Nation métisse de l'Ontario.

Membres du comité de sélection

  • Stephen Inglis
  • Madeleine Dion Stout
  • Douglas Cardinal
  • Heather Igloliorte
  • George MacDonald

Création du vitrail – Collection de vidéos et de photos

La cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail – Collection de vidéos

Publications

Date de modification :