ARCHIVED - Colomac Mine (Remediation Complete)

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1332420933273

Colomac Mine.

Colomac is a former gold mine located 220 km north of Yellowknife. AANDC assumed responsibility for this site in 1999.

Numerous human health and safety, and environmental risks exist at this site due to the presence of both chemical and physical hazards. Chemical hazards include contaminated tailings, hydrocarbon spills, and hazardous materials within the mill complex itself. Physical hazards are associated with open pits, quarries, waste rock piles, buildings, and other infrastructure.

Remediation activities have been underway since 2005. These include remediation of hydrocarbon-impacted soil, treatment of hydrocarbon-impacted water, waste consolidation, non-hazardous landfill capping, quarry remediation, waste rock berm and caribou ramp construction. Project oversight and support for these activities is provided by the Colomac Advisory Team (CAT) which includes AANDC and PWGSC staff as well as a representative of the prime consultant for the site.

The Tlicho have been longstanding partners with the Northern Contaminated Sites Program on this site, including development of the remediation plan to ensuring that approved activities are carried out effectively. Their strong involvement will continue as planned remediation activities are completed, a close-out plan is developed and the project moves into extended monitoring.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Mine Colomac (Assainissement achevé)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

1332420933273

Mine Colomac.

Colomac est une ancienne mine d'or située à 220 km au nord de Yellowknife. AADNC a pris en charge le site en 1999.

Ce site pose de nombreux risques pour la santé et la sécurité humaines ainsi que pour l'environnement, en raison de la présence de dangers chimiques (refus de criblage, déversements d'hydrocarbures, matériel dangereux au sein du complexe de l'usine) et physiques (mine à ciel ouvert, carrières, piles de déchets de roche, édifices et autres infrastructures).

Les activités d'assainissement, en cours depuis 2005, comprennent l'assainissement du sol contenant des hydrocarbures, le traitement des eaux contenant des hydrocarbures, le regroupement des déchets, le recouvrement de la décharge non dangereuse, l'assainissement de la carrière, et la construction d'une berme de déchets de roche et d'une rampe pour caribous. La surveillance et le soutien du projet sont assurés par l'équipe consultative de Colomac, qui compte des employés d'AADNC et de TPSGC, de même qu'un représentant du consultant principal pour le site.

Sur ce site, les Tlicho sont des partenaires de longue date du Programme des Sites Contaminés Du Nord, y compris pour la préparation du plan d'assainissement qui veille à l'exécution efficace des activités approuvées. Cette forte participation se poursuivra tandis qu'on achève les activités d'assainissement prévues, qu'on prépare un plan de fermeture et que le projet passe au stade de la surveillance prolongée.

 

Date de modification :