ARCHIVED - Backgrounder - Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's Financial Picture (2012-2013)

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is one of numerous federal departments and agencies that deliver programs and services to First Nations, Inuit, Métis and people living in Canada's North. These programs play an important role in building strong, viable communities and improving the quality of life for Aboriginal people and Northerners.

AANDC is responsible for the majority of federal programs and services that support Aboriginal people and Northerners. According to the 2012-2013 Main Estimates  , tabled in Parliament on February 28, 2012, AANDC will spend approximately $7.8 billion (see chart below). Of this, approximately 83 per cent goes directly to recipients through transfer payments. Much of this funding ensures that Aboriginal people have access to basic services comparable to those provided to other Canadians through provincial, municipal and territorial governments. These services include education, housing, community infrastructure (water and sewage systems), social support services and other benefits. In addition to expenditures for basic services, the department promotes economic development, negotiates and oversees the implementation of comprehensive and specific claim settlements, and implements practical forms of self-government.

The cost of basic services is driven by a young and growing Aboriginal population. In fact, the population of Status Indians on reserve has a higher proportion of youth (under 24 years old) than the population of Canada as a whole. This creates a growing demand for basic services with overall population/price increases of three to four per cent per year for the department.

Since 1997-1998, funding for essential programs and services funded by the department for First Nations, have been subject to a two per cent escalator. It should be noted that this does not apply to other AANDC program areas, such as the negotiation and settlement of claims, litigation or Northern Affairs.

Historical Expenditure Profile

Over the period from 2008-2009 to 2012-2013, AANDC's expenditures increased from $7.0 billion to $7.8 billion (in accordance with the 2012-2013 Main Estimates), which represents an average annual increase of about 2.8 per cent. This growth in expenditures reflects increased ongoing demand for essential programs and services. However, other factors have contributed to this increase as well. AANDC has been assigned additional duties in recent years, notably Residential Schools Resolution, which has increased the department's spending. The growth in spending can also be attributed to an increased focus on the settlement of claims as well as to significant investments made in priority areas through successive federal budgets since 2006.

While the department has taken on more responsibilities, its administrative overhead has remained relatively stable at about three to four per cent of its budget.

Capitalizing on Efficiencies

The department is taking steps to operate more efficiently and better execute its mandate. For example, AANDC is actively investing in sectoral tripartite agreements, particularly in the areas of education and child and family services. These agreements allow the department to draw on provincial government expertise, while building greater understanding of the unique needs and circumstances of a diverse Aboriginal population. The department is also relieving the reporting burden of First Nations communities by implementing the new federal Policy on Transfer Payments. It has also introduced a new Default Prevention and Management Policy to provide a range of support and tools to communities.

Getting Results

As AANDC moves forward, it will continue to take a more targeted approach to expenditures for Aboriginal people and Northerners, by focusing on structural reforms and increasing the effectiveness of long-term investments. In trying to find practical solutions to real issues, work will continue with willing partners to renovate programs and develop innovative approaches in the areas of market-based housing, education partnerships and economic development. Maximizing the value of our investments in these areas will have a significant and positive impact on improving the quality of life for Aboriginal people and Northerners.

2012–13 Main Estimates – Total $7,797 million (millions of dollars)

2012–13 Main Estimates – $7,797 million

Description of figure: 2012–13 Main Estimates Chart

This image is of a pie chart showing the breakdown of departmental expenditures for 2012-13. The breakdown is shown as follows: $6,460 million (83%) transfer payments; $79 million (1%) loans; $22 million (0%) capital; $581 million (7%) statutory/fiduciary obligations; $378 million (5%) program delivery; $68 million (1%) negotiation costs; $209 million (3%) administrative overhead.

Of the $581 million for statutory/fiduciary obligations, about $465 million is for direct payments to recipients including: $380 million for obligations pursuant to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement; and, the remaining $85 million for claims related obligations, Department of Justice costs, out-of-court settlements, etc.

Program delivery costs directly benefit First Nation and northern communities and include costs associated with education, social development, capital/ infrastructure, economic development, Indian government support, environmental initiatives and northern programming. Of the $378 million, about $135 million is for direct payments to recipients, primarily related to the assessment, management and remediation of federal contaminated sites.

This image also contains two tables; the first demonstrates the breakdown of forecasted operating expenses – which total $1,236 million – as follows: $1,166 million for operating expenditures; $65 million for employee benefit plans; $3 million for resource royalties and $2 million for loan guarantees. The second table demonstrates the breakdown of transfer payments – which total $6,460 million – as follows: $6,365 million for grants and contributions; $75 million for land claims settlement acts, $18 million for the Labrador Inuit Claims Agreement and $1 million for Indian annuities.

The source for the information for the chart is the 2012-13 Main Estimates. Figures may not add due to rounding.

Figures may not add due to rounding.
The information presented in this backgrounder does not reflect Budget 2012 announcements.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Document d'information - Portrait financier d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (2012-2013)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est l'un des nombreux ministères et organismes fédéraux offrant des programmes et des services aux Premières Nations, aux Inuit, aux Métis et aux résidants du Nord canadien. Ces programmes jouent un rôle important dans l'établissement de collectivités fortes et viables et dans l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des Autochtones et des résidants du Nord.

AADNC est chargé de la majorité des programmes et des services fédéraux offerts aux Autochtones et aux résidants du Nord. Selon le rapport sur le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013  , présenté au Parlement le 28 février 2012, le Ministère dépensera environ 7,8 milliards de dollars (voir le graphique ci-dessous). Environ 83 % de ce montant sera versé directement aux bénéficiaires par l'intermédiaire de paiements de transfert. Une large part de ces fonds vise à garantir que les Autochtones aient accès à des services de base comparables à ceux qui sont offerts aux autres Canadiens par l'entremise des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que par les administrations municipales. Ces services comprennent l'éducation, le logement, l'infrastructure communautaire (approvisionnement en eau et traitement des eaux usées), les services de soutien social et autres. En plus des dépenses engagées pour les services de base, le Ministère fait la promotion du développement économique, négocie et surveille la mise en œuvre de règlements sur les revendications particulières et globales et met en œuvre des formes pratiques d'autonomie gouvernementale.

Le coût des services de base est en corrélation avec une population jeune et croissante. En fait, la population des Indiens inscrits vivant dans les réserves présente une proportion de jeunes (moins de 24 ans) plus élevée que la population du Canada dans son ensemble. Il s'ensuit une demande croissante de services de base avec une augmentation générale de la population et des prix totalisant environ 3 à 4 % par année pour le ministère.

Depuis 1997-1998, le financement alloué pour les programmes et les services essentiels financés par le ministère pour les Premières Nations est assujetti à une indexation de 2 %. Il convient de signaler que cela ne s'applique pas aux autres secteurs de programmes d'AADNC, comme la négociation et le règlement des revendications, les litiges ou les Affaires du Nord.

Profil historique des dépenses

Au cours de la période de 2008-2009 à 2012-2013, les dépenses d'AADNC sont passées de 7,0 à 7,8 milliards de dollars (selon le rapport sur le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013), soit une augmentation annuelle moyenne d'environ 2,8 %. Cette croissance des dépenses reflète une demande sans cesse croissante des programmes et des services essentiels. Toutefois, d'autres facteurs ont aussi contribué à cette hausse. Le ministère s'est vu confier des responsabilités additionnelles au cours des dernières années, notamment pour la Résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens, ce qui a fait augmenter les dépenses du département. Cette augmentation des dépenses peut aussi être attribuée au surcroît d'attention porté au règlement des revendications ainsi qu'aux importants investissements effectués dans des domaines prioritaires dans le cadre des différents budgets fédéraux depuis 2006.

Alors que le ministère a assumé des responsabilités additionnelles, ses frais administratifs généraux demeurent plus ou moins stables, soit environ 3 à 4 % de son budget.

Tirer profit des économies

Le ministère prend des mesures pour accroître l'efficacité de ses opérations et mieux exécuter son mandat. Par exemple, AADNC investit activement dans la conclusion d'ententes tripartites sectorielles, particulièrement dans les domaines de l'éducation et des services à l'enfance et à la famille. Ces ententes lui permettent de tirer profit de l'expertise des gouvernements provinciaux et de mieux comprendre les besoins et les circonstances uniques des divers groupes autochtones. Le ministère s'emploie aussi à alléger le fardeau de la production de rapports des collectivités des Premières Nations en mettant en œuvre une nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert. Il a également lancé une nouvelle Politique de prévention et gestion des défauts de conformité afin d'offrir une variété de mesures d'appui et d'outils aux collectivités qui ne respectent pas leur entente de financement avec AADNC.

Obtenir des résultats

À l'avenir, AADNC continuera de cibler son approche à l'égard des dépenses pour les Autochtones et les résidants du Nord en misant sur des réformes structurales et une plus grande efficacité des investissements à long terme. Dans la recherche de solutions pratiques à des problèmes réels, le travail se poursuivra avec les partenaires qui le souhaitent en vue d'améliorer les programmes et d'élaborer des approches novatrices dans les domaines du logement soumis aux mécanismes du marché, des partenariats en éducation et du développement économique. L'optimisation de la valeur de nos investissements dans ces domaines aura un effet positif important sur la qualité de vie des Autochtones et des résidants du Nord.

Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013 – Total de 7,797 millions de $

Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013 - Total de 7,797 millions de $

Description pour la diagramme qui représente la Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013

Il s'agit d'un diagramme à secteurs qui montre la ventilation des dépenses pour 2012-2013. La ventilation est la suivante : 6 460 millions de dollars (83 %) paiements de transfert; 79 millions de dollars (1 %) prêts; 22 millions de dollars (0 %) capital; 581 millions de dollars (7 %) obligations légales et fiduciaires; 378 millions de dollars (5 %) prestation des programmes; 68 millions de dollars (1 %) frais de négociation; 209 millions de dollars (3 %) frais administratifs généraux.

Du montant de 581 millions de dollars pour les obligations statutaires/fiduciaires, environ 465 millions de dollars sont affectés aux paiements directs versés aux bénéficiaires, incluant: 380 millions de dollars pour les obligations résultant de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens; et 85 millions de dollars pour les obligations découlant de revendications, les coûts du ministère de la Justice, les règlements extrajudiciaires, etc.

Les coûts d'exécution de programmes, dont les Premières Nations et les collectivités du Nord retirent un avantage direct, englobent les coûts associés à l'éducation, au développement économique, au soutien aux gouvernements indiens, aux projets environnementaux et aux programmes pour les résidents du Nord. Environ 135 millions de dollars sur 378 millions de dollars sont réservés aux paiements directs versés aux bénéficiaires et sont surtout liés à l'évaluation, à la gestion et à l'assainissement de sites fédéraux contaminés.

On retrouve aussi deux tableaux, le premier démontre la ventilation des dépenses de fonctionnement soit un total de 1 236 millions de dollars qui comprends : 1 166 millions de dollars pour les dépenses de fonctionnement; 65 millions de dollars pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux; 3 millions de dollars pour les redevances sur les ressources; et 2 millions de dollars pour les garanties d'emprunt. Le deuxième tableau démontre la ventilation des paiements de transfert, soit un total de 6 460 millions de dollars qui comprends : 6 365 millions de dollars pour les subventions et contributions; 75 millions de dollars pour les lois sur le règlement de revendications territoriales; 18 millions de dollars pour l'accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador; et 1 million de dollars pour les annuités versées aux Autochtones.

Les données du diagramme sont tirées du Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013. En raison des arrondissements, les chiffres sont peut-être inexacts.

Les chiffres étant arrondis, tous les totaux ne sont pas nécessairement exacts.
Les informations présentées dans ce document d'information ne reflètent pas les annonces du budget de 2012.

 

Date de modification :