Success stories: Contaminated sites program

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) supports efforts to remediate contaminated sites which have been abandoned by their owners through the Contaminated Sites Program. The objective of the CSP is to manage contaminated sites in a cost-effective and consistent manner. The program aims to reduce and eliminate, where possible, risks to human and environmental health, and liability associated with contaminated sites in the North.

The following showcases the success of INAC's contaminated sites programs in the North with regard to remediation of contaminated sites.

See more information on contaminants sites program in the North.

See other Aboriginal success stories from across Canada.

Colomac Mine
Colomac is a former gold mine located 220 km north of Yellowknife. AANDC assumed responsibility for this site in 1999.

Faro Mine
The Faro Mine is one of the largest and most complex contaminated sites in the country. Located in the southcentral Yukon close to the Town of Faro, it was an open-pit lead-zinc mine from 1969 until it went into interim receivership in 1998. The site covers approximately 2500 hectares and includes 70 million tonnes of tailings and 320 million tonnes of waste rock. Both the tailings and waste rock contain high levels of heavy metals that could leach into the environment in the absence of remediation.

FOX-C Ekalugad Fjord
FOX-C, Ekalugad Fjord, is located on the east coast of Baffin Island in Nunavut. The site was constructed as an intermediate Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line site in 1957 but abandoned in 1963. Environmental and human health risks on the site included batteries, asbestos and liquid hydrocarbons, as well as unexploded ordnances such as blasting caps and dynamite. The site was also littered with non-hazardous debris such as empty barrels, wood, scrap metal and domestic waste.

Giant Mine
Giant Mine covers 949 hectares and is situated within the city limits of Yellowknife, NWT. The site lies along the western shore of Yellowknife Bay, an arm of Great Slave Lake. This gold mine operated nearly continuously from 1948 until its closure in July 1999. The site includes 237,000 tonnes of arsenic trioxide stored underground, as well as various buildings and surface areas contaminated with arsenic. If not managed properly, these site risks represent significant hazards to human health and the environment.

Port Radium Mine
Port Radium Mine is located on the eastern shore of Great Bear Lake, 440 km north of Yellowknife and east of the Dene community of Déline. The site was first mined in the 1930s for radium used in medical research, then for uranium in the 1940s and 1950s to make nuclear weapons and for nuclear power. The site was then mined for silver until 1982 when it was decommissioned. The site was reassessed in 2000 due to community concerns regarding silver, copper and uranium in soils and surface water on the site, as well as elevated gamma radiation associated with the waste rock.

Date modified:

Histoires de réussite : Programme des sites contaminés

Grâce au Programme des sites contaminés, Affaires autochtones du Nord Canada (AANC) appuie les efforts visant à assainir les sites contaminés abandonnés par leurs propriétaires. L'objectif du Programme des sites contaminés est de gérer les sites contaminés de façon rentable et uniforme. Le Programme vise à réduire et à éliminer, lorsque possible, les risques pour la santé humaine et environnementale, et à réduire la responsabilité financière associée aux sites contaminés dans le Nord.

Les histoires suivantes soulignent les réussites du Programme des sites contaminés dans le Nord d'AANC en ce qui a trait à l'assainissement des sites contaminés.

Voir des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet des contaminants dans le Nord.

Nous vous invitons à visionner d'autres histoires de réussite autochtones de partout au Canada.

Mine Colomac
Colomac est une ancienne mine d'or située à 220 km au nord de Yellowknife. AADNC a pris le site en charge en 1999.

Mine Faro
La mine Faro est l'un des sites contaminés les plus vastes et complexes au pays. Située dans le Centre-Sud du Yukon, proche de la ville de Faro, cette mine de plomb-zinc à ciel ouvert a été exploitée de 1969 jusqu'à son séquestre provisoire en 1998. Couvrant à peu près 2 500 hectares, elle contient 70 millions de tonnes de refus de criblage et 320 millions de tonnes de déchets de roche. Les refus et déchets contiennent des métaux lourds, en forte concentration, susceptibles de s'introduire dans l'environnement en l'absence d'un assainissement.

FOX-C (Fjord Ekalugad)
FOX-C (fjord Ekalugad) est situé au Nunavut, sur la côte Est de l'île Baffin. Construit en 1957 à titre de site intermédiaire du réseau avancé de préalerte, le site a été abandonné en 1963. Les risques pour l'environnement et la santé humaine sont posés par des piles, l'amiante et des hydrocarbures liquides, de même que par des munitions non explosées, comme des détonateurs et de la dynamite. Le site était aussi jonché de débris non dangereux (tonneaux vides, bois, ferraille, ordures ménagères, etc.).

Mine Giant
La mine Giant couvre 949 hectares dans les limites mêmes de Yellowknife (T.N.-O.), sur la rive ouest de la baie de Yellowknife, une branche du Grand lac des Esclaves. Cette mine d'or a été en exploitation constante de 1948 jusqu'à sa fermeture en juillet 1999. Le site contient 237 000 tonnes de trioxyde d'arsenic entreposé en sous-sol, de même que différents édifices et secteurs de surface contaminés à l'arsenic. S'il n'est pas bien géré, ce site pose un risque important à la santé humaine et à l'environnement.

Mine Port Radium
La mine de Port Radium se trouve sur la côte est du Grand lac de l'Ours, à 440 km au nord de Yellowknife et à l'est de la collectivité des Dénés de Déline. Son exploitation a commencé dans les années 1930, pour extraire du radium en vue de recherches médicales, puis de l'uranium dans les années 1940 et 1950 en vue des armes et de l'électricité nucléaires. On y a ensuite extrait de l'argent jusqu'en 1982, date de son déclassement. Le site a été réévalué en 2000 pour répondre aux questions de la collectivité touchant l'argent, le cuivre et l'uranium dans le sol et dans l'eau de surface du site, de même que les forts rayons gamma émis par les déchets de roche.

Date de modification :